diyafah thumbnail
I saw the movie!!!uff..it was soo blahh!!I yawned while seeing sum parts!!🤣
Amitbah is just justt superb with mohanlal..they both outstand to the core!!REally excellent and top notch performance..well nisha is okie..first half shez good..second half..just ish-ish!!sush is barely dere!!

if ur watching it..just watch for AB and Mohanlal!!Really great acting..Ajay and prahant are nothing great=/
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
nice review. I just wished RGV wouldn't had given remake sholay but inspired by sholay then it would had gotten better reaction. I love SHolay, music choreography dialouges, Characters. It was and will always remain classes and no one can make remake even if it's bhansali or mani ratnam.
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Ram Gopal Varma ki.. Aargh!

Raja Sen

It's kinda fitting that Gabbar is now called Babban.

Because Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag, ladies and gentlemen, as its title suggests, is a B-movie. It's like one of those TLV Prasad films of the 1990s that revels in its mediocrity, the kind of film that wouldn't normally get a theatrical release in Mumbai except for the stray morning show in a ramshackle single screen theatre.

Except that this time it's a Ram Gopal Varma movie, a mega-hyped vehicle of gimmick and bluster, and thanks to the casting decision of Amitabh Bachchan [Images] as the film's villain, occasionally elevated to, well, a Big-B-movie.

A B-movie, of course, can still be a work of art. As a filmmaker, you can choose to embrace the unreal, overdone style of (seemingly) slipshod filmmaking for its very lack of boundaries and aesthetics rather than against, directing inside the tacky box and painting everything super-bad with a delicious layer of postmodern irony -- in short, something so bad it's good.

This is how I chose to watch the new film, deciding that it's about the glory of unashamed hamming and the joy of the larger-than-life. I sat back, winced in the uber-badness of it all, and managed to actually survive through the first half. I can't say I liked it -- I doubt anybody can, really -- but it left me with some hopes of exciting action setpieces or interesting confrontation moments.

Post-interval, I failed. I really, really wanted to like Aag, to enjoy it for its sheer, (hopefully) contrived badness, but this was a dismal battle. This film is horrid beyond belief. Or redemption.

It's not that Ramu doesn't try. Varma's always been among the most excellent framers in the business, and here the master shot-composer goes funky and classic at the same time. Making cinematographer Amit Roy constantly tilt his lens at our actors, going from Sushmita Sen's [Images] dupatta to Mohanlal's beard in one fell, overemotional swoop aided by great angles and a constant movement. Even Ramu's ever-intriguing camera has never seemed this dynamic, often idiosyncratic here as he whimsically follows the trajectory of an apple here, a corpse there.

Ram Gopal Varma Ki AagIt's just that he doesn't really have anything to shoot. A lazily written half-baked script is overcompensated by the one man most responsible for single-handedly crippling a large part of RGV's oeuvre, Amar Mohile. The background-score man is in characteristically painful form, hitting constant ear-splitting melodrama as a bunch of non-actors are given a heavy load, while those sharing a half-dozen National Awards between themselves (Mohanlal 4, Ajay Devgan [Images] 2) are trapped by caricatures. Which aren't even remotely inventive.

And then there's Amitabh Bachchan. His Babban Singh (it's really hard not to giggle at all of the character names) is a uniquely twisted individual, with onebrown-onegreen eyes like an erstwhile Bausch & Lomb model, limping menacingly in combat boots and a military jacket. He's initially engaging, turning the cliche around to paraphrase immortal lines with brevity, and putting himself on the line during a compelling game of Russian roulette. Bachchan gamely gets into the character, slithering and hissing as he readies to strike fear in the hearts of faraway crying kids and policeman's wives.

While Amitabh does indeed provide commendable steam to the sinking ship, Babban is so over-written it hurts. He does superbly with a one-liner and a piece of fruit, but the frantic anxiety to make him Bollywood's greatest ever villain is all too visible as the character is loaded with bizarre lines about America and Al Qaeda [Images]. And let's not forget the Osama nod, with Babban suddenly cloaked in black a la Skeletor. Add to this a snaky tongue, a laugh that can't choose between ominous shudders and raspy hisses, and a Castor/Pollux complex that obviously stems more from Face/Off than Greek mythology. Plus he even does the Himesh Reshammiya [Images] air-bite, you know, the one after that far superior Mehbooba.

