Top Five Most Hurtful Things Arnav Says to Khushi

iwkknd12 thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
The title couldn't fit in the subject folder. This list is the Top Five Most Hurtful Things Arnav Says To Khushi That He Regrets Almost Instantly.

As we all know, ASR has quite the temper. And when is angry he stops thinking (as Khushi pointed out to him multiple times) and ends up saying terrible terrible things.

And Arnav says a lot of hurtful things to Khushi. A LOT. Mostly about her 'aukaat', 'hasiyat', 'middle class mentality', and how she is scheming gold digger hunting for rich men. In the beginning, he could care less about what she thinks, but with time whenever he yells at her, if there is even a hint of tears in her eyes, he regrets it almost immediately (you can tell by the way he closes his eyes when she's out of the frame).

Of course, his biggest fault is believing that she had an affair with Shyam, and treating her like shit because of it. We all know he regrets that, and apologized- but since that is a HUGGEEE chunk of the IPKKND plot, it won't be included on this list. These are some of the most awful things he said to her in anger, which he regrets almost immediately.

(I must say though- most of the time- Khushi provokes him into saying something awful. She should leave him alone when he tells her to, instead of getting involved).

5. "Ek Tho Mein Tumhare Aur Tumhare Family Ke Saat Is Ghatiya Ghar Mein"

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtg-2bclZHg[/YOUTUBE]

This may not strike as a powerful scene to most people compared to some of the other things ASR said to Khushi, but it definitely struck a cord with me because it was no longer about Khushi- his barb now involved her family too. This was a very very low blow, not only because her family was going out of their way to make him feel at home, but because he knows how much family means to Khushi and she has NEVER said anything remotely hurtful about his family even if they (mami) deserved it.

Nevertheless, he regrets it almost immediately after it leaves his mouth, but the damage was done. Granted, he didn't mean it as anything against her family- he respects all of them, he was not used to the middle class style, but still the comment was very crass.

Luckily, Mrs. ASR is not the type to keep grudges, so a couple packets of gol gappas did the trick to make her forgive and forget.

4. "Tumhara Rishta Tutkar...Let Me Think Ek Hafta Bhi Nahi Hua"

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfOsqc5wuJI[/YOUTUBE]

Oh Arnav. I know you are jealous, but why so spiteful?! He can't stand the fact that Khushi and NK get along so well even though they met less than 24 hours ago. Plus, she brought the spark to his dull party. Obviously, he's pissed. So he does what he does best- hurt her by reminding her of her disastrous engagement on such a good occasion.

This time Khushi gives as good as she gets, and reminds him of his own broken engagement. By this point, she is used to his taunts and bitter words, so she tries to move on.

3. [TIE] "Gift Nahi, Tho Tip Samaj Ke Lelo" and "You Don't Even Exist For Me" rant

Ok I couldn't choose between these two scenes. They are both powerful, cruel, and occur almost consecutively.

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZAUYCMdXTE[/YOUTUBE]

The first scene is absolutely malicious. He was on a roll with his jibes ever since he found out she was engaged. As is always the case, he was mesmerized when he saw her in the red lehenga, but got offended that she moved back when reached her. So, once again, he mocks her middle-class stature, and offers to pay for it for her matchmaking services.

His regret in the scene following this one, where Khushi says its better to live in a dreamworld because in reality there is only heartbreak, is so so so beautiful. Barun, your eyes, man...what eyes. He is shattered along with her.

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8m5jKfwDTQ[/YOUTUBE]

Listen to the rant. It is filled with vile, hurtful, malignant words. I'm surprised Khushi didn't break down crying. Ironically, only a few minutes prior to this scene, he was reprimanding himself for constantly hurting her and bringing tears to his eyes, and saying how he won't do it anymore. So much for that promise.

Of course, he regrets it when she has tears in her eyes. The most significant action in this scene is when Khushi closes the door as he tries to apologize. It shows that she has reached her limit and despite her feelings she will no longer reach out for him. Thankfully, he indirectly apologizes to her. (Although, he really should've done more).

