Saiyaara Male lead is overrated!!!
Asli Gunehgar
CID Episode 66 - 3rd August
Anupamaa 02 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Maira’s classes
Anupamaa 03 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Theme for September
The mockery of National Awards
Who will win best new face female of 2025?
Member topic: What do you do on weekends?
Different concept
interesting to read :D
AB KE BARAS can u plzz translate it..i am little weak in Hindi 😆
Originally posted by: -indulekha-
nice start... reincarnation is a fascinating concept. i had wished to write something on that concept in another forum 😊
CHAPTER 1. THE BIZARRE DAY IN MAAN'S LIFE
"AND THIS YEAR'S BUSINESSMAN AWARD OF THE YEAR GOES TO MR. MAAN SINGH KHURANA!", announced the compeer and Maan got up from his place. With a deep breath he took the step ahead. He had won it! After toiling for three years he had finally won it. This was his dream since he started handling KC and now he finally had it. With a proud expression on his face, Maan Singh Khurana reached the stage and took the award.
Photos were taken, speeches were given, dinner was done and then it was time to leave. As Maan stepped out of the party hall, the Journalists started to mob him. Questions over questions were thrown at him as photographers of leading business tabloids took his pictures.
"Sir! What is your future plan for your company?"
"You have made KC the top construction company of USA! What about International? Are you thinking of expanding the company globally?"
"Mr. Khurana! How does it feel to be called Businessman of the Year at such a young age?"
"Sir! Are you single?"
"Are you seeing someone?"
"When will you get married?"
The questions continued and Maan tried his best to answer them politely.
Future plan is to be the best!
Global expansion plan is for later date. Now we wish to focus on making our home base strong!
I feel proud that such an award had been bestowed on me and I will try my best in not letting anybody down.
Yes! I am single!
And marriage is too far off as far as I am concerned. I want to focus on my company right now!
And the question and answer session continued for another few minutes and then the question came that made Maan roll his eyes.
"Mr. Khurana. You are an Indian. Will you marry a girl from Indian descent?"
Maan huffed in amusement, "First of all, I haven't been an Indian for a while. My citizenship says I am American. I am born and brought up here. So how can you call me Indian? And as far as my future bride is concerned, I don't care which race, religion or country she belongs to. As long as she is compatible to me, I don't care about these things!" Maan hoped that shut up the people asking irrelevant details regarding his marriage but he was disappointed.
"Mr. Khurana! Most people from Indian descent want to marry girls who are born and brought up in India. You don't seem to wish to do the same. Why?"
Maan's expression turned stern, "India is very backwards when it comes to modern thinking. Most girls think their life has no purpose except getting married and giving birth. The mentality there is pretty narrow minded. And I do not want to subject myself or my Daadima to such regressive thinking people. So no, I don't wish to marry a girl born and brought up in India unless she is progressive, highly educated and independent!"
The questions continued but Maan excused himself citing no comments and got into his car. Daadima was waiting for him at home. And if he knew her well, she would have thrown a lavish party just for him now. And he wanted to get there ASAP.
With a smile, Maan started to drive his car. The roads were long and winded with almost no traffic, just the way Maan liked. Now he could enjoy the drive peacefully. As he drove, he started to feel sleepy. Maan shook his head. Why am I feeling sleepy? I never feel sleepy even after staying awake for 48 hours and yesterday I slept for full night. He widened his eyes and focused on the road. Again a sleepy spell hit him and he did his best to keep his eyes open and wide. What is happening to me? Focus Maan focus! He stopped the car at the side and taking the bottle that he carried with him everywhere, he splashed some water from it on his face. Feeling confident now that he won't fall asleep, he started driving the car again.
As he drove, Maan smiled. He had reached his goal of winning the Businessman of the Year Award. Now he can relax and enjoy his life a little. But then he frowned. What enjoyment? Daadima will now do everything to get me married. She won't leave me alone! Here I thought I would go on world tour and enjoy the tourist sites and there Daadima will be planning on tying me with a woman. Why Daadima why?
Suddenly out of nowhere a woman came in front of the car and Maan took in a sharp breath. With wide eyes, he stirred the car sideways and went crashing into a tree. Maan took deep breaths trying to calm his racing heart. What was that? Who was that woman? He stepped out of the car and looked around.
But there was no woman around. The whole road was deserted. Then from where did she arrive? He closed his eyes and tried to remember the moment he saw her. All he remembered was a blurry figure in yellow. Infact, with the small glimpse he had seen, no one could even guess whether it was man or woman. Then why did he think it was woman? Weird.
Suddenly, he sensed someone stand right behind him. He stiffened. Then a soft feminine voice was heard, "Mohi..." Maan turned around. But there was no one there. No one was standing behind him. Then who whispered in his ear? Maan shook his head. Something was wrong here. He had to get away from here. He had to go home.
Maan got into his car right away and started driving like a maniac. His heart started beating rapidly as he felt dread pool in his stomach. The last time he felt this helpless was when he was in that car accident that took his parents away. He had to get home. He had a feeling he would feel safe there. Suddenly, he felt sleepy and with horror realised that his eyes were drooping down. With heavy struggle he pried his eyes open only to see a huge truck coming right at him. He swerved his car and after that he knew no more.
Maan woke up with a pounding headache. Where am I? What happened? Then he remembered. He had almost fallen asleep on the wheel. A truck was about to crash into him and he had swerved sideways to avoid it! He straightened up and looked around. He had once again crashed into some tree. Thank God for trees! They seemed to save his life. He frowned as he felt something trickle down his forehead. He raised his hand and checked it. He brought his hand in front of his face. It was blood! He looked into the rear view mirror and checked the wound. He would need stitches, Maan decided. Shaking his head at the emotional drama he would face once Daadima saw his stitches, he reversed the car and started driving. Home can wait! First, I have to get to hospital and get stitches.
Daadima paced worriedly. Where was Maan? He was supposed to be home an hour ago. She looked away from the door and towards the main hall of her house. Actually, house was an understatement. It was a huge mansion. And inside the house today, a huge crowd waited today. As per the requirements, Maan had been informed of him winning the award days before the event. And Daadima had accordingly planned a party for it. Now if only the guest of honor would arrive home!
Just then Maan arrived and Daadima heaved a sigh of relief. Since she remembered that Maan's toughest year would start in five days she had been filled with fear and trepidation. And Maan being away from home even for few minutes scared her. Now that Maan was home, she smiled. But then she saw something that filled her with worry. Maan had butterfly stitches on his forehead. Hey Babaji! Humaare bachche ko kya hogaya?
Maan sighed as Daadima came running towards him and started to fuss over his wound. He rolled his eyes. Typical Daadima!
"Daadima! Chill! I am fine! It's a small wound! Nothing big!", Maan exclaimed in his American accent.
"Nothing big? NOTHING BIG? Maan! You have stitches on your forehead!", Daadima nearly shouted.
Maan sighed, "It was a small accident. I crashed the car into a tree!"
"Accident? Car Accident? Ab bas Maan! Aap abhi se car nahi chalaayenge! You asked to not have a driver and I allowed you! But not anymore! Hum abhi aapke liye Driver ka intezaam karte hain!", Daadima informed him and Maan started to chuckle.
"Daadima! Daadima!", Maan mumbled, "You are so overprotective!"
"Of course I am overprotective! Ek hi toh ho tum Maan jo humaare apne ho! Baaki humaara bacha kaun?", Daadima looked at him with tears.
Maan sighed, "Daadima! Emotional blackmailing koi aapse seekhe! Calm down my darling! I am fine!"
Before Daadima could reply him, Maan turned around and greeted the guests who were looking at the grandson grandmother duo curiously. Soon the party was fully fledged and Maan smiled as he mingled with his guests. Just then Daadima announced that a very famous singer from India had been invited to perform for this party.
"And that singer is none other than Sonu Nigam!", Daadima announced and everyone clapped. Most guests were from Indian Community residing in USA with only handful of Americans amongst them. Hence, most of them were well versed with Sonu Nigam and his awesome songs. The claps were thunderous and some even whistled when he arrived on stage.
