Spice Girls Hangout:Semblance of normalcy?

--Sari-- thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

For every 4 crappy episodes we get 1 decent episode...😆This has been the trend for the last few weeks. I wouldn't call it a great episode coz I want these 2 to realize their feelings gradually which it has been and under normal circumstances. Does it always have to be someone hurt or sick, followed by rabba-ve? Does it always have to be trip, fall, catch & rabba- ve?

Today Khushi had a near perfect evening...YAY👍🏼 Phew...an eventful day that ended on a scary note...Lesson learned the hard way, never take it too far...She still was the Gopi bahu but little did she know the consequences of her innocent prank. Yes, she knew he was hungry and hadn't eaten but she also probably didn't know the havoc it could cause on a diabetic.

Exasperated ASR, is she for real?

Gopi bahu insisted she would serve Swami freshly cooked dinner...What he probably doesn't know patrivata had her fill & then some...My kind of girl...😆I loved his sarcasm when he said "saath mein khana nahi..."😆😆😆 He has given up on her; no screaming, no anger, just resigned to her pagalpan! Just a sense of calm; maybe he was too sick to react or it's the side effects of being married😆😆😆 Either way, she is growing on him! Khushi's tasting the food was pushing it but she more than made up for her goof up.

She did try to help him but he wanted none of it. I think he was a little upset over the whole food drama. He doesn't like an audience and likes to be in control. Khushi puts him in awkward situation & exposes his vulnerable side. So he was upset she brought out the weak Arnav. He didn't complain to his folks that she was the reason he had no food like he complained about Swami👏👏👏 So he has learned to draw the line about protecting their private moments. Now, its Khushi's turn!

Moment of truth?

He didn't protest when she insisted and was firm. Yes, she needs to be firm with him. Anjali's secret really does work. He did respond when she shoved it down his throat but in a genuine way not the fake act. I think today both were affected in a deeper sense (I may regret saying this tomorrow). *talking to myself* - "1 episode at a time, Sari..."😉

But his vulnerable side hopefully invoke the caring Khushi....Something, anything to build what is missing - mutual trust! Trust is seriously lacking; the way he got up when he saw her leaning over...He probably thought like maami - 2nd murder attempt!🤣

Sharing the bed, soon to come?

Loved how they both wanted the other to use the bed. Khushi being Khushi, never holds any grudges & insisted that he take the bed👏👏👏 If only they learn to trust each other...We may get to see some calm in this turbulent marriage....I hope this is the end of the Extreme Khushi...Wishful thinking?

Edited by --Sari-- - 14 years ago

-Jamba- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Hey Sari - glad to see you opened the hangout today 🤗

As for today's epi - a small breath of sanity after the pendulum swung over into the realm of the ridiculous ...dare we hope that this will be the end of KSR's OTT and juvenile comedy?

That bridge to Nowhere in Alaska is still up for sale. 😉

1. KSR nobly tries to wait for the pati - but caves and wolfs down the rations. Minor gripe - the amount of food she's supposed to have consumed would have fed the entire family, since every bowl was full when she began. But we put logic into cold storage ages ago, so we'll let it slide...

To give her her due - SI excels at delivering one-liners with just the right amount of punch. Her muttered response when Nani rebukes ASR was ROFL-worthy (Vaar Chote pe nahi, hamare chote se pet pe ho raha hai). 🤣

Its when the CV's decide to build an episode, or worse, a track around it - that they get into hot water with the audience. Viewers have no patience for filler comedy when the elephant in the room (the big MU) is being studiously ignored by everyone. 😕

2. ASR keels over in a slow mo spell - I thought it was supposed to be due to lack of food, not missing his meds? If it is the latter, why is KSR feeling guilty? He gets some TLC from Di, and KSR packs him off to bed using (who else?) Di as the hammer. I wasn't looking forward to this sequence since the precap - figured they'd make a joke out of it. But this is a serious issue for diabetics, nice to see that they didn't mess it up 👍🏼.

