NIGHT STAYY 27.2
Kya Rishta tyar hai ek aur leap lene ko? -SBS
MAIRA HELPS MUKTI 28.2
Professional setback continues. Dp now out of The White Lotus
Holi special promo
Alia Bhatt (for Gucci) & Diana Penty - at the Milan Fashion Week
US, Israel attack Iran : Trump announces ‘major combat operations’🔥
IPL 2026 - (28 March to 31 May 2026)
If a person is described as Hitler, it in no way means glorifying Hitler or taking his crimes lightly. It simply means a person who is strict, has no sense of humour and is unlikable in his behaviour.
This oversensitiveness and political correctness of the modern society confounds me.
I find this picture funny. Yet I am very much aware of WW2. Does laughing at this joke mean I don't consider the war to be an important chapter in the world's history? I don't think so. I feel the same way when a show or anyone else uses Hitler's name in jest.
I also find some of Hitler's quotes very interesting. Does that make me a Hitler supporter? I hope not. 😆You are wrong when you single out Jewish people as the only ones who suffered though. There were around 60 million casualties of the war...of which 6 millions were Jewish. Or so that's what they tell us...I feel the numbers are worse, who knows. Yes, Jews were targeted but a life is a life, regardless of whether it was a statistic of a genocide.To me, worse than joking about the war or Hitler is the fact people don't focus on the larger picture of the war and how there was far more to it than Hitler and his crazies.
Originally posted by: BrunoMars
You might not think so, but there are a lot of people who do think so.I don't think that makes you a supporter, I am sure he did say things that did make sense.I am not singling out the Jewish, I am very well aware of the soldiers that died for their country and sacrificed their lifes. Like I said in my post. (not just soldiers, most were civilians in many countries)The numbers are far above that, but we might never know...There was far to it. And I think people should be aware of it too. But seeing how they can't respect the victims of the war, let alone the other aprt of the story is just depressing.
I don't see anything wrong in Hitler jokes or referring to mean/authoritarian people as Hitler. It doesn't glorify Hitler, nor does it demean victims in any way. It is just humor. Humor is a means for mankind to cope with our failings and idiosyncrasies. Sometimes, humor can highlight issues and hammer in with the punch line more than serious discussions can.
But how is it disrespectful? And if you think Hitler should not be used as the butt of jokes, then where do you draw the line exactly?People use Bin Laden, Saddam, Bush for their jokes all the time. Weren't these 3 also responsible for wars and deaths as well, though not a WW. Yet, some who find Hitler jokes in bad taste, would find an Osama joke funny.It comes down to your taste in jokes, not whether or not you are disrespecting the dead.Added the bit in red.
Originally posted by: return_to_hades
I don't see anything wrong in Hitler jokes or referring to mean/authoritarian people as Hitler. It doesn't glorify Hitler, nor does it demean victims in any way. It is just humor. Humor is a means for mankind to cope with our failings and idiosyncrasies. Sometimes, humor can highlight issues and hammer in with the punch line more than serious discussions can.
Reflections on 2025: War, Terrorism, and a Fractured World Echoes of Pain and Courage: The World in 2025 As 2025 comes to an end, the world is...
Has “Safe and Secure” Lost Its Meaning Amid the Noise of Violence and Cruelty? When selfish motives replace compassion and peace, the whole...