Dear All ,
My sincere apologies for the late response . I was not well hence the pace of writing was very slow . I used to write but very less. Managing home and office especially when health is not fine , its very difficult. At that time writing becomes even more difficult , we get into a writers block zone. In fact I logged into the forum after a long time. Even I felt bad that I couldn't write. I had hopped to continue this story for some more chapters...but somehow I am not able to hence thought I should give a logical conclusion to this story. Not that there are too many people reading this story but I felt I should do justice to the story I started and also to those handful of people who read it. So here comes the closure , Its divided into two parts . Updating Part 1 , will update Part 2 soon.
Thank you so much for taking time to read the stories that I wrote and also for your patience. Its your encouraging words that helped me to write . Once again a big thank to all.
With warm regards
Ashwathy.
Chapter 1 to 19 is in the below given link
Chapter 20 to 23 is in the below given link
Chapter 24
THE STORM
All night Sameer sat on the bench outside the post-operative room. Every time he tried to close his eyes her images kept flashing in his mind. Her body lying in the pool of blood refused to leave his thoughts. He had changed his cloths but had asked Nanu not to wash his blood-stained shirt and pants. He wanted to see that every day till he found a way to punish whoever was behind this act, though his greatest fear was loosing Naina . Thankfully god was kind , she was saved, but her journey back to life was going to be challenging. He knew how much she wanted this child and now with no baby , she would be devastated. He stood up , walked towards the corridor and watched the night sky, even his moon had left him alone to fight his battles all by himself. But his inner voice shouted NO!! that wasn’t the truth. He looked at Parth who was sleeping on nearby bench. He could have slept in the room but he didn’t want to leave Sameer alone. All night like a shadow this man stood by him. He was happy to have Parth. Yesterday they hurt Naina , he wasn’t sure who was next in line. One thing was sure, they knew his weakness and they are trying to hit hard where it pained him the most. He was left with handful of people whom he could call as his own and now their safety was in his hands. It was around 5 :00 in the morning when a nurse walked out of the room and told him to get hot tea for her. Parth hearing the noise, got up quickly.
“What happened Sameer?”
“Nothing Parth . Why don’t you go and sleep in the room?”
“That’s ok , where are you going ?”
“To get tea for her.”
“You stay here with her. I will go and get it for you. Don’t leave her alone.”
“You are right…I will stay”
Hearing this Parth took a deep breath and said , “Sameer, don’t think too much. She is out of danger. I asked you to stay because, if she wants to meet you then, you have to be here. Considering her present situation, we shouldn’t make her wait.”
“I understood that Parth. Just that, I feel so guilty of leaving her alone yesterday. In fact I had told her to come with me but she didn’t listen to me. I should not have left her alone. I shouldn’t have listened to her. I am so stupid. It’s all my fault. It’s all my fault. She married me so that I could give her a life and look what happened Parth…”
“Sameer !! get a hold of yourself. It’s not your fault nor her’s so stop blaming yourself. You sit here. Let me go and get tea for her.”
He didn’t wait for Sameer‘s response but understood that both Naina and Sameer would need a lot of help from him and Nanu to get back on track. Both were in absolute shock. As the hospital canteen guy poured three glasses of tea into the flask, his mind kept wondering why the car was not traced and how those men knew that these two were going out early in the morning. He had got the phone line checked to see if it was getting tapped but the police had said nothing of that sort happened. He didn’t know whom to point fingers as no one other than Nanu knew that they were going to the hospital that day morning. He knew for sure there was something that was missing .He took the flask , paid the money and walked towards the room promising himself that he would not leave Sameer alone. Will help this boy to get hold of the culprits.
Nurse took the flask inside to give her tea. Sameer and Parth eagerly waited outside the room with the hope that they will move her from the ICU to the room. Parth suggested Sameer to freshen up before she was shifted to their room. His heart wasn’t allowing him to move away from there and Parth understood his fear.
“Don’t worry, I wont move from here. You can trust me Sameer”
Sameer gave him a smile and walked away quickly. Parth sat on the bench looking at Sameer’s fading image and wondered how long its going to take for Sameer and Naina to bounce back. He was yet to see Naina ,but from what doctor told Nanu and him it was clear that Naina was in a state of shock.They also knew that, if someone could bring her back to her usual self , its Sameer. That was the most challenging part, because Sameer was drowned in guilt.
