Too much pressure on actresses to look a certain way: Kajol

touch_of_pink thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 8

Too much pressure on actresses to look a certain way: Kajol

Wednesday, 9 December 2015 - 4:11pm IST | Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI
Kajol's look in her upcoming film 'Dilwale' is getting her a lot of appreciation from fans and the actress is happy that things have worked out well.

Bollywood diva Kajol, returning to the big screen after a gap of five years with Dilwale, believes there is too much pressure on actresses to look good which often takes the attention away from their work.

"There is too much pressure to look a certain way and it is wrong. Somewhere down the line, you don't have a life beyond that. Every morning you are getting up and getting dressed. It takes the attention away from your work," Kajol told PTI in an interview.

The actress, 41, faced criticism for her public appearances in the beginning of her career and though her style sense has evolved over the years, Kajol is still not bothered by what people think about her looks.

"There is too much importance attached to it but at the same time it is there. You can't get away from it. You can adapt to it or not. You have to take a stand... I have figured a way around it so I am comfortable with it myself. I don't exactly make a fool of me in public anymore. But after a point you will see me in my pajamas. It is something innate in me. I can't be bothered about everybody's opinion."

Kajol's look in her upcoming film Dilwale is getting her a lot of appreciation from fans and the actress is happy that things have worked out well.

"I know for a fact that I am looking good in the film. The reaction has been overwhelming... Everything has turned out well and it has been great. The reaction has been fantastic. Manish (Malhotra) has done the clothes in the movie," she says.

There were reports that she had a fall out with the designer but Kajol dismisses it with a hearty laugh. "We are too good friends to have differences."

Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol make one of the most successful on-screen pairings in Bollywood. Rohit Shetty's Dilwale, slated to release on December 18, will reunite them for the seventh time and the actress says it was one of the reasons for her to do the movie.

"I liked my character in the movie and thought I could do something with it and Rohit was directing the film. I have known Rohit for years and the fact that SRK was producing and starring in it. It has to be a combination of everything to say yes."

Also, her daughter Nysa had a big role in her decision to star in Shetty's action-comedy. The director has worked with husband Ajay Devgn on Golmaal, All The Best and Singham.

"My daughter wanted me to do this film. She does not like to see me cry on screen, she is very clear about it. She keeps telling me 'Why can't you do films like papa does.' And the next thing is Rohit offering me this script. I thought God is giving me a sign," she says.

Kajol, however, says the film, despite being a typical Rohit Shetty entertainer, has something more to offer with its two love stories.

"It is definitely in the action comedy zone. It is a typical Rohit Shetty film but he has concentrated a lot more on relationships and love aspect with SRK and me and Varun Dhawan-Kriti Sanon's tracks. It is a nice mix of everything despite the many cars that he has destroyed in the film."

http://www.dnaindia.com/entertainment/report-too-much-pressure-on-actresses-to-look-a-certain-way-kajol-2153741

pallavi25 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
TFS!
Agree with Kajol, there is too much pressure on actresses to look glamorous all the time and to be a certain size (Parineeti, Sonakshi). Actors can be photographed in scruffy looks, can put on weight or look haggard, they dont get as much negative press as heroines do. Actresses too shd be judged by their acting, not so much by how they look all the time.
sandiab thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
Nice interview I agree with her
576281 thumbnail
I simply love the way she speaks with complete disregard to the political correctness...A part of her charm is because of this aspect...She is 41? I thought she was 40, not that that it makes any difference...Even Urmila and Karisma are of the same age, but they are already almost gone...Wonder what Urmila is doing...How do these people make their ends meet after they stop acting??Its a tough life to be an actress, I think...
Pehchaan.Kaun thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
Kajol need not worry about looks She has maintained it in the best possible way !
Anaya_ thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Nice interview
all the best kajol
ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: cricketfan1

I simply love the way she speaks with complete disregard to the political correctness...A part of her charm is because of this aspect...She is 41? I thought she was 40, not that that it makes any difference...Even Urmila and Karisma are of the same age, but they are already almost gone...Wonder what Urmila is doing...How do these people make their ends meet after they stop acting??Its a tough life to be an actress, I think...

It's not as tough. Urmila/Karishma still get a few lakhs for attending events. I'm sure they still make at least a couple of crores a year without any film assignments.
-vaishnavite- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
I love her straightforward manner. :') <3 People can call her 'annoying and a loudmouth', but in a industry of 'keeping up images' and lies, she comes across as someone who is very true to who she is. That's partly why, IMO, SRK is so close to her. He likes genuinity. She's not afraid to say what she feels, be it 'industry appropriate' or not, and is honest about what she says. It's such an admirable quality ❤️ And for the record, I love her laugh, it might be me, but I think it's energetic and hilarious in itself 😆
_InVogue_ thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
She is someone who I will call brutally honest.I mean in a video interview,she so casually said I didnt like Tukur Tukur", sitting right next to the producer of the movie😆I can ignore her brash behaviour for the sake of unmatched innocence and honesty I get to see in a BW actress.Like SRK said,she is still so raw and its envious how stardom hasnt changed her one bit.That is what makes her unique.No matter how much ppl try to make it seem like SRK chose Kajol in Dilwale over Bebo/Aish only to milk DDLJ nostalgia,his every gesture proves otherwise.Like member PAcino said,SRK was going through some kind of personal crisis in 2011-2012 period..After it got over,he found the need to reconnect to his old true pals like Kajol,Juhi,Farah...Especially with toxic ppl like Kjo around,the process was inevitable.

Entirely my opinion.Do not bother quoting to mock or write an essay trying to change it.Cos I wont reply...as simple as that😃