Amitabh conjures up some great moments, but he was a better villain in Aks [Images].

Mohanlal is the film's protagonist, Narsimha, an improbably overweight encounter cop with a justifiable vendetta against Babban. He's a fine, restrained actor but despite a Hindi accent to rival Inspector Cousteau, is made to speak entirely in farcical, formulaic tripe. The best of performers would struggle, and this man -- certainly among the finest Indian living actors -- seems to give up the chase for greatness halfway through. I would, however, like to know how to throw a steak knife without using your fingers.

The rest of the characters, well, the lesser said the better. Surprisingly, newbie Prashant Raj [Images] emerges as the most tolerable of the bunch, but then again his role simply requires him to look, well, tall. Sen dresses in black and pretends to be stoic but constantly cries, looking like she's auditioning for Vaastu Shastra [Images] 2. Rajpal Yadav pipes up with a comic act limited to squeakily plugging Varma's next release. Sushant Singh plays a valiant Tambhe. Abhishek Bachchan [Images] chubbily comes on in a one-song cameo, with Urmila Matondkar [Images], the latter forcing Babban to utter the most gimmicky line ever.

Ram Gopal Varma Ki AagSpecial criticism must be reserved for Devgan and Nisha Kothari [Images], who play Heero and Ghungroo. In one of current cinema's worst leading pairs, Ajay unfathomably plumbs new depths of idiocy with this follow-up to Cash. Kothari can't act -- or look remotely good -- but has acres of script-space, and has to explore everything from comic timing to hysterical weeping, which isn't a smart script choice. As Devgan pulls a pistol to his head to make suicide threats, we sorely wish he'd pull the trigger.

Ram Gopal Varma might have started out -- I see no better explanation -- to make a so-bad-it's-good kinda B-movie, but tragically hurtled past the stop-signs and ended up with, quite simply, a so-so-bad film. It's the director's most depressingly disappointing work.

Ramu is a maverick, a director usually given to laughing at critics and scathing reviews, which is as it should be. The scary thing is that he might just truly believe Aag is a good movie. I pray not.

Rediff Rating: 1 star

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2007/aug/31aag.htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
A boring homage to Sholay

Sukanya Verma

It seems to me that Ram Gopal Varma doesn't care. Whether you like him or his movies or abhor both to pieces, he doesn't care.

And so he's boldly gone ahead and hit the axe on his once-celebrated creativity yet again. But this time he made sure everybody knows whose collar to pull by giving it an evidently 'Hold-me-responsible' title, Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag.

Well, you asked for it, Varma!

He believes himself to be the biggest fan of Ramesh Sippy's gargantuan blockbuster, Sholay [Images] and goes all out to destroy everything the legendary film stands for -- style, grit, showmanship, chemistry, charisma, star power, technique and masala, with this genuinely boring homage.

For starters, it follows the graph of the original but deviates slightly to dwell into unknown subtexts, which frankly, were best left unknown.

The premise is the same albeit in a contemporary backdrop. Revenge is still the key word. An ex-cop Narsimha (Mohanlal) employs two golden-hearted crooks to avenge the massacre of his family at the hands of Babban (Amitabh Bachchan). Before any of that happens, crook 1, Heero (Ajay Devgan) falls for a motor mouth auto rickshaw driver, Ghungroo (Nisha Kothari). Crook 2 aka Raj Ranade (Prashant Raj) meanwhile, sets his heart on the ghunghat-clad, widowed daughter-in-law (of Narsimha) Durga Devi (Sushmita Sen).

Gabbar, now Babban, doesn't terrorise the innocent gaonwalas anymore. He's Mumbai's underworld wolf who has swapped his bullet belt for Chor Bazaar's antique staff.