“Parth!!”
“Vishaka Madam??!! Goo..Good Morning.”
“How is Naina ?? And where is Sameer??”
“Naina is ok, but they have kept her under observation. And… Sameer was here till few minutes ago, he just went to freshen up.”
“OK…you look tired…I will stay here. Why don’t you also go and freshen up too?”
“No, that’s ok. Sameer will be back soon.”
“You can trust me Parth. I am Naina’s mother in law.”
“Oh I do trust you but I did promise Sameer that I won’t move from here till he is back. I don’t like breaking my promise. Besides he is my boss, he trusted me to be here during his absence and I don’t want to break his trust.”
He knew Sameer’s mother didn’t like his response and he didn’t care about what she thought. For him Naina and Sameer mattered more than anyone. In his eyes all were suspects except for Nanu and Sameer.
“Ok ...We were not here. Bobby and I were out of town for a wedding at Jamnagar and returned late in the night. That’s when Babitha told us about the incident.”
“Babitha??”
“She is Bobby’s relative. When we are here in Ahmedabad, we stay at her place.”
“Oh..ok.”
“How did she get to know??”
“ Vishwas told her when he came to take dad’s car from our house in the afternoon.”
“Jayaprakash Ji’s car was at your place??”
“Yes, day before yesterday in the evening , we had met Vishwas while he was on his way back to dad’s house to return the car. Our car had broken down, so we took dad’s car and asked him to take it back the next day. We informed dad at night when we reached home.”
“Oh ok. So you travelled in Sir’s Car to Jamnagar?”
“No, we went with few other people. Some of our other friends were there. We travelled with them.”
“OK..”
By then they saw Sameer and doctor walking towards them. Both got up from the bench , but Parth’s thoughts lingered around the car . He felt Sameer’s mother was hiding something but he didn’t tell Sameer his doubts as he was not sure.
Sameer soon joined them as doctor opened the door to the ICU.
“What did the doctor say??”, asked Vishaka curiously
“He said , she was responding to medicines but will need some time for recovering as there was too much blood loss , to top it all miscarriage. She is totally shattered”
“Well I would suggest , she should spent some time at her home with her people and besides , at dad’s place there isn’t any woman who can take care of her. She needs a female support at this juncture.”
“I understand your point mom, but we can find solution for all that . She needn’t stay at her chacha ji’s house.”
“Sameer, there is another thing that you need to think about….your presence… might increase her depression…”
“Why would my presence cause a problem for her mom??”
“Exactly!! We all think , if someone could bring her back to life , it will be Sameer.” spoke Parth confidently.
“You guys don’t understand, she lost her child and Sameer couldn’t do anything to save her or her child .He was helpless.”
On hearing the last statement , both Parth and Sameer looked at her with absolute shock. The expression on Sameer’s face clearly reflected that he was on the verge of a complete out burst.
“Her child ?? You are forgetting , that lil one was mine too!! And I don’t care if she accepts me or not but one thing is for sure . Whoever is behind it , I will hunt them down , even if it takes a life time for me.”
“Sameer !! all this anger , you should have shown when it was needed . The fact is you lost and nothing can be done to correct the situation. So best is the accept the truth and see how you can carry forward with your loss.”
“Sometimes I wonder if I was born to you or not. Instead of giving me courage you are trying to mock at me. I don’t care what you think or what the world thinks. Let me make this very clear to you.”
Even before he could finish the statement, Parth held his hand and turned him to the direction of the ICU door , they saw Naina being wheeled out of the ICU on a stretcher .Her eyes was closed ,she looked pale and was covered with a light green bedsheet till her neck. Parth saw Sameer curl his palm into a tight fist and understood, his mother’s words affected him.
“Sameer, she is fine but you will need to be very patient with her. She is very depressed and we don’t know how the days ahead are going to be. She will need a lot of emotional support from you all.”
“I understand doctor. I will take care of her.”
“Let her stay here for another three days and then you can take her home. By then you can start on normal diet . As of now you will have to follow the diet chart. You can get the food from canteen.”
“Sure, thank you doctor.”
