Chapter 45

Mimima Thumbnail

Full Moon

@Mimima

Font:
Text Size:
Theme:
Chapter 47

Opening the door to her brother, Anjali was surprised to see an all cheerful and happy Arnav. "Chote, I did not expect you to come this soon, all ok

"Di, all fine, something's just come up in the office and I have to go. By the way, get ready Di and ask the others as well, we need to go to Gupta house Arnav told her, while getting ready to go to office. 

"Chote you have just come, sit down, we can't all simply go unannounced. Relax, and let us talk. I will call them and tell, Anjali spoke trying to calm him, but he was already out of the door, shouting, "Di, I have already told them to expect us. So get ready, I will finish my meeting and be back soon.

Anjali blinked her eyes, "What was happening?, He came, gave orders, and gone?? Yet cheerfully she marched to Nani's room to convey his orders. Nani commented, "This boy is just unpredictable
Shashi's reply was in deed shocking to Arnav, "Devyani ji, we all know how things have been with Khushi, so I cannot give you my consent straight away

Sitting at Gupta house, Devyani came straight to the point. While Garima and Buaji were happy with the proposal, Shashi's reply did leave them bewildered as well. 

Shashi spoke clearing their doubts, "I cannot say yes until I have spoken to her 

Arnav, never to shy away, not now with matters concerning Khushi, immediately spoke, "Why Khushi said she would simply listen to her Babuji, then what's the problem? gaining giggles from the rest of the family. 

Nani consoled her grandson, "Chote, have some patience. Let him speak to her first, before she could continue, Arnav told, "Ok, ok, let me call her..

Anjali just put her hand on her head, "Oh oh Chote, this impatient?

Arnav replied, "Well Di, you were the one who was forcing me, and now you are saying this?

Shashi was rather amused with his restlessness and agreed to speak to her. 

Surprised it was Arnav, Khushi casually conversed, "Arnav ji, all ok? Did your meeting go well?

Not bothered to talk anything useless, Arnav coming straight to the point, "Khushi, your Babuji wants to speak to you

Before she could ask "Why? What? he had already handed over the phone.

Taking the phone to his room, Shashi spoke at length to his little daughter (ooo no more little now). Knowing ASR, he wanted to make sure his daughter was not being forced into this.  However, his conversation with Kushal was enough to convince him it was not the case. Kushal moved out of Khushi's hearing to speak to him. The long conversation that followed between Kushal and Shashi did leave Khushi and Arnav at surprise with the thought "What is there to speak so much about?

Shashi was very impressed with the overly concern he had shown to Khushi with regards to her security in Lucknow, and was surprised about his visits in London. 

The rest of the family watched Arnav's show with delighted shock. How could this boy who was even refusing to get married be so eager now? All gave a sigh of relief when Shashi returned.  
Addressing Nani, he spoke, "Devyani ji, I am happy to accept you proposal immediately all faces turned to Arnav who had just loudly sighed. However, not bothered with their stares, he looked intently at Shashi to continue.

"She has agreed for the proposal. I have spoken to Kushal as well, he is also very happy with this. Shashi paused to see everyone. Continuing he remarked, "When I had previously spoken to her about the wedding, she had told me she would want to finish her course before the wedding, so I will speak to her about when we can fix the wedding.

Again Arnav spoke impatiently, "Well, that's not a problem, She is studying in a reputed college. I know they have a branch in Delhi as well, so she can finish it here. "

When he saw some hesitation on the faces of Gupta family, he soon changed to, "Well, yeah, no problem, she can finish in Lucknow itself, we can discuss it with her..

Anjali, who could knew how impatient he can be and spoil everything, finally spoke, "Well Chote let us speak to Khushi, there are different ways to get round this issue, Anyway Payal ji did you tell them we were planning to give her a  surprise for her birthday?

After congratulating each other, the topic soon changed to their impending visit to Lucknow. Sweets were exchanged, and Buaji had her big share of sweet. She also gave the biggest share of the no sugar sweet to Arnav, who was getting fidgety with all the fuss about it.

Before he could be fed the whole box, he stood saying , "I have to make a call. Taking his phone, he walked out to speak to Khushi. 

As soon as he stepped out, Buaji exclaimed, "Devyani ji, I am afraid we should get them married immediately. I don't thing your grand son will stay put. Anjali bitiya, check if your brother is still there or he has already flown off to Lucknow? 

Though all laughed at her remarks, they knew it could very well be true and Garima was seen nodding vigorously. Shashi knew he had to give it a serious thought knowing Arnav can be very stubborn, and told, "Devyani ji, I will speak to my pundit, you can also do from your end and get an idea of dates that are good for us, if we don't hurry, they will hurry

Khushi was waiting for his call eagerly. "Arnav ji, What is happening? Is everything settled now? 
Arnav was angry, "Khushi did you tell him you wanted to finish your course? Do you know it still has almost about 5 months?

