Chapter 1
The Almost Kiss
"Aman please I NEED a job - you work in AR designs as his manager and PA -find me something till I can get a proper job."
"NO Khushi-find a job on your own"
"Aman I am your little sister -pleeease"
"Khushi - things happen when you're around you will get me fired and then what will we do?"
"Please bhai"
"A minute ago it was Aman now it's bhai ! I know I'm going to regret this -I'll find something but you have to behave -no mad pranks or causes-keep your mouth shut and stay away from ASR and don't tell anyone that I am related to you -or you will get me fired!"
Later on that day "Khushi I have sorted a job out for you in the canteen with Shukla Ji cooking cleaning away from me"
"Bhaiya!"
"Now it's Bhaiya will miracles never cease in one day I've gone from MR Gupta to Aman to bhai and now bhaiya! Well in the office it's gonna have to be Saab"
"Really Bhaiya ?" Khushi threw first a cushion at her brother then another.
"OK you can call me sir"
Another cushion landed on Aman " No really Khushi everybody calls me sir or saab except a handful of people"
"OK SIR!" she stuck her tongue out at him.
A few weeks passed uneventfully Aman was grateful for the lack of reports or concerns around one certain new employee. She loved her new job, she enjoyed cooking and Shukla Ji enjoyed having her around. She was better at cooking than he was. Once finished she would head to a dance studio nearby and spend the next 3 to 4 hours working out and practising. Aman would pick her up on the way home.
"Aman since when have you started clock watching ?"
"Sorry Arnav - I have to pick someone at 9.00 it's 8:50 I don't want her to be waiting on her own at this time of night. Once I've picked her up I don't mind coming back"
"How long ?"
"15 mins tops "
"Go but we will be here till late"
"Khushi hurry I've got to go back to the office we will be working till late"
"You have not had dinner have you"
"Neither has Arnav -this is just start of the craziness till the show - I'll have to arrange something about getting you home after your practice "
Aman returned to work and Khushi watched the watch ticking by reading her latest book that held her captivated The Little Coffee Shop Of Kabul .Her stomach growled she was hungry so would Bhaiya be.
Khushi wandered into the kitchens found some food rustled up some dinner , She knew Arnav like nonspicy food whilst her brother the opposite.
Two plates of steaming hot food , spicy egg and roti for Aman and Pasta Carbonara for Arnav.
She knocked on Aman's door and found no one she next knocked on Arnavs' door .
"Come ?" Arnav was confused and perplexed who else was in the building at this time of night.
"Sir I thought you might be hungry ?" Khushi eye's were directly trained at Aman but she was speaking to Arnav
"You are ?"
"Arnav she works in the canteen - thanks that will be all for now"
"Arnav smiled at Aman so that was your pickup - how long ?"
"What Arnav ?"
"How long have you been seeing her ? She brought the dinner for you!she was totally focused on you"
"I'm not seeing her and yes she brought the food for me lets continue or we will never finish this tonight . " Aman knew that he had closed the topic of Khushi with Arnav.
Aman sent Khushi a text - hey coffee please and some typing then we can go home. Arnav is black no sugar .
Khushi brought up the coffees .
"Thanks and the dinner was really nice"
Aman took his coffee and said thanks and gave Khushi a file with notes and scribbles and amendments.
"Who taught you to write"
Khushi sauntered off with the folder and sat at the terminal her hands flew across the keyboard tying changing amendments and tied up the presentation and emailed it back to Aman with a little emoticon sticking out a tongue at him.
With a little note - You owe me! I' ve cooked for you and you're kadhoose boss made coffee and now am typing ! xxx. Khushi didn't realise that Arnav was working at Aman's terminal.
"Aman you sure your you're not seeing her" with that he showed him the message .
"I apologise on her behalf"
Arnav laughed . Aman looked up at him stunned . "Aman don't worry I've known you to long -I know that she is someone special in your life -and she's not scared of calling me Khadooose!"
Finally they all left at1:00 am.
"Thanks for your help... I'm sorry I don't know your name"
"You're welcome "
She grabbed Aman's hand "let's go"
Arnav thought to himself Lucky guy and I still don't know her name
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The week just got crazier and crazier for Aman as the show date got closer and closer.
Khushi had organised an auto to take her home. She always made sure that she made and left food for Aman and Arnav in the evenings with a pot full of hot coffee and always desert separating Arnavs as sugar free.
