Mannmohanaa thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: asmaanixx

I know! It's like shaadi hue ke din bhi ni hua aur already yeh suna para. My mind would have instantly started to conjure up all the horrible things that I might be put through. Am I going to have a happy and peaceful life or would I have to be constantly reminded of who I am and where I stand in the house?

Ufh, I can't even explain it! I'm still frozen after hearing that.

Yes Gur. I'm tearing up here. Shuddering thinking about it. That day I was confident today I stand really scared.😵

I'm shocked, exasperated and numbed.

566912 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mishti_Dahi

No I'm not taking about the Daughter vs DIL comparison. I'm talking about how for in laws, no matter how much the DIL does, she's always a bahu at the end. She cannot be a daughter. Dunno I'm my putting across my point correctly. But Babita wouldn't ever be a Lovely for Ks, no matter what she does. And this will remain a fact. And this does not make Ks evil.

That is what Mini was trying to say. When Babita herself didn't stand up for her rights, how can she entirely blame Khuranas for doing grave injustice to her? They're not tally responsible cause ultimately Babita wasn't their daughter.

Even if Babita would have stood up to Lovely, biji would shut her up like she tried doing the same on her wedding day.

Biji has been very unfair and her upbringing shows that. Babita would have to be evil to take Lovely head on: which Babita can’t becoz she can not stoop to Lovely’s low level.

asmaanixx thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: inlieu

He doesn't give Ruksana freedom of thought and speech, maybe? She was talking about how she had to compromise on her ambitions and teach school children instead of higher education I guess, while Irfan is busy being a lecturer at a prestigious university.

Hmm, but didn't she say that she started teaching so that she can be closer to Immu? And I don't know how schools are divided in India, but I'm assuming older kids and KG students are taught in separate ones?

inlieu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

The way Naaem Bi collapsed when she said Irfan just wanted an aaya for Imu, not an Ammi. 😭

Uff, that line alone killed me. I can't tell you how I'm feeling today. It's like one of HS' mothers suffered and he could do nothing. Now that this mother of his is suffering, I hope he can rush in to help her. He's going to be so hurt and livid.

Edited by inlieu - 6 years ago
Mannmohanaa thumbnail

Dil se dua hi ki tumhare saath bhala hi hoga. 🤗

Fingers crossed.

Hoping even better for you darling!🤗

tk2015 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

EXACTLY!!!

Damn this was recent, where I got a very very rude reality check by my mother that I'm bound to get married. Cooking aani chahiye, ghar ka kaam aana chahiye. Public mein accha behave karo. Look good. Dress up decently. It is unsaid but its begun. I can feel it.

UGGGHHH. I guess the more I get unnecessarily pushed, the more I stop caring about it.🤣

I keep telling my family that if you ask me to learn cooking for myself because it's a life skill, I'd gladly do it. I do like doing it when I want to learn. When you point out that it'll be a required skill after I get married, it irks me so much that I just stop doing it altogether. Thankfully, we all are learning to strike a balance with this. [Much like your OS]

inlieu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

On another note, jis speed se Babita pacing kari thi aisa lag ra tha ki woh Anup Soni ko competition de re thi. 🤣

Anoop Soni? In what way?

divyadaya13 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

You said it.l

And its really tough. Gawwwd I can't even share what I've seen in the name of this shit. And I always have this fear of me meeting the same bloody fate.

i have a cordial relationship with my MIL. as soon as i got engaged she put forward a list of unreasonable donts through my would be husband. I was a working independent girl and this really pissed me. I just asked one question to my fiancee was it his wish or his moms. He replied i am ok with the way you are. My hubby was a very nice kind person who really loved and respected me (he passed away at an young age) so for his sake i just gave in for a few months till i got married. My jethani who is some what like babita used to meekly follow the rules put forward by my MIL. After one month of my marriage i slowly started saying no to many rules along with the reason and took my stand. And also told my husband i am not ekta kapoor bahu nor i want mahaan bahu certificate. Give me respect i will give double of that. My MiL stays with me but she also knows that i am not the one who can be manipulated. Even my sister in law to some extent has learned a lesson however hard ahe tries she can never live upto other peoples standard.
Mannmohanaa thumbnail

Originally posted by: tk2015

I keep telling my family that if you ask me to learn cooking for myself because it's a life skill, I'd gladly do it. I do like doing it when I want to learn. When you point out that it'll be a required skill after I get married, it irks me so much that I just stop doing it altogether. Thankfully, we all are learning to strike a balance with this. [Much like your OS]

Yep. You see where it came from? 😆

I had to devise the life skill part on my own cause that's how I felt at that time.

Same, I just stop when I'm unnecessarily reminded about it. I cut off the talk and connection. Do what you want. Not just cooking but many ways. It's crazy.

tk2015 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Same. Subconsciously, my planning has begun. Someone here had said about your own house, I'm already on that. I want my own house. My OWN.

I wanna be financially independent.

SAME feelings, dittoooo. I truly wanna do something for myself.

SAME. Getting my own house is my #1 priority. You never know which turn life takes.