"Hello Friends! Today is a proud day for us Indians! One of us has won the Businessman of the Year Award while competing with Americans. Congratulations Mr. Khurana!", Sonu Nigam nodded at Maan who raised his champagne glass at him.
"And here is a song from one of my favorite movies, a young and peppy song that would get you all foot tapping! HIT IT!". The band started playing and Maan took a sip from his glass.
Mujhe Pyaar Lagta Hai Pyaara
Main Hun Adaaon Ka Maara
People started to dance in the middle while many people vanished to the sides to not interfere with the dancing young crowd. Maan was one of the many who moved to sides while listening to the singer.
Kisi Ne Aankh Churaayi
Kisi Ne Dil Mein Utaara
Maan shook hands with foreign dignitaries and spoke few words with them.
Mujhe Pyaar Lagta Hai Pyaara
Main Hun Adaaon Ka Maara
Kisi Ne Aankh Churaayi
Kisi Ne Dil Mein Utaara
Maan turned back to enjoy the song.
Haseen Hai Sama
Mohabbatein Jawaan
Kareeb Aake Keh Rahi
Mujhse Jawaaniyaan...
Maan took a sip from his glass...
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
...only to choke on it. He looked up at Sonu in shock.
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
Eighteen for life? Maan remembered his teenage years and his eyes widened in horror. Forever stuck as a hormone induced teenager? No thanks! I am so not interested in being eighteen forever.
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
Maan rolled his eyes at the lyrics while he enjoyed his champagne. He looked around and his eyes fell on a girl coming towards him. She was one of his fan girls. Bhaag Maan bhaag! He escaped the area right away and the girl pouted. Where did Maan go?
Jaanam Yeh Umar Toh
Maan heaved a sigh of relief. He escaped on time.
Aati Hai Ek Baar
Suddenly another girl hugged him while wishing him for his award.
Iss Mein Hai Shokiyaan
Maan smiled politely and extracted himself from her right away.
Iss Mein Hota Hai Pyaar
Bhaag idhar se Maan! Bhaag!
Rok Lun
Waqt Ko
Yeh Umar
Na Dhale
Maan sighed. So many girls! But not one of them is strong, smart and independent. Not one of them touches my heart.
Zindagi
Bhar Sanam
Silsila
Yeh Chale
Where will I find the girl made for me? Maan wondered.
Milti Rahe Haseeno Se
Haseen Nishaaniyaan...
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
Maan chuckled as he heard the lyrics again.
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
The music continued and Maan smiled at some of his clients. Just then he saw something that made him freeze. It was a yellow duppatta. Instinctively he knew that the duppatta was of the same girl that he saw on the road. The duppatta vanished and Maan frowned. Where did the girl go? He looked around for the girl. Just then he saw the yellow wearing person walking out of the hall. She was going through the hallways, Maan realised. He started to follow her.
Chanda Ki Chandni
He ran after her into the hallways. But there was no one there. He looked around. Where did she go?
Rab Ki Jadugari
Then he heard it. Paayals making noise from the side pathways! He followed the noise.
Hogi Hogi Kahin
He continued to follow her as she ran through the hallways of the mansion.
Sapno Ki Woh Pari
He did not see her but her paayals' tinkling guided him.
Kya Use
Hai Pata
Kya Use
Hai Khabar
He reached the stairs and heard her ran up. He climbed the stairs too.
Dhoondti
Hai Use
Har Jagah
Yeh Nazar
He reached the top floor and huffed. Where is she?
Kabhi Kahin Mile Woh Toh
Bane Kahaaniyaan...
Then he heard it. She was heading towards the terrace. He followed her right away.
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
He reached the terrace and entered it.
Saari Umar Main Rahun
Atthra Saal Ka
There she was; looking at him. Maan frowned. Even with her in front of him, he could not see her face. Why? He walked towards her to see her face.
Atthra Saal Ka
He continued to walk towards her as if in a trance. Why can't I see you properly?
