Creative001 thumbnail

Is Abhishek is Mr. Collins or Mr. Wickham? What happened to the dinner party with Satyen and the family at Akash's sister's house? Did Satyen discuss Viveka to Raanav? Did Raanav figured whose diamond ring it was 😉

Nisha0604 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

@Creative No Abhishek is not boorish or pompous or clownish, he is not Mr Collins

The dinner has not happened yet

Raanav has not figured it out

coderlady thumbnail

Satyen is unlike his family. He actually appreciates people that work for him.

Viveka and Abhishek have their first date planned. They are quite similar in nature and outlook.

Errrantnomad thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Alright! The girl can flirt and bua can finally breathe a sigh of relief ki her jiji's daughter is not a lost cause after all😳

Paneer doing things to her mind! Ha Ha Ha! Not a bad one ... one step further and sending feelers to see if he will join her for a tasting session!

I'm rolling imagining mathurs coming home to find the karamkar guy seated on the dining table gobbling paneer and line marofying their nerdy daughter!They will do a double flip suddenly feeling their age! Bejeeesus ! What in our world are we seeing! One girl on the couch with a boy and another one on the dining table eagerly serving paneer 😍🤣

Nisha0604 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Vague & Vegas

She was itching to tell her parents that evening about Abhishek. She wanted them to know. She did not want them to find out from her coworkers’ friends’ social media pages

She had over 500 friends on her social media pages, between some really funny students, her undergrad, grad school and high school friends and JNU of course, but was really close to two.

Naina had “10” close friends, but only had a 100 friends onsocial media

Viveka followed a ton of Insta saree pages from handloom saree revivals to no name boutiques in Calcutta

She didn’t post daily pictures of herself but posted a lot of seminar pictures and event pictures, and sisterhood pictures of the 4siblings in Goa and Singapore, Dubai, and a two week “group tour” to Europe andthe one time they went to Japan with their mother.

“Itni jaldi?” Anu smiled when she entered the door

“Hmm.. my 5 PM got canceled I had to go to DSW to get that article but abhi mila nahi bola friend ne”

“Wahan kaun hai tumhara friend?” Anu asked casually

“Oh MA, I met this really really really funny guy 2Saturdays ago, aaj kya taareekh hai? May 5th… yeah I met him letssay 10 days ago”

Anu was really really interested now

She sat down with her chai

“Can I have your chai?” Viveka begged

“Tum ekdum chor ho”

“OK fine… bana loongi”

“Lo bhai piyo”

Anu got up

“Follow me and tell me everything”

He is nerdy like me, he is also gareeb like me he has no Naukri but hopes to teach at DSW”

“Arey wah, appne jaisa gareeb kahan se pakda” Anu laughed

“IKR”

“He is graduating next week from Berkeley”

“WOW”

Haan… he is leaving with his Dad in 10 days or something”

“Nice”

Anu smiled as she washed the tea strainer to pour out her own chai

“He has a goatee Ma”

“Oh really?” Anu rolled her eyes at Viveka’s enthusiasm

“We have been chatting” Viveka said softly

Anu turned

And watched Viveka blush

“Hmm.. to yeh baat hai”

“Well… he is smart, and well read and quotes more articles than me, and he has a goatee” she laughed

“Palak paneer pasand hai?”

“OH HE LOVES IT”

“Woww” Anu pretended to be stunned

“I KNOWWWWWWWW” Viveka started jumping up and down

“Yeh to kudrat ka qarishma hai beta” Anu laughed her eyes twinkling

“You are soooo mean” Viveka hugged her tight

“Papa ko bataya?” Anu sipped her chai

“Umm… can u?” she whispered

“Zaroor” Anu nodded

“I mean its JUST a friendship, but its like I found someone with who I CAN HANG AND TALK ECONOMY”

“Woww”

“MAAAA” Veev

“achha achha sorry baba” “Raat ko kya khaogi?”

“Diya Karuna kidhar hain?”

“they went to, I mean, Bua picked them up from college, Diya had a dentist apptt, I couldn’t go, Karuna wanted to eat Chinese, unka cook achha banal eta hai na”

“Main bhi jaoon?” Viveka begged

“Nahi beta Papa aate hongey”

“Naina kidhar hai?”

“she is working late,”

“Oh” “Umm” Viveka’s expression changed

“I know what you are thinking” Anu said softly

Viveka was mature and observant

“Hmm” Viveka tried to dodge

“Mujhe usne FaceTime bhi kiya and told me I could FT herwhenever she will be at her desk only”

“Oh good” Viveka relaxed visibly

“You were thinking about Inder too?” Anu smiled

“Umm.. yeah but I doubt she will do something crazy”

“Hopefully… I don’t want to talk to Papa about reaching out whoever or wherever his family is. He seems in some way connected to the Parashars” Anu’s tone was bland

“nephew of the lady I believe”

“Hmm..”