NOTE TO SELF - when worrying about a sick family member all night...MUST. PACE. RESTLESSLY. Just sitting still and you know - conserving strength to actually take care of them all night isn't enough to show that you care anymore. 😛

3. The vigil continues. She manages to drag that eyesore of a recliner over without making a sound. 😲 He wants water, brusquely refuses her offer to help, and promptly chokes. Which leads to what everyone saw coming a mile away, namely, the next...

4. ...Rabba Veyyy! We can check that off on the honey-do list for today. I've figured out what bothers me about these forced sequences. It isn't the eye-locks, we've been fed a regular diet of those pretty much since the show began, and are all used to them by now. Its the GROSS overuse of the RV track. 😕 It used to be special, now its just pedestrian. Keeping the BG score instrumental would've been a much better choice here.

5. Dear CV's - can SI just stay in her version of PJ's throughout the day as well? These simple outfits WORK for her.

Her hair looks much better at nights too - the bangs are let out from cell block D for their hour of exercise. Compare this to the daytime look which is a crime against fashion AND violates several Geneva conventions in the process. 🤢

But in spite of the minor flaws - I'm still happy with today's epi. At this point they could pretty much show ANYTHING to replace "the 100 ways to annoy ASR" and I'll accept it gratefully, since we're apparently not going to break new ground until the Category 5 hurricane that is IPL has blown over.
Edited by -Jamba- - 14 years ago
savvy05 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
A much better episode from yesterday. What I missed today was Khushi's monologues.
-her guilty feelings for Arnav's predicament. At last, it was nice to see the caring side of Khushi . Arnav's apprehensive look as to judge what is real and what is false - nicely done by Barun.

Two scenes that were standouts for me - Arnav getting off the bed to go to the recliner as soon as Khushi closed the door, his progression is quite clear from the day of the wedding. Khushi exercising her rights to help him, so in line with her character. Nicely done.

So what will happen tomorrow is because of her "swami" antics, Arnav is going to yell at her mistaking her genuine concern. At this point I think all her ammo is used up - ignoring him, making silly antics, riling him up -so the only way I think is for her is to start thinking and approach differently. Will she start thinking logically?

On a side note, the room does have curtains?!! Can we also have instrumental RV's and bring back the actual RV when the passion ignites?

Edited by savvy05 - 14 years ago
desigirl_18 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 6
Hey Sari and Sush(hopefully she's coming today) and Spicegirls!

Enjoyed the calm and composed episode today with no screaming or OTTness 😆!!

Ok from the start of the epi with Anjali's reaction to finding out that Khushi is calling Arnav Swami and all i thought from her expressions that she's kind of confused as to the way Khushi took her advice..

One thing i didnt like about this scene was Bubbly. This is where the thing comes in that Sush was talking about yest with kids acting older then their age..lile why discuss with her about the gender of the baby and all..these kind if things arent generally discussed with kids now are they?! Or maybe its just modern thinking and im being conservative..anyway moving on

Agree with u Sari i loved that dialogue of Arnav's when he was like saath beht ke nahi khana ahh his sarcasm makes him even more hot lol..and this Khushi soo skinny yet eats so much thoda toh bacha liya hota!! I didnt like how the family all came running when he fainted j thought it was really late na and they all shud have been sleeping! But i guess they heard Khushi yelling and ArHi got a lot of alone time today so im ok with this!

Nowi loved the way she cared for him and the sad RV music in the back really nice! I also liked him pushing her hand away when she was putting the blanket on him like a rhoota hua hubby but then she was adamant so he gavr in eventually. I also liked the way Khushi moved the recliner to his side so she could keep close watch on him. I was hoping a bit to get a scene where Arnav sees how she stayed up all night to watch him and all but i guess they wanted to leave it for Anjali to tell him...

