The insiders hate me
Ahead of the release of Detective Byomkesh Bakshy!, Sushant Singh Rajput talks about challenging himself with each passing film, his fanboy moment with SRK and how his film is different from the very popular TV show
Sushant Singh Rajput
Reshma Kelkar Dabholkarconnect@absoluteindianews.com
Sushant Singh Rajput might be one of the last names you might think of as the iconic detective Byomkesh Bakshi but watch him in action in the promos of the upcoming Detective Byomkesh Bakshy! and all doubts will fly out of the window. Yes, that is the power of his performance. And staying true to his skill, Sushant has become super selective of the films that he takes up, to which he says, "It's not deliberate. I don't go by logic rather it's more about instinct. I can't do every film. The insiders hate me. I have to work for myself. If I am investing my six months into a project, I should be excited about it and not what people should be excited about. That's why all the decisions I take are very personal. If I convince myself then the audience will also be convinced."Think of Sushant's career and one can't help but ask about his switch from TV to films, speaking of which, Shah Rukh Khan also did the same many years ago. Sushant says, "Shah Rukh has been my inspiration for so many years. Aamir too and I got some opportunity to interact with him during PK. I met Shah Rukh for the promotional shoot of DBB and I told him that I have been his greatest fan and wanted his autograph in 2004 and came to the sets of Swades but I didn't get the autograph and second time the same thing happened when I was dancing behind him during an awards function. He told me he really liked the trailer which is quite big for me. He said he likes my work and films."Actor Rajit Kapoor was Byomkesh Bakshi for many years in the TV show. When asked what differentaites his upcoming films from Rajit's show, Sushant says, "I think three things that differentiate us. We are not just showing Byomkesh solving a case. The way he solves the complexities of the case is what makes the story fascinating. Solving a case is just one of the things. Our film is about his journey from Byomkesh as a young intelligent boy to a seasoned detective. I feel the story is also different. We are talking about things that happened in the 40s, which we actually don't know anything about. The kind of narrative, background, editing Dibakar has taken I think the youth will relate to it. It is very contemporary." We couldn't resist asking Sushant about detective films not working at the box-office to which he cleverly replies, "There are so many genres which have not worked. But we are the same people who love Sherlock Homes."
-
I am not thinking about the film's business
As he gears up for the release of Detective Byomkesh Bakshy!, Sushant Singh Rajput gets candid about the film, his love for fictionaldetectives, working with Dibakar Banerjee and more
Reshma Kelkar Dabholkarconnect@absoluteindianews.com
From television of films, how has life changed?
When I left TV, everybody was concerned but not me. I left my college and didn't get my degree. I started theatre but was not getting any money. I did television and at the peak of my career I quit. I think that was an important decision that I took during that time. If you are really excited about something you should stick to it. This is possible now but four years back, it was an impossible dream. But just because I did what I always wanted to do, that's why things happened. I think if you think big and believe in yourself, things will eventually happen to you for good.
After doing a film like Shuddh Desi Romance, what made you sign a detective film?
I didn't know what I wanted to do post that. It's just a sheer idea of Dibakar (Banerjee) and YRF coming together. This was a completely different interpretation. Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay's essence is there but this was very much personal to Dibakar. So are you a fan of any detective films?Yes, I am fan of Karamchand, Raja Rancho. I love Sherlock Homes and a big Robert Downey Jr fan.
How was it to get into the character of a Bengali detective?I lost a lot of weight to get into the shape of Byomkesh. I had to learn the mannerisms. We are showing 1940s Calcutta so the mannerism has to be like that. In terms of look, we kept it contemporary that was a bit difficult.
How is Dibakar as a director?
He is a very intelligent man and understands his actors very well. He will not tell you in your face to do something instead he creates an environment. He guides you without you getting to know about it so it's an art. He is a very efficient filmmaker who understands his actors. He gives you that room to improvise. You think you are actually doing it but that's what he wants you to do.There is a lot of hype about the film in Kolkata.
Are you expecting some sort of outstanding response from there?
I have been going there for past two years. They are very much aware about Byomkesh but right now our job is to make them aware that the film is releasing, so go and watch it. Everyone there has an idea about the film, we should not disappoint them. West Bengalis already know about Byomkesh Bakshy. They are very concerned because there are two types of Bengalis. One who like Byomkesh and second who like Satyajit Ray's Feluda. All have an opinion about Byomkesh and Feluda. They are very much concern that the kind ofidea they have for Byomkesh, we should play with that idea so if we are able to convince that there's another way of looking at the same character, then we will be successful.
The villain of the film has been sensationalised, why?
He is as intelligent as Byomkesh in the film. We can't tell you about him. All I can say is, you can't see his face. I never knew that Aamir was offered to play villain's role in the film. If he would have been there in the film, it would have been different but I would like to say that the actor, who has played that role, is a very good actor.
Why is such big hullabaloo about your kiss scene in the film?
I don't know why people are so excited to know about my kissing scenes but nobody asked me how you felt when you died in your first film. I didn't know about the kiss and my character too. That was a careful thought by my director. It was surprising for me just like my character. Is there any pressure on you to push this film to 100 crore club?I don't know! I am not thinking about it. I am doing everything that is required for a film except thinking about the film's business.