Remembering what she had told her Babuji, she replied, "Oh yes, I had told him that long before when they wanted to start looking for alliances, how did I know it would be an impatient laad governor?

"What the..Khushi, your Babuji was talking about it now. You have to convince him somehow..

"Ok. OK. Arnav ji, give it some time, we will settle all these things. Tell me what did Buaji ji say, Khushi tried to calm him.

Arnav asked with a smile, "Khushi tell me what did you tell your Babuji? making Khushi silent for a while.

And the conversation carried on for sometime which was mainly initiated from the other end..

"How much can I do all the talking? Hey Devi Maiyya, I have to teach this man to talk also.. Khushi thought when she hung the phone.

Kushal had made all arrangements for her party to be held in a nearby hotel on the outskirts of Lucknow. Khushi wished she was with the rest of her family, but was happy, knowing at least Kushal was with her. She was excited sitting on the roof top restaurant, about the promised dinner. She made plans to eat all her favourite dishes, after eating only bland food from the past few days!! The reason was, "you need to eat healthy food to get your energy back and to this excuse, even that laad governor had acceded.

Totally unaware to the birthday girl, the entire Raizada family and the Gupta family had landed in Lucknow the day before her birthday. Accommodation was all settled for both the families at Sheesh mahal, with plans of Gupta family moving to Kushal's house after the party. Arnav had kept away from all their plans, even though Anjali had tried her best to extract what he was planning. She was sure he would be there for her Birthday, but when where and the rest, she was unsure of.

After about 15 minutes of ordering her food, wondering why the restaurant was quite quiet today, Khushi spoke nonstop with Kushal. Though nothing new was being talked, she was yet to bore him with her blabbering. And he could bear it on her birthday!! Then there burst open the door and the rest of the family flowed into the roof top, each coming and wishing her with their best big smile.

Her happiness knew no bounds when she saw the rest of the family. She went ecstatic looking at her jiji, Babuji, amma, Buaji, then Anjali and the rest of the Raizada family. Taking blessings from all the elders, her eyes searched for the one. It was as if he had been gone ages. However, Anjali assured her he had not come with them and they had no clue as to what his plans were.  

Even though Khushi kept a cheerful front, they all understood and felt her sadness. Being quite annoyed at her brother's behaviour, Anjali had tried to call him, if only he had picked up.  After they had all eaten their meal, it was finally time to cut the cake and still no sign of Arnav. All had literally given up hopes by now. 

"Dhak dhak dhak dhak, Time to cut the cake and Khushi's heart started a different song. "Arnav ji she whispered. She knew he would never let her down. Just as he held her hand gently from behind her, it went pitch dark with all lights turned off. Everybody's eyes were blinded by the sudden change of light.  Getting close to her, kissing her on her cheek, he softly whispered, "Happy Birthday Khushi.  Her knees went jelly and she was in bliss. "Arnav ji, you came, 

"How  couldn't I? Whispering, he slowly moved towards her lips when she realised what was happening. Though the lights were off, the candles would be lit any moment and she gently pushed him. "Hey Devi Maiyya, this Laad governor does not have any sharam (shame), in front of everyone!!,  

When the lights came on, she saw him with his trademark one sided smirk and did he look more handsome in the candle lit shade? Once again her heart went "Dhak dhak dhak dhak

This also found surprise on everyone's faces. There was Arnav, in all his glory, standing right next to Khushi, holding her hand. 

"Chote Nani and Anjali exclaimed, 

"Arnav Bitwa hello hai hoi gawa mami spoke 

"Bhai Akash exclaimed,  

"Khushi ji, this is not fair, until now, your smile never reached your eyes, now, they are full, you look   completely content Anjali complained "And chote, how could you do this, at least you could have picked up my calls

After all the curtseys, Arnav on his Nani's prompt, took the blessings of his future in laws, who blessed him whole heartedly. Buaji was seen taking evil eyes off the couples from a distance with her arms. How she adored her son in law and to be son in law and thanked her Nandkishore of course..

Soon the topic of marriage was discussed. With pundits having been consulted, it was all left to the important people to decide. 

Nani spoke "Bitiya, both of you decide how, when you want it. Don't listen to Chote, you take a wise decision becayse I know you are capable of it

"What the Nani, whose Nani are you?

Khushi spoke politely, "Nani ji, anything suitable for everyone, Babuji? she asked him for his permission.

"You decide bitiya, how do you want it to be we are ready for anything. Shashi spoke as calmly as ever. 