Hope i made sense here kind of in a rush...
Edited by desigirl_18 - 14 years ago
mandy0310 thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 8
**Updated**

Great post Sari! I agree while this episode wasn't great, it was decent.
Honestly I was not expecting Khushi to go without eating until Arnav came, I fully expected her to eat and irk him but that wasn't the case at least not at first. Khushi was really making the effort to wait without eating but in the end it became too much for her, she gave into temptation and ate everything! The look on her face when she realized what she did made it clear that this was not intentional on her part, it was the first glimpse of the Khushi I know
Loved Arnav coming home and instead of fighting, he was willing to play along and said lets eat together sure it was more in a sarcastic tone but nevertheless he wasn't putting up a fight. While I was annoyed when Khushi decided to continue her act despite knowing he had not eaten all day she quickly realized the consequences of her actions. What started off as harmless quickly took a dangerous turn and you could see how quickly Khushi repented, this was the second glimpse of who Khushi really is
Liked the scene with Anjali taking care of Arnav and realizing how concerned Khushi was. Earlier Anjali had her suspicions of what was really going on between Arnav and Khushi knowing things weren't back to normal just yet but then she saw how concerned Khushi was, how guilty she felt. Anjali knows that despite their fighting, they do care about each other.
Really liked Arnav and Khushi's scenes. Arnav has really changed, even though he was upset with Khushi he still wanted her to take the bed while he took the recliner but Khushi wouldn't let that happen. Khushi really took charge here. In these scenes we really got to see who Khushi is and not some butchered version the CVs portrayed yesterday. Khushi is someone who is caring, loving and who will go out of her way to make it up to someone when she knows she screwed up. Khushi knew Arnav being upset with her was a result of her actions, she understood it and she found a way to help him without fighting or resorting to being childish. It was a good way to repair the damage done to her in the previous episode but I have to wonder about the precap that was shown. Arnav took a nasty fall yet in the precap he was fine and how did Anjali know what Khushi did? I hope Arnav doesn't think she was faking her concern for him or did this to get credit. I really want him to see that when Khushi does something wrong, she owns up to it.
Edited by bollywoodcrazed - 14 years ago
sugar_babe thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Hey Sari!!

It was a cute episode. I would've liked the surprise element in his condition, but SBS ruined it, but it was still very well done. I think this is it for "crazy Khushi", she's learned her lesson, unlike ASR she follows the "once bitten, twice shy". ODB will follow that theory very soon too, when he realizes the truth and will never ever question her again and will love her more than she asks. I know, I'm certain that despite the storm Anjali and Shyam will bring just when these "gutter gutter love birds" are basking in marital bliss, Arnav will always put Khushi first, maybe not explicitly, because his actions have always spoken louder than his words. I'm about ready for the track to start paving its way towards the realization.

I think there's a major confrontation happening after that *W*F moment*, poor Barun, there's other ways of showing his pain without the physicality in it, first the rod and now this. That looked painful. He's going to tell her to shut up and not fake it because he doesn't buy it. The fact that Anjali's aware of it, now serious wishful thinking on my part makes me believe that she's gonna whip out the mother's letter. That should be the only reason why loud mouth knows about it. That and so she can gloat it to Arnav who'll get pissed. Yes, his initial 2 secs will be dandy and happy but then he'll get pissed when Anjali keeps praising her and this will lead him to an argument with her.
PLEASEEE let my theory be right, let them fight now with Khushi knowing about his mother's letter, let her not fight back and just be herself, normal, loving and accommodating. *too much hopefulness* 😳

Edited to add:

You nailed it with his reaction to the family member's OTT concern. I'm very similar to him that way, some of us just like to keep our concerns to ourselves, because we have it under control and we'll deal with it our way and are not at all comfortable with so much attention. So yes, his reaction to all that concern was nailed, he was very overwhelmed and uncomfortable.

