Chapter 10

Dynamix215 Thumbnail

Dynamix215

@Dynamix215

Font:
Text Size:
Theme:

I SO didn't want to update, but since I am leaving, I WANTED to update.

IS NOT happy with the response! =_=

Chapter 8 ~ Departure Without A GoodBye

The two days at GH passed with Arnav learning more about the younger Khushi. He was perturbed that she had suddenly distanced herself even more than before. She had never let them be alone in a room. She would go to bed early and get up early.

Arnav's intuition told him that something was going to go wrong.

The next day, Arnav and Khushi returned home along with Akash and Payal.

The news of Shyam and Anish's deaths had reached all of them, and also the fact that Anjali was now divorced.

She had decided to start working as a teacher and put her B.Ed and M.Ed to use. And so she wasn't at home, and was on the hunt for a job.

"Di went alone!?" Arnav asked.

"No Amit bitua accompanied her…" Nani smiled.

Arnav nodded.

Just then, the landline rung and Mami picked up.

"Heylo? Manorama Raijjada espeakingj!"

"Bhaaattt? Bhane? Howj!" she exclaimed horrified.

"Theek hai. Hum phamily ke saath awath hain!" she said and disconnected the call.

"Manorama? Who was it!"

"It was Amit Bitua! Anjali bitiya has gone into labor!" Manorama gasped.

No one noticed Khushi silently slipping away upstairs.

As everyone got into the car to get into the hospital, Arnav suddenly yelled "Khushi! Where is Khushi!"

"I am here, I am here!" she said and she appeared from near the watchman's cabin.

"What were you doing there?" Arnav asked.

"I-I just told Ramesh to make sure that he locks the gate after us…" she muttered.

Arnav nodded, got in and drove away fast.

As he stopped at the first red signal, he noticed that Khushi had changed into a fresh pair of clothes. Her hair was tightly braided and falling over one shoulder. He could see that he eyes were kohled and she was wearing a salwar-kameez, unlike the sarees she usually wore. Her eyes had distant look, but determined.

I just told Ramesh to make sure that he locks the gate after us…

Arnav realized that it was quite unnecessary because Ramesh did that anyway even without being told. He glanced at Khushi again. She was looking straight ahead, more distant than ever before.

Anjali had to undergo a C-Section. She had given birth to a little baby girl. They named her Niharika.

She had given birth to the child 45 minutes after the Raizadas had arrived.

Right now, everyone was crowded around a beaming Anjali. Arnav didn't seem to run out of Thank you's for Amit.

Little Niharika was a bundle of joy, passed around to everybody. As Khushi held her, she whispered softly, "You have your Mamu's eyes…"

She stared at the little girl's face and kissed her forehead gently. She felt sobs building up in her throat, missing her child once again. She handed over the baby to Anjali, and everyone was watching Khushi silently.

She stepped back stiffly and sniffled. She looked at everybody and then finally at Arnav. "I think I-I'll just wash my face…" she muttered.

"I'll come with you…." Arnav said anxiously, looking at her red face.

Everyone was feeling bad for her.

"Khushi?"

"No, Amit Bhaiyya I'm fine. I'll just wash my face." She said, and headed to the door.

As she kept her hand on the knob of the door, she hesitated for a moment. Before opening the door fully, she turned to the family. "Chalte hain…." And left hurriedly.

Ten minutes passed, and Khushi didn't show up.

And suddenly, Arnav realized something.

"Chalte hain nahi bolte! Aatein hain!"

No, no, no! It couldn't be! It just couldn't be! He thought in panic.

The door opened and Akshay walked in. "Hello everybody! Sorry I'm late! Congratulations Anjaliji!" he smiled. Then he turned to the family. "Where was Khushi going? She seemed to be in such a hurry!"

"She went to wash her face…" Nani said.

Akshay frowned. "Why would she be taking an auto if she wanted to wash her face?" Akshay asked perplexed.

Arnav froze. "Auto?"

Anjali looked at Arnav and understood too. "Chhote, go!" she urged.

Ten minutes later, Arnav was speeding through the traffic hoping he wasn't too late.

As soon as he reached, the first thing he did was go to Ramesh.

"Ramesh, was Khushi here?"

"Yes sir. An hour back, she had given me a bag and told me to keep it here. Just a few moments before you arrived, she came for the bag and left again…"

Panicking, Arnav ran into the house and into his room.

He opened his cupboard; Khushi's clothes were gone and so was she.

He sat down on the bed in shock, unable to believe that she'd just leave. Maybe he HAD misread her… Maybe she DIDN'T love him…. Then his eyes fell on a white envelope.

Your reaction

Nice Nice
Awesome Awesome
Loved Loved
Lol LOL
Omg OMG
cry Cry

35 Comments

Stay Connected with IndiaForums!

Be the first to know about the latest news, updates, and exclusive content.

Add to Home Screen!

Install this web app on your iPhone for the best experience. It's easy, just tap and then "Add to Home Screen".