Dan.17 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: anjs

@ bold : you can use reverse psychology here too, that top directors want to work with RS and RK too... not undermining VD's talent, just stating what i noticed.

Oh my I should have worded my first post better. I think it came across as rk-rs bashing. I was just stating that even after giving hits why is ayushman not considered a star. Just because he did not do big films or he did not had his personal life in news. That is why I used rk-rs example.Also nowhere I am talking about varun here , I was talking about ayushman. Varun also had bigger project compared to ayushman. But I did not take varun's example here because he did not work with top directors- heroine or had his personal life in news.
Rk-rs got these opportunities first amongst the younger gen as they came comparatively earlier but others are catching up now hopefully.
Edited by vish17 - 6 years ago
955555 thumbnail

Originally posted by: vish17

Badlapur hardly had action scenes. This will be his first proper action thriller movie.

Like I keep saying Spy thriller is better ATM instead of period drama when there are like 10 other same genre films lined up to release in next 2 years😆, I never felt Varun was that keen on it after a point, and I really doubt Diwali release jaane ka bhi koi dukh hoga coz neither there is any extended wknd in 2020 Diwali since padeva is colliding with Sunday I guess😆

As for Big directors or lack of it, barring SLB maybe every1 including Hirani, Bhardwaj, Imtiaz (b4 Tamasha, JHMS) etc has praised or expressed their wish to work with him even Adi Chopra signed him eventhough he rejected 2 YRF films😆 yeah I know he is not that Big of a Filmmaker RN after Befikre fiasco, but still big enough, thik hai not every1 has to do same kind of films or follow same kind of career path as other.

Waise just in Shashank's IV, seems like Jahnvi is confirmed for the spy thriller which definitely doesnt sound like a "medium budget" film😆 considering he kept talking about big scale or 200cr making budget n stuff😆

https://www.deccanchronicle.com/entertainment/bollywood/291018/shashank-khaitan-confirms-an-action-film-with-varun-dhwan.html

Dan.17 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Eggon_Snow

Varun only took risks to silence critics who said he cannot act. He would not have done riskier films otherwise either.

And Shoojit had delivered consistent hits in non-mainstream films, so October was not such a big risk on paper. Sui Dhaaga was produced by YRF and starred Anushka, it also had a social message, so the movie was a safer bet.

Varun only took one sureshot risk in his entire career and that was in Badlapur, otherwise all his films have been safe on paper atleast.

As for Ayushman, maybe he is not getting the big films so he has to make do with what he gets offered. Kudos to him for making these films work.

Okay how many times I will say I am talking about ayushman and not varun. But whatever here you go.
Well I have followed varun so I know it was not to silent the critics. It was to done to give something different because he was kind of getting repetitive. He himself have said that even if he will win all the awards there will be some people who will still not be convinced. Thus he does not care about critics , only thing he cares about is audiences reaction.
Really October was a not a risk on paper. Then please remind me when was the last time a commercial actor did a film like that without songs, heroine and a depressing kinda film. Varun has said that shoojit already told him much before release that the film will not do more than 40 crore in any case. So he signed it knowing everything. Piku and vicky donor were much more mainstream than October.
Even with sui dhaaga, the only commercial part of the film were varun and anushka. It was not backed by govt like akshay's films.
Did not even had a dance song. Please remind me when was last time ranveer worked in a film like that.
Also abcd2 was a risk . Who thought a dance film with remo can become such a huge hit.
Paachaa thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: vish17

Why is ayushman not a big star even after giving hits this year according to you. Just because he did films which were risky and had small budget or just because he is not in news about dating a top actress and milking pr all the time.It is even more tough to make these kind of films work. Just because he did not work with A list actress and big directors and in the end take all the credit by himself he is not a star?? Do ranbir and ranveer have the guts to do the film he did without an A list heroine or to atleast praise his work.
Stop undermining him. He has proven himself.

Why is Ayushmann Khurana not a big star? The answer lies in the opening numbers of his films. His films take time to open. It needs a lot of positive WOM too for better weekday performance. Unlike say a Khan,who irrespective of the film doing bad business later on guarantees good opening. That is stardom.
Ayushmann at his best is an upcoming star. He has taken risks and has finally made a genre for himself. And now hopefully with such good films with him, he can now guarantee a good opening for his next. He is the riskiest actor in the business right now and the most secure of all. Not just Ranbir or Ranveer, none of the other male actors would have the guts to do a film like Shubh Mangal Savdhaan. I'm not undermining him, just saying what it is. I myself am a big fan of his work and singing. You are reading too much into it.😆
955555 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Eggon_Snow

Varun only took risks to silence critics who said he cannot act. He would not have done riskier films otherwise either.

And Shoojit had delivered consistent hits in non-mainstream films, so October was not such a big risk on paper. Sui Dhaaga was produced by YRF and starred Anushka, it also had a social message, so the movie was a safer bet.

Varun only took one sureshot risk in his entire career and that was in Badlapur, otherwise all his films have been safe on paper atleast.