The bed sharing, only when something happens to Khushi. Because, if that was Khushi's state, just imagine Arnav's. I can just imagine the old *head falling on shoulder* trick to get these to share the bed without external factors *bua, Anjali*. lol

I'm happy to see progress on destructive chotte's secret, Khushi being firm with her affections towards him will slowly start earning her that trust factor, he'll realize its genuine and that hopefully will be his *W*F am I thinking about her and Shyam* moment.. please let it be!
Edited by sugar_babe - 14 years ago
735906 thumbnail
Hi Sari and the rest,
Agree with you on Khushi needing to be firm with ASR. That was exactly my thought while watching today.
I liked today's episode for one reason and one reason only. For a minute, I got my old Khushi back when she said 'humen karne dijiye'---very firm and determined to have her way. This is the Khushi who told him on their wedding night that 'hamara yeh jaan na bahut jaroori hai ki aapne aisa kyun kiya' and she is the one who told him off after the guest house fiasco. This is the Khushi that gets to him. This is the Khushi he responds to. He spurned every other attempt she made to care for him, but the minute she brought out the 'Hume karne dijiye' in the vintage Khushi style, not the KKG style, he let her do it.
Then there was Ms.B (Do I see a case of hero worship there?) with her "Arnav bhaiyya, aapko kuch chahiye. Mein kuch leker aaon" and I noticed Khushi used that line at least a couple times only to be rejected just as Ms.B was.
So yes, I want to believe this is leading to something -really a confirmation of what Anji told her in the first place ~, but not sure if it will be followed through.
Precap tells me we might see the return of ASR.So we might be back to a fight on friday, a chastened Khushi on Monday and it all starts again on Tuesday. Oh well...

PS: I used the same text above in another post where I was discussing the episode. Hope that's not a no-no in the forum. it's not like I say the same thing in two different ways.
Edited by veeps - 14 years ago
SoShy thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Hello Sari and everyone else...

I liked the episode... It definitely was a decent one... I hope this ends the Gopi bahu drama for now...

Kushi ate up all the food???😆

Sbs segment showed Kushi sprinkling water on ASR's face...there were no family members around... looks like that was edited out in the actual episode...

Poor girl stayed up the whole night watchin him, takin care of him... Sweet that was...

When ASR got out of his bed, he fell really hard on the floor... 😲

Hoping tomorrow will be a good day too(in IPKKND land) ...we could end the week on a good note...

Edited by SoShy - 14 years ago
showstruck thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
Something extreme needed to happen to stop her extreme pranks. And it did. But, is it the end of the 100 crazy idea track?? We have to keep on watching to find it out. I don't know if I am wrong but noticed a bit if comic touch on khushi's face in the morning when she was on his face to find out if he was ok.

I wish in place of that super long RV, they showed khushi sitting down thinking how he ended up being sick. Instead of pulling of the recliner she could have fall asleep next to him sitting by the bed. That would have been much more romantic than the RV moment. I just closed my eyes to get thru it and the music- it's so beautiful. Why over use it to ruin it?? Who am I asking?? I hope he didn't fall, so we would get another RV as she tries to pull him up and falls on him.

Really really wish today was the end of craziness. Fingers crossed.
mandy0310 thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 8
Jamba, I threw out logic in the food scene obviously it was a plot point to drive home the message to Khushi about the consequences her actions had on Arnav. I am just glad this Gopi nonsense is over and done with. This is not SNS nor is it SNL to mock a show
I like that the CVs handled this seriously too instead of turning this into comedy. I understood Khushi's restlessness, she took what happened to Arnav seriously. Khushi never intended for things to go so far where it would affect his health. I just hope Khushi has learnt her lesson and doesn't go out of her way to annoy him anymore, she can just use the silent treatment if he dares to insult her again. The silence kills him
I didn't mind the Rabba Ve but yes the overuse in previous episodes took away the magic of the scene.
I totally agree about Khushi's clothing at night, she looked great! For once her hair didn't make me want to scream.
For me, I don't expect perfection in an episode just one that is decent and keeps the characters intact. Today the scenes were simple, no overdose of comedy, no OTT and that is how it should be. The CVs need to learn they don't need to try so hard especially when you have a talented cast