Leia thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Haha, nahi that was for Shabnam (Happyviewer), She's my superwoman 😃 But aapka suggestion bhi chalega. Actually, I think I tried watching Edward Scissorhands, another friend Nitzy said I would like it. And I don't know why I never even bothered to get back to the movie; maybe bcoz Nitzy suggested it. (I usually take her for granted, so now she never suggests anything) 😆

Will watch it this weekend if I can find the movie again 😃 Thanks!

ahhh !!! Sorry I misunderstood...😆 😆 waise since you asked, the films from 2011 worth watching as per recommendations by some critics are Bol (Pakistani), I am Kalam, Saheb, Biwi aur Gangster, Sahi dhande galat bande, Shor in the city. All small budget good movies that were lost in the crowd of over-hyped big-star, big-budget mediocre movies.
Edited by Leia - 13 years ago
axeion thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Leia

ahhh !!! Sorry I misunderstood...😆 😆 waise since you asked, the films from 2011 worth watching as per recommendations by some critics are Bol (Pakistani), I am Kalam, Saheb, Biwi aur Gangster, Sahi dhande galat bande, Shor in the city. All small budget good movies that were lost in over-hyped big-star, big-budget mediocre movies.

Sab dekh li... Except Sahib, Biwi aur Gangster. Wait, who's in the movie and what's the story? I might have watched it. 😆

Good Morning Leia 😃 Breakfast Kiya?
Leia thumbnail

Originally posted by: axeion

Sab dekh li... Except Sahib, Biwi aur Gangster. Wait, who's in the movie and what's the story? I might have watched it. 😆

Good Morning Leia 😃 Breakfast Kiya?

Breakfast kya lunch bhi kar liya 😃 I am in London...Good morning dear...Saheb, biwi aur Gangster has Jimmy Shergill, Mahie Gill and Randeep Hooda...contemporary version of Gurudutt's classic Sahib, Biwi aur Ghulam.
Leia thumbnail

The biggest concern I heard from people about the American version of the film was that the rape and violence would be completely watered down. Apparently, the Hollywood version actually does do justice to the graphic aspects of the plot as well. I really should plan on completing all books and movies soon enough.

Yes, The reviews do indicate that the movie has managed to do justice to the book though I truly believe no movie can ever capture a book in its entirety...Never ever !!!
return_to_hades thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: Leia

Yes, The reviews do indicate that the movie has managed to do justice to the book though I truly believe no movie can ever capture a book in its entirety...Never ever !!!

I'm a total bookworm myself. There is a certain charm and depth of character that books have, which movies can never recreate. Even the best of films fall short on the impact of books.

Although there is one book for sure that is better as movies – Pride and Prejudice. I'm just not a Jane Austen kind of person.

@Axeion, what sort of movies do you like?

Leia thumbnail

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

There is a certain charm and depth of character that books have, which movies can never recreate. Even the best of films fall short on the impact of books.

Absolutely agree with you on this.
axeion thumbnail
Haha, tum sab Londonwasi 😆

I don't think I have seen this, will watch it later this month. I havent seen the original version either 😆
axeion thumbnail

@Axeion, what sort of movies do you like?

RTH - I have a very short attention span, so anything that catches my eye and holds my attention, I watch/read it 😆 I usually avoid 'Blood & Gore' stuff, bcoz that's stupid. 😆
return_to_hades thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

@ Axe - No blood and gore eh, so no Zombieland or Evil Dead for you. 😆 I'm going to assume dramas may unfold too long to grab your attention. So it has to be thrillers (not the gory ones) or comedies. If you want a movie that will totally f**k with your brains watch Donnie Darko. Most people I know, watch it over and over again to try and piece it together - very analytical though. For comedy I would recommend something classic old school like Arsenic and Old Lace. If you want a quick easy breezy feel good movie, I'd recommend John Hughes flicks perhaps Some Kind of Wonderful.

@Leia – Londoner eh? What is the movie scene like in the Queen's land? I don't think Hollywood is as dominant. Do you guys get a lot of other European flicks as well? Do you follow the Eurovision Song Contest? Last year I saw the first St. Trinians flick. I'm waiting for the second one. It is so campy and silly, but I love St . Trinians. Its also awesome to see Colin Firth in a naughty and not so stiff upper lip role.

axeion thumbnail

@ Axe - No blood and gore eh, so no Zombieland or Evil Dead for you. 😆 I'm going to assume dramas may unfold too long to grab your attention. So it has to be thrillers (not the gory ones) or comedies. If you want a movie that will totally f**k with your brains watch Donnie Darko. Most people I know, watch it over and over again to try and piece it together - very analytical though. For comedy I would recommend something classic old school like Arsenic and Old Lace. If you want a quick easy breezy feel good movie, I'd recommend John Hughes flicks perhaps Some Kind of Wonderful.

Haha, Evil Dead - III was the first Blood & Gore movie I ever saw, and that was the end of that genre of movies for me. I was a 5-6 yr old baby, remember watching the movie hiding in one corner of the room under a big blanket with all my cousins and peeping out of an opening.

I don't enjoy thrillers either, my guess work is good; and when a movie ends the way I guessed it to end (which happens most of the times) I get disappointed 😆

Comedies, yes I love them. I don't really have to sit and watch them. I can just listen. But I prefer solid movies like Osama. More of documentaries that are not actually documentaries 😛

I won't watch Donnie Darko, avoid psychological thrillers mostly bcoz they mess with my already messed up brain cells 😆 I always have an urge to jump on the tracks whenever I see a train approaching, so if I see Donnie Darko then u might have to come down to Lone Star State looking for me on the tracks 🤣

Chalo, see you on the other DDT thread 🤗