“Don’t worry. Everything will be fine . Time will definitely help in healing. I will come in the evening once again.” Saying so doctor went on for his rounds. Vishaka didn’t wait for another minute, she opened the door and got into the room. Sameer looked at Parth , took a deep breath and followed her.
In the room , Naina seemed as if she was asleep but Sameer knew that was her way of avoiding people and conversation. He decided to play with her , if she didn’t want to talk to anyone , then that’s how its going to be. He is not going to force her to mingle and act happy. As doctor suggested, he will allow the time to heal. Her happiness and well being mattered to him more than anything.
“Sameer, did you inform her family ?”
“Yes , they were here yesterday for a long time.”
“Ok, so when are you planning to start office??”
“Mom, why are you here? And why so much of interest in my life?"
“Sameer I was worried , if something had happened to you. Babitha told me you were hurt.”
“Ok, happy that I am not hurt. I think you should leave . I am sure Rohan and his father will be waiting for you.”
“Sameer , I know you are angry as , I said Naina will be angry with you because you couldn’t save her or the child. But that is the reality of life and the truth. You will need to accept it. Best to leave her at her place till she is able to forget everything.”
Parth saw the situation going out of hands. He had no clue how to stop Sameer’s mother . She was taunting Sameer to the verge of an outburst. He wished Nanu or Naina could do something to calm the situation.
On the other hand Sameer , knew his mom was trying to provoke him . But he couldn’t understand why. He had to calm down else , he was sure he would end up throwing something . He didn’t want to leave Naina alone, but at the moment he felt it was better for him to stand out for sometime. He was about to move, when Naina held his hand and said “Don’t go….please…I need you.”
This statement was like a slap on his mom’s face. Naina proved that his mother was wrong. She needed him more than anyone.
“I am not going anywhere Naina. I am here. Parth is also here. Don’t worry. We are not alone.”
Naina tugged his hand and slowly moved towards one side. As she did he could see her winch in pain. That’s when he saw that the other hand was plastered and had a sling. He had no clue that her hand was injured. Everyone who stood there had only noticed her cloths getting soaked in blood.
“You had hurt your hand when you fell?”
“Outcome of Varun forcing me into the car. I guess at that point I didn’t realise”….she saw his eyes widening and sensed his anger brewing up ..”nothing to worry…It’s a ligament injury. Doctor didn’t want me to move the hand hence he slabbed it for two weeks.”
He sat next to her leg ,placed one hand on her as if he was drawing all his energy from her. He wondered how long it would take to heal both of them. He wondered if life will ever be the same again. The wounds might heal but the scar is going to last for a life time.
Vishaka , did not speak anything after that. Around 11:30 am , Naina’s family members came along with Nanu. They were happy to see Vishaka was there with Sameer and Naina. Soon the environment in the room turned more pleasant. Everyone was relaxed and happy that both were safe. No one talked about the miscarriage. Preethi quickly came next to Naina with a marker pen and wrote “Sameer ‘s Naina broke her hand ”. They all laughed at her cute actions and decided to add in their set of creativity on her hand. At this moment Preethi slipped a paper in Sameer’s hand. Sameer gave her a questioning look, but she signaled him to read it . He slowly slipped away from there and moved to the corridor. The message was from Rohan. It looked as if he had scribbled it in a hurry.
“Heard the news, am praying for the two of you. Stay strong. Bhaiya, read the diary or ask Bhabhi and remember, whatever decision you take I am with you and Bhabhi. By the time you read this message I will back in Delhi. Love Rohan.”
Sameer, had always thought , there was something in that diary which had some link to the past, but why had he said to ask Naina. Did she know about the diary. If yes, why did she not tell him. A lot of thoughts were running through his mind. He didn’t know whom to believe and whom not to. He looked around , then tore the paper into tiny pieces and put in the waste basket that was kept near the nursing station.
He knew he will have to wait till they got back home before he could ask Naina about any of this. First of all he had to find out who supported Varun. One thing was sure that Varun acted upon someone’s command. As the day progressed a lot of people from office and business associates came to see Naina. The poor girl kept a smiling face all through out. Only he knew how broken she was. He wondered when the visiting hours would get over and they will be able to just have some quiet time for themselves.
