inlieu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: AreYaar

HS-Mini scene: 23rdJuly1 - Tu First Hai

Ah finally I get to THE scene....lol this scene is the sum of everything, man.....look at these two in this scene....the depth of their tadap for each other in that last bit as they cry in helplessness.....the Naina sequence.....oh man💔

Oh this scene had me in tears. I've watched it loads of times and it still affects me the same way, in fact even more now that I know what's happened to them. There was no manipulation or pretense on either side. It was all genuine emotion. Minnie knew how much he loved her and had done for her but her insecurities were overpowering her love and respect for him (no wonder it didn't take long for her to try and mend fences with him after a little nudge from Mickey).

Damn! AD can cry in a way that gets to my soul. I felt EVERYTHING as I watched him hide behind the wall, both knowing each other's state there and then.

AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: inlieu

Fiercely - that's the word I was looking for. It perfectly describes his emotions for Minnie, just Minnie, his daughter, not mother ki daughter. There was never any doubt even when he said he tried to assure Babita during the puja. I saw both as two separate things and in that scene too he explained to Babita that his love for Minnie was on a different plane. He had said as much to NB too.

I have a feeling that HS' direct side is going to come out even more, if Friday's episode is any indication, especially when he realizes how all this mess is affecting Minnie. He will send her away for her own sake and ironically while I had predicted some Amar Prem style ending, looks like that's where this is going.

Aww@ bold....love how you put that.....just Mini, his daughter, his Veer Balika....all of these relationships are seperate from mother ki daughter.

Friday's episode definitely put HS-Mini on the same page again....he started to see what Mini meant in terms of how Babita is giving up on everything she built....so yes, it's quite possible he realizes that Mini needs to leave for her own sake. What remains to be seen is how Babita would handle it....lol

inlieu thumbnail

Aww@ bold....love how you put that.....just Mini, his daughter, his Veer Balika....all of these relationships are seperate from mother ki daughter.

Friday's episode definitely put HS-Mini on the same page again....he started to see what Mini meant in terms of how Babita is giving up on everything she built....so yes, it's quite possible he realizes that Mini needs to leave for her own sake. What remains to be seen is how Babita would handle it....lol

I hope what you're saying is right, that they are on the same page again. She was even agreeing with his comment about being used as she also seemed to see what position he was in as a husband and that Babes wasn't willing to understand that families couldn't always go along.

He will just have to kiss Babita and shut her up once and for all. 😆 I'm just kidding. I think he will do one of his famous 'haath jode, Maharaani' lines and walk off in exasperation to start packing his bags for Abohar.

I can't wait for Monday's episode, I want to see if he even gets the chance to explain why he didn't give her the letter and whether he's read it or not. From the pre-cap it seemed as if he had, and then maybe he narrates its contents to her later on, leading to that much-needed talk. I expect Babita would storm off after that outburst about Minnie being Ashok's khoon.

Edited by inlieu - 6 years ago
inlieu thumbnail

In that hospital scene, he clearly tells her loves her more than he loves Babita, that she is his favorite and comes first for him, that it pains him to see her hurting, and that he always wanted her to be happy. The way HS/AD's voice broke when he said he wanted her to remain a chirpy bird... That's the kind of selfless love a father shows, he would let her go for her own happiness even if broke his heart.

All this was waaay before the pooja. It can't disappear overnight.

AreYaar thumbnail

Oh this scene had me in tears. I've watched it loads of times and it still affects me the same way, in fact even more now that I know what's happened to them. There was no manipulation or pretense on either side. It was all genuine emotion. Minnie knew how much he loved her and had done for her but her insecurities were overpowering her love and respect for him (no wonder it didn't take long for her to try and mend fences with him after a little nudge from Mickey).

Damn! AD can cry in a way that gets to my soul. I felt EVERYTHING as I watched him hide behind the wall, both knowing each other's state there and then.

There is endless material to dissect in this scene every time I watch it.....ek toh firstly this bit will NEVER get old.....gets me every single time

This was the real HS....who candidly admitted that he couldn't help falling for Babita but in trying to make sure there were never any tears in Babita's eyes, he unwittingly brought tears in Mini's.....amazing how much this foreshadowed what was to come.

This was the HS who, even as he admitted he loved Babita, just as honestly told Mini that she was always the more favorite of the two for him.....that she felt like his own daughter.....all his emotions were in front of Mini here to see.....that is the beauty of this scene. Nothing was held back in terms of words or emotions. This was an HS who, despite his own hurt, stepped up to manage and handle the situation, still kept himself and Mini in one team even if he felt he might be losing both of them soon.

If only this kind of balance had been maintained....the journey would have been

AreYaar thumbnail

In that hospital scene, he clearly tells her loves her more than he loves Babita, that she is his favorite and comes first for him, that it pains him to see her hurting, and that he always wanted her to be happy. The way HS/AD's voice broke when he said he wanted her to remain a chirpy bird... That's the kind of selfless love a father shows, he would let her go for her own happiness even if broke his heart.

