Chapter 3

FieryPhoenix Thumbnail

FieryPhoenix

@FieryPhoenix

Font:
Text Size:
Theme:
Disclaimer : This piece of writing derives its inspiration among other things from 4Lions Films' 'Iss Pyaar Ko Kya Naam Doon?' and hence the characters you recognize by name as theirs belong to them to that extent but because this does not follow the show's storyline, the concept, story, characterization, new characters are my property and any sharing/using of this content anywhere will not be tolerated.
Additional disclaimers shall be provided as and when the need arises.

Genre : Comedy/Drama/Romance/Filmy (to the core)

| Gupta Home Designs ~ Your home, Our dream |

{ Chapter 2 }

"Is the ass clo-I mean is Mr. Raizada here yet?"

"No, not as yet." Replied the receptionist, without even blinking an eyelid at the not so well concealed insult being to used to it as she was, like the entire office.

However she did worry, and worry she did quite a bit, about the delegate from Malik gharana who was to meet and discuss ideas about their dream home with Miss. Gupta and Mr. Raizada, poor unsuspecting fellow thought Payal Subramaniam to herself.

"Well when he does decide to show up, direct him to my office where the meeting will take place, will you Py?"

"Sure, K."

"Thanks, babe."

Payal rolled her eyes, a smile still in place, as she watched Khushi sashay down the hallway to her room, knowing that in her friend-cum-boss's eyes she had just scored one over Arnav because everyone knew that in whoever's room the meeting was conducted, he or she was the boss in the project and Khushi had just swept that from right under Arnav's nose.

"Hey Subbu! Is the crazy witch of the west here yet?"

"She has a name, Razzie."

"Yes. An ironical one too when you compare it to her not so sunny personality and don't call me that."

"Then don't call me Subbu. And K isn't that bad."

"But bad she is...eh? I know you agree with me, beautiful, all slightly intelligent people do."

"I never said that! Don't put words in my mouth, you rascal!"

"I am wounded. Deeply so. But I shall live another day just to see that dizzying smile of yours, Payal darling! But before that I have to face the sneer of Miss. Gupta...tell me has the happiness been sucked out of this place yet or is the dementor yet to arrive?"

"Uff you two! She arrived just a moment ago and is in her office where she has announced that the meeting will take place...and considering that she did come first, I daresay she gets to choose!"

"Like hell she does! She always has had horrendous choices!"

And for just a moment Payal saw a cloud pass over Arnav's chocolate brown eyes, the shade of melted chocolate to be exact, before he grinned at her and took off from the reception, promising her a roaring time at the cafe during lunch with all the stories of riling up of Khushi that he would have to forcefully engage in till then but his stride was different, almost like he was forcing the jovial out but before she could ponder deeper on her bosses turned friends' lives, a tap on the white wood desk brought her rushing back to the task at hand and she turned with a big smile on her face to welcome whoever it was to Gupta Home Designs - Your home, Our dream.

Only to find a man who it seemed was incapable of stringing two sentences together without stammering the meaning out of them but Payal Subramaniam was a patient kind woman and she helped him out all the same - directing Akash Malik to the waiting area, knowingly and silently saving the poor man, who it seemed suffered from a faint heart from the way he was sweating and his eyes were darting around the space, from the pandemonium which was no doubt unraveling itself in Khushi's room at the moment.

"Glad to see you made it, Raizada. Now take a seat like a good boy you never have been and watch how its done."

"How is what done? Deciding on disasters? And good boys are overrated just by the way."

"You would know that, wouldn't you? And no, not disasters, but actual proper deals and homes not fantasies that never came to be."

"Well excuse me for thinking outside the 1 by 1 box you keep your brain locked inside of. We are architects, Khushi, we are supposed to fantasize."

"Yes, we are but we are supposed to come through on those fantasies too, Mister. I am such a genius!"

They were both leaning on the solid mahogany desk with their palms pressing down on the cool surface and their breaths huffing out warm air as they glared at each other from the opposite end, neither willing to back down.

"The meeting is about to begin, Arnav, so I suggest you take a seat."

"The meeting will happen in my office, Khushi, so I suggest you get moving."

"You were late."

"A minute later than you."

"That's still late if you know elementary mathematics."

"And that's moronic if you know elementary common sense."

"Arnav."

"Khushi."

"Both of you, meeting will take place in the 2nd board room. Get there NOW." Interrupted Shashi Gupta's tired voice from the door as the youngsters jumped and turned their attention to him, colouring at being caught bickering less than 24 hours from when they had promised to work together harmoniously and in their guilt and shame nodded at the elder man and made their way out, but not before shooting each other one last venomous look...well last till they reached the board room anyway.

"Mr. Malik, you may proceed to the board room now. It's on the 2nd floor, second door to your left. The lift is over there. Thank You for your patience."

"Ummm...I...you...uhhh...okay!"