It was around 8 when Parth called Sameer and signaled him to come out of the room. Naina was sleeping and Nanu was sitting next to her reading a book.
“Yes Parth??”
“Do you know why the car was not traced??”
“No”
“Because that Ambassador was Sir’s car. ”
“PARTH!! Do you know what you are talking??”
“YES !! I know , I got it checked too. Your Nanu doesn’t know about it.”
“You are talking in circles….I don’t understand hints Parth!!”
“Sameer, your Nanu’s car was taken by your Parents day before yesterday as their car was broken down. Vishwas got it back yesterday afternoon. Remember Nanu came with me in the morning to the hospital as his car was not with him.”
“But how do you know it was the same car that was used by Varun.”
“Because today in the morning after dropping Sir at the hospital , Vishwas was waiting near the car , that’s when he noticed there was a dent at the back , so he thought of getting it repaired before he picked up sir. He took it to the work shop and those people noticed few blood stains. They refused to repair it without informing sir . They called up the office and the call got transferred to my desk as both of you were here. The moment I heard the news , I got the police to check and you know what ?? The blood is Naina’s.”
Sameer, couldn’t believe that their own vehicle was used to destroy them. He sat on the bench . Parth quickly got him a glass of water and gave it him. Then sat next to him and placed his right hand around his shoulder.
“I am there with you. We will get to the bottom of it. Now we know where to start. I had a doubt from the time your mom told me that they had taken this car for personal use. I didn’t tell you because I didn’t have any strong evidence pointing towards them. The thing is police had got every car and their owner’s whereabouts checked, the only one that was left was ours Sameer. You understand what I mean rt? Poor Sir has no clue about it. Don’t tell him anything at the moment. This has to stay with us. Do you understand?? Say something.”
“UNDERSTOOD!!” was the only word that came out of his mouth. He placed the glass on the bench , got up and walked back to the room. Parth hoped that he wouldn’t do anything impulsively. His expression at the moment was not readable. At least till they got back home , he knew Sameer wouldn’t move away from Naina.
“Nanu , its 8.20pm. Why don’t you go home. Parth will be staying with you today.”
“Yeah , I will leave but let Parth stay here.”
“No Nanu. Its ok. I have got police protection . Don’t worry , we will be fine besides they allow only one bystander at the hospital. I don’t want to break the rule.”
“Are you sure Sameer??”
“Yes.”
Parth didn’t understand the sudden change of decision. In the morning they had decided that Parth will stay with them.
“Parth , don’t leave Nanu alone.”
“Ok Sameer.”
Finally he was back with his lady. He closed the door , pulled a chair close to the bed and sat next to her. He held her hand , rubbed it slowly with his thumb. He was trying to forget what Parth had told him . He knew at the moment he needed to give complete attention to Naina.
“Sameer ….”
“Yes Naina?? Need something ..”
“Did you have dinner?”
“Yes ” he lied. He was in no mood to have food. After what he heard, he had lost his appetite.
“OK…did the doctor say when I can go home??”
“He said he will let us know after three days. By then you should be fine…”
“Hmmm…”
“Sameer, your mom was right. I think I need to go home else I am going to be a burden for you, especially with one hand in the sling I will need help. There Preethi will be there to help me.”
“That’s your chacha chachi ‘s house . Your home is where you and I live. Don’t you trust me to take care of you Naina. I know I was incapable of fighting those goons but I tried, just that they were too many. I was out numbered . I know its my fault , I shouldn’t have left you alone there. ”
“Sameer , It was I who had not listened to you. I didn’t think for a moment there was life growing in me Sameer. All I wanted was to save you. It was , I who didn’t rise up to being a mother.”
Sameer didn’t know how to console her. His situation was the same , the only difference was that she physically hurt too.“Look at the irony of life Naina. We are feeling guilty for something we didn’t do. People who put us in this situation are roaming freely.”
“Sameer, ….”
“Yes Naina….”
“That car was ours, the one that Nanu uses.”
“I know Parth told me.”
“Does Nanu know about it.”
“No…”
“Initially I hadnt notice the number, but when I fell I recognized the sticker that you had put on the bumper. To be honest at that moment it didn’t register but yesterday the whole day at the ICU, I kept rewinding the incident ..thats when I realized that car was ours. Does the police know?”