AR Designs was a powder keg today it was reading itself for ignition. Right down in the belly of the canteen the rumours of discontent could be heard someone was going to get it.
Aman hadn't been down for lunch. Khushi took it upon herself to take it up to the conference rooms which had been converted to workshops.
"Sir" Aman saw his sisters eyes full of concern . "Come in Khushi"
"Bhaiya you've not eaten"
"Leave it Khushi I'll eat it later let me finish"
"NO you tell me about it -take a break eat and I'll give you my brilliant input at problem solving"
"Khushi its not cooking and not dancing! "
"It's a show - a performance - what am I brilliant at coordinating singing and dancing costume shows so give Mr Gupta what's making your world crumble and has got everyone scurrying around like little mice?"
"The runners are rubbish , the models can't pick the beat to walk to, the clothes don't fit correctly and flow the way Arnav wants the list is endless!"
"Let's start with where can I help? you eat let me listen to the music"
As the music started to play Khushi lost herself to the music she entered her own world she loved and started to sing and dance in Aman's office. He loved to watch her dance and he joined in toe tapping eating his lunch. Khushi was doing a series of pirouettes when Arnav walked in .
"What the ... is going on we have a fashion show that is struggling to meet the deadlines and you my righthand man is in here dancing with his ..."
"Arnav! Don't say it. We have been working flat out -and I agree with Khushi sometimes you need a break to see the wood from the trees she has just listened to the music line up and she says it should be changed it doesn't flow and the outfits she seen the drwings are coming down in the wrong order."
"You want me to listen to a girl from my canteen - a ...a... a ...cook! Aman sometimes you are unbelievable you want me to put my fashion show in the hands of a cook "
"Arnav I trust her when it comes to music and dancing let her mess with it for one day if she can't sort out the walk down to your satisfaction I'll resign "
"That much trust - I'll take you on but if she doesn't succeed you won't resign just work for me for free for a month since that will equate to time lost in wages"
"If Khushi is successful what will she get ?"
"Equivalent of your month's wages"
"Do I get a say in this ?" asked Khushi nervously
Both men replied unanimously -"NO!"
"After Arnav had left Aman hugged Khushi -"Don't worry"
"No pressure eh MR GUPTA !"
Aman gave Khushi a kiss on her the top of her head "I have complete faith in you !"
Arnav and Anjali walked in "Still here - I thought you were meant to be saving Amans' job"
Aman ignored Arnav "Hi Anjali Ji , Excuse Arnav's foul temper today -he's laid a bet with me and we all know how much he hates losing"
"Aman , Chote never loses a bet"
"He hasn't bet against my Khushi there's always a first time"
"Well if you two can tear yourselves apart there is work to be done - the show and your month's pay is on the line !"
"Khushi looked at Arnav he was just plain angry - nothing new there -but Anjali had she seen hurt flicker through her eyes. Her brother definitely had a weird look in his eyes, when he looked at her.
"Before we go Khushi -Anjali Ji what did you need from me ?"
Arnav answered - "sign some cheques for her latest cause that she is raising money for "
"Anjali ji ever coordinated a walk down ?"
"No but I have seen plenty"
"We have a walk down in trouble would you like to help me win a bet against Arnav"
"Yes!"
"Come on then we have a walk down to re-organise"
Five hours later the walk down flowed the designs themes flowed and the steps she chose for the models were simple but effective.
Do you think Arnav will take part in the finale? I'll use Aman for now- can he dance ?"
"Khushi j ii have never seen him dance but then I have never seen Aman move either ?"
"What Di?" Somewhere during there work she had become Di.
"When we finish the walk down I'll show you Aman move, he used to be good and very hot and incredibly sexy in the routine time of my life ,he can twist me twirl me and catch me. Keep watching DI "
"Shall we call him Aman"
The walk down flowed , it was electric ,he had not seen a show as good as this in a long time -it would take the fashion world by storm . It was a happening show . Then he saw Aman dance with Khushi . His heart twisted he didn't like that -Aman was a good dancer and this routine with Khushi and leap of the stage had sent the models and spectators screaming -they were caught up in the moment and when she flew through the air and Aman caught her sent the whole place wild all the models were dancing.
Arnav thought to himself- if this was the response from his tired models what would happen when this went live.
Aman and Khushi would have to be part of the show -he knew they had just done this for pleasure but it took the show a whole new level this routine in one of his designs would send the show viral .