Payal stared incredulously after the awkward man who had knocked two glasses of water since he had been seated ran off in the direction of the lift without tripping even once wondering where on earth had this agility and balance come from before shaking her head at the types of namoone Devi Maiyya had written in her fate - first Khushi, then Arnav and now this strange man - Akash Malik. Uff.

"Good Morning, Mr. Malik. I hope you are doing good? I am Khushi Gupta and this is my part-partn-partner Arnav Singh Raizada." Said Khushi with great difficulty finally getting the disgusting, unworthy word out, mentally retching at the blasphemy she had just been forced to utter by her all too melodramatic father!

"Only professionally though. Great to meet you, Mr. Malik. Please take a seat." Countered a smiling, ever funny, Arnav gesturing to the plush leather scene in front of the oval long desk he was sitting behind of with Khushi by his side, ignoring Khushi's disapproving gaze knowing that the joke had not been appreciated by her but then again, he reasoned, when had she ever appreciated a joke by him ever and a strange bitterness overcame him before he drowned them out with a tall glass of water, chiding himself for letting being affected. It was no time, not at all, to be thinking about anything but this project, he told himself in a strict tone and satisfied, he leaned back and smiled at the man in front of him, now going over the details he had read of him before coming to work.

Akash Malik.

Heir to the reputed Malik Fashion House.

Belonging to a family which prided itself on its heritage, its culture, its traditions.

But combined it all the same with the modern times, the changes around, the fast lane life.

A close joint-family consisting of Grandparents, Parents and the bachelor Akash Malik.

His father was heading the company as of now but Akash had joined him recently and was soon set to take over.

His mother was a slightly over the top socialite while his Grandparents traditional in their lifestyle but modern in their outlook.

"What are your and your family's dreams regarding this house, Mr. Malik? Before we start planning, designing anything we would love to know what you envision?"

Khushi's voice cut through his mental list and he turned his attention towards the events happening in real time, his professional persona taking over as he let Khushi take charge of steering the conversation, pulling to himself the notebook he used to jot down ideas and turning his pen with his fingers, his entire concentration centered on Akash Malik.

"Well...our current house is great, there is no issue with it as such but now that my Parents and Grandparents are getting old, we would like something more...easy for them to maneuver in you know? Also we would like to expand now...for the future. Something...something modern and traditional still...design wise...I am sorry but all my creative talent lies in fabric guys! I will not be of much help, I am afraid...but I promise I will make up for it by choosing all the curtains in the house!" Akash shot them an easy smile, shrugging his shoulders and making it clear that they were to take lead.

Arnav and Khushi looked at each other, appraising the opinion of the other quickly, before turning back to Akash.

"If you don't mind, Mr. Malik-"

"Akash please, Miss. Gupta."

"Well its Khushi then, Akash!"

"Khushi it is then!"

They both beamed at each other before being interrupted by an irritated Arnav.

"What were you saying Khushi before the ummm pleasantries...?"

Khushi shot him an annoyed look before giving Akash a dazzling smile, trying to make up for Arnav's rudeness, and got on with her suggestion.

"Yes, I was thinking Akash if we could see your old house and also meet your family before we got planning? Get everyone's inputs and see what is not working for ourselves, if you don't mind of course!"

"No, not at all, Khushi! Just tell me when you want to do so..."

"Well nothing better than today if that's okay?"

"Sure! Let me just call up home and tell them you guys are coming over..."

Akash excused himself to make the call while Arnav started packing his belongings in the small trendy file briefcase he carried, determinedly paying no heed or trying to anyway to Khushi's angry glare.

"What the hell was that?"

"I am talking to you! Aise koi baat karta hai kya kissi client se?!"

"Client?! Are you sure that's all he is?!" Arnav's lip curled into an ironical grimace as he pronounced the word with more rigor than normal.

"What?!"

"Nothing. Leave it. I am waiting downstairs for you and the client."

And he left, just like that, his briefcase falling off the conference table with a small huff as he not delicately pulled it after him and stormed out leaving behind a confused yet raging Khushi who stood in the room, her hands on her hips and her lips pursed into a thin line, the usually honey golden eyes spitting an angry molten fire.

Chapter 3 - Page 11

If you want PMs, please me to your buddy list and please make sure to leave feedback. I dont want those who dont on the PM List.

Hope you enjoyed this chapter and thank you for your response to the last one. Your feedback is much cherished! :)

[MEMBERSONLY]

[NOCOPY]

FieryPhoenix2013-07-27 23:37:56

Your reaction

Nice Nice
Awesome Awesome
Loved Loved
Lol LOL
Omg OMG
cry Cry

39 Comments

Stay Connected with IndiaForums!

Be the first to know about the latest news, updates, and exclusive content.

Add to Home Screen!

Install this web app on your iPhone for the best experience. It's easy, just tap and then "Add to Home Screen".