limoncello thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 7

Part 14 - Back where we belong

Arnav struggled to open his eyes and he scrunched his brows when he didn't feel Khushi in his arms. He realized how disappointed he was not to wake up next to her. In the next instant he heard the clickety click of her heels and squinted his eyes open to see Khushi bending over him.

'Arnav! Wake up! We're going to be late! Arnavvv!'

'Argh! Khushi! What are you doing up so early? Are you already dressed?'

'Yes, I am! Now get up and go and get dressed. You don't want to be late for your own commencement, do you?'

Arnav sat up in bed and watched as Khushi rushed about gathering things, tidying up and talking to his Di over the phone, all at the same time. He realized that he had not seen this side of Khushi before. The Khushi he knew was not at all a morning person...she would never wake up before 9 am and even then she would always be ready to kill the person who would dare to talk to her as soon as she woke up. Arnav was amused, to say the least. He then saw how beautiful she looked in her black outfit...classy and elegant. The next instant, his eyes widened in shock! He got up and grabbed Khushi from behind and turned her around.

'Good morning sweetheart. Why are you in a rush? We still have plenty of time! And why were you running away from me? And where's my good morning kiss?'

Khushi looked up at him and her heart skipped a beat. She instantly lowered her gaze. He was so devastatingly handsome with his dishelved hair and sleepy eyes and rumpled clothes; he looked nothing like the always suave ASR. He looked so young and boyish. Arnav saw the blush that crept up Khushi's cheeks and smirked. He bent forward and pecked her lightly on the lips.

'What's wrong Khush? Why are you being distant?'

Arnav knew something was bothering her when she didn't reply. He lifted her chin and made her look into his eyes.

'Khushi?'

'I...I...woh...mujhe laga ki shayad subah hone ke baad tum kal raat ke baaton ke liye pachtaoge. Main darr gayi thi. So I...I...wanted to give you space, in case, you know, if you wanted to change your mind about anything!' Khushi finished in a rush while trying to control the tears that were threatening to spill out any moment.

'What?!' Arnav couldn't believe what he just heard. 'Khush! Main maan tha hoon ki pichli baar mainey galthi ki thi. Lekin kya uske liye tum mujhe zindagi bar punish karogi? Kya uski wajah se mein tumhari nazaron se itna ghir gaya hoon?' Arnav's pained voice pierced Khushi's heart.

Khushi put her arms around Arnav's waist and rested her head on his heart.

'I'm sorry Arnav. Mujhe maaf kardo'

She looked up at him then and kissed him softly while tightening her hold on his waist. Arnav took her in his arms and deepened the kiss.

'I love you Khushi. And I don't want there to be any doubts about that in your mind. I am nothing without you. You are the love of my life and I have realized it the tough way and I am not about to make the same mistake again. I'm never letting you go...ever! Samjhi tum?'

Khushi gave him a dazzling smile and hugged him. Arnav placed a gentle kiss on her bare shoulder and trailed his tongue up her neck making Khushi shiver in his arms. He lost all control when he heard her soft moan and took her lips in for a scorching kiss. Khushi's toes curled at his sensual assault and she dug her fingers in his soft hair as she matched his passion with an eagerness of her own.

'Khush!' Arnav whispered. 'This dress?'

'The one you gave me for my birthday 2 years ago...this entire outfit'

'You...you still had it?'

'Yes! This is the first time I'm wearing it though. It's beautiful Arnav. I love it!'

'You look breathtaking Khushi. Thank you for wearing it today. It makes this day extra special'

'I love you'

'I love you too sweetheart!'

As Khushi and Anjali sat in the audience, Arnav sat with his classmates to receive his diploma from President Barack Obama. It was a very proud moment for the graduates. As the commencement ceremony finally came to an end and the new grads had screamed and yelled and stomped their feet, threw their caps high in the air and generally acted like 5-year olds, Arnav came towards his Di and Khushi who were waiting for him. His heart soared as he saw the 2 most important women in his life smiling and talking animatedly. They both beamed at him and hugged him.

'Congratulations Chotey! I am so proud of you!'

