Alisha Chinai - We're paid peanuts

uknaik99 thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 17 years ago
We're paid peanuts'

Alisha Chinai lashes out at the music industry

Post-Kajra re Alisha Chinai seems to be rocking or so you'd like to believe. But the singer has another story to tell. "Playback singers always get relegated to the sidelines. They continue to be underdogs of the music industry. We really need to be paid better. I've been fighting for 10 years. I've always maintained a parallel music career outside the movies. In the movies, they think they're doing me a favour. An average film star gets Rs 2 crore. A playback singer gets Rs 20-25,000. Even when a song like Kajra re becomes a runaway hit I don't benefit. We're paid peanuts," she says.

Nowadays, Alisha demands and expects her price. She says, 'Of course a lot of producers settle for a mediocre voice. I'm quite happy singing my ten songs a year. Singing less keeps my voice fresh."

Alisha is releasing another non-film album in May. One of the tracks is bound to create a stir. Alisha says, "There's a very audacious and upfront song called 'Shut Up And Kiss Me'. I hope people see it with a sense of humour. It's sexy but not raunchy. So no raised eyebrows, I hope."

Years ago Alisha had created a sensation with the song 'Sexy sexy' for Karisma Kapoor in Khuddar. The words had to be changed to appease the moralists. "I don't think we'll have to change the words this time. I hope I don't come across looking   stupid. The album has been recorded completely in the UK. So it's got a crossover sound."

Created

Last reply

Replies

Views

Users

Frequent Posters

ChameliKaYaar thumbnail
I feel for them...They are still highly underpaid....The marketvalue in may opinion is going to either stay same or reduce with the glut of singers in the market thanks to SRGMP (and now 2 of them) and Indian Idol kind of programs...
Surpremi thumbnail