“Yes they do. But till you reach home we are going to act as if , we havnt traced the vehicle. Its best for everyone’s safety, besides the people who did this will get over confident and will wander out.”
“How did they get our car??”
“Through Mrs. and Mr Somani.” Said Sameer with a blank expression. Now he was sure that his step father and mother had a hand in this but what pained him was the involvement of his mom. He didn’t understand how she could even think of doing something like this to them. A part of him argue that his mom was not aware only Mr. Somani was behind it though the logic screamed loud that his mom knew about it. He needed to find the truth. Without evidence there is no way he could point fingers. Any blame he place now on them will backfire and hit Nanu. He had to be very careful.
“Are you sure Sameer??” Asked Naina with a shocked expression.
“Yes Naina. I am 100 % sure.”
Tears slowly started spilling from her eyes , all the pain that she was holding back for so many hours starting pouring down. What Sameer didn’t understand is , why the statement about his parents involvement triggered the outburst of tears. She always knew they were against them . He wanted to probe more but decided against it. He thought , he shouldn’t stress her more. He came and sat next to her on the bed. He held her face with both his palm and then kissed her forehead , “you don’t have to tell me how it feels Nain, I know what you are going through.”
“No , Sameer. There is more, just that at the moment I am not in a frame of mind to tell and I am sure you wouldn’t be able to digest it all. Let us give it some time. You just need to trust me. Don’t hate me Sameer. ”
“Shsssssssssshhhhhhhhhsh..its ok Naina. If you don’t want to talk about it . We will never talk about it. Ok ?? and as far as trust is concerned, my dear I trust you and hence married you. We have come long way Naina and at this stage we shouldn’t even think about such things. All I want is for you to recover …”
“You just want me to recover Sameeer?? Nothing else…..?”
“At the moment that is my priority my queen. I thought I had lost you girl. You don’t know what it means to me…”
To which she smiled, just that it didn’t reach her eyes.
“Naina what do you want me to do dear. Your eyes,….I know …tell me Naina what is that you are holding back. Ask me and I will get it for you.”
“Don’t leave them Sameer. Don’t allow them to escape. See to that they pay for what they did to our lil one Sameer…..I know that, maturity is to let go but how long and to what extant. We didn’t do any harm to anyone , still they hurt our unborn child. How fare is it?? Teach them a lesson in such a way that the world will fear touching anyone of us.”
“Did you think , I will listen to my mom and let it go. NEVER !! I will track them, just wait and watch. May not be tomorrow or day after . It will take time but I will surely chase them in such a way, that they will have no choice but to surrender. I promise Naina. They will soon be counting bars”
He knew , she was not convinced and he couldn’t blame her as, any one in her situation would think the same. Here the people involved included his step dad and his own mother. She turned towards his side and closed her eyes, . He held her hand sat there rubbing his thumb on her palm trying to calm his inner turmoil.
The next two days went by soon. Day time many visited them , some gave advice , some tried to lighten the moment , some speculated and in all this , his Naina patiently listened to every one of them with out showing any animosity towards them. And when the sun went hiding , the atmosphere would be back to eerie silence. Silence in which the truth screamed loud through her silent tears. All those unspoken words would flow out as she sat with Sameer in the hospital room. He would slowly wipe her tears emphasizing on the need of them moving ahead in life.
That evening doctor had said that they could take her back home the next day. Hearing this she was happy and he saw a small smile lighting her face which gave him hope that her recovery at home would be a lot easier but for that he had to keep his mom away from her. She had been adding more pressure on Naina unnecessarily by stating that, Sameer was away from office because of Naina’s health and this might affect the business. She had created a lot of ruckus when Sameer suggested that Parth will stand in for him in the coming few weeks. It was like she hated the Parth . He kept wondering why his mother wanted him and Naina to be away from Parth. There were too many loose ends that was not just matching up. Only if he could encourage Naina to speak what was there in that diary. He had gone home to check the diary but he couldn’t find it. And when he asked Naina, she said she could not remember where she had placed it. He knew she was lying but he had to play it calm. He didn’t want any one to know that the diary had something in it which would put ppl into trouble or open up something that the world didn’t know.