That out of the way, I'll tell you what's good about Aag for there's not much.

The rustic browns and bronzes of Sholay's mountains and vast rural spaces are replaced with dusty under-construction buildings, factory storerooms and a basti set-up. While Sholay's earthy palette brilliantly inspired the hues of Omkara's [Images] bucolic picture, cinematographer Amit Roy shoots familiar Mumbai's rundown lanes with efficiently composed angles and understated lighting. Though the camera's obsession with Nisha Kothari's [Images] butt is most off-putting.

What's not good?

Think Sholay. Think dialogues. Think Aag. Keep thinking. Here, 'Kitne aadmi the?' is reduced to 'Kitne?' and 'Yeh Ramgarh wale apni chokariyon ko kaun chakki ka atta khilate hain?' is tamely altered to 'Kya khaati hai re tu'? Writers Sajid-Farhad, unfortunately, lack the sensibility and mirth of Salim-Javed's crisp drama and keen wit. But the duo sure seems to watch a lot of news. All their analogies designed around Big B's [Images] punch lines are born out of the ongoing US-Iraq/Al Qaeda [Images] conflict.

While Sholay left behind a legacy of memorable characters like Gabbar, Thakur, Jai, Veeru, Basanti, Soorma Bhopali, Mausi and even Dhanno, Aag is, essentially, about Babban and everything he does. The rest is all incidental, even Narsimha getting back at him.

The opening credits smugly declare: Introducing Amitabh Bachchan [Images] as Babban. Needless to say, it's an unimpressive debut. Big B going on a hamming spree. Unlike his performance in Aks [Images], where he conveyed ferocity with finesse and restraint, here he's just plain weird and batty. The tuberculosis-like laughter only adds to our disbelief.

Aag doesn't evoke any fond nostalgia. Even when AB re-lives some of his Jai memories, playing the mouth organ and whispering 'Sholay, sholay, sholay'' or when the old Jai comes face to face with the new one, no golden moment here.

Ramu's obsession with Sholay's Gabbar is almost sweet, in a nightmarish way. It's like you are led inside a little guy's head (he must have been a boy when Sholay came out in 1970s) and his fascination with a larger-than-life big bad bearded boy from the movies. Being Ramu, anyone? Only if Charlie Kaufman is writing.

Watching a whole scale destruction of some of your favourite scenes in Sholay isn't a pleasant sight. Heero's drunken fury, for one, is quite an anti-climax to the famous 'Gaonwalon' sequence. Also imagine Helen having a post-Mehbooba yak with Gabbar. Shuddering thought, you may think. But curious Ramu finds out with an extended and meaningless scene between Urmila Matondkar (outdoing Daud's skin show in a kinky version of Mehbooba, also featuring an unnecessary Abhishek Bachchan [Images]) and AB.

While casting remains an unsurpassed ace in Sholay's glory trove, Aag could volunteer as a model for miscasting. There's no chemistry between Heero and Raj, Heero and Ghungroo, Raj and Durga, Durga and Narsimha, Narsimha and Babban or Babban and us.

Sushmita Sen [Images] conveys the strength of her Durga with refined grace while Prashant Raj [Images] (bears a striking resemblance to Heroes' Sylar and speaks with a thick Punjabi twang even when he's playing a Maharashtrian guy) shows spark.

Ajay Devgan [Images] is completely wasted in a role that doesn't do anything for him. The National award-winner is just one of the many guys in the frame, albeit a thug who wears designer crinkled shirts. His leading lady, Nisha Kothari, as seen in James and Shiva, continues to confuse making faces for acting. Mohanlal is suitably subdued and the most believable of them all.

Another letdown is the film's action. Ramu's films have always boasted of breathtaking thrills and Aag naturally begs for such treatment. But save for Bachchan going 'poof' in everyone's face, there's not really any hard-hitting dhishkyaon or dishoom. Key characters are bumped off so casually that you're not even sure they really died. It's not even funny. Hell, Aag isn't even corny. Instead, it's flat as a lasagna sheet. Oh how you miss the bustling horses of Sholay!

