bokul thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 3
taran adarsh @taran_adarsh

#DearZindagi packs a SOLID PUNCH... Shows FAB growth... Fri 8.75 cr, Sat 11.25 cr, Sun 12.50 cr. Total: 32.50 cr [1200 screens]. India biz

taran adarsh @taran_adarsh

#DearZindagi - OVERSEAS - Opening Weekend: $ 4 million [ 27.45 cr]... Best in USA-Canada and UAE-GCC... SUPER!

Edited by GERUA - 8 years ago
-Sneha6- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
I watched the movie yesterday night! So let's go about this one! Before I start though, I just want to pinpoint that after a late sleep-in this morning, I now understand why people like Masand (whose reviews I generally put in high regards) thrashed the movie. Even my parents, who're huge SRK fans, liked ADHM a lot more apparently. I, on the other hand, thought this was such a classy, deep and different movie. The last time I saw one was probably Piku. See, it's important to understand that this movie isn't like Pink, or even Piku for that matter of fact. It's about a girl finding herself her freedom/rights/voice yes, but it has a very different take on life. One that isn't very likeable, because Kaira isn't very likeable. This movie isn't to be understood, it has to be felt. And I may even dare to say that unless you've been Kaira at some point - i.e. have had issues with proper communication with parents, being jealous over your brother, having friends as your sole world, been labelled as 'dirty' (for the lack of better word) just for having numerous relationships, seen your 'hotness' precede your talent in your profession and the list may go on - you might not connect with her at all. And that's okay. But then, the movie doesn't work that deep for you either. Mid-aged, successful men in their 40-50s reviewing this movie would feel nothing about Kaira's journey, and if they don't, baring apart the two lead actors acting, it can fall very, very, very flat for some. Understandably so.

I won't be long, because there's really no story except to watch Kaira's messy life unfold. The second half is basically just a therapy session, and definitely, definitely the best part of the movie. This is the SRK I was missing. The SRK that I use to like some 6-7 years ago. Between this, Raaes and the Ring, I got to say, he's claiming back his upper hand. Gauri is lucky she directs movies for Dharma. I'm not too sure SRK would have agreed to this otherwise, and what a loss that would have been. You believe in Kaira's revival because with her, you believe in Dr. Khan. Every single step of the way, whatever he tells her, he tells you also. Philosophical spewing can go way OTT as in when Kaira first tries it with her friends and Raghu (brilliant enact there btw!), but SRK makes you believe in what he says. He's serene, and damn those eyes when they emote. Movies like these make me sad about his past 6-7 years to be honest. Where we could have gotten potential classic movies like CDI, we got crap like HNY, and Dilwale. I'm glad he's away from the BO business for a while and has finally found a stable ground doing so brilliantly what he does.

Alia: This movie is Alia's. She's the life and soul of it. I can't even believe this is the girl I saw in SOTY sometimes. At times, she says something and you cry with her. It's the little things really, that lone tear when she can't fall asleep. That rant with Raghu at mid-point around. The expressions with her not liking Zafar's music. Way too many scenes done with utmost brilliance. She's subtle, and that's her most powerful trait. I'll just go on to say, watch out for her. People have praised so many actresses, but for someone as young as her, with her movies choices to top it, it's hard not to be impressed, I got to say. I found Ali Zafar the best, he was SO charming. Kunal was alright, I didn't like the look much. Angad doesn't have anything to do really and Aditya was cute, but wasted. That guy needs to start upping his game and doing more movies. Contrary to popular opinion I see around here, I LOVED Kaira's friends. I think I've mentioned it a number of times that this movie is about being able to relate. If you got a gang of friends as weird as hers, trust me, you'll like them. However, you have to have friends as close, friends who you can shit on, laugh with and can't cry without. I felt they were a great bunch! The rest of the cast was meh, Alia's brother was awesome.