Both were deliberately vague in recollecting detail both knew more or at least had heard of more

Anubha Too awkward to say anything since that family had the worst prejudices

“I have daughters but I am not needy or desperate orbegging for wealthy guys to marry them” Anu thought out loud

“Chill Ma”

The women got busy making dinner

Naina actually built the cover of trust after nebulous reassurances to her Ma and went out to eat with Inder and made out a bit in hiscar and in the marbled hallway leading up to her office in the plush Gurgaon building

Returned to her work, accompanied by him by 9 PM

“Bua bata rahi thi that lady thought you were an au pair to one of Bua’s friend’s grandkids” Anu was beyond dismayed

“Its fine Ma… you know us broke researchers are often misunderstood. We get used to it”

“I mean the nerve Veev”

“I am fine… you should be too”

They ate pulao and raita and Viveka told Akash about Abhishek and it was an evening of laughter and jokes

Akash was visibly happy that Viveka had after all found someone just like herself

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Unke bete ne Ph D kar lee” Satyen muttered sipping his Scotch

“Chalo achha hai, hopefully he will find a steady job soon” Smrita was pointedly condescending

“I agree” Satyen nodded

“We cant hire 1000s and keep out commitment to the Fibertek Kabel APAC Pte Ltd (the Singapore alliance partner).” Rakshit explained showing Raanav some figures on his Macbook

“We just need them to be onboard right, weve signed, how wedo it should not be part of the terms”

“No I think, we have a list of approved 3rdparty contractors, Fibertek will offer expertise if the contract employees are hired from that list”

“That’s bull” Raanav got up to get a refill on his beer “I don’t think its on the fine print, I can look at it”

“No you just work on the Caterpillar patent share”

“Beta suno” Satyen called for his sons

They talked at length about what was on his mind, Raanav was insistent and assertive, left Satyen with little choice except the promise that he would follow up with Min Soo Kuo in the morning, about WHO Power Equipment Corp could hire for the undersea job

“I know you know what u are talking about but banda Chinese hai aur who kabhi galti nahi karte” Satyen laughed

“Ya right” Raanav was smug

“Any way”

“Your Accountant called” Raanav pulled up an email

“The CFO Mr Rathi?”

“No… your staff accountant that manages YOUR budget, whats his name?”

“Umm.. who Mr Aggarwal?”

“Yeah… here you go” he shared an email with his Dad

“”baat kya hui?” Chashma andar hai beta”

“Some… expense you had or the CFO had issued a directive to cut unnecessary travel and discretionary spend and you were wanting him to book two US round trip tikx”

“You are SO SNEAKY Satya YOU ARE SENDING then to ASPEN” Smrita looked up from her phone when the words “Two US tix” came up

“Arey nahi… Mr Karmakar, I told him I will pay for his and his son’s round trip, Wohi charge hoga Rs.4 lakh kuch suna maine, if we book inshort notice” Satyen was distracted

Raanav looked livid”

Whoaa?”

“Hmm… jaanta hoon” Satyen swallowed

“Are you going to gift him a trip to Vegas too?” Raanav questioned

Edited by Nisha0604 - 4 years ago
AnjuRish thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6

Been busy finally have a temp job as a prof for a couple of months to cover a prof on urgent personal leave.

This story has been interesting ..but how can raan question his father ? It is his father's money too and he does have his rights ...too much ..

VeeIyer thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

The gall RP has to question his father on expenses !! Totally agree with Anjurish on this !

The mother daughter conversation was so heartwarming ❤️

And on the same note, really heartwarming to see so many old timers in the forum. Brings memories from 6 years back, where we used to keep the page buzzing with posts

A huge shout and hugs to all of you ❤️❤️

Ashu25 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Why is the family on tail ??? Doens't satyen know what he is doing? Unhe sikhayenge? The nerve!!!

barrister thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Hi!

A bunch of things that really stood out to me..

One, Sr. Mr. Karmakar's happiness at his boss's generosity!

The tickets may be paltry pocket change for the Parashars but this thoughtful gesture of insisting he take a leave means so much to somebody... just serves as a reminder of how little kindness people expect from those above them in station, in today's world. 👏

Two, errrrr.... no offence to Veev OR Abhishek, but palak makes me go🤢🤢

barrister thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

I think I can guess the secret behind the Parashar fortune now..

The wife and atleast one son are through and through Scrooge's descendants.. in letter and spirit! That's how....😆

Viveka aur Raanav itne dino se nahi mile... maybe the stage is being set for some major development, but she has little to no reason to remember him. With new friendships and busy careers and all, voh toh usey bhul hi jaegi..

I hope they meet soon, even if just to trade insults