Should we as an audience hold stars accountable?

Posted: 1 years ago

Thinking about how shady the entire industry is and some of the really messed up things some celebs are rumored (some things not rumored) to have done, should we hold them accountable or just let it slip under the rug (as in most cases it has). Why I am asking this is because celebs are humans like everyone else (be it they have way more money, presumably) but they can still be crappy people. The glitz and glamour, perfect bodies, hair, makeup, relationships, lifestyle, big massy films, seem to delude the eyes of people and all lies or wrong doings get forgotten. We know one particular star who is a literal murderer and abuser and home boy walks free with no consequences. In such case, it's the worst I can think any celebrity has done. However, no matter the shade of the stars, people still turn a blind eye to their favorites and love on them.

One can forgive and let live, but should we pretend that they are doing/did something bad and make excuses for them? I think there is a big herd mentality, and a lot that people just let happen and act like "eh, that's fine, you are a star, I love you!" To say this only happens in Bollywood would also be a lie as well. But this has me thinking, when I have seen fan argue with other group fans I sit and wonder "your favorite and their favorite are both crappy at times...what are we trying to prove?" 

Originally posted by greenletters

Thinking about how shady the entire industry is and some of the really messed up things some celebs are rumored (some things not rumored) to have done, should we hold them accountable or just let it slip under the rug (as in most cases it has). Why I am asking this is because celebs are humans like everyone else (be it they have way more money, presumably) but they can still be crappy people. The glitz and glamour, perfect bodies, hair, makeup, relationships, lifestyle, big massy films, seem to delude the eyes of people and all lies or wrong doings get forgotten. We know one particular star who is a literal murderer and abuser and home boy walks free with no consequences. In such case, it's the worst I can think any celebrity has done. However, no matter the shade of the stars, people still turn a blind eye to their favorites and love on them.

One can forgive and let live, but should we pretend that they are doing/did something bad and make excuses for them? I think there is a big herd mentality, and a lot that people just let happen and act like "eh, that's fine, you are a star, I love you!" To say this only happens in Bollywood would also be a lie as well. But this has me thinking, when I have seen fan argue with other group fans I sit and wonder "your favorite and their favorite are both crappy at times...what are we trying to prove?" 

hold them all accountable or none 

Yes. And people should stop acting all emotional or defensive or in denial when it comes to stars. 

Or have own favs or give excuses because childhood memories are attached to a star or due to gender or race.

Just shut it.

Stop watching films and shows or buying products endorsed by those stars. Stop putting them on pedestal. 

Stop mobbing them or leaving own studies or work for them and spending hard earned money on them.

Stop watching their interviews or podcasts online. Stop following them on SM and stop using them as role models or examples in real life. 

Originally posted by atominis

Yes. And people should stop acting all emotional or defensive or in denial when it comes to stars. 

Or have own favs or give excuses because childhood memories are attached to a star or due to gender or race.

Just shut it.

Stop watching films and shows or buying products endorsed by those stars. Stop putting them on pedestal. 

Stop mobbing them or leaving own studies or work for them and spending hard earned money on them.

Stop watching their interviews or podcasts online. Stop following them on SM and stop using them as role models or examples in real life. 

I can understand the mentality as a teen, but when you are an adult fighting other fans and stans online is silly. But to put celebs as role models is beyond weird. 

Adults also do it and relate a lot to stars. Either due to nostalgia or due to gender or ideology adding to attachment or because they identify or relate a lot to stars and live vicariously through stars or want to live like them or wish they lived like them.

Some also run fan clubs or fan associations or fantasise about stars, or need those stars to fill void or seek escape from own lives and refuse to believe star is bad or think everything is gossip or propaganda and often even say, so what if he or she is like this in real life, I am just interested in his or her work, I find him or her entertaining and good for timepass and it is good.

I had this relative who was a retired school headmistress. I told her about realities of 2 big stars whose reality shows she used to watch. She initially felt shocked. Then said she did not know they were like this and that it did not matter to her because they just want to see the shows of these stars for entertainment. Handsome hai, charismatic hai, entertainment aur timepass acha hai bas theek hai, humko kya is their mindset. I asked her why is she not more concerned about patronising such stars or impact of such stars on kids, being an academic herself, she laughed and brushed it aside. 

Hold them accountable for ? 

Noble idea 

I would say, start with our politicians. They have a much larger impact on our lives as they are policy makers, than movie stars.

And the problem doesn't just lie with fans - it's the justice system filled with loopholes for the powerful and the clickbait media which aids them. If some fans want to decouple the reel and real lives of the movie stars then so be it. Bolly and cricket will always be soft targets in our country. Koi bhi kuch bhi bol kar nikal sakte hain and they all have so much money on stake they will always cower under the threats and give in. We should apply the same yardsticks and moments of outrage to all fields. Why spare Hollywood? 

MCU is a world renowned popular multi million dollar franchise and had RDJ as face of the franchise for over a decade. RDJ ne kya nahi kiya hai before he turned a new leaf 

Originally posted by YourCat

Hold them accountable for ? 

LOL, just like me, you also didn’t read the essay ðŸ˜† I have the same question ðŸ˜³

No 1  These stars are not some celestial bodies. They are human beings and should be treated as human beings. Respect them for the work they do like one respects any other human beings for the work they do.

Criticise their work in a objective manner

Teach your children that these people are just actors who are doing their work and not some super human beings. Make them aware that what these people do on the screens is not real but it is an artform called make believe and their job is to create illusions.

Making them as role models for general public should not be done.

My parents made it clear to us at a very early age that these are actors and are human beings like any other. Sure they are better looking than most other people we seen on the streets but that definitely should not be the reason for adoring them.

All thanks to my parents I have never been a fan of any actor. But I definitely like works of some actors more than others and do look forward to their movies but never went crazy about them or what they did outside of their work.

Never put any of these stars on pedestal. My teachers and senior colleagues were put on pedestals by me though.

Edited by aparnauma - 1 years ago

How do you plan to hold them accountable?😒