Maleficarum thumbnail
Preface: I sincerely do not intend to unjustly criticize anyone's beliefs or insult their worldview. This is merely my attempt at articulating something I struggle to understand. I feel I should also include my identity as an atheist, as that may explain the difference in opinions.

Mahakaali is by no stretch of the imagination a "perfect" show. I immensely enjoy it as a refreshing departure from the customary dramatizations of the Ramayana or Mahabharata; a mythological serial with Kali as its nucleus is tremendously overdue. Additionally, Pooja Sharma is a mesmerizing presence on screen, and her execution of the juxtaposed goddesses (Kali and Parvati) is commendable. However, it certainly carries flaws: notably, its VFX effects could use improvement, particularly in scenes wherein the effects are integral to manifesting an environment or atmosphere. I also agree there are perhaps slight issues with pacing. That said, as a biweekly finite series with an emphasis on exploring Kali's supposed "hidden" canon, it requires some sacrifices (unfortunately).

Where I diverge from the constructive criticism, however, is the apparent expectation by some for Mahakaali to dutifully and impeccably mirror the sacred texts. As a mythological show, it has a greater range of creative liberties. In fact, as a mythological serial it isn't obligated to rigidly follow whatever literary canon it resembles. A mythological serial is just that -- it portrays stories that sought to simplify and explain otherwise abstruse or confusing phenomena.

The Puranas are definitively crucial to exploring the roots and evolution of India's spirituality. Yet, they are not indisputable fact or gospel truth. The Puranas simplify the esoteric philosophies of the Vedas; the contained myths metaphorically explain topics that were otherwise protected (unjustly) by the religious elite. This is exemplified by their characteristic inconsistencies and malleable nature. For example, there are 17 variations of Narsimha's narrative across different Puranas, and different denominations can discriminate between these variations. Similarly, Kali's modern canon is glaringly distinct from the goddess' primeval canon: originally, she was not a repository of femininity and motherhood, but a frightful representation of the impartiality and merciless hunger intrinsic to nature.

Now, if Mahakaali completely subverted Vishnu's identity or "revamped" Brahma, there would absolutely be cause for objectively criticizing the serial. However, minor or ineffective deviations should not detract from the experience (messy editing, however, should). Shiva's character is not "incorrect"; the serial has instead emphasized his identity as a yogi and sporitual guide. Additionally, Parvati discovering her divinity is referenced in different Puranas.

Ultimately, everyone is entitled to how they perceive the serial, and that's how it should be. No one should be forced to like something they disagree with. I just disconnect from those who criticize Mahakaali for deviating from a canon that is itself highly inconsistent. Furthermore, no mythological serial should be expected to disseminate the contents of the Puranas; the texts are still readily accessible on the Internet. If those who are unfamiliar with the Puranas turn to television, they should instead be directed to the sources themselves. It's akin to telling someone unfamiliar with the X-Men to simply watch the movies.
Edited by Maleficarum - 7 years ago

mnx12 thumbnail
Well said, Maleficarum.
In fact, I saw the very base of Tantra in last night's epi.
Mahakaali is the extreme form of energy. Daruka's connect to Niraakaar energy took a form. People want to control the power to use for own benifit.
A new source of energy was discovered. Master of Tantra is Lord Shiva. His advise to Parvati on how to use her power is very much as per the scriptures.
They can be found as a discourse between Shiv & Parvati.
Maleficarum thumbnail
I had so many thoughts swirling around in my head I wasn't able to articulate them all. You brought up one of the most important, mnx12: Tantra.
Tantric philosophies stress the importance of Shiva and Shakti and their union, and looking beyond the macroscopic. I myself didn't recognize that but now, after you eloquently explained it, I'm definitely going to watch the episode again. Admittedly, I'm not as well-versed in Tantra as I'd like to be, but I'm gradually learning.

As an aside, I've always found it ironic how some people try to completely isolate goddess worship from Tantric spirituality. Shaktism is practically inseparable from Tantra, especially considering how important procreation is to goddess symbolism. That's probably a discussion for a different forum, however.

I'm glad you agree! This is my first post, so I was incredibly anxious about unintentionally offending anyone.
mnx12 thumbnail
Spiritual Tantra is such an interesting & fascinating subject.
Recently I happen to read an article, which describes Sadhakas as Shdhha Shakta, Mishra Shakta & Shaivites. Without Shakti's grace, achieving sucess is not possible.
Do post more, its interesting to read different views. 😊
Mages thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 7
everyday there is something new to learn in mythology...interesting subject...
1123225 thumbnail
Very well said!