The simple reason why Aag fails at every level is that it doesn't evoke an ounce of fear. In the seventies, when Gabbar Singh happened, viewers were only used to nasty oppressive landlords or gun-totting bandits. Gabbar was not just evil. He rejoiced in it too -- a vicious and crazy dacoit who enjoyed slow torture. That's what made him so daunting. He was, perhaps, one of the earliest cold-blooded tyrants in Hindi cinema's history of villains. Since then his legacy has been carried forward with ferocious enthusiasm through reel-life criminals like Mogambo, Dr Dang, Kesariya Vilayti and Langda Tyagi.

Babban comes to an audience immune to gore, violence and persecution. No matter how hard AB dilates his pupils or growls like a Bengal tiger, he isn't creepy enough.

Going by the feedback in the theatre, Aag is bound to receive extreme reactions. But then, like I said earlier, RGV doesn't seem to care. You know what? Ditto.

Rediff Rating: 1 star

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2007/aug/31aag1.htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Ram Gopal Varma Ka Silly Joke

8/31/2007 2:49:38 PM

Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag is the unofficial remake of the mother of all Hindi films - Sholay. With a contemporary twist.

Film: Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag

Cast: Amitabh Bachchan, Ajay Devgun, Mohan Lal, Sushmita Sen, Nisha Kothari & Prashant Raj

Director: Ram Gopal Varma

Rating: (YUCK!)

As everyone now knows, Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag is the unofficial remake of the mother of all Hindi films - Sholay. With a contemporary twist. So instead of Ramgarh, the setting is Mumbai and heroes (Ajay Devgun) and Raj (Prashant Raj) are the men who will help Inspector Narisimha take on ganglord Baban (Amitabh Bachchan). The film is meant to be a tribute, it ends up being a grotesque parody!

Yes, Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag is a silly joke. The only problem is that you don't feel too much like laughing. Because you are too busy fighting off extreme boredom. After watching this two and a half hour film, you may even end up feeling seriously annoyed - but that would be a waste of emotional energy. And this film is not deserving of that!

Why doesn't it work? Where do we start? First you can't just pick up the storyline and characters of Sholay, transport them to the city and not bother to flesh out plot or character motivations. And hope that your cacophony of a background score makes up for the lack of anything else! That's lazy filmmaking and the result is an incoherent, hysterically silly film. Ramu's set of characters go through the motions in a strange stupor, and so does the rest of his pointless film. Interrupted sometimes by an over the hill Urmila, jiggling an over the hill belly! Forget Ramu's much publicised love for Ramesh Sippy's Sholay - He obviously hated the film, and Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag is his revenge!

Even if you dispense with the comparisons, as a stand alone film, this is Ramu's worst. Worse than Shiva (The Mohit Ahlawat one)

Nothing works for the film. The modern day setting makes it a disjointed exercise, and Bapan in the city is just another run of the mill underworld psychopath - there's absolutely no menace to his persona. In fact, he is a gimmicky creature gnashing his teeth in a comical impersonation of evil. And though it is the Amitabh Bachchan playing Bapan, even he can't save it from being embarrassingly bad. Just what was Ramu thinking? There's no redemption in the rest of the cast - Sushmita Sen's black widow act with super slow dialogue delivery intended to display great depths of sorrow is unintentionally hilarious. Ajay Devgun mutilates the drunken scene from Sholay, and it will take us some time to forgive him. Prashant Raj is unimpressive. Nisha Kothari - each time you see this actor, if you can call her that in a film, you keep hoping it's the last time - but sadly no such luck!

Ramu needs to go back to being the filmmaker he was! You can forgive lesser filmmakers their faults, but when the director of Satya and Company comes up with a sloppy, annoying film, it is tragic. Call in the firefighters - Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag needs urgent dousing.

The E Now weekend rating for this film is one star! Stay away!

