Moushumi Chatterjee takes a dig at Jaya Bachchan

beena_jon thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 2 months ago

Veteran actress Moushumi Chatterjee has candidly reflected on a significant moment in her career, revealing that she was removed from the 1981 film Barsaat Ki Ek Raat, which starred Amitabh Bachchan. In a recent interview, Chatterjee shared that director Shakti Samanta informed her of the decision, citing “poor tuning” with the lead actor as the reason. She recounted, “Shakti uncle called me and asked, ‘Did you have any fight with Amitabh Bachchan?’ I told him, ‘Uncle, I am not so close to anyone that they would fight with me. I am very cordial and nice.’ He said, ‘That is the problem. Most of the heroes say, ‘Moushumi ko kyu liya uske sath humara tuning sahi nahi hai.'”

Chatterjee interpreted “tuning” as a euphemism for lacking personal rapport beyond professional interactions. She emphasized her focus on work over building friendships on set. Despite the setback, Samanta reassured her, saying, “No, keep [the signing amount] with you, I will make my next film with you,” leading to their collaboration on Anand Ashram.

Chatterjee and Bachchan reunited on screen in the 2015 for Piku

Years later, Chatterjee and Bachchan reunited on screen in the 2015 film Piku. Reflecting on this experience, she praised Bachchan’s professionalism, stating, “Amitabh Bachchan is really amazing. When I worked with him in Piku, he was so punctual. The younger generation needs to learn from him.”Moushumi Chatterjee opens up on being removed from Amitabh Bachchan film, takes dig at Jaya Bachchan

where Moushumi Chatterjee was called “Jaya Bachchan” by the paparazzi

In the same interview, Chatterjee addressed a past incident where she reacted strongly to being called “Jaya Bachchan” by paparazzi. She clarified her stance, saying, “Don’t call me Jaya Bachchan, I am a better person.” She explained that she dislikes comparisons and prefers to maintain her individuality. Acknowledging a past rivalry with Jaya Bachchan, Chatterjee remarked, “I had heard stories, and yes, there was a rivalry. But I came from a wealthy family; I didn’t have to rely on films to make money. But some people live in small houses, and then they want a bigger house.”

Moushumi Chatterjee's EXPLOSIVE CHAT: Fallout with Big B, Jaya Bachchan comment, losing Uttam Kumar - YouTube

Chatterjee’s reflections offer insight into the complexities of professional relationships in the film industry and her commitment to maintaining personal integrity over conforming to industry expectations.

WormikaGrubby thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail

Wow . " Some people come from small houses and dream of making bigger houses. I was not like Jaya ,I already had a big house ". LOL.I cant wait to hear what she thinks of Hema ,Rekha and Sushma .

The Bachchans must be fuming.

irene2010 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail 14th Anniversary Thumbnail + 5

In my opinion....

Jaya was far more talented and had so much screen presence than maushmi

Daebak thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 7

She is another character, this onesmiley36

But Jaya shouldn't feel bad. After all, she too says whatever she feels like about everyone.

However, 'I came from a wealthy family. Some people live in small houses and want bigger ones'?? Ummmsmiley21 Darling, you are definitely not a nice person.

Edited by Daebak - 2 months ago
Rosyme thumbnail

Love Legion

She has told once that she is better with paps unlike Jaya. Something on those lines.

Edited by Rosyme - 2 months ago
piya2025 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 7

This is why I don't like reading much about these veteran celebs. Someone who looks down on another person just because they have a bigger house than them or whatever shit she said is definitely not a better person. I have watched both of their work & Jaya definitely has an edge over her. People call her rude but someone who had to deal with a lot of shit in her life which no one deserves, I'd actually give her a free pass. She is not K wording anyone nor eying others husband. Yeah go Jaya! Also, papz deserve her 🫵☝️.. smiley36

Is she talking about her other contemporaries too? Why is she after Jaya? smiley5

beena_jon thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4

She clarified her statement in the interview and said, “People fabricate it, but the reality is that I don’t like comparisons.Sometimes, they (paps) irritate you. They don’t want to listen. Once you want to stay away from the limelight, you cannot force a person to like you. But, I don’t like to compare. I consider I am a better person.”

iamrebelheart thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Fantasy Force

Originally posted by: TheJourney

Is she talking about her other contemporaries too? Why is she after Jaya? smiley5

jealous of Jaya. because she is richer than her now.

WormikaGrubby thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail

THIS IS A "MEMBERS ONLY" POST
To view this post you need to Log in to India Forums.