As usual he sat on the chair next to her bed. She was fast asleep, though her face looked pale . There were dark circles under her eye. Past couple of days she had pretended that she was sleeping but today sleep had over powered her. It was nearly 2 in the night when the sound of water flowing from the tap woke him up. He quickly got up and saw she was not on the bed. He rushed to the source of sound and froze at the door of the bathroom. Naina was standing under the shower with closed eyes. He quickly turned of the shower tap and covered her with a dry towel.
“What are you doing dear. You will fall sick. You could get fever . Your cast is all wet…good lord…Naina talk to me…”
There was no reaction from her, only tears kept flowing from her eyes. He wiped her dry and took new pair of cloths to wear. While he did that he rang the bell and the nurses rushed in. One look at the two of them , they knew what might have happened. They took control of the situation and asked him to wait outside. Doctors rushed into the room, as he sat on the bench wondering what triggered this action from her. He thought he would call Parth but decided that this was something he and Naina needed to handle by themselves. After 45 mins, doctor opened the door.
“How is she??” asked Sameer impatiently.
“Relax , she is fine. At least there was some reaction from her. All the while she was putting up a face for the world. Slowly she has started accepting what happened and this one was just an outcome of it.”
“But , she…was not reacting…she was just there…under the shower…”
“She might have her reasons, at the moment don’t ask her anything. Just listen. ”
“ok…can I go in?”
“Yes but remember, she is emotionally weak at this stage. Please don’t try to pressurize her into doing something she is not willing to do . Got it??”
“Yes . I understand doctor.”
Sameer walked in and closed the door. She was now sitting on the bed , leaning on the head rest. For some reason she was not looking at him. He wondered if she was angry with him but the thought soon disappeared when he purposefully sat on the bed facing her. Her face reflected absolute guilt and he didn’t understand why. He wanted to probe but looking at her eyes he knew any further stress will spoil her health. He pulled a chair close to the bed and sat on it. There was absolute silence in the room and both didn’t know what to speak to the other. He placed his hand on hers hoping this would trigger a reaction. He was wrong , she didn’t move or say a single world in response.
“Naina , I think you need to lie down. Doctor said you shouldn’t strain your back so much for the first few weeks. Its not good for your health.” Hearing this , she adjusted herself , pulled the blanket on her and lied down with her eyes focused on the ceiling fan. Soon , medication took its affect and she fell asleep. Sameer got up from his seat , switched of the lights and came back and sat on the chair. He knew he would never be able to sleep peacefully till the culprits get punished but more than that he wanted her to talk to him and tell him what was that , she felt guilty about. He lifted his legs and placed it close to hers on the bed and wondered how he could get Naina back to life.
Next day around 4:30 pm , they reached home. Since doctor had strictly said she needs complete bed rest for next three weeks, they decided that they would sleep in one of guest rooms till Naina was fit to move upstairs.
Preethi agreed to stay with them for three weeks. Sameer also felt her presence would help Naina to bounce back. He wanted to stay with Naina in the room but his mom and the rest of the family felt that at this time it’s better for Preethi to be there as she will be more comfortable. He expected Naina to protest but her silence left him absolutely heart broken. He wondered if she was blaming him for not being able to protect her and their child .It pained him that his Naina didn’t want him around. He covered up his pain with a smile and agreed with others. Once he saw to that Naina was settled at home he called Parth to discuss about the business and the progress of the case.
Hearing that the police had no clue about the culprits only increased his anger. He knew for sure that his step father had silenced the investigating team. He felt like a caged lion trying to bring in justice to his people. His grandfather and Parth tried to calm him down and told him that becoming impatient and restless wasn’t a good idea. On one side Naina was slowly moving away from him and on the other side , he was not able to bring out the culprits.
For the first time Sameer felt totally at loss. Naina seemed to be distant , with each passing day. Initially they all used to have breakfast and dinner together but after Preethi left , she would eat her breakfast and dinner alone in the room. Nanu and Sameer wanted Naina to get back to their bedroom but her answer was she needed some time alone. She stopped meeting people or talking to anyone. She was confining herself to the four walls of the guest room. The girl who would take care of every need of Sameer was now avoiding him. Its not that she didn’t care , she didn’t want to face him. She would hide behind the curtains to see if he left for office and later in the evening would wait for him to return from office . Even if he was late , she would till he was back but never talk to him. Parth and Nanu did their best to get them closer.
