Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 1st Aug 2025 EDT
GEETU & KICHDI 1.8
ONE CHANCE GIVEN 2.8
71st National Film Awards (Celebrating 2023)
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 02 August 2025 EDT
Congratulations SRK National Award
Makers mission to prove Navri incompetent in all aspects.
Anupamaa 01 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
A joke called National award
Congratulations National Award Winning Actress Rani Mukerji
ManVik Hits 150 & Forum Hits 100😎
Asli Gunehgar
Anupamaa 02 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
YRKKH SM updates, BTS and Spoilers Thread #124
If Vanga directed Saiyyara
🎉 Book Talk Forum July 2025 Reading Challenge Winners👏
22 years of Hungama
CID Episode 65 - 2 August
Chapter 10 - TV Pe Breaking News
Link to: Table of Contents
Meher quickly exited the cab that had stopped outside her building, paid the driver his fare, then ran inside. Her hands were shaking as she searched her purse for her keys. As the elevator doors opened on her floor, she heard what sounded like someone angrily pounding on a door. Meher covered her mouth as she saw 2 burly men standing in front of her apartment, demanding for her to come out. She quickly pressed her body against the side of the elevator to avoid being seen, and pressed the button to take her back down to the lobby.
Once there, she ran back out to the street, and frantically waved her hand for an auto.
"Han Bibi Ji. Kidhar jana hai? (Yes ma'am, where would you like to go?)" asked the auto driver that had stopped for her.
Without giving it much thought, Meher instructed the driver to take her to the train station.
A short while later...
Meher was wandering aimlessly at the train station the auto driver had dropped her off at. She tried her best to avoid meeting the gaze of the people passing by. It must be my dress, she thought. I have to do something about it. I'm sure to be spotted easily dressed like this. If Viren sent men to my apartment, it means he knows I'm missing. God forbid if they come looking for me here! Surely I'll be safe with so much public aroud me. Or will I? Oh God! What should I do?
Just then Meher came across a small snack stand. She put her hand on her throat. It felt very dry. She purchased a bottle of water, and sat down on a nearby bench to quench her thirst. She had taken just a few sips, when she spotted 2 men walking down the platform in her direction. One of them looked like that friend of Viren's, she had seen earlier. Meher let the bottle slip from her hand and ran down the platform. The men spotted her and began to run after her.
Too afraid to look back, Meher ran as fast as she could through the crowded platform, up the stairs and onto another platform. Once there, she spotted several trains that were just beginning to leave. She quickly ran alongside one, before managing to grab a handle and pull herself inside. It wasn't until the train had left the station completely, that she breathed a sigh of relief.
Meher slowly made her way inside the car, and sat down in an empty seat in front of an older couple. She exchanged a nervous smile with them, as she used her dupatta to wipe the perspiration from her forehead.
"Sab theek hai na puttre?" asked the friendly woman. Meher only nodded in response. (Is everything alright my child?)
"Jaspreet! When will you learn to mind your own business?" her husband scolded her. He eyed Meher suspiciously before burying his face behind a newspapaer.
"Per vekho to sahi, kuddi kinni pareshaan dikh rahi hai", said Jaspreet. (But the girl looks so tensed).
"Woh toh hogi", said her husband. "Lagta hai mandap se bahg ke ayi hai". (Of course she's tense...she looks like she just ran away from her wedding).
"Hai Rabba!" said Jaspreet. "Then we should definitely help her. What if she was being coerced into a marriage by her evil step mother. Or what if some goons are after her?"
"Jaspreet, you've been watching too many movies", grumbled her husband. "She probably abandoned some poor decent guy at the mandap and is running off to meet her boyfriend. Hmph! Kids these days I tell you".
Jaspreet shook her head at her husband, then leaned towards Meher and said. "Ahem...myself Jaspreet Kaur. Yeh mere woh hain". (That's my husband).
Meher didn't respond.
"Shakal se toh ache ghar ki lagti ho. Toh phir mandap se kyun bhagi?" asked Jaspreet. (You look like you're from a decent family, then why did you run away?)
Meher looked at the woman, before bursting out in tears.
"Jaspreet...look what you've gone and done", her husband complained.
"Me? I was just trying to be neighborly", said Jaspreet. She got up and sat next to Meher, and patted her hand. "There there now, everything will be alright". She assured her. "Here have some water. You want something to eat too? You'll feel better once you've eaten. I always do".
Meher gratefully took the roti roll and bottle of water Jaspreet was offering her, and gulped them down hungrily. She was about to thank the woman for her kindness, when the TC stopped by her seat.
"Tickets please", he said. Meher watched Jaspreet and her husband hand over their tickets to the TC. "Tickets please", he said to Meher.
"I...I don't have a ticket", Meher mumbled.
"Jane do na sir. Bechari bauhat pershan haygi hai. Jaldi mein ticket lena bhool gayi hogi. (Let it go sir. She's very stressed out. She probably forgot to buy a ticket by mistake). But she can buy one right now", offered Jaspreet. "You do have money don't you?" she asked.
Meher nodded.
"It's settled then TC saab, please cut her a ticket", insisted Jaspreet.
"Where to?" asked the TC, rolling his eyes.
"I don't know", said Meher. "Where is this train going?"
"Mumbai", replied the TC. "Last stop on this train is Mumbai".
"Assi bhi Mumbai ja rahe hain (We're also going to Mumbai)", Jaspreet said happily. "Please give her a ticket to Mumbai".
Meher thought of stopping Jaspreet, then decided she was too tired to argue with the over zealous woman. She watched as the TC scribbled something on the pad he was holding. He then tore the paper and handed it to her. She quietly paid the fare he had written down, then tucked her ticket into her purse.
"So nice that everything worked out, isn't it?" smiled Jaspreet. "Now...we can keep each other from getting bored by chatting along the way".
"Actually aunty ji", sighed Meher, "if you don't mind, I'm very tired and..."
"Han han!! Koi gal nