Yo Mr. DJ

Music Review- Action Replayy

Action Replayy is the much awaited romantic comedy of this season, starring legendary actors Akshay and Aishwariya as the leads.

Action Replayy is the much awaited romantic comedy of this season, starring legendary actors Akshay and Aishwariya as the leads. The duo were seen in Khakhee before, which was a blockbuster at BO. Anticipation for this release, at Diwali time this year, is hence high!

The music of the film is produced by the well-known music director Pritam and the lyrics are written by Irshad Kamil. There are 13 soundtracks in the album in total.
The first song in the album is "Zor Ka Jhatka" sung by an interesting combination of vocals - Daler Mehendi, Master Salim and Richa Sharma. The composition starts off with rap and slowly dissolves into old Bollywood style. The music is well paced, yet retaining the underlying melody, with a typical Hinid music tune pepped up with additional Punjabi bhangra beats.

The remix version of this song also features Tigerstyle.
The second song is "O Bekhabar" lived out by Shreya Goshal. A relaxing melody with soft lilting music for times you want to be at peace and enjoy. Shreya lives up to her fame with her singing.
"Nakhre" next in queue, is sung by Francois Castellino. This track is most retro-cized! he composition employs pacey music yet again, trumpets have been melodiously used. Somewhere into the song, one starts finding semblance with the opening track of the album - "Zor Ka Jhatka".

The remix of the song features DJ Amyth and is most nearly same barring extra use of drums, better suited to dance floors hence!

Ritu Pathak and Sunidhi Chauhan sing the fourth song in the album, "Chhan Ke Mohalla". Not breaking the album tradition, this song too brews up a Punjabi flavor about itself, with generous interludes of flute. The tune is somewhat inspired by the opening track, yet again.

The remix of this song is the second in the album, featuring Tigerstyle. More punjabi tadka and more drums!
"Tera Mera Pyar" is a romantic song that is sung by Karthik, Mahalakshmi Iyer, and Antara Mitra. A unique composition in the album, and otherwise, this one is a slower tune.

Pace is gathered well however, by the remix version which only features Karthik, Antara and Hysinth.
The sixth track "Dhak Dhak Dhak" is sung by Mika. Beat-sy, folk-sy, and livening up, this track is fultoo dhamaal with Mika's resonating vocals adding the perfection of mood! 
"Luk Chup Jaana" is sung by Tulsi Kumar and KK. The song starts off with "Jhankar" music and the whole beat of the song is set to a fast rhythm, creating a wonderful melody appropriate to a rock star music. 
"I am Dog gone Crazy" is sung by Suraj Jagan (of Give Me Some Sunshine fame) and as the title seems to insinuate, it is a hip-hop number. In composition it combines newer and older melody strategies. From the lyrics to the beats to the use of the piano, we can tell this one is definitely a hit. 
The last song in the album is "Baki Main Bhool Gayi" by Shreya Goshal.  A foot tapping number which offers much scope to become a favorite among dance lovers! 
Overall, the album of this film is marvelous. Pritam, stirs up variety of beats and rhythms and paces them well to present a youthful album.

BollyCurry's favorite -  "Zor Ka Jhakta-remix"
BollyCurry Rating - 4.5/5
Author: Harjot D.


Comments (5)

View all