'Thanks Di'

'Let's go! The others are waiting for us for brunch'

Brunch was a happy and boisterous affair. Arnav couldn't take his eyes off Khushi and this didn't go unnoticed by the others. Anjali and Payal winked at each other happily. Looked like their plan had worked after all.

Anjali, Khushi and Payal helped Arnav pack. He was staying back for a few more days to finish off some last minute stuff in Boston and then he would drive back home the following Friday. The rest of them were leaving soon, early next morning in fact and Arnav was already feeling gloomy thinking about being without Khushi for 5 days. He watched her as she efficiently packed all his books. She had now changed into skinny blue jeans and a smocked white top, her hair was in a messy pile on top of her head and her face was scrubbed clean. She looked radiant. Arnav had an instant urge to whisk her away from everyone for a kiss and he tried to catch her eye. Khushi sensed his gaze on her and looked up from the box she was busy packing. When Arnav smiled at her, she felt like her heart would burst with happiness. This trip had turned out to be the best of her life. She had never imagined that finally letting go of the past would bring this much joy into her dull and boring life. Life had been hell without Arnav the past few years and now that they were finally together, Khushi realized that this was how it was supposed to be. She was fully determined to let it all go and take their relationship forward. The only thing that mattered now was that Arnav and her loved each other and their love had withstood the test of time. Now it was up to them to culminate it and Khushi was confident that they would...in the due course of time.

As Arnav and Khushi were walking hand in hand along Harvard Square that night...their last night in Boston, Khushi noticed that Arnav was lost in his thoughts. She gently squeezed his hand to get his attention and when he looked at her, she could sense that he was debating about telling her something.

'I'm going to miss you Khush! 5 days without you seems like an eternity. Can't you stay back with me?'

'You know I would in a heartbeat if I could Arnav. But my internship is very grueling and it's going to be like that for a while. Even after you come back home, we might not get to spend a lot of time with each other' Khushi sounded distressed at the thought of not being able to be with Arnav constantly.

Arnav stopped walking and turned towards Khushi. He gently took her in his arms and whispered, 'But it won't matter anymore Khush. I love you! And we'll both be home, like before and we'll work it out, ok?'

Just as Arnav swooped down to kiss her, Khushi whispered back, 'Yes we will be back home...back where we belong'

A/N: Sorry for the delay again. I'm not at all happy with how this part has turned out, so please forgive me. And for those of you who've asked me if this FF is ending soon, my answer is 'No'! Arnav and Khushi have just crossed their first hurdle and confessed their love. The true test of their love is yet to come and I have many, many more chapters planned. I sincerely hope that you will follow my Arnav and Khushi's journey.

Edited by limoncello - 12 years ago
Sanaya.Barun thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Awww... Their new journey together.❤️
Loved this update!
Edited by Sanaya.Barun - 12 years ago
ameena671 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
superb update loved it thank you for pm.
pixiegirl thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
That was a really nice update but very short :( Loved Khushi's outfit, it was pretty cool. Awww poor Arnie, he is already in the doldrums, gonna miss Khushi, chalo koi nahi, they will be soon together. Hope you will update soon next time :)
A_R_S thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2
This was a very lovely update.

Arnav and Khushi in the morning and then their Walk through Boston's night was so good to read. I just loved it.

And I felt like this is the last part, but yeah, glad about, what u wrote in ur note. Just one wish, may there come 100 difficulties and problems for them in future, but please please no more seperation of Arshi.
-Xpress- thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
jeya0301 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Such a wonderful update..:) they deserve to live happily ever after..:) hope they don't face any more problem..:) thnk u..:)
Amita2014 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Lovely update!!!!!
Wonder what hurdles Arnav and Kushi will face..
limoncello thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 7
Thank you guys for all the comments 😊
I'm sorry I haven't been replying to each one separately, but I read each one of them. And I really do treasure them all as this is my first story and your likes and feedbacks are very special to me.

I'm writing the next part and I'm halfway done. Will try to post it soon.
Nidsubh007 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 7
Loved the update!! I like how you should Khushi's insecurities in the morning & Arnav reassuring her that this was real and he was here to stay.

5 days apart seems like 5 days too many for Mr Raizada!! 😆