Desi Republicans in USA

Pappu.Pager thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Would you consider them to be traitors? since they tend to be anti-black, racist towards other minotiries, and always trying to appease to the White man. Is this because of white colonialism?

return_to_hades thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Desi Democrats (and other Democrats) also can be anti-black and racist. It is not a Republican thing. It is just a human trait of varying degrees.

Diaspora politics is complicated. The balance between assimilation and maintaining ethnic identity is complicated.

What I find most curious are desis who have liberal US politics but tend to be strongly pro Modi at home.

Illyrion thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

I have them in my family. Pro Modi regardless of their American political views. And conservative Republican voters. I’ve tried to talk to them to figure it out. The Modi thing is usually mostly because he’s Gujarati and they are loyal to the point of blindness. I’m frankly confused and frequently embarrassed by them but especially the Trump voters. Many of them were born in India and would never have been allowed to immigrate here under Trump’s policies. IMO they vote against their own interests and the interests of people they should identify with (I cried like a baby over the 6 year old Desi girl who died of heat stroke trying to cross the Mexico-US border) and to a large extent I think it’s because of racism and the American equivalent of casteism.

Racism. Why do they do it? I think it’s the same reason poor whites are racist. They are angry they aren’t better off and need scapegoats and/or they need someone to look down on to feel better about themselves. It’s largely due to low self esteem I think. Frequently the Republican voters are the poorer people in the family.

Casteism. Why do they do it? We also have a couple uber wealthy Republican voters who just want the tax cuts and no wealth tax. Any bad policy that comes with it is tolerable for the money they save. They believe in economic castes and will defend the ridiculous divides between the haves and have nots as necessary and even good.

Pappu.Pager thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Nova19

I have them in my family. Pro Modi regardless of their American political views. And conservative Republican voters. I’ve tried to talk to them to figure it out. The Modi thing is usually mostly because he’s Gujarati and they are loyal to the point of blindness. I’m frankly confused and frequently embarrassed by them but especially the Trump voters. Many of them were born in India and would never have been allowed to immigrate here under Trump’s policies. IMO they vote against their own interests and the interests of people they should identify with (I cried like a baby over the 6 year old Desi girl who died of heat stroke trying to cross the Mexico-US border) and to a large extent I think it’s because of racism and the American equivalent of casteism.

Racism. Why do they do it? I think it’s the same reason poor whites are racist. They are angry they aren’t better off and need scapegoats and/or they need someone to look down on to feel better about themselves. It’s largely due to low self esteem I think. Frequently the Republican voters are the poorer people in the family.

Casteism. Why do they do it? We also have a couple uber wealthy Republican voters who just want the tax cuts and no wealth tax. Any bad policy that comes with it is tolerable for the money they save. They believe in economic castes and will defend the ridiculous divides between the haves and have nots as necessary and even good.

This is not true among the family friends I know. All the gujjus are SUPER racist towards black people and openly racist and say the N word. Even the newly arrived ones. Gujjus tend to be Republicans for two reasons: Tax Cuts and want to be white.

liberiangirl thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

What I find most curious are desis who have liberal US politics but tend to be strongly pro Modi at home.

This is what I'm amazed about too.

Both my neighbors are the typical evangelical Trump supporting Republicans. But they are both anti-Modi. I really don't get it.

FreeTheNipple thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

Desi Democrats (and other Democrats) also can be anti-black and racist. It is not a Republican thing. It is just a human trait of varying degrees.

Diaspora politics is complicated. The balance between assimilation and maintaining ethnic identity is complicated.

Because India doesn't have any true socially liberal party. And the economic left of US is more right than the right of India.

FreeTheNipple thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Frankly the conventional labels of left and right do not apply to India. Modi is an embarassment to the right and anti-modi parties are a disgrace to left.

Maroonporsche thumbnail

I guess im a traitor ? 😆😆

Haiwan thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

This stuff isn't remotely Bollywood, but since tumne dukhte rag par haath rakh hi diya hai... here goes:

Well, I won't call them traitors. I actually have an issue with desi democrats! To be more specific, the ones who support the right-wing back in India.

If you are right wing in India to ensure majority's interests are upheld (I'd read it as minorities' overwritten), it is very convenient if you change your spots and oppose the right wing in US just because now you are the minority. Faayda trumps ideology (no pun intended).

BTW, right-wing is rising everywhere in the world. I predict some tough times for desi diaspora. Migrants would always lose....

Desi Republicans ya Desi Democrats ka toh pata nahi...but I see a lot of Desi HYPOCRITES....the ones who are crying and whining about being a mnority, immigration and what not and are just the opposite when in India...