Chapter 55 - Daljeet's New Plan
The next day...
"Hurry up people! Time is money you know," Daljeet issued orders to a small crew of men packing up various belongings in the Rampal mansion. She turned her attention to a man who had just picked up a large antique looking vase. "And for God's sake be careful with that! That thing cost me an arm and a leg." The man shrugged his shoulders before handing the vase to another man waiting with bubble wrap and other packing material.
"Daljeet, we need to talk," a voice suddenly called out from behind her.
"Maya! What are you doing here?" Daljeet asked in surprise, as she watched the young woman walk into the foyer. She threw a look of disgust at the servant that followed closely behind.
"I...uh...I tried to stop her, but she insisted on seeing you," the servant said nervously.
"Going some place?" asked Maya. She gave a slight nod towards the men packing up the place.
"Maybe, or maybe I'm just redecorating," replied Daljeet. "Either way, it's none of your business." How much does she know about our fraud? She wondered. Preet must have told his entire family by now. If so, what was Maya Juneja doing here? "What do you want Maya?"

A short while later...
Daljeet worked her nails with a file, but her mind was fully attentive to the woman pacing before her in the vast living room of the Rampal mansion. After Preet had ruined all the planning she had worked so hard to set up, letting another Juneja into her home was the last thing she had intended to do. But Maya...she may still prove to be of some use. If nothing else, she could provide her with information about just how much the Junejas had uncovered about Rishap and her. With any luck, it may not be much, otherwise Maya wouldn't be here. That meant time. Time she and Rishap desperately needed to secure as many of their assets as they possibly could and escape before their game was up.
"It's not fair Daljeet!" complained Maya.
"Of course it's not fair," Daljeet replied without looking up from her nails. "But then, life is not fair, is it?"
"Pulling your support out is one thing, but telling other lenders not to invest in us, you can't do that to us!" Maya continued to fume. "Juneja Enterprises will collapse. It's not fair that you punish my entire family for what that little twerp did."
"Ab tum hamay batau gi, ke hum kya karein ya na karein (Oh and are you going to dictate to us what we can and cannot do)?" Daljeet paused to blow on her nails then looked up at Maya with narrowing eyes. "Come now Maya, you know as well as I do that Juneja Enterprises was headed for the cliff anyway. Rishap and I just gave you that final push."
"No," Maya shook her head. "Prem was in London, ironing out some deals. Herman said we were going to be fine after that. Unfortunately, the poor guy got into an accident. He's in the hospital. Have a heart for goodness sake."
"Prem got into an accident, is that all you know?" Daljeet asked eagerly.
"Yes," said Maya. "Why? What else is there to know?"
"Nothing," Daljeet smiled to herself. "We had an agreement," she stated flatly. "Your family failed to live up to their end of the deal."
"That's not true," argued Maya. "We did everything in our power to make Preet and Ashlesha's marriage happen. How were we to know that worthless black sheep of the family would run away and get married to someone else?"
"And yet the deed is done," sighed Daljeet.
"What about Meher?" said Maya.
"What about her?" asked Daljeet.
"Well, she's your step-niece, Maya pointed out.
"So?" asked Daljeet.
"So...you know how beguiling young ladies can be," said Maya. "And Preet...well...he has never been the brightest tool in the shed. Meher must have done everything in her power to deliberately lure him away from Ash, and succeeded. She's just as much to blame for this predicament as anyone else is. Why don't you punish her?"
"Meher definitely deserves to be punished," Daljeet balled her fists up tightly. "Unfortunately, my sister is not cooperating with me in this matter. I suppose she feels now that Meher has married a Juneja, she's struck gold or something. Hmph! The selfish woman!"
"Bauji will never accept her you know," remarked Maya. "I overheard him telling Preet as much."
"What?" said Daljeet.
"I said, Bauji has no intention of accepting Meher into our family," said Maya. "You should have seen him confront Preet when he came home...alone."
"Alone?" Daljeet asked with a raised eyebrow. "Why was he alone? Where was Meher?"
"I don't know," Maya shrugged her shoulders. "Maybe he was too afraid to face Bauiji with her. Maybe they had a fight. Or maybe...just maybe Bauji was right. He blew off this entire elopement drama as being Preet's way of having one last fling before he married Ashlesha."