Atthra Saal Ka
He had almost reached her. He could touch her. He raised his hand to touch her.
"MAAN!", a screech rang and Maan came out of the trance. He was shocked to find himself standing on the ledge of the terrace. The terrace was on the highest floor which five floors above. Maan looked down and felt his breath hitch as he realised that one step would lead him to his demise. He jumped inside and heaved a sigh of relief, just as Daadima reached him.
"Maan bete!", Daadima mumbled and Maan turned around, still looking horrified at what had happened.
"Daadim!", he mumbled in shock and his Daadima hugged him.
"Yeh tum kya karne waale the Maan? Ledge pe chad gaye?", Daadima asked looking aghast.
Maan looked at the ledge in shock. How the hell did he climb there? And where was the girl? He allowed his Daadima to drag him away as he stared at the ledge. How did he reach there?
It was late in the night when Maan reached his room. After the ledge incident his Daadima had dragged him to the party hoping to forget the horror they both faced. Once party was over, she had berated him for climbing the ledge only to be told by a still-in-shock Maan that he did not even realise he was on the ledge. When Daadima asked him how is that even possible, Maan had to tell her about the yellow duppatta waali girl. He even told her how confused he was by the fact that instinctively he knew the person was a girl and wore yellow salwar kameez. Daadima had turned pale at the confession and had walked off. And that is when Maan made his escape.
Now as Maan sat on his bed, he pondered the mystery of yellow duppatta girl. Who was she? Why only he could see her? And the most important question; why was she always leading him to his death? Maan could not make a head or a tail of this mystery. He shook his head. I am sure there is a rational explanation to all of this madness. And I will find it. I think I should hit the bed. Maybe with fresh mind I would be able to rationalize the whole thing. Yes! So ja Maan bete!
Maan had just fallen asleep when he was woken by a soft hand caressing his face. He opened his eyes only to see a person touching his cheek. There was no light in the room except the moonlight coming from the tall windows. And as the person had their back towards the window Maan could only see their shilhouette and not their features. The fingers of the person now moved to his throat, grabbing it like the person was about to throttle him and Maan was taken aback. He jerked back in surprise and his eyes opened. He looked around for the person but there was no one there. He had been dreaming! Maan could not believe it. First the car accident, then the ledge drama and now this person in nightmare! Today would be the most bizarre day of my life! Maan shook his head and was about to get back to sleep when he felt someone whisper in his ear, "Mohi..." Maan sat up with a jerk. Enough! I don't think I can sleep today. He got out of his bed and marched off to the study. Might as well get some work done!
The song is from the Movie Ab Ke Baras, the same movie this story is inspired from. The song is sung by Sonu Nigam and picturised on Arya Babbar.
Ok! I know the song is not that great but I wanted a party song and thought that if I am going to use other songs of the movie Ab Ke Baras then might as well use this. And yes, the only songs used in this story will be from Ab Ke Baras and I will use few more songs from the same album in future chapters.
If anyone wants English translations, sorry, I can't do it right now! The story is haunting me so badly that even taking time to edit is tough. So translation will only increase the haunting. Right now I just want the story written, updated and finished ASAP, the haunting is that severe. If you want translations, I will do it once my fire to write this fic cools down a little.
Also I am sending PMs only twice a month; once around 16th and once around the month end.
So if you want to read the update the moment it is out, keep checking the Index of Behind the Scenes thread or put this thread on watch list.
Thank you, take care and have fun,
Kalpana
Okay, I agree I am getting bored and thus here to entertain myself with Maaneet. Actually, yesterday night, due to my breathlessness, i was...
Dear All, No, no no... No idea of starting it in near future. Just wanted to book this title as I have an overall idea of the story. These days...
Hey people! Right concept was given by a reader of mine.Its nothing similar to Nikah nor to the book. This journey is a different one altogether...
Chapter 52 Sameera watched as Maan arrived at her house. He hadn’t visited for a couple of days and Aavya had started asking when her new friend...
This story is about teenage Maan and Geet who met at a marriage. Whoever is interested in reading pls responds to this post. Ignore if not...