Anjali watched with a wistful look as she saw Aman hug Khushi at the end. Arnav watched on as well not liking what he saw.
"You ready to go home Khushi or are you still on for a practice"
" I need to let some steam off Aman , everyone gone give me half an hour"
"Ok will lock up and then come back and pick you up"
Arnav heard the music and came to a standstill with what greeted him. Khushi dancing her heart out. From simple plies to multiple pirouettes her leaps ,and splits . She was elegance personified when she danced . Arnav was already in love with her , but watching her he lost his heart completely. Aman came up behind him with Anjali "She is breathtaking isn't she Arnav when she dances she transports herself and her audience to another plane"
"What is she doing in our canteen?"
"Deciding what to do stay with me or go back and rejoin the royal ballet company as their principle ballerina. Once she joins them that's it for her for the next seven eight years , she will eat live and sleep ballet. She is using this time to see if there is something else she might want that she has not tasted yet. She has only known the ballet world since she was a child. Now these three months she will be introduced to life outside ballet - what is she going to decide , I don't know but she has to do about 4-6 hours practice everyday that's why the canteen job suits her .
"Khushi ready ?"
"Let me warm down"
"Aman where did you meet her ? in our canteen?"
"Arnav you really don't pay attention to anything - pull her personal file you will understand everything"
"Well she has certainly breathe new life into the show I want you and her to dance in the finale like you did earlier."
The fashion show took the industry by storm , Khushi and Aman's routine had the audience dancing in the aisles. The designs were amazing and orders were flying in cementing AR in the number one position in the fashion industry.
At the after party the routines were asked for again and again, Arnav noticed that Khushi danced from the start not stopping.
"Does she ever stop Aman , you never told me how you met her"
"I didn't want to embarrass you look at her personal folder -I'm not telling you! I believe she needs to sit , so i am going to rescue her.
"Arnav's asking me how I met you?"
"Forget about him what about Di?"
"What about her ?"
"You are in love with her - I think the feeling is reciprocated - are you going to tell her? Or even do anything about it ?"
"Whhat ?Khushi have you seen where we live and where she comes from - "
"Now you don't have to pay for me that will all change- so when are you going to tell her"
"No Khushi she is unattainable for the likes of"
"Di do you like Aman ?"
"Pardon ?"
"Do you like Aman ?"
"Khushi that can never happen ,I'm a divorcee with a limp. Who is going to look at me ? And those who do are more interested about what they can get out of Arnav . He needs an uncomplicated life , he can do a lot better than me"
"Di I asked a simple question not a whole chapter - do you love Aman ?"
Di turned red "OK that wasn't hard -I take it your silence to mean yes"
Later on in the evening when Arnav and Aman were sitting round the table.
Khushi exploded "I am fed up of the both of you ! I have never known a pair like you . You have spent the evening pussyfooting around each other. Di , Aman loves you but has a hang up about the amount of money you have . He feels that you are above him . And Aman Di thinks that she is not good enough for you since she is divorced and has a limp. Oh by the way did I forget to mention that you both love each other to distraction. If you don't sort this out tonight I am going to probably kill the both of you."
Three people were choking on their drinks.
"Arnav you owe me a dance so let's go and leave these two to sort this out .I have given them all the help I can, they are going to have to kiss on their own I'm not helping." Aman had just got his breath back and started to choke on the the second comment.
"Di I'm not saving him you'd had better do that" with that she grabbed Arnav's hand "Don't look back "
They found themselves outside in the gardens -"Di and Aman ? I mean Aman? Really Aman ?"
"What's wrong with Aman ? He is fantastic , for a start he puts up with all the rubbish you spout out at him, he is loving ,caring ,loyal , gentle"
"Stop you don't need to go on about his attributes - I employ him I know how good he is! But what about you? How do you feel?"
"Di is lovely, she needs solid dependable reliable touched with a bit of madness -they are perfect for each other. Do you know I think he has loved her since he met her"
"What are you going to do ?
"Finish working for you hopefully attend Aman wedding and then go back and join the Royal Ballet Company as a first soloist then maybe become a principle within a year "
Arnav didn't say anything further he was in love with her, sometimes the hardest thing to do is to let the one you love go. He had to let her go and follow her dream. When she came to him and he would make sure that she did there would never be any what ifs'. She had worked too long and too hard to lose it now because he wanted her.