My complaints with the show have nothing to do with how closely they're adhering to the ancient stories. In fact, I think I'd be irritated if they stuck to the original, because stories gain meaning when they relate to our own lives. We'd end up losing our cultural heritage if the bards don't make an attempt to tell it in a way that a good chunk of people can understand.

My complaint is with the shoddy editing and unnecessarily fast pace. And the CGI is less than adequate.

Edited by HearMeRoar - 7 years ago
Maleficarum thumbnail
I agree wholeheartedly, HearMeRoar. The Ramayana has dozens upon dozens of variations; that doesn't even include renditions outside India, like the Javanese Ramayana. Sure, it's entertaining to watch the Valmiki Ramayana on screen. Yet, how many times can a different producer breathe life into a story that's been told multiple times?

It pains me how lackluster the editing is in some scenes. It's as if the team invested all their energy in formulating the serial but forgot it required actual, tangible work. Granted, serials as a unit tend to be plagued by these problems (Naagin was the greatest disappointment), but they at least improve. Or learn to hide their mistakes. Hopefully Mahakaali steadily improves. That extends to the CGI/VFX, too. Mythological serials are heavily dependent on effects -- unless they can find actors who are comfortable with actually being decapitated and locations they can actually ignite. That battles with Chanda/Munda and Raktabeeja carried great potential; the choreography was good, but the effects left me wanting more (for whatever reason, the Canadian broadcast cut out the majority of the violence. Is that really beneficial to a serial about a goddess that's characterized by her bloodlust?). It's also the only time I wasn't a fan of the drab and somber backdrop. Thematically, it was relevant. Practically... meh.

I'm not too upset with the pacing myself, but I definitely understand why it can be problematic. To be honest, I just used whatever I knew of the myths to fill in the blanks, but that hardly excuses a disjointed story. Additionally, I rarely watch serials; for someone who watches serials routinely and thus hashigher technical expectations, however; it's completely reasonable for Mahakaali to fall short.

Here's hoping it continues to improve. Goddess-centric serials are few and far between. I truly hope Mahakaali can change that.
Edited by Maleficarum - 7 years ago
1123225 thumbnail
This is the first Indian show since Mahabharata that I'm watching on a regular basis. It's still quite annoying to see smiling mugshots of secondary characters like Daksha when Veerbhadra is outside destroying the city.

I want this show to go on a while since I like the idea of interpreting our literature for a new generation. I just don't want it to collapse from poor execution.

Edited by HearMeRoar - 7 years ago
Mahakaali thumbnail
I agree...
Purana, Veda r written by rishi that is also our belief n faith.. There is no proof of anything.. We worship god cause of belief n faith.. without faith n belief we even can't say the holy ganga as ganga Maiya..Purana's r absolutely right no doubt in it but we can't denied the fact that all puranas are narrate different stories n even same writer of different puranas write different stories in his different books so we can't just say what is right or not... In my opinion nothing is wrong as the summary of all puranas, local believe n all that God is one aur vo har jagah nivaas karte hai... Serial is doing very good cause it shows us many stories which we don't know.. Actual story we already knew but we don't know local stories of different areas so it helps us... we read puranas n all just to get more rear to our God, to understand God n our life goals n way of living but it can't help only if we don't respect other's views b beliefs and also not include lessons of puranas to our daily life.. We all read Ravana was the most gyani is his time.. He reads so much puranas n vedas n collect wisdom that's why he has 10 heads to hold it cause of this he became the great lord shiva devotee but he never understands lord shiva in his entire life.. he did all type of crimes tough he was so gyani n mahaan shiva bhakt.. He never understands The talking of puranas itself.. Puranas, vedas give us the jeevan-darshan but ye ham par depend karta hai ki ham unme likhi baato ka kya matlab nikalte..
For me Mahakaali is awesome show cause it gives us the knowledge of supreme goddess n also teaching us that mahakaali resides in every women ( jaisa ki purano me likha hai ishwar ka waas har insaan me hai).. There is some distortion n we all knew already about that there would be distortion in the series but fir bhi cvs kaafi chijo ka dhyan rakh rahe hai (kuchh mistakes ho jaati hai) like linga bhairavi n copper ring, nirakaar shakti (Mahakaali) ki aaradhana, Pravati ki Adi-shakti banane ki yatra, Shiva-shakti poorak hai ye dikhaya hai.. even sati katha ke starting me Swayam Mahadeva ko bhi sachai nahi pata thi, vo swayam apoorna the aur sati (female power) ke aane se vo sadashiva ban gaye..
2filmy thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail Commentator Level 2 Thumbnail
I always find mythological shows very fascinating
Also there is so much to learn from them