2. "Yeh Mat Samaj Na Ke Ek Ameer Aadmi Tumhare Payal Ko Aapne Seenepe Laga Ke Beta Hai"

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOmOqMVBE_E[/YOUTUBE]

How many of you wanted to slap Arnav after this scene? Don't get me wrong, I love this man, but this scene made me so angry. He was the one that not only returned her payal, but tied it around her leg, he couldn't control himself and tried to kiss her, but then acts as if it he could care less about her payal and her.

The poor girl was so vulnerable- she was an open book, almost convinced that he felt something for her, and he shattered her feelings in moments. Everything that led up to the almost kiss, all his actions, he fueled her hopes and took her to cloud nine, only to drop her in an instant.

So he was pissed at his loss of self- control, and her reaction to his engagement announcement, but that gave him no right to do what he did. The Tu Hi Bata Mere Maula that follows this scene is heartbreaking. He is pissed at himself for hurting her so badly- she was crying freely when he left, and Khushi- someone give that girl a hug.

1. "Tum Meri Zindagi Mein Aayi Kyon...Yeh Sab Tumhari Waja Se Hua!"

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9CK1JU3cts[/YOUTUBE]

Are you f-ing kidding me? Arnav and his beloved Di would have been dead if not for Khushi. I get it that he was extremely scared and angry when he said these words, but still. NO BLOODY EXCUSE! And while we are on the topic, Shyam would never have seen or known Khushi if Arnav hadn't publicized her face on the news. So technically, it was his fault.

Instead of begging her to forgive him for doubting her, he was further accusing her of things that were not her fault. No wonder Khushi left- she was willing to put all his accusations behind her and move on with him, but here they go again. I still think she should have made him suffer more so he could see her worth, but she is a better person than me.

He asks her to forgive him, and that he didn't mean it, but no. Just no.

Notable Mentions

- Making her go to the guest house?

- Locked in the room at office and she cries

- Leaving her in the middle of the road on Janmastami

- Arnav yells at Khushi during his parents' death ceremony: I wanted to include this scene because it was so powerful (especially when Khushi goes into her background and Arnav apologizes) but he didn't yell at her intentionally so I didn't.

- When Khushi goes to his office to patch up his relationship with Lavanya

- When he leaves her in the open room during their nanital trip

- The entire farq-a-thon (when Arnav finds out about K's engagement and mocks her with 'I hope tumhe koi farq nahi padta')

- 1st Suhagraat

- Post Heer-Ranjha

- When he says he hates living in the same room as her and can't kick her out.

- When Shyam comes back and he says he shouldn't let anyone get too close b/c they break your trust.

As usual, I'm open for your suggestions!

Edit: I agree with everyone suggesting that the scene where Arnav calls Khushi characterless and brings her real parents into it should be added here. It is probably one of the most hurtful things he's ever said. But when I made this list, I was thinking about things he said that he wanted to take back almost as soon as those words left his mouth. But- that scene he meant every word of what he said, and it's only after he comes to know of the truth that he regrets it. I included that scene in the Top 5 Best Fights, for that reason only. But, I still appreciate all you mentioning that scene. In fact, if I made this list just for the Top 5 most hurtful things he said- I would include all the times he said 'kisi aur ke saat ghar basa liya kya?', 'girna tho tumhari fitrat mein hain', 'joot bholna aur dhoka dehan tho tumhari khoon mein hai', '6 mehine..jaha tum saans logi waha mein bhi...disgusting' etc in the list.

Sigh...it's so pathetic that I've almost memorized this entire serial line by line. Once I finish all my Top 5s I'm going to work on getting a life.

-----

Edited by iwkknd12 - 12 years ago

-chamkilli- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 6
I felt hurt when he said those things to her But Gosh His voice ☺️
Edited by -chamkilli- - 12 years ago
Horizon thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
And the irony is, every time he yelled at her.. tried to ooze hatred... some how it was only love that was written all over his face.. and eyes!! That is the power of love ... that he couldn't resist but be snug in his abode.. with her!!

