642126 thumbnail
BW is rarely kind to lookers.

Dharmendra, Vinod Khanna, Salman Khan and Hrithik Roshan are the only handsome leading men who succeeded.

Audience likes people they can relate to, I guess this explains existence of average looking actors.

I can't believe an ugly and utterly stone faced actor like Raaj Kumar made it here. His face is so immobile. But yes his dialogue delivery made his life!

I think they are more demanding when it comes to women. Women have to be beautiful. Successful women with unconventional looks are in minority.

I found Ranveer ugly. Same for SRK. 😆 But these guys had talent and their energy was evident. They light up the screen. So yeah they are watchable.

Most actors are ugly and rely on content of films, talent, charisma, confidence, different style of presentation, other aspects like voice, dialogue delivery to keep afloat.

I think common man finds it comfortable to support such guys. They don't like the perfection types maybe due to subconscious envy. An average guy can try to imagine himself or dream to be in a Rajini type's place. Whereas he will feel absolutely inferior seeing a Hrithik or Salman.

It's no wonder that Rakesh Roshan had 2 Hrithiks in KNPH. One scruffy, unshaven, common guy Rohit and another totally hot and handsome Raj. The looker has to come down to a certain level to attract audience empathy.

They put down good looking guys as chikna etc., maybe as a defense mechanism to resolve own inferiority complex.
countingstarz thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
I actually think most of the women in BW are gorgeous , it's the men that are questionable , it boggles my mind that people think actors like Salman, Ranbir etc. are hot 😆
karan-007 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder 😛 n thats Ranveer Singh not Kapoor n bollywood mein acting kaam atti hai chehra nahi 😊
642126 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Antlers

Juhi Chawala, Anil Kapoor, Sri Devi, Rajesh Khanna, Akshay Kumar.

Juhi and Akki are the only good looking people in your list.

Sri is plastic surgery wonder.

Anil is talented and endearing. But NO WAY good looking.

Rajesh Khanna? Might have been charming or whatever but his face is full of pimples and almost looks red.
I thought Daag was about his face. 😆 Just look at his face in the close ups!
642126 thumbnail

Originally posted by: karan-007

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder😛n thats Ranveer Singh not Kapoor n bollywood mein acting kaam atti hai chehra nahi😊

BW works on luck.

Otherwise many actors also vanished. Many non actors survived.

There are no hard and fast textbook type theories on what works here and what doesn't.

ibelieveinpink thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
Ugly men---Yes.
Women: HELL NO! Women are like 100 times prettier. I feel bad they have to romance such less attractive guys minus 3-4 really handsome hunks!

And Ranveer is legit hot on-screen. Especially in RL. Damnnn his abs. ☺️
karan-007 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: atominis

BW works on luck.

Otherwise many actors also vanished. Many non actors survived.

There are no hard and fast textbook type theories on what works here and what doesn't.

everything works on luck not only BW but acting is required for long run to survive in BW
Hifah thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Then y r u in bollyforum ? 🤣
Neela-Paani thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Ur list wont be complete without inclusion of Alia Bhatt and Parineeti Chopra😆

Grumpydwarf24 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
I wouldn't say ugly but a lot of average looking people have come in. Even for actresses Parineeti, Kagana, Alia, Anuskha weren't the conventional beauties. Even outsiders like Kriti Sanon are only decent looking. But I think there is a reason behind why it works better for such people. They come across relatable thus making them more likable for the masses. They look more realistic playing every day characters on screen as oppose to someone like Aish.