Arjunwagle thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=251299572601397&id=301804346538869&sfnsn=wiwspwa&extid=SxfAz9lwhU8Tfxsz&d=w&vh=e

For all Mumbaikars / ex Mumbaikars who were born and brought up in the Golden Girgaum of bygone era an interesting historical insight ....

kamalsh56 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

This lockdown period has made me explore Marathi movies which I never would have thought of viewing during normal times due to lack of time. I decided at the outset to keep aside the vintage Sachin/Saraf/Berde/Kothari stuff. Then I also decided to avoid the present movies with the current top "style stars" Ankush/Swapnil/Siddharth J and the "glamorous stars" Amruta/Sai/Sonalee Jr./Tejasvini and crime/horror/gangster movies.Looked around basically for some entertaining light stuff.

As I had liked Coffee Ani Barach Kai, I decided to start off with a Vaibhav Tatwadi one and happened to see Bhetali Tu Punha. It turned out quite a good romcom with Vaibhav playing his usual mild mannered man and was paired with the spirited Pooja Sawant. Her role of a geeky looking but vivacious and smart girl was so good that I wondered why I not had noticed any of her other movies. So next on the search list was some other Pooja movie. Looked at Dagdi Chawl but as it was a gangster movie with Ankush I skipped that. I then watched Bonus with Gashmeer and Pooja. Here she essayed a strong silent and aspiring Kolin girl in a koliwada, an exact opposite of the girl in Bhetali Tu Punha. For almost the full movie her romance with Gashmeer was just through her silent gaze. And Gashmeer too matched her well with a controlled performance as a rich man learning to live frugally (also had a delightful cameo by Mohan Agashe). This led me to look for some more Gashmeer movies. I had already seen Deol Band and was impressed with Gashmeer's role as a brash IT professional (though the movie was a standard stereotyped masala flic). I came across Mala Kahich Problem Nahi with Gashmeer and Spruha. Here Gashmeer was damn good as a timid and indecisive husband to Spruha's aggressive and outspoken wife in a "marriage breakdown" story. The movie was a bit stretched in the end but Spruha was too good. I had never seen Spruha in any role other than her wooly headed sister's role in ELDG and as an anchor. Then came a suggestion in IF to watch 15 August. And that was another good movie with a message. Mrunmayee Deshpande as a girl in a lower middle class family with a marriage dilemma was outstanding. Then I also saw Smile Please (good theme and good acting led by Mukta/Lalit/Prasad).

To sum it all up, I found out there are a lot of enjoyable Marathi movies which do not have to depend expressly on "star" presence.

Just my POV.

NerdyMukta thumbnail
Republic Rhythms Aazadi Quest Volunteer Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: Arjunwagle

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=251299572601397&id=301804346538869&sfnsn=wiwspwa&extid=SxfAz9lwhU8Tfxsz&d=w&vh=e

For all Mumbaikars / ex Mumbaikars who were born and brought up in the Golden Girgaum of bygone era an interesting historical insight ....

Thanks for sharing. Once a Mumbaikar, always a Mumbaikar. My memories of Girgaum begin from visiting my maternal Aaji-Aajoba near CP tank, watching movies with my Mama at Minerva, Rocksy, Central cinema theater. Aai-Baba leaving me with Aaji to watch plays at Sahitya Sangh. Dropping off cousins to their school - Chikitsak samuh. Girgaum Chowpati, Bhuleshwar, Zaveri Bazar, Khotachi wadi, Zavbaa wadi, Phanas wadi, Mughbhaat and a few more that I can't recall. Visiting several Ganapati pandals with Aai, Baba, Mama, Aaji-Aajoba. Watching concerts at Goa Hindu Association. I can go on.

RPRRR42 thumbnail

Originally posted by: kamalsh56

This lockdown period has made me explore Marathi movies which I never would have thought of viewing during normal times due to lack of time. I decided at the outset to keep aside the vintage Sachin/Saraf/Berde/Kothari stuff. Then I also decided to avoid the present movies with the current top "style stars" Ankush/Swapnil/Siddharth J and the "glamorous stars" Amruta/Sai/Sonalee Jr./Tejasvini and crime/horror/gangster movies.Looked around basically for some entertaining light stuff.