All this was waaay before the pooja. It can't disappear overnight.

Oh man, that bit💔.....every single moment is a gem in this scene......AD toh was awesome no doubt, I loved how Ashnoor managed to convey all of Mini's emotions without a single word spoken too👏....you could feel her heart breaking just as much as his when HS talked about them leaving him and how he will still always be just a call away..

This was before the pooja....this was them at their most honest before pressures started getting put on relationships to conform.

inlieu thumbnail

There is endless material to dissect in this scene every time I watch it.....ek toh firstly this bit will NEVER get old.....gets me every single time

This was the real HS....who candidly admitted that he couldn't help falling for Babita but in trying to make sure there were never any tears in Babita's eyes, he unwittingly brought tears in Mini's.....amazing how much this foreshadowed what was to come.

This was the HS who, even as he admitted he loved Babita, just as honestly told Mini that she was always the more favorite of the two for him.....that she felt like his own daughter.....all his emotions were in front of Mini here to see.....that is the beauty of this scene. Nothing was held back in terms of words or emotions. This was an HS who, despite his own hurt, stepped up to manage and handle the situation, still kept himself and Mini in one team even if he felt he might be losing both of them soon.

If only this kind of balance had been maintained....the journey would have been

Nothing was held back, and even though Minnie didn't say a single word, they both knew they understood each other. Their eyes spoke volumes too, every single moment was genuine. He unwittingly opened the door to the father-daughter bond there himself while preparing both of them for a separation for reasons known only to them. I had never expected him to reveal that she was his favorite but then again it's in keeping with his honest nature. These two have never had to filter out words and emotions when dealing with each other, yet at this moment it's just...

Yes, he stepped up and his way of handling the solution to ensure that Minnie felt no guilt for her anger or possessiveness was just so mind-blowing. How can you not fall in love with these characters and their dilemmas?

The 'tu first hai' line is in itself simple but it represents the gamut of emotions and challenges that both these characters have faced in terms of prioritizing other people in their lives, putting their own selves second. They are so alike it's not even funny.

Yes, this scene foreshadowed what was to come and that's why I sometimes wonder if the current track had been planned all along - it is too systematic to be a fluke. I do believe they would have continued this journey for longer but then the sudden decision to axe the characters made them cut this short.

inlieu thumbnail

Oh man, that bit💔.....every single moment is a gem in this scene......AD toh was awesome no doubt, I loved how Ashnoor managed to convey all of Mini's emotions without a single word spoken too👏....you could feel her heart breaking just as much as his when HS talked about them leaving him and how he will still always be just a call away..

This was before the pooja....this was them at their most honest before pressures started getting put on relationships to conform.

Yeah, Ashnoor did a great job here. Just realized you and I both picked up on her conveying everything without uttering a single word. She had mentioned that they were both really crying during the filming of these scenes even when their backs were to the camera. Yes, the whole "I'll be a call away, humesha apki seva mein tatpar" was his way of assuring his commitment to being there for her even if he didn't want them to go and then this is again mirrored in the omelette scene where this time she did not want to go but was assuring him that she would be a call away too and the whole 'humesha aap ki seva mein tatpar'. Sheer brilliance!

Edited by inlieu - 6 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

The 'tu first hai' line is in itself simple but it represents the gamut of emotions and challenges that both these characters have faced in terms of prioritizing other people in their lives, putting their own selves second. They are so alike it's not even funny.

Yes, this scene foreshadowed what was to come and that's why I sometimes wonder if the current track had been planned all along - it is too systematic to be a fluke. I do believe they would have continued this journey for longer but then the sudden decision to axe the characters made them cut this short.

I've been thinking the same seeing the recent scenes.....it does seem like this was the intent all along but yes, they may have gotten to this point more gradually rather than the sudden downfall right after the marriage if they wanted to keep the track going, but someone may have intervened to cut it short.

What may not get answered now was whether the intent ever was to show the characters managing to overcome these dilemmas or entanglements or they were just meant to part like this only eventually.

Edited by AreYaar - 6 years ago
inlieu thumbnail

I've been thinking the same seeing the recent scenes.....it does seem like this was the intent all along but yes, they may have gotten to this point more gradually rather than the sudden downfall right after the marriage if they wanted to keep the track going, but someone may have intervened to cut it short.

What may not get answered now was whether the intent ever was to show the characters managing to overcome these dilemmas or entanglements or they were just meant to part like this only eventually.

I don't think they wanted things to be sorted out, per se but left it open-ended to be able to adjust according to number of episodes to be written. They could have them work through their issues for another entire year, since there was more than enough material for it, or they could short-circuit this by making everything fall apart and use season 2 to rebuild.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mind if endings are sad or tragic, as there is beauty in such storytelling and namukammal pyaar, but I just wanted it to be presented in a palatable manner. PB in fact could have gone either happy or sad ending and still done it brilliantly because they had 3D characters who were flawed. Depending on which aspect of each character's personalities they chose to address they could have fit it into the narrative whether things were meant to go up or down.