All in all, I'll give it a 4.5/5. The average rating would probably be around 3ish. I'm adding extra one for the acting involved, and the extra 0.5 for the therapy session Dr. Jug gave me also, together with Kaira.
bokul thumbnail
#DearZindagi does superb business in Overseas as well - Opening Weekend: $4 million ( 27.45 cr)

#DearZindagi does amazingly well at Indian Box Office | Fri 8.75 cr, Sat 11.25 cr, Sun 12.50 cr Total: 32.50 cr from 1200 screens
bokul thumbnail
BOX_OFFIE_WEEKEND @BoxOfficeWknd

#DearZindagi Fri 8.75 Cr Sat 11.25 Cr Sun 12.5 Cr Total - 32.5 Cr Gross - 46.15 Cr Overseas : $4 mil [27.45 Cr] Worldwide : 73.60 Cr

bokul thumbnail
Divya. @Divya4srk

I've never seen anything more beautiful than Kaira and Jug's bond ever in my life. #DearZindagi @iamsrk @aliaa08 @gauris

Divya. @Divya4srk

I love how patient Jug was with Kaira.Sometimes all you need is someone who you can hear you out without being judgemental. #DearZindagi

bokul thumbnail
Jacqueline Fernandez @Asli_Jacqueline

Congratulations for having a great weekend at the box office team #DearZindagi ''' Way to go @gauris @aliaa08 @iamsrk

HeyDeviMaiyya thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 6

I loved this scene!! How adorable was Kaira and Jug's expression too when he finds her missing suddenly😆 Shahrukh does comedy so welll! His expressions are always on point😆

So happy to see the 12 crore box office figures for yesterday!! Content always wins *touchwood*⭐️⭐️
HIDEnSEEK06 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
great to see that DZ is doing well at BO also😃😃
starstruckk thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Saw the film..it was good, but I expected more. There's something lacking in the script. I also feel Gauri could've been more meticulous with her story telling. For instance, there were way too many side characters yet none of them were significant. They were just there? The actress who played Fatty was quite good and perhaps the best side character when it came to Kiara's friends..would've been better if she was focused on alone rather than all the others who really brought nothing extraordinary to the table. Music - blah. Apart from Love you zindagi and Just go to hell, the entire album is a letdown...disappointed with Trivedi.
Alia and SRK on the other hand are the ones who elevate the entire film. Alia - wow. One really can't help wonder where she extracts such emotions from? She's arguably one of the THE best criers I've seen in recent times in Bollywood..so natural, subtle and effortless. Every time she'd cry or even get teary eyed, you felt her emotions exactly. Kiara could've been a better written character. There were times where you felt Gauri didn't properly etch out Kiara's personality for you to fully understand where she was coming from. This is where Alia tremendously helps the entire film with her performance. She makes you feel for Kiara because the way this girl emoted throughout was close to perfection. Her breakdown scenes were nothing short of outstanding. The first time she meets Jug and tries explaining how it's her "best friend" who is going through x,y,z and sort of stutters, fumbles and hesitates to let it all out..extremely on point. It's exactly how you'd imagine anyone to be - unsure, confused, nervous etc. It takes a special performer to uplift a half baked script..and this is exactly what Alia did in my opinion. The only complaint I had with her was she looks way too young. You'd think the story is about a teenager and her teeny issues just because of how Alia looks. 😆

SRK was amazing. He's oozing charm as Jug. He's lovable from his very first scene.. He doesn't have a difficult character like Alia, but SRK surely makes his presence felt. Another reason to watch the film. It was interesting to see how SRK tried balancing a character who was playful yet serious.Like Alia he uplifts the film with his nuances and charm. What's funny is I felt Alia lacked chemistry with all the young guys she was paired opposite in this film, yet had wonderful chemistry with SRK. They had some lovely moments together. As an audience, I felt their connection and admiration towards each other...which was very much needed to show their relationship.

Coming to the guys - meh. I didn't like any of them apart from the 2 mins of ARK!! AAhh..after SRK, Adi and Alia clicked really nicely..too bad he was hardly given screen space.

Also, even with a half baked script..some of the dialogues really hit you. The part where Kiara keeps saying what will people say? and finallly at one point Jug sarcastly goes..where exactly are these "people" you keep referring to? Indirect reference to how we pay way too much heed to what "log kya kahein gay?" The entire soulmate discussion where Jug explains you can have many soulmates..different individuals who you're deeply connected with was another one that I loved. The fact that Kiara said she never thought of it was so true..we don't think of it like that. 😆 That last session between Kiara and Jug was also very well written (and enacted). Other than that, I felt Alia and SRK's performances were above and beyond everything...mostly Alia. It's her film throughout. On a side note, this girl has an adorable smile. It only adds to her screen presence.

I'll give it a 3/5 (due to Alia and SRK..particularly Alia)
Edited by starstruckk - 8 years ago
bokul thumbnail
Haroon Rashid @iHaroonRashid Hounslow, London

Props to @iamsrk for being so selfless & doing #DearZindagi. He's exactly what the film needed & shines without needing to be centre stage!