1103978 thumbnail

Originally posted by: RegressiveThug

BOI does that with almost every movie, they did with Gold, Padman, Robot 2.0 and I am sure they will do with Houseful 4 too, so should I cry about them being against Akki??

Kuch bhi rona suru hota hai logo ka.

šŸ˜†

I have noticed similar pattern ... but why do they decrease the numbers by few crs?! šŸ¤”

Ur-Miserable thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Nova19

No you shouldn’t. The numbers are one thing but look more closely at the commentary for each film. With Housefull 4 BOI goes to great lengths to ā€œexplainā€ away the opening - preDiwali doldrums etc. Now preDiwali is a bad time for movies, that is true I give you. But compare to commentary of Kaabil 1st day. BOI said more or less Kaabil was a flop on day 1 with no consideration that it clashed with SRK film and opened on fewer screens. Even with an unimpeachable success like War their commentary is belittling as if it’s underachieving šŸ˜†. To know how they feel about Hrithik all you need to do is read the commentary filled with subtle and not so subtle dig after dig after dig.

Here is the commentary of them during Kaabil on day one by BOI. I fail to get where they have belittled Hrithik or didn't acknowledged that it clashed with a big movie like Raaes. They expressed their disappointment at the low opening of a Hrithik movie, nor they called the movie flop in either of the two articles, they said the opening is poor, and if the collection doesn't improve it will be a disaster, and it is not some kind of bias.

Houseful4, didn't opened poorly like Kaabil, rather it opened very well and has been trending well. Yes we can talk all day about fudging, but despite the fudging, movie is still running well in thr theaters. So BOI wasn't wrong in their assessment. Houseful didn't opened at 8-10 crores or lower and BOI was making excuses for it, it opened at 16-20 crores(whatever source you believe), and they said Pre Diwali effected it. How is that comparable to them being disappointment with Kaabil's poor opening regardless of the clash.

And let's not forget, Houseful also lost multiplex screens to SKA and MIC.

BOI has always been appreciative of Hrithik, it is just that their hatred for the so called "European movies", makes them criticise his choices, and those articles which reeks more of disappointment from them of what Hrithik could do with what he does, rather than the hate or dislike that Hrithik. And they're not wrong, A Bang Bang still has grossed more than all of the so called content movies of Hrithik. BOI are assholes and idiots of the highest order, and they do favour certain stars and hate certain actors, but Hrithik being one of those unfortunate ones?? Nah I don't agree.

Article 1:

Raees Crushes Kaabil On Day One

The Raees and Kaabil clash has turned out to be a very one sided affair on day one with Raees crushing the competition and taking a huge lead. Its unlikely that two major films released on the same day have seen such a big difference in collections on day one. The early estimates are around 21 crore nett for Raees and 7.50 crore nett for Kaabil. The star power of Shahrukh Khan has gunned down the star power of Hrithik Roshan. The latter also came out second best with the clash on Independence Day week as Mohenjo Daro grossed 8.80 crore nett on day one and the competition which was Akshay Kumar's Rustom grossed 13.92 crore nett. Still there the gap was reasonable but here its looking at a difference of over 13 crore nett just on one day.

Kaabil has performed below the mark all over with some circuits being practically being wiped out due to Raees. The film was never that hot but still a Mohenjo Daro type of number should have come at least as Hrithik Roshan is still one of the top stars. The film needs to pick up big time and that is just to avoid becoming a disaster as it needs double digit numbers for all the days remaining in its extended weekend just to stay afloat.

Raees has scored very well all over especially in Muslim dominated areas,the only area which probably should have done better is Delhi city and East Punjab. The film is not really for these markets and it is because of Shahrukh Khan that the film has at least good collections in Delhi and East Punjab even though they are not as good as the rest of the country. The scored very well in Gujarat, West Bengal and South India. There is a big holiday tomorrow for Republic Day and it should improve further but it will be the Friday-Sunday business that will determine how big the five day weekend turns out to be.

Article 2:

› Kaabil Has Low Day One

Kaabil had a low start on day one and could not really pick up the pace and collected just 7.75-8 crore nett on day one. Krrish in 2006 had collected 6 crore nett on just 900 screens which this film on almost three times the screens and almost 11 years later hardly does much better. Kites in 2010 managed to open to 10 crore nett plus on 1600 screens. It sort of puts into perspective the initial of the film. The film did have a issue on release as a multiplex chain dropped its shows on day of release to favour Raees. But even here that multiplex chain had little choice as it had only opened advances a day earlier and seeing the difference in advances they would be losing business if they did not give Raees more screenings. Also it hardly makes any difference as if you can't collect on an X amount of shows you are hardly likely to do better if you have more shows, in fact its the opposite the occupancy will drop further..