As for Ayushman, maybe he is not getting the big films so he has to make do with what he gets offered. Kudos to him for making these films work.

Going by that logic even I can point out ulterior motives behind Ranveer's risk taker image, like IMO he took risks to find his footing, coz none of the Genres really worked for him & he failed to deliver a Clean hit till Ram leela & only then he found he can work well in that blingy costumes & sets space, hence keeps doing those 2 year long period n costume dramas har thode time mein😆

As for October not being a risk since both the the actor-director have cent percent ratio, well if one sees it way it makes some sense, but on paper a songless, morose film with only newcomers & 90% legit shots of ICU sounds like a delibrate risk to me, considering it was in Art-House space, not using this as a shield like ppl tend to, but it was as risky or niche as it gets😆
Agree about Sui Dhaaga though.
Dan.17 thumbnail

Originally posted by: -October-

Like I keep saying Spy thriller is better ATM instead of period drama when there are like 10 other same genre films lined up to release in next 2 years 😆, I never felt Varun was that keen on it after a point, and I really doubt Diwali release jaane ka bhi koi dukh hoga coz neither there is any extended wknd in 2020 Diwali since padeva is colliding with Sunday I guess😆

As for Big directors or lack of it, barring SLB maybe every1 including Hirani, Bhardwaj, Imtiaz (b4 Tamasha, JHMS) etc has praised or expressed their wish to work with him even Adi Chopra signed him eventhough he rejected 2 YRF films😆 yeah I know he is not that Big of a Filmmaker RN after Befikre fiasco, but still big enough, thik hai not every1 has to do same kind of films or follow same kind of career path as other.

Waise just in Shashank's IV, seems like Jahnvi is confirmed for the spy thriller which definitely doesnt sound like a "medium budget" film😆 considering he kept talking about big scale or 200cr making budget n stuff😆

https://www.deccanchronicle.com/entertainment/bollywood/291018/shashank-khaitan-confirms-an-action-film-with-varun-dhwan.html

I am actually not upset with rannbhoomi postponing. By the time it would have released there would have been dozens of period films out there. The only reason I was excited for this was because it was going to be historical fiction and not based on true events. But an action thriller is what I wanted varun to do since long. It is much better option⭐️
Chalo janhvi bhi chalegi mujhe, she will probably fit in a glamorous role. Now let's hope a certain actress does not go to emotionally blackmail karan and shashank for this film.
It will not be a medium budget. Even varun's mind in these kind of movies work towards having huge budget😆😆
Bas ye film daddy dhawan ki film se pehle aa jae.
955555 thumbnail
^ Frankly speaking my only excitement for Rannbhoomi was coz of date but aaj hi twitter pe pata chala ki main holiday pe toh Sunday pad raha hai so not really disappointed😆
Slick spy stuff is something even I wanted to see him from a long time & yeah he talked at length about his hi-fi visualization skills in Anupama IV😆 I think this will come after dance film with Kat
Dan.17 thumbnail

Originally posted by: -October-

^ Frankly speaking my only excitement for Rannbhoomi was coz of date but aaj hi twitter pe pata chala ki main holiday pe toh Sunday pad raha hai so not really disappointed 😆

Slick spy stuff is something even I wanted to see him from a long time & yeah he talked at length about his hi-fi visualization skills in Anupama IV😆 I think this will come after dance film with Kat

Really diwali is on Sunday. What a bummer😆 now toh I don't care at all. Yass I was talking about that interview only, he will also most probably take care that vfx will not be bad😆
Dan.17 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Movie-Madaari

Why is Ayushmann Khurana not a big star? The answer lies in the opening numbers of his films. His films take time to open. It needs a lot of positive WOM too for better weekday performance. Unlike say a Khan,who irrespective of the film doing bad business later on guarantees good opening. That is stardom.
Ayushmann at his best is an upcoming star. He has taken risks and has finally made a genre for himself. And now hopefully with such good films with him, he can now guarantee a good opening for his next. He is the riskiest actor in the business right now and the most secure of all. Not just Ranbir or Ranveer, none of the other male actors would have the guts to do a film like Shubh Mangal Savdhaan. I'm not undermining him, just saying what it is. I myself am a big fan of his work and singing. You are reading too much into it.😆

Okay I got you wrong. Most probably because even now some people don't take him as a star. They will consider arjun and sid as one but not him. That kind of irks me. I think now he has gained a position amongst the newer gen actors. It is not good to compare him wih khans. But the badhai ho opening was really good. So probably his future films going to open well. Even varun called up ayushman and told him to increase his price now😆😆
Also I think that as far as box office is concerned I think he is in better position than vicky and raj kumar.
And yeah you are absolutely right he is one of the most secure actor out there.
1129726 thumbnail
Takht is a big star cast film after some time. Well Kalank has alot of people also but most of them are past their best or never had a best 😆😆😆. Takht has a lot of people and barring Anil Kapoor all of them are very relevant so it deserves a big holiday showcase release. Its true 2018 was better for Biru/Veeru than Varun but 2017 was better for him than them. All we can do is see what comes next.