(Reviewed by Naomi Dutta. For more, tune in to E Now Weekend, Saturdays 9.30 pm & Sundays 5.30 pm)

http://www.timesnow.tv/NewsDtls.aspx?NewsID=2384
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
And the Worst Film Award goes to..Ram Gopal Varma ki Aag

Cast: Amitabh Bachchan, Mohanlal, Prashant Raj, Ajay Devgan, Nisha Kothari
Direction: Ram Gopal Varma
Rating: 1/2 *

And so dear ladies and gentlemen, this Lifetime's Worst Ever Movie Award goes to Ram Gopal Varma ki Aag, widely reported to be a remake of Sholay Jo Bhadke. The jury was unanimous in awarding it all its topis.. trophies.. whatever.

So imagine, it is my privilege to call upon G P, Sasha, Ramesh and Kiran Sippy to hand over the topi to the producer-director who has literally opened up a can of Varmas. The Worst Film topi has been bagged hands and legs down by RGV who has made a mockery of a classic. May we request all the Misters Sippy to refrain from violence please?

Varma receives his topi and states, "In my very original film, the drunken scene, the propose-to-the-mother-in-law comedy business, heroes called Heero and Zeero, a widow and a chatterbox chulbulli are merely coincidental. I pay tributes to Coppolaji also. If Heero and all have irritated you, I promise to irritate you much more next time. Thanks."

And the Worst Actor as well as the Worst Actor in a Negative Role Awards goes out to Amitabh Bachchan for the hammiest, over-the-top, yucky delineation of Babban Gabban SinghWait, do say something about your Worst Director Award. Varma reads from a dialogue chit, "Direction – what, where, when? I was just making ten other movies at the same time. Thanks."

Huh? And the Worst Actor as well as the Worst Actor in a Negative Role Awards (so much confusion nowadays) goes out to Amitabh Bachchan for the hammiest, over-the-top, yucky delineation of Babban Gabban Singh. May I request my ENT specialist to hand over the topi? Doctor could you please inspect Mr Bachchan's nose before you hand over the award?

ENT specialist does. The Worst Actor and Negative Role winner laughs, "Ha ha! That was just a Himesh Reshammiya touch. If I dug into my nostrils, it's because I'm a director's actor. He also told me to flick my tongue around when a rape scene was in progress. He told me to yell, sit as if all my limbs were in a kathak pose and behave like Jack Nicholson meets Johnny Lever. He also made me wear a potato gunny sack.. very hot it was.. prevented me from a haircut for 100 days.. and painted this little worm on my nose. I dedicate both these topis to him and Kaizaad Gustaad who got me going downhill with Boom.. or was it Jhoom Jhoom?"

Clap clap. The Worst Actress Award have been jointly grabbed by Sushmita Sen who wore hundred kilos of make-up for a suffering, widow's look.. and to Nasha Kothari for wearing denim fig leaves for skirts. May they please hand over the Worst Awards to each other? Oh, only Miss Sen is here. Wonderful!

She gushes, "This topi is more important than my Miss Universe tiara. See, here I wore a Ritu Kumar black bed sheet with pretty paisley designs.. and did my dialogue delivery with the pauses of Dilip Kumarji. Meanwhile thanks for the Worst topi.. mwaaaah. I want to thank millions of my fans out there."

The auditorium is empty ma'am. We do have mini-worse trophies for Ajay Devgan who coloured his hair blonde, for the new Expressionless Wonder in Town Prashant Raj and all those junior artistes who did not bathe before the camera gave them close-ups. Ewww.

Urmila Matondkar deserves an award for bravery. Abhishek Bachchan deserves a book on how to act even as he steps into the shoes of Jalal Agha. Mohanlal, in butter yellow cravat, deserves the Worst Sanjeev Kumar Impersonation Award. And of course, a certificate for sheer pretentious work go out to the tilting, mad angles, smoky-choky photography, the ear-numbing music score and finally also another Special Jury Award to Mr Bachchan for killing hundreds of ants, mosquitoes and bees. Peta, where are you?