"You don't say," Daljeet smiled thoughtfully.
"After all," scoffed Maya. "Rishte barabar ke logon mein kiye jaate hai, aur woh log hamari joti ke barabar bhi nahin. (Relationships are between equals, and those people are clearly beneath us)."
"You know what Maya?" Daljeet said thoughtfully. "Perhaps you're right."
"I am?" Maya was surprised that Daljeet suddenly decided to agree with her.
"Yes," nodded Daljeet. "Perhaps Rishap and I are being a bit too harsh on your family. And perhaps we ought to just punish Preet."
"What? Wait...just what do you have in mind?" Maya asked worriedly. "I mean, he is my devar (brother-in-law) after all."
"I intend to do exactly as you said," Daljeet smiled wickedly. "Hurt Preet...by hurting Meher."

A short while later...
Daljeet walked into Ashlesha's room holding a glass of juice. She found her daughter sitting on her bed hugging a large decorative pillow. "Here," she said as she handed her the glass. "I had it prepared fresh. Drink up."
Ashlesha slowly reached out for the glass and took several sips before putting the glass down on the bedside table, and returning to hug her pillow.
Daljeet walked over to the windows and pulled the curtains back. "It's a beautiful day outside. Too bad you have to spend it sulking in a corner."
Ashlesha tossed the pillow aside and looked dejectedly at her mother. "What else am I supposed to do? You've taken away my phone and my laptop. There are servants posted outside my room to make sure I don't take a single step outside. All my meals are being brought here to me. I'm a prisoner in my own home!"
"Your home?! That's rich, coming from you! We're being forced to pack up and get the hell out of here, and it's all your fault Ash," Daljeet said accusingly. "I warned you...I warned you not to get involved with that good for nothing Sameer. You not not only got involved, you managed to get yourself pregnant for God's sake! And then, as if that wasn't enough to give your father a heart attack, you added the icing to the cake by divulging our entire plan to take over Juneja Enterprises to Preet!"
"I already told you guys I was sorry," sighed Ashlesha. "Preet confronted me with my pregnancy. I knew how you felt about Sameer, and I was afraid you'd hurt the baby if you found out. I...panicked!"
"And turned traitor to your family," taunted Daljeet.
"I...I didn't know what else to do," cried Ashlesha. There was a brief moment of silence before she spoke up again. "How much longer are you going to keep me locked up in my room? You...you can't you know...I'm an adult. I...I have a right to live my life the way I want to. You have to let me go and work things out with Sameer."
"Sameer! Sameer! Sameer!" exclaimed Daljeet. "Always Sameer! Once...just once if you had listened to your mother and focused on Preet, things would have been so different!"
"You're forgetting mom, Preet was never interested in me," said Ashlesha. "From the first time he met her, he has always been in love with Meher. There was nothing anyone could have said or done to make him marry me. You were just fooling yourself if you thought otherwise. And now, after finding out about the baby, it's never going to happen. Quite frankly, I'm relieved. I was sick and tired of pretending to have feelings for him, when all I wanted was to be with Sameer. Besides...Preet and Meher..."
"...got married...yeah yeah...I know," Daljeet rolled her eyes. She thought for a moment then came and sat down on the bed next to Ashlesha. "You know Ash, you can be quite a simpleton when you want to be, but in this case, I'm afraid you are right."
"I am," Ashlesha looked at her mother warily.
"Yes. Your marriage to Preet is no longer a viable possibility," sighed Daljeet. "But all does not have to be lost."
"Matlab (meaning)?" asked Ashlesha.
"Meaning that we still need to stop the Junejas from ruining our business," said Daljeet. She stood up and started pacing the room. "Thanks to the information you gave Preet, his brother Prem was about to file fraud charges against us in London. Luckily...he...uh...met with an accident of sorts."
"An accident?!?" Ashlesha eyes grew wide in surprise. She looked at her mother suspiciously. "Wait...mom...what did you and dad do?"
"We did what we had to!" Daljeet snapped back. "We built ourselves up from nothing, and I'll be damned if I let Preet or any of the Junejas run us into the ground."
"I don't believe this!" cried Ashelsha. "You...you tried to have Prem killed?!"
Daljeet looked back at her daughter's shocked face, and recomposed herself. "What? You actually think...we had something to do with the accident?" A small chuckle escaped her lips. "Oh come on Ash, we're business people not murderers."
