Katina Kaif: Kareena is senior to me

Terenaina thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Katrina Kaif has always been referred as the HIT queen of Bollywood. Thanks to her back-to-back successes which brought her in the A-league of actresses in B-town. And now that her latest film EK THA TIGER, starring Salman Khan alongside, has crossed 100 crore mark, everyone's once again going gaga over her Box-office success.

With an impressive record like that, ask Katrina if she keeps a tab on the Box-office success and she says with utter honesty, 'The business of the industry interests me. Being here for almost nine years now it's nice to know the difference between what we in the industry term as 'credible cinema' and what the audience actually likes. I find it quite interesting to keep a tab on it because it gives you the factual thing. To a certain extent I am fairly aware.'

About the current 100 crore fever in Bollywood, Katrina says, 'I feel for all these male superstars it's wonderful, it's great. I am happy to see the business of cinema flourishing, films minting money. Yes, hits are important but somewhere your work has to be liked also. Otherwise it won't work after reaching a certain point. When you grow and reach higher levels it's very important that your work gets appreciated.'

Katrina has worked with best lot of the industry, with topnotch actors & directors. In fact, currently she is the only actress who is working back-to-back with the three desired Khans of Bollywood and a coveted banner like YRF. She is certainly at the best phase of her career. However, to one's surprise, Katrina feels her career's best is yet to come. 'I hope the best phase of my career is yet to come,' she states.

Every actress in B-town, after making a mark with the heroes of Bollywood, look forward to doing a meaty role or a female-oriented subject. So, ask Katrina if has any such plans and she says, 'In future if someone comes with a script which are female-dominated and I think it's really good I'll do it. Having said that, there are very few such scripts which are actually made. I think everyone has their own career path. Some people can do a particular kind of film while some can't pull it off or may not want to do.'

But remind Katrina of her contemporaries like Vidya Balan, Kareena Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra, who after reaching a point took female-dominated scripts to further catapult their position, and she says, 'They are all way ahead of me. Kareena and Priyanka are senior to me. Kareena's first film came quite a few years before I stepped in the industry. So she is at a different position in the industry and a different place in life today. So it is working for her for the place she is in.'

'I just go with the kind of movies that I am offered. If something excites me I'll do it and vice-versa. If I get criticism because some people may feel I am not trying enough things or different things it's okay. I'll rather take criticism in my stride,' says the actress on a concluding note.
http://www.bollywoodtrade.com/trade-news/katina-kaif-kareena-is-senior-to-me/0d26509e-4478-4ad3-b05c-a4ce450ff4af/index.htm

671100 thumbnail
she mentioned kareena and priyanka ... it looks like Vidya pisses her more 😆
Terenaina thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Because Vidya's first movie came out in 2005 While Katrina's first movie came out in 2003 so basically kat is a senior...lol which is funny since Vidya is treated like the senior, I guess it's because of the roles they do
abby_girl30 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
loll also at some award's rehersal footage... Kat n Vidya were rehersing bt both of them never bothered to even say Hi to each oder... seems like dey dunt get aling or sumthing 😛
Sandy552 thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
As much as I dislike Katrina the 'senior' line did make me smile. Kareena has always used that against older actresses like Ash, Rani and Preity as a sly dig and today its being used against her. LOL.. Karma is a bitch!
MadhuriDixit thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
in one interview recently for ek tha tiger the reporter asked if katrina is open to do female oriented films and salman cut in and said she shuld wait a few years til she stops getting the roles of the young girl in movies and when the actors like him start romancing the younger girls lol
fly2me thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Oh no she didn't!! She just played the senior card!! Lmao.
Rekha_ji thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Sandy552

As much as I dislike Katrina the 'senior' line did make me smile. Kareena has always used that against older actresses like Ash, Rani and Preity as a sly dig and today its being used against her. LOL.. Karma is a bitch!

That is so true!!!

I remember in 2003-2004 she used to say it a lot. Especially about Preity Zinta. And I was thinking "your day will come Bebo!"

And I guess, that day is here 😆
desigal90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
Lol! I remember bebo used to say that all te time as well haha!
453365 thumbnail
Kat has a good head on her shoulders.

Seems extremely sensible and doesn't get defensive like other actresses. She knows her weakness and is constantly improving. Combined with her hard work and professionalism no wonder she's the most in demand actress in Bollywood.