Now, the show will end with a little recommendation for Ram Gopal Varma ka Ugh.. run far far far away.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?id=0f 6e8e66-1dfc-4f84-ba7b-55138ebc8620&&Headline=Review%3a+EMRam +Gopal+Varma+Ki+Aag%2fEM
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Review: Two thumbs down for RGV Ki Aag

Rajeev Masand / CNN-IBN
Published on Friday , August 31, 2007 at 22:30 in Entertainment section

Cast: Amitabh Bachchan, Ajay Devgan, Sushmita Sen

Direction: Ramgopal Varma

Writing out a review for Ramgopal Varma Ki Aag amounts to dignifying this third-rate film with a studied observation on its plot, its characters and its treatment. And believe me, that's more thought and effort than the film's director has put into it.

I can't come up with appropriate enough words to describe the horror I felt sitting in that cinema watching Ramgopal Varma Ki Aag, the director's half-hearted attempt to pay tribute to that classic Bollywood western, Sholay.

The biggest problem with Varma's remake is that he doesn't even try to make a credible film. It's evident in every single frame of this movie that Varma's heart is just not in it.

What you see on screen is a bad joke at best, a gimmick on the part of the filmmaker, and it pains you to see what little regard he actually shows for a film he claims he's been a fan of all his life.

In my job as a film critic I've seen several bad films over the years, but I can't remember one that's been as much of a torture to sit through as this one. Consider yourself very brave if you're able to survive the entire film, because it tests your patience like few films have before.

Varma may borrow his plot and characters from the original film, but his version is trite and hollow and doesn't have any of the spirit and energy of Sholay.

Ramgopal Varma Ki Aag is actually a mockery of that timeless gem because it turns out to be everything that the original film was not - way-over-the-top, too-long-too-boring, and entirely mindless.

Much-loved moments from Sholay are parodied by Varma and for that you want to wring his neck. One of the most memorable scenes in Sholay in which Dharmendra as Veeru climbs up the watertank and threatens to jump down to his death is turned around in this film with Ajay Devgan playing Hero, pulling a pistol to his head threatening to shoot himself. How you wish he'd pulled the trigger and spared us all the agony.

Not only does Ramgopal Varma Ki Aag fail as a remake of Sholay, it's a pretty bad effort even as a stand-alone film.

The eardrum-damaging background score sounds more like someone clanging vessels in the kitchen, and the camerawork alternates between dramatic and head-spinning.

Partners in this terrible crime of bringing this ridiculous film to screen are the film's mostly dead-as-wood actors.

Sushmita Sen as Devi the widow takes both her role and the film too seriously, punctuating her lines with pauses, staring into camera for effect, and generally performing like her life depends upon it.

Mohanlal as Narsimha, struggles with his Hindi dialogue and looks embarrassed to be delivering some of the stupidest lines in his illustrious career.

Newcomer Prashant Raj playing Jai-equivalent Raj has no acting chops to speak of and can't strum up any of the brooding intensity Amitabh Bachchan brought to the part in the original film.

As Hero, the new-age Veeru, Ajay Devgan is entirely hopeless, failing miserably in his attempts at comedy.

But the film's weakest link, easily the most shocking casting decision is Nisha Kothari as Ghunghroo, who steps into the shoes of Hema Malini the endearing airhead from Sholay. Nisha Kothari is not only the worst actress in this country, but possibly the worst actress in this whole wide world, she gives the word annoying a whole new meaning, and she makes you want to slit your wrists every time she's on screen.

And then, there is Amitabh Bachchan playing Babban Singh, Ramgopal Varma's version of Hindi cinema's most popular villain Gabbar Singh. The only actor in this ensemble who recognises the film's over-the-top tone and plays along accordingly, Bachchan constructs a menacing character who is a treat to watch. He's meant to be a comic book villain who snarls and sneers and hisses and hams, and he does all of that to good effect.

But because he's trapped in such a doomed enterprise, his performance doesn't really help elevate the film in any way.

No surprises here, I'm going with zero out of five and two thumbs down for Ramgopal Varma Ki Aag, it one's of those painful movie-watching experiences you wouldn't subject even an enemy to.