"You're insane, you know that!" cried Ashlesha. "Absolutely insane!"
"No," Daljeet shook her head. "Doing jail time just doesn't appeal to me. Prem's accident was a lucky coincidence though. I thought it would buy us some time, but unfortunately, Preet quickly rushed to his brother's side to take his place. He needs to be stopped, just long enough for us to cover our tracks, which is where you come in. I have a task for you my dear. I want you to..."
"No...," Ashlesha shook her head vehemently. "I won't do anything for you. I refuse to be a part of any of your plans."
"Is that so?" Daljeet looked down at her daughter with narrowing eyes. "Well then, maybe I'll have to arrange a little accident for Preet. You know what a perfectionist I am. He may not be as lucky as his brother."
"Mom please stop!" sobbed Ashlesha. She held her stomach with both hands. "You're making me sick!"
"Really Ash, if you're going to throw up, go do so in the toilet," Daljeet rolled her eyes. "There's no point in ruining these designer sheets." She paused briefly, then threw her hands up in the air in frustration. "Uff! Just look what has happened to our relationship. There was a time when I knew you inside and out. I would say jump, and you would say how high? And now..." She grew silent then sighed deeply. "Please Ash...I'm not asking for much...just buy us a little time to salvage what ever we can. If you won't do it for me, do it for Sameer and the baby."
"Sameer and the baby?" whispered Ashlesha.
"Let's make a deal my dear," smiled Daljeet. "You deliver Preet to me on a platter, and I'll throw my weight behind your and Sameer's relationship. I'll make your father see the light." She saw her daughter mulling over the idea. "Come on Ash, consider the alternative. Never seeing Sameer again and a trip to the abortion clinic..."
"No," said Ashlesha. "I won't let you hurt my baby. I won't go with you. You can't make me."
"Maybe you won't have to go anywhere," Daljeet eyed the half empty glass of juice coyly. "Maybe I put something in that juice you just drank."
"Mother, you didn't!" Ashlesha's eyes grew wide in fear. "I'm your daughter!"
"Perhaps you should have remembered that when you were spilling your guts to Preet Juneja!" replied Daljeet.
"I...I can't believe you...you put something in the juice," sobbed Ashlesha.
"Not this time," admitted Daljeet. "But what about the next time, or the next, or the next? How long will you continue to live in fear?"
"Alright! Alright! What do you want me to do?" sighed Ashlesha.
"That's like a good girl," smiled Daljeet. She handed her daughter her passport and a ticket. "Preet left for London yesterday. He's probably by his brother's side, at the hospital as we speak, but it won't be long before he turns his attention to business matters. I'd like you to pay him a visit, and try to stall him for as long as you can. You know, console him for a couple of days like a good friend should. Keep his focus on his brother's well-being and not Rampal Industries."
"That's it?" Ashlesha asked in surprise.
"That's it," Daljeet nodded. "In the mean time I'll make arrangements for Sameer to join you there. You two will get married in a quiet ceremony and stay there until the baby is born. I'll handle your father here."
"Well...maybe...maybe I could do that," said Ashlesha. "And that's all you want?"
"Yes," smiled Daljeet. The Rampal's ship was going down, but she was going to make sure to take Preet and Meher with her.

The next day...
Preet slowly replaced the receiver of the phone back in its cradle. Damn! That was the 3rd time he had tried to call Meher that day with no luck. Where was she? Perhaps she was out in the yard watering the plants. Or maybe she had gone to the market with her step-mother. Did she have any idea how much he missed her? Just hearing the sound of her voice would suffice for now. If only she would answer the phone. He checked the time on his watch. Damn these time differences! He'd try again in a little while. Just then his cell phone rang. "Hey Heer Bhabi, is everything alright?"
"Preet...Prem...he...," stammered Heer.
"What about PB?" Preet asked worriedly. "What's wrong? He was fine when I left him this morning. Didn't the doctor check on him?"
"Nothing's wrong Preet. I was telling him how active the baby's been since we got here, and he squeezed my hand, I swear he did," Heer said excitedly.
Preet winced. Poor Heer Bhabi. That was the 4th time since they had gotten here that she had "felt" Prem Bhaiya squeeze her hand.