Sameer was silently taking all the pain on to himself. Her not being by his side was literally eating him alive. She was his support system. He hated himself for falling into the same trap of affection. His mom had also done the same to him and now Naina. That is what he couldn’t believe. How she could just avoid him so much. His thought was , how she could live without talking to him or seeing his face because he was not able to even breath without her. Nanu and Parth had suggested him to sit and talk to her but he said he couldn’t face her as he was feeling guilty that he was not there to protect their child. At office his frustration was clearly visible to people. No one could save him or his relationship with Naina. They had to work on it , which they weren’t . All the logic in the world told both of them to talk to each other but the guilt that they buried with in themselves was making it difficult to face each other. This in turn was affecting Nanu. Parth knew something had to be done or it wont be far when the business will start affecting. One day at the office he saw Sameer looking at Krishna’s picture that was kept in his Nanu’s cabin. He thought it was the right time to start a conversation.
“Krishna , is my favorite too. Whenever I am lost, I always get back to reading Bagavath Geetha. If Arjun had not fought the war thinking that the one who is against him are his loved ones the loss would have been for the people of Hasthinapur. And when one is a head of the family , he cant just succumb to emotions and wait for others to motivate or support. A leader has to get up and walk for his people and help people with their issues. You know what is the greatest sin Sameer??......it is to know the cause of the pain and not act upon it ..to fix the issue.”
“Parth please…don’t start off ”
“As your friend and employee I have certain responsibilities. I can’t act as if nothing is happening. If you don’t talk to me that doesn’t mean I will stop talking with you. I will say what I have to say” Sameer had never expected Parth to be so assertive. He turned towards him and looked at Parth. His face was devoid of any emotions. He couldn’t read what Parth was up to.
“What are you saying?? When did I avoid you Parth??”
“You are avoiding Naina. She needs you.”
“She doesn’t …she hates me..she doesn’t even like to see me anymore. I am a fool to fall for emotions. I shouldn’t have married.”
“Really ?? You think you shouldn’t have married her?? Do you mean that Sameer. For once be truthful?” He could see the hard façade that Sameer had build was slowly cracking and this is exactly what he wanted. He wanted Sameer to speak out his worries. He felt both Naina and Sameer were hiding something and it’s the very same thing that is holding them back from moving on.
“Parth , its not easy . I know for sure my family is involved in this. They are hiding them in a resort owned by Tara’s dad. And police also know their whereabouts. It’s not that I can’t get those people behind the bars . Its just that my mom always comes in between to save my step dad and she doesn’t seem to be able to see anything beyond her husband.”
“Then for once, you also become like her. You shouldn’t see anything beyond your wife’s pain. Learn from her Sameer. I am not asking you to go against your mother, all I am asking you to do is focus on the issue that needs to be solved. Your issue now is to find the culprits and help Naina. Your mom has enough people around her and she is not in trouble. Does that make sense?? ”
Sameer looked at him with pure respect and wondered how this man could come up with solutions so easily.
“Say something Sameer??”
“Yes Parth I understand your point.”
“Whatever you need to do , do it quick and see to that , they don’t get time to even think. It has to be that smart. But are you sure your dad is involved??”
“HE IS NOT MY DAD. HE IS MY MOTHER’S HUSBAND. THE SAME MAN WHO KILLED MY DAD.”
“WHAT ???”
“Yes Parth that is the reality of my life. I am angry at Naina because she knew the truth from Rohan and had the evidence but till date she hasn’t spoken a word about it.”
“Probably she got scared….does your Nanu know about all this??”
“Logic says he would be knowing …”
“When he has been silent for so many years , why blame Naina…there must be some reason behind it.”
“Whatever it is ..I will end this game my way. Will need your help .”
“You don’t have to tell me that Sameer.”
“Thank you Parth!! Its so true , god always sends someone to hold you steady even during challenging time…”
“Don’t worry your moon will be back in your life soon. She is going through a lil rough period. You will need to help her to rise Sameer, for your own good.”
“I know …I miss her lot Parth. I want her back.”
“Don’t worry. Try to smoke those people out Sameer.”
“OH yes ..they don’t know me…in fact no one knows how bad I can be..”