'The word 'liberal' is not enough to describe Zoya'- Gul Khan

Gul Khan of Four Lions Films and Creative Producer Mrinal Jha discuss their show Qubool Hai on Zee TV

Gul Khan of Four Lions Films and veteran writer Mrinal Jha since a long time were wanting to create a show with a Muslim backdrop. That is exactly how Qubool Hai came about.

Mrinal Jha, Creative Producer of Qubool Hai explained, "We needed a Muslim story to represent the current times and made the protagonist Zoya a progressive girl. Zoya represents the educated progressive youth of today who are very well sorted and rooted in their culture. Yet they are not regressive. They are people who have adjusted to modern times and are trying to find their own place in this world." Gul added, "The word 'liberal' is not enough to describe Zoya. She is a cultured and balanced girl who is very conscious of her rights." Gul hails from Madhya Pradesh. Qubool Hai too is set in Bhopal. 

Though the creative team insists that this isn't a show about religion, won't certain religious aspects automatically surface through the serial? Gul replied, "Some aspects about religion will come in. However it is not a show about religion. It is rather a story about the emotions of the people who follow that religion. We will try to portray Muslims in a positive light." Mrinal added, "It is not that we are not going to touch religion. After all we are talking about a specific religion in this show. It is not our intention however in any way to question religion at all. Gul is a Muslim herself and has grown up in that culture. There is nothing wrong with religion. It is just that culturally sometimes some things don't go right, which need to change with the times. If we question something then it will be more of the cultural aspects."

Isn't it a positive sign that we have come up with a show which focuses on a minority group in India? Mrinal answered, "Obviously. We have such a huge Muslim population in the country. But we don't have much entertainment which covers that population."

When asked about the love triangle in Qubool Hai, Gul explained, "Two brothers falling for the same girl is not the main story." Both Mrinal and Gul were quite surprised to hear that it would be a melancholic serial as some actors were giving journalists that impression. Gul rectified, "It is not a sad story but a family saga which will have both happiness and sadness." Mrinal seconded Gul, "This isn't a sad show but it will have lots of emotion, drama, happiness and sadness."

- Author and Reporter: Pallavi Bhattacharya

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Qubool Hai poster

Qubool Hai

Zee TV thumbnail

Zee TV

Comments (42)

Love the character ... tho why she has to be so interfering and brattish I dont know! The crowning glory of the serial is that Karan Singh Grover is finally back! Qubool Hai!

11 years ago

I wish people will stop calling muslims a minority community. We have the second largest muslim population in the world.

Yes if u talk about daily soaps, we dont have many serials with backdrop of this community and that should change.

11 years ago

i dont think the show will rightfully be portrayed when they do show about the 'progressive'muslim girl. just like they showed khushi as backward and not speaking english as she hails from lucknow. lets see.

11 years ago

I so badly wanted 2 celebrate comebak of KSG... but alas not in any Gul - Nissar - 4 Chuha ka show :'((

bcz 4 Chuha's shows magic - logic - passion - chemistry - romance evrythng remains only for 1st 6-8 months... after dat show becomes a garbage of utter craps :/

4 Chuha alwayz destroys their babies wid their own hands for any of upcoming venture... like MJHT destroyed bcz of GHSP... GHSP destroyed bcz of IPKKND... IPKKND destroyed bcz of QH !!!

I got my lesson frm their vry 1st 2 shows... so really not interested any more in any of 4 Chuha love sagas... unke shows unhi ko mubarak :/

11 years ago

but pls..don't abandon ur other baby for ur new born..
abandoning IPKKND for the new show Qubool NAHI hein!!!!

11 years ago

Love you Qubool Hai! Absolutely beautiful first episode.
Well done. :)

11 years ago

Good luck, dont forget your other treasure ippknd

11 years ago

Can't wait to watch KSG back on my screen :)

11 years ago

good luck..please take care of your other baby ipkknd tooo gul..

11 years ago

All d best to the entire team...

waiting for KSG's performance

11 years ago

Latest Stories