The collections were not even able to match Mohenjo Daro which was Hrithik Roshan's last release and also clashed with another film Rustom but maybe it has to be taken into account that Raees is a bigger film than Rustom. This is something the makers should also have seen and released Kaabil a couple of weeks earlier. The film has not collected well anywhere but places like West Bengal, Bihar and Gujarat are even worse. The hope is probably that its a big national holiday for Republic Day and there is huge spare capacity for the film so the potential is there for big jump in business. The bigger problem is that if the huge jump does somehow come is that it will have to hold at those levels on Friday and over the weekend.

The film was also released in Tamil and telugu which grossed around 25 lakhs nett.

If people will treat BOI the shitty website like God then its their fault....BOI ye BOI wo.....arre Bhai...u guys know thatBOI manipulates magar fr har baar yahi rona......why don't u go with producer's figures ya fr Taran or Komal...aur kuchh nahi samajh aata hai toh....toh forget about BOI numbers and just enjoy the movie..

I had said this when BOI reduced the opening figure of HNY from 40 cr to 36 cr after 2 months...then everyone mocked me...that I am saying this because I am a Shahrukh fan.....ab bolo.......

Edited by blue-ice.1 - 6 years ago

Originally posted by: Looney86

Now this makes me wonder if Krrish 3 actually beated the collections of Chennai Express. I mean Krrish was the second biggest franchise after Dhoom when it was released. So Krrish 3 not being able to beat even the collections of YJHD was very underwhelming.

Krishh 3 made 245 cr according to Taran and did beat CE.....if u are going to trust a shitty website ...its your problem

BOI...made CDI a superhit from blockbuster after 10 years.....I remember DB had put up a whole chart about their manipulations...I wish I had saved that thread.

10 years....who changes anything after 10 years??

Ur-Miserable thumbnail

Originally posted by: Pain-in-ur-Neck

šŸ˜†

I have noticed similar pattern ... but why do they decrease the numbers by few crs?! šŸ¤”

Because most of these early collections reports are not accurate and are mostly "anumaan" and not accurate counted amount. You know when we ask someone like a thela wala, "Bhai saab, din mai kitna kama lete ho", "he said lag bhak 1500". That is his anumaan, not accurate. He maybe earning 1200 in that day or 1600 or anything, but for the reporting you need a certain amount. Indian Box Office doesn't have an accurate system, so all these trade sites depends on sources and their anumaan. Plus producers and distributors also sometimes ask for favour, and traders hype the movie a little. It is a business after all.

For example last year, BOI predicted and assumed TOH second day will be 30 crores plud based on morning and after trends and you had Twitter accusing them of fudging, but BOI did a similar thing of Raazi, when they predicted 9 crores, but final accurate collections were just around 7.8 crores.

Originally posted by: Pain-in-ur-Neck

šŸ˜†

Read this..

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/bollywood/4260614/hallelujah

1165988 thumbnail

Not sure if there is any CONSPIRACY involved behind this or is it just people's paranoia about BOI or maybe any technical reason involved

But BOI states HUM AAPKE HAIN KAUN net business as 711 crores, yet one of the most reliable source ANUPAMA CHOPRA declared in her video interview with sooraj barjatya few months ago HAHK's net business as 973 cores (almost 1,000 crores)

Edited by tanya_91 - 6 years ago
Ur-Miserable thumbnail

Originally posted by: tanya_91

Not sure if there is any CONSPIRACY involved behind this or is it just people's paranoia about this

But BOI states HUM AAPKE HAIN KAUN net business as 711 crores, yet one of the most reliable source ANUPAMA CHOPRA declared in her video interview with sooraj barjatya few months ago HAHK's net business as 973 cores (almost 1,000 crores)

994 is the gross adjusted amount as per rates during 2014-16.

HAHK didn't had a footfall of 10 crores, so it is not possible for it to collect 1000 crores, adjusted rate on nett collections.

1165988 thumbnail

Originally posted by: RegressiveThug

994 is the gross adjusted amount as per rates during 2014-16.

HAHK didn't had a footfall of 10 crores, so it is not possible for it to collect 1000 crores, adjusted rate on nett collections.

but Anupama clearly stated as NET and not GROSS figures