It's not like Varma hasn't handled a remake before. With Sarkar he gave us a smart, gripping take on The Godfather, and it's a pity he's made this Sholay bhature out of such a much-loved classic.

Ramgopal Varma Ki Aag is his worst career decision ever, it's also a dark spot on his resume he'll be embarrassed of forever. I suspect this film will go down in movie history as Ramgopal Varma Ka Daag.

Rating: 0 / 5 (Such Trash!)

http://www.ibnlive.com/news/review-two-thumbs-down-for-rgv-k i-aag/47834-8-p1.html
Dola87 thumbnail
oh my...looks like this movie is a bummer..so many bad reviews...well i wasnt even interested in watchng it.....cuz sholay is sholay
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Ram Gopal Varma Se Bhaag

Surviving Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag was an art by itself. Here's a lowdown on how the filmi janta managed

Posted On Saturday, September 01, 2007
Mumbai Mirror Bureau

Bin there done that: Ramu

The most-awaited part at the premiere of Ram Gopal Varma Ki Aag was er… the interval. We say so because most of the action (off screen) called it quits during intermission time. The filmi janta made a beeline for the exit doors, and what's more, most of them did not return when the film resumed.

RGV wanted to create history. Well, he surely has. At no other premiere has the cast and crew simply walked out from the theatre in the past. Here's a lowdown:

Amitabh Bachchan, head lowered, left looking reasonably upset during the interval. He made it a point to look past inquisitive media persons waiting for bytes on his over-hyped film, Aag. RGV's Radha, Sushmita Sen preened on the red carpet. (Of course, she hadn't seen her film yet.) She refused to get pictures clicked, saying, "My make-up is not right!"

Debutant Prashant Raj, the most spirited of the lot, was seen going from screen-to-screen with his girl friend, to check out audience responses. Sadly enough, after the interval there was nobody left for him to ask for feedback.

Oh Ma: Sush

Thank God, Hema Malini wasn't present at the premiere. Nisha Kothari aka Ghungroo, whose role is closely modeled on Basanti's in Sholay would've surely embarrassed her. She seemed very happy though. When has she cared about the content of her films anyway?

Pooja Shetty of Adlabs films, the producers, left after just 20 minutes.

Urmila's ample bosom on screen, apparently, was the one thing that grabbed most of the attention.

Ritesh Deshmukh and RGV loyalist E Niwas waited until the very end. But the stress did show on their faces.

Bh-aag!

Ram Gopal Verma, seen right next to the dustbin in the picture, chose his place after a lot of thinking, it seems. Bh-aag was everyone's mantra at the premiere of his Aag. The director asked a former assistant director if he liked the film. He found an answer in the blank look that he received.

RGV was also trying to gauge audience response to his film. He was watching people who were giving bytes to the media.

Aag in the theatre, Run! Run! Run!: Big B

Kya line hai!

We couldn't help eavesdrop at some clever lines that audiences came up with. Here are the gems:

A disappointed viewer asked the General Manager of the multiplex: "Sir, popcorn ke saath zeher bhi milta hai kya? (Can we get poison along with popcorn?)

People booed at Abhishek Bachchan's entry in the Mehbooba song, "Baap Kam tha kya, jo tu bhi aa gaya?" (Wasn't your father enough!)

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&se ctid=30&contentid=20070901200709010644477186a534e98
Fashion_2005 thumbnail

B.O. update: Business dips again

By Taran Adarsh, September 1, 2007 - 08:51 IST

The three new releases, RAMGOPAL VARMA KI AAG, DHOKHA and VICTORIA NO. 203, failed to fetch a start at the ticket window. RAMGOPAL VARMA KI AAG was expected to fetch an 80% + start, especially at single screens and in certain circuits where action films work, but its 15% - 20% start came as a shocker. The negative reports will only harm the film in days to come.

VICTORIA NO. 203 also started on a poor note and the reports are negative, while DHOKHA did slow, but given the positive feedback from the paying public, it should pick up at multiplexes.

Audience Reaction:

http://indiafm.com/trade/boxoffice_update/index.html

Edited by Fashion_2005 - 16 years ago