As I had liked Coffee Ani Barach Kai, I decided to start off with a Vaibhav Tatwadi one and happened to see Bhetali Tu Punha. It turned out quite a good romcom with Vaibhav playing his usual mild mannered man and was paired with the spirited Pooja Sawant. Her role of a geeky looking but vivacious and smart girl was so good that I wondered why I not had noticed any of her other movies. So next on the search list was some other Pooja movie. Looked at Dagdi Chawl but as it was a gangster movie with Ankush I skipped that. I then watched Bonus with Gashmeer and Pooja. Here she essayed a strong silent and aspiring Kolin girl in a koliwada, an exact opposite of the girl in Bhetali Tu Punha. For almost the full movie her romance with Gashmeer was just through her silent gaze. And Gashmeer too matched her well with a controlled performance as a rich man learning to live frugally (also had a delightful cameo by Mohan Agashe). This led me to look for some more Gashmeer movies. I had already seen Deol Band and was impressed with Gashmeer's role as a brash IT professional (though the movie was a standard stereotyped masala flic). I came across Mala Kahich Problem Nahi with Gashmeer and Spruha. Here Gashmeer was damn good as a timid and indecisive husband to Spruha's aggressive and outspoken wife in a "marriage breakdown" story. The movie was a bit stretched in the end but Spruha was too good. I had never seen Spruha in any role other than her wooly headed sister's role in ELDG and as an anchor. Then came a suggestion in IF to watch 15 August. And that was another good movie with a message. Mrunmayee Deshpande as a girl in a lower middle class family with a marriage dilemma was outstanding. Then I also saw Smile Please (good theme and good acting led by Mukta/Lalit/Prasad).

To sum it all up, I found out there are a lot of enjoyable Marathi movies which do not have to depend expressly on "star" presence.

Just my POV.

correctly described.i also liked gashmeer and pooja sawant also.

gashmir mahajni pudhr yayala hava.

mishkil88 thumbnail

रात्री १०.३० ला युवा वर डोंबिवली फास्ट आहे. १ वाजेपर्यंत सहज खेचतील. तसेच सरगम सुरांची मैफल हा बऱ्यापैकी दर्जेदार प्रोग्राम रात्री २ आणि repeat सकाळी ६ वाजता असतो ह्या पेक्षा दिवसा का नाही लावत त्याच त्या bore serials Ani dance queen , dance Maharashtra vagaire अती दळले जाणारे प्रोग्रॅम्स दाखवण्यापेक्षा 😡

Edited by mishkil88 - 5 years ago
Arjunwagle thumbnail

Originally posted by: RPRRR42

I think Gashmir stars in a horror thriller callled Anjam on Netflix
iluvusakshi thumbnail
Visit Streak 1000 Thumbnail Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail + 8

गिरगांव च विषय निघालाच आहे...माझी आई गिरगांव ची आहे. माहेर.

ती सुद्धा गिरगांव असा नुसता म्हटलं ना तरी चालू होते. I mean स्मरणरंजन. थांबत पण नाही आणि थकात तर अजिबात नाही जेव्हा ती एक एक गोष्टी सांगते तिच्या लहानपणीच्या आणि before marriage paryant chya.

Kalaram goraram mandir, खोतची vaadi वगैरे वगैरे....

mishkil88 thumbnail

Originally posted by: iluvusakshi

गिरगांव च विषय निघालाच आहे...माझी आई गिरगांव ची आहे. माहेर.

ती सुद्धा गिरगांव असा नुसता म्हटलं ना तरी चालू होते. I mean स्मरणरंजन. थांबत पण नाही आणि थकात तर अजिबात नाही जेव्हा ती एक एक गोष्टी सांगते तिच्या लहानपणीच्या आणि before marriage paryant chya.

Kalaram goraram mandir, खोतची vaadi वगैरे वगैरे....

माझी आई पण गिरगाव ची होती. खोताची वाडी, मुगभट, काँग्रेस हाऊस, अशा अनेक तिच्या लहानपणच्या आठवणी ती सांगायची.
kamalsh56 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: RPRRR42

I like Gashmeer because he is low profile and lets his acting do the talking. He has maintained his physic and not allowed himself to go to pot. I don't think he has made use of his father's (the chocolate boy hero of the 70's and 80's) connections. And importantly he has not allowed himself to be tied down to some typical style.

Pooja has a very strong screen presence and gets into the skin of her character so well.

I have rarely seen either of them going around promoting themselves on various shows.

BhetuPunha thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: mishkil88

isn't it very easy ?? The collector and municipal commissioner teams apart from police are doing the rounds every where. I am surprised that you are asking this. 🤔

All the shoots cannot be regulated by the authorities 😎 . There will always be some elements who might not fallow the rules