Here, in scenes 2,3 and 4, he used hurting her as a means of running away from her... rather he thought she would run away from him! They were indeed hurtful. But post marriage, it was mostly a slip of the moment as although his lips uttered, he never meant those. He was never divine but only very close to all human emotions of pure love, anger, and pain and could never hid those!
Yes, that incident on his parent's barsi where he yells at her was pretty intense and certainly belongs to the league of Diwali and boutique incidents.

Applaud all the effort in making this post with the videos! Truly commendable!

Edited by Horizon - 12 years ago
MastMalang thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Agree with all of your points. But for me, the first one on your list is most heat breaking. How can he say that to her after what she has done to save him. Gosh I felt so bad, I wished that she had left him. I know he meant none of that, felt like slapping him at that time.
rima thumbnail
Well everyone in the forum knows how much I flayed ASR and fought for Khushi
These scenes were the precise reasons
Arnav said some things that are unpardonable
Another girl would have contemplated sucide
But Khushi always came back after each blow
which is why I admired her more and more
People said Arnav was also suffering, he was also in pain
Well I dont agree
If Arnav was in pain he inflicted more pain
But when Khushi was in pain she suffered in silence
That is the difference
Plus I feel words of hate always come back to haunt a person
No matter how secure a person is in the love of another person, as later Khushi was, it is not possible that later in life she did not feel insecure for her 'aukaad' or the fact that Arnav said he had never met her
And the most hurtful thing he ever said to her is the characterless dialogue
that was sick!
Edited by rima - 12 years ago
Hope thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
Nice post. Well picked. It must have been tough to choose only 5 as like you said Arnav spoke some harsh words to Khushi pre and post contract marriage. Any one in place of Khushi would have broke down much earlier but it is Khushi. This showed how much she loves him. Even though it hurts her she was never able to stay away from him.

The scene where he says, "He hates living in same room with her and can't breath. That he doesn't want to see her face." Those words were very hurtful and we could instantly see she was very hurt, Sanaya did a fab job.

Also when he blamed her for everything that Shyam did, I felt that was when she lost her hope that they might have a chance together. The little faith she had on their relationship broke. When she says, "When ever I try to forget your bitter words and move on. You always comeback to taunt me, give me pain and break my heart." Which was so true. That was what Arnav did to her all along. Create hope and then crush it.

ASR was down right Arrogant, Sick and Rude to khushi. Loving her doesn't give him power to treat her like that. I for one was always angry at him for making her suffer with his words and actions time and again. But that is my opinion as at the end it did work out for ARSHI. 😛

There I go again with a longish post. Will stop here now.😉
Edited by Hope - 12 years ago
aamir18 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 6
Another one:

"toh toot jaane do shaadi! tum jaisi ladkiyo ka kya hai, ek jayega, doora phasalena"

and:

"yeh mat sochna ke mere saath sympathize karne se mein tumhari tankhwaa badaa loonga"

and of course:

"because you... have no character"
Edited by aamir18 - 12 years ago
shinaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
the most hurtfull had to be the bridge one where he said "apne amma baujise najre kaise milati hogi" this scene followed that suicide scene in gupta house track.and that gift nehin to tip samaj ke le lena,or that diwali scene where he said "tumhe kya laga ek amir admi tumhare payal ko apne sine se laga ke baitha hoga"
jaya100 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
When he calls her characterless after he reveals the reason for the forced marriage and then says something about it's good that her parents aren't alive to see her like this (don't remember the exact words but something to that effect).I wanted to pick up that picture frame and bang it over his head at that time. I was kinda mad at her too because she says that if he thinks so lowly of her he doesn't deserve an explanation and then proceeds to tell hom everything , which he of course doesn't believe...I would have given hin the silent treatment and let him stew in his own juices for a while but then I guess she had to tell him before the kidnapping track.
princessunara thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 8
res will be back..

but for me the top hurtful one is him wishing that it was good her parents were already good otherwise they would die of shame for having a daughter like her...

it was said on the way back from Gupta house when he threw and broke their framed photograph...