The Glorification of Anurag Basu

UKGirl22 thumbnail
Anniversary 6 Thumbnail Group Promotion 5 Thumbnail
Posted: 5 years ago
When you read the interviews of many the the current male leads they say that they feel lucky to get the role they got since Indian serials focus very often on the female lead. I am relatively new to Indian serials and am not old enough to know many of the past Ekta serials. From what you guys say about Kasauti 1 it definitely seems to be the case that it was more about Prerna and Anurag came across as the weakling etc.

Clearly times have changed. Any serial you hear people lauding in one where the female lead is either secondary to the male or they are equal. I don't know if any where the female is given more importance than the male.

Serials like Ishqbaaz glorify anything the male lead does and even where they do something terrible and unforgivable - they are still forgiven and proclaimed as the best son and husband. Yeh Rishta and Yeh Mohabbatein seem to enjoy thinking of ways in which the husbands family can turn against the daughter-in-law. Sometimes the husbands support them and sometimes not but everything is always forgiven until the next time it happens again. Even Dev in Erica's previous serial is lauded as a great son and man while at the same time destroying someone career, engagement etc.

Kasauti seems definitely to want to follow this trend. When Anurag like an idiot went towards a fire (unlike Prerna who got caught there) he is a hero. She without asking for any praise stays awake at night to help her parents - but this is nothing compared to the foolish heroism of a moment. The writer even give her a line saying so and social media goes gaga over Anurag and his bravery. When the same Prerna wants to rush to the rescue of her parents - she is called emotional and foolish by the writers who make Anurag taunt her foolishness. Social media will be full of posts and tags calling her an idiot.