Meet Anas Rashid: The new Prithviraj

ar78655 thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 16 years ago
Meet Anas Rashid: The new Prithviraj Chouhan

Anas Rashid, who made his debut as Kartik Ahuwalia in Kahin To Hoga, has a hard act to follow, replacing the much adored Rajat Tokas as the young Prithviraj Chouhan in the Star show. We speak to handsome actor from Malerkotla, Punjab for more on the show, his experiences and aspirations.

Q: What was your reaction after being selected to play this role?

A: I was amazed and shocked at the same time. I received a call from Sagar Arts and to be honest I was a bit skeptical about doing justice to this role. But I could not refuse the offer and now I'm enjoying my new role very much.

Q: How did you prepare for the role? Any research?

A: Not really. I had read his history in school and college books as I am an Arts graduate in History. It's quite interesting and adventurous. Things are going to be exciting in the serial too as Sanyogita's swayamwar is going to happen followed by the big battle of Mohd. Ghori.

Q. Have you met Rajat?

A. Yes, we did three press conferences together. I also observed him on shoot for 2-3 days to get a hang of his mannerisms and improvise on them as the senior Prithviraj. It was quite a challenge.

Q. There was a lot of speculation about Angad Bedi playing the senior Prithviraj Chouhan. What's your take on it?

A. Yes Angad was the first choice but then he went to London for some time. In the meantime, Rajat became increasingly popular so the adult Prithvi's introduction kept getting postponed. According to Meenakshi Sagar (writer) the replacement needed continuity in physical appearance. They must have thought that Angad would have suited the role then.

Q Tell us about your experiences while working in Baroda?