Listening to everyone's suggestions and advice, Khushi spoke, "Choose the earliest date available, let the wedding be simple, earning gasps from Payal, Buaji and Garima.. "Khushi, you are saying this?

Shashi spoke, "Bitiya, you always wanted want your shadi dhoom dhaam se (a very grand wedding)."

"When I was small Babu ji, now I am not so bothered Khushi spoke, with the Payal saying, "Yeah correct, now you have become BIG

"Jiji Khushi pouted.

"oh Khushi ji, don't get influenced by anyone remarked Anjali eyeing at Arnav crossly.

"What the, nobody wants to ask me anything? Whose family are you all? Anyway, Khushi, you have made the right decision Arnav complained, gaining giggles from Khushi and others.

Her next sentence though, he did not like at all, "Arnav ji, You have to tell them your plans, because you were the one who said, I could still finish my course, here in Lucknow.

All looked at Arnav intently, who had a serious look on his face. Addressing Nani, he spoke, "Nani, if it is ok with all of you, I would like to stay. Here in Lucknow for at least until Khushi finishes her course.

Nani and Anjali had tears in their eyes and exclaimed, "Chote!! Will you stay in Sheesh Mahal?

Arnav continued, "Nani, You have asked me to put all that has happened behind and see a bright future, so I want to begin that way. Sheesh Mahal or other place, its left to Khushi"

Nani remarked, "If that is the case, then we have our full support. She said looking at Shashi, who was not very sure, but a big nod of approval was coming from Buaji and Garima, who, being as any Indian women of their age, wanted to see their daughter married.  Career can always be taken care of later, they often exclaimed.

Shashi spoke, "Khushi, are you sure, will you be able to enjoy your wedding, along with the course and other things? 

"Babuji, I have sorted it all out, there will be a few days off mid course, which is also nearer the date you have mentioned, so a few extra days, I will be able to spare.

"Yeh lo, I was thinking only my brother was impatient, It is not very different on your side as well Anjali exclaimed with nods of approval from all present and Khushi going red. 

"Hai re Nand kishore, Shashi Babua, see if there is any earlier date, I am not sure of this Sanka devi and Arnav Babua.." Buaji seemed to express her concerns seriously.

With same discussion going round and round, taking the cue Arnav said, "If all discussion is over, you can all decide where when what, we will both listen. Now can I drive Khushi home?

Khushi looked at her Babuji, who approved with "Don't be very late, it is not good to be out so late in the night

Arnav assured, "Don't worry, Just a short drive and I will drop her

Anjali popped her head out saying, "Ah, Chote, I am was thinking, aaa, I am bored, so so so shall I come? 

Arnav gave a serious look "DI

Next Akash popped his head saying, "Bhai anyway we are all finished now, I feel like going for a drive, can we come as well? What say Payal?
"AKASH shouted ASR,

Mami too, not behind in pulling his leg, "Hello hai bai bai, Arnav Bitwa, the thing is, your mama never took me for a drive in Lucknow, can you show me around

Before Arnav could say anything, Mama replied, "Oh Manno, that's because you have always taken me for a ride!!' Earning bursts of laughter from all and a scorn from mami. Taking the opportunity, Arnav pulled Khushi along and before anybody could even say anything more to tease them, they could hear the engine pulling out of the drive.

Pulling out for a break, looking intensely into her eyes, he asked "Khushi, are you OK?
"ARNAV JI Khushi did not know how to answer this question in deed or what to make of it. Finally He spoke, "No Khushi, I feel strange. May be because I have never felt like this for anyone before. You know every time you come near me, my heart beats go higher, I cannot think properly like how I normally do. It is as though I am in some different world, very happy. Never felt this contended or happy in all my life."

Holding his hand, she spoke, "Arnav ji, it is no different on this side, my heart races even when I think of you. You know, I could always tell when you were near me. You will laugh at me if I told you all my symptoms when you were around!! It was as if the world around me disappears I can only feel your presence. Now, I feel I am living in a dream world all the time.

Thinking about her acidity she chuckled to herself, Arnav asked, "What others Khushi?
Khushi nodded saying, "Nothing.. she would probably never say it to him!! Well at least not now!!

Kissing her gently, holding her hand, they both drove back home. He did not want to get in his father in laws bad books right away.. well now it was only a few weeks..

Thanks to all the comments. Loved each and every comment. 
Hope you all liked it,... please comment..

Your reaction

Nice Nice
Awesome Awesome
Loved Loved
Lol LOL
Omg OMG
cry Cry

Post Your Comment

Stay Connected with IndiaForums!

Be the first to know about the latest news, updates, and exclusive content.

Add to Home Screen!

Install this web app on your iPhone for the best experience. It's easy, just tap and then "Add to Home Screen".