"The doctor said he thinks his condition has stabilized enough to move him out of the ICU, maybe even as early as tomorrow morning."
"Really Bhabi? That's great news," Preet put on a brave front.
"Yeah. I just wish he'd open his eyes," sighed Heer.
"He'll do that soon too," Preet reassured her. "He knows you're by his side. That has to be worth more than all the medicine in the world."
"Hmm," sighed Heer. "Listen, I know you had some things to take care of at the office, but how much longer are you going to be there? The nurse came by and handed me a stack of paperwork but...I don't want to leave Prem's side...and..."
"Don't worry about it. I'll take care of it when I get there," Preet reassured her. "Hey, have you eaten yet?"
"No," admitted Heer.
"Come on Bhabi," said Preet. "I know you're worried about PB, but you have to take better care of yourself. You've got a little Prem or Heer junior to think about too now, remember?"
"Yes, I remember," sighed Heer.
"I'll tell you what," said Preet. "I'll have someone from our hotel bring you something nice and healthy to eat. In the meantime, I'll try to wrap things up here and meet you around 3."
"Okay," smiled Heer. "Were you able to get in touch with Meher?"
"No," sighed Preet. "I tried a couple of times, but either the line was busy or no one was answering. I guess our timing is just off."
"Well, go ahead and try again now," suggested Heer. "Oh and Preet, don't you forget to eat either. You've been working nonstop since we got here. I don't want Meher complaining to me that you've ruined your health."
"Alright Bhabi," chuckled Preet. He ended his call with Heer and tried calling Meher again.
The phone had just started to ring when Bob, an office employee interrupted him. "Sir, we need these papers signed urgently," he said.
Preet reluctantly put the receiver down and took the papers from him. He studied them carefully, then pulled out a pen from his pocket and began signing. Just as he finished, he noticed the delicious aroma of home cooked food. "Hey do you smell that?" he asked Bob.
The young man inhaled deeply. "Yes sir, it smells like...uh...like...Indian spices."
"Gobi ke parathe!" said Preet.
"Gobi ke what?" asked Bob. "Uh...I mean, it is about lunch time. Perhaps someone brought something from home. But if the smell is troubling you sir, I'll have it taken care of right away."
"The only trouble it's giving me is that it's making me hungry," chuckled Preet. He patted Bob on the back and motioned for him to go. He then picked up his jacket, threw it over his shoulder and followed the aroma outside his cabin. "Hey Amit," he said to another employee who was having lunch at his desh. "Did you bring food from home?"
"Not today sir," Amit shook his head.
"I swear I can smell gobi ke parathe," sighed Preet.
"You're absolutely right," a voice called out from behind him.
Preet's mouth fell open in surprise when he turned around and found the voice belonged to none other than Ashlesha Rampal. "Ash?"
"Hi Preet!" grinned Ashlesha. She walked up to Preet and gave him a warm hug. "I'd say long time no see, but it hasn't really been that long."
"What are you doing here?" asked Preet.
"I happened to be in town on...uh...a shopping trip," lied Ashlesha. "I heard you were in town too, so I thought I'd...uh...check in on you."
"Check in on me, or check up on me for your mom?" Preet asked suspiciously.
"Mom? Whatever gave you that silly idea?" a nervous chuckle escaped Ashlesha's lips. "Really Preet, after all the information I gave you, I'm the last person my mom would trust with anything."
Preet nodded quietly.
"So uh...is there some place we could sit and eat?" asked Ashelsha. "I get really hungry now that I'm eating for two you know. Besides these parathe will get cold."

A short while later...
Preet sat opposite Ashlesha at a table and chair outside a small coffee shop. He gave a waiter an order for some drinks, then watched silently as Ashlesha carefully opened the package of food she had brought with her and take a bite.
"Mmm...Oh God that's so good," Ashlesha sighed in relief. "I thought for sure I was going to die from hunger today. Here...you have to try some." She broke off a piece of the paratha, dipped it into some raita and tried to feed it to Preet, but he put his hand up. "What's the matter Preet? I was just trying to be friendly."
"Friendly?" Preet eyed her. "I don't exactly remember us being the best of friends."