They sat and chatted for a long time about the show her dreams the next catalogue what Arnav wanted. She didn't even know it but somewhere along their conversation she had wrapped her hands in his and he was playing with her fingers.
She caught the look in his eye and Khushi blinked away not wanting to deal with the hidden depth of passion there. Arnav pulled her face back towards him staring deep into her eyes , he felt her heart race in anticipation "Feel mine" and he laid her palm on his chest she could feel his thundering heart.
He slowly tilted his head and leant forward, lips almost touching but not quite- giving her ample opportunity to pull away. She felt her breasts straining at the fabric , her stomach twisted at the thought of the kiss. She knew he was giving her a chance to say no ,but she wanted this as much as he did.Khushi closed her eyes in anticipation for those lips to meet and then she felt the shock of a cold blast of air. He had moved away . Khushi eyes flew open hurt confusion unsatisfied passion shone out as she looked at Arnav . "Aman and Di" he whispered.
Khushi looked up and saw Di and Aman approaching them.
"Anything to tell us ? we have been waiting patiently for you to find us" Arnav took control of the situation , she felt like a quivering mass of jelly and he hadn't even kissed her. What would happen when he did if this is what she felt like at the thought.
A week , a whole week had flown by Khushi and Di were inseparable trying to get everything ready for the wedding in a week. Clothes ,jewellery , lingerie . That hadbeen a whole new experience when she saw what was on display.
"Di what is the function of this lacy scrap , and it has slits in it , everything is going to fall out the front - there is no support or decency in it-they call this a bra ?"
"Di whispered in her ear the function is to tease and for the man to have easy access to..."
"Ewww" Khushi slapped her hands over her ears and screwed her eyes up. "That's my brother you're talking about and you're gonna be my bhabhi - please don't traumatise me -you're on your own for this section BYE!"
Khushi thought to herself she was free for a while what now ? window shop ?
An hour later she had no idea how she was entering AR designs and climbing the staircase to be told that her brother had gone out . She hadn't come to see her brother but she needed an answer to the almost kiss. That had left her mind in total confusion.
She knocked on his door not sure what she was going to say.
"Come in, Come in , COME IN"
Who had knocked on his door why hadn't they come in,he strode across the the room and pulled open the door to see Khushi disappearing down the stars.
"Oh no you don't KHUSHI - get back here !"
Khushi heard the anger in his voice what had she done now.
"Stop debating , I'm not angry at you , come back up ...Please"
Khushi turned and ran up to him smiling .
"I should be angry with you - where have you been for the last week ?"
"You have seen me everyday - i bring your lunch"
"Send my lunch but take Aman his! Why are you avoiding being alone with me . How come you're here you should be shopping with Di now shouldn't you ?"
"She was traumatising my brain -it was horrible"
"What did she do ?"
"She was buying lingerie for her wedding night -those pictures are still to vivid -he is my brother ,I don't need to know that level of detail do you know she saw a red lacy bra"
"Stop Khushi do you think that I need to know that level of detail about my sister's lovelife. I need to find out about my own screwed up love life"
Arnav pulled her into his office shutting the door sitting on the sofas and pulled her into his lap.
"First this was not finished"
A long while later "Just so you know I have never made out with any girl in my office"
Somehow she was lying on his chest his shirt was on the floor his trousers were half undone and she was only missing a top.
"I enjoyed that very much - but blow jobs are not for the office and this still doesn't tell me about what we are going to do. Khushi please put your top on I can't think straight when you are around at the best of times. I have never done this in my office what do you do to me ?"
Khushi laughed . " I like what i do to you"
"Khushi Please put your clothes on or this is going to go a lot further -and I don't want our first time to be here I will never be able to concentrate you know now everytime I look at that sofa I will see us. Look at what is happening to me . " Besharam Miss Gupta please put your clothes on so we can talk"
Aman and Di got married in a beautiful but small ceremony and Khushi showed Di that a limp didn't stop her from dancing at her own wedding.
Arnav and Khushi got engaged before she returned to London. They would manage a long distance relationship . Arnav felt that she was too young to give up her dream that she had worked so hard for -they would get married in time but that was all details to be worked out. Khushi was only 19 could give her another six years till her 25 birthday. He was 27 , he needed to give her time to grow up have her dream so later she would never have any regrets about settling down and having children.
enjoy and comment
Your reaction
Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
6 Comments