Damn! This isn't going as well as I had thought it would, thought Ashlesha. "Um...so uh...how's Meher? I guess congratulations are in order, now that you 2 are finally married." Preet's mood immediately lightened at the mention of Meher's name. "I really should go see her. I mean, I feel like I owe her an apology for everything I put you guys through. I know...I'll take her shopping with me...teach her how to put a dent in that wallet of yours. What say?"
"Meher's not here," said Preet.
"Really?" Ashlesha tried her best to fake surprise. "Well that's strange. I didn't think you'd leave her behind so soon for a business trip."
"I wouldn't have left her behind if she had a passport or if it hadn't been an emergency," said Preet.
"Emergency?" asked Ashlesha.
"Prem Bhaiya is in the hospital," explained Preet.
"Oh no," said Ashlesha.
"Car accident. It was a hit and run," said Preet.
"He's going to be okay though, right?" asked Ashelsha. A guilty look washed over her face.
"He's doing better," admitted Preet. "But he still hasn't regained consciousness, and that worries me."
"I'm so sorry Preet. But don't you worry," Ashlesha placed her hands on his. "I'm sure Prem will be just fine. So...uh...I guess he was in London following the lead I gave you guys. Did he...or you...file charges against my father yet."
Preet pulled his hands back and looked up at Ashlesha with a raised brow. "Is that what you're here on Ash, a fact finding mission for your parents?"
"No, I...," she shook her head vehemently.
"Was your father behind my brother's accident?" demanded Preet. "Because if he was, I swear, there will be hell to pay!"
"No...for God's-sake Preet calm down and stop throwing accusations around!" cried Ashlesha. "My parents may have committed business fraud but they're not thugs!"
Preet took a deep breath and passed his hands over his face. "I'm sorry Ash. I just...I just want my brother to be okay."
"And he will be," Ashelsha placed a comforting hand on his shoulder. "Let's change the topic. Guess who I'm in London with?"
"I don't know," Preet shrugged his shoulders. "Your dad's credit cards?"
"No silly!" chuckled Ashlesha. "Well...yes...but I meant a person."
"I don't know, who?" asked Preet.
"Sameer!" smiled Ashlesha.
"Your boyfriend Sameer?" asked Preet.
"Yes! We managed to work things out," said Ashlesha. "We're even getting married next month. Isn't that wonderful?"
"Yeah, that's great," said Preet. "But I thought your parents were dead set against him."
"Well, of course they weren't happy initially," said Ashlesha. "But between the baby and you and Meher getting married...they really didn't have any choice but to accept us. I'm telling you Preet, my parents have made mistakes, but they're not monsters."
"Well then, I'm happy for you Ashlesha," Preet gave her a small smile.
"Thanks," grinned Ashlesha. "And on that note, let's dig in."
"They do smell good," admitted Preet. He shook his head and smiled to himself.
"Hey! Are you laughing at me?" asked Ashlesha.
"I don't know...maybe," chuckled Preet. "I just never saw you eat a paratha before. I thought you were allergic to anything with ghee in it."
"Well I'm pregnant, okay, so don't judge me," said Ashlesha. She looked at Preet with narrowing eyes before pulling the stack of parathe close to her. "And just for that remark, I'm keeping these all for myself."
"Hey, not fair!" protested Preet. He tried to take a piece of paratha, but Ashlesha's arm hovered over them protectively. She picked up a piece and took a bite. "Mmm...these sure beat rice cakes any day," she teased him.
"Come on Ash, you can't eat all of them by yourself," pleaded Preet.
"I bet I can," said Ashlesha. "But I won't. Here..." She picked up a morsel and tried to feed it to Preet.
"I'm not a little kid Ash," protested Preet. "I can eat on my own."
"Oh for God's sake Preet, just humor me," chuckled Ashlesha, as she stuffed the morsel in his mouth. Then pushed the plate closer to him. "Hey, maybe I can go visit Prem at the hospital later today."
"Hmm...that's nice of you," smiled Preet. "Heer Bhabi has been at his side almost non-stop since we got here. Perhaps you can convince her to take a break and get some rest. I told her I'd meet her around 3pm. If you want we can go together."
"Sounds like a plan," smiled Ashlesha. They continued to chat over lunch, completely unaware of being photographed.

Chapter 56: Daljeet pays Meher a visit 😈
Link to: Chapter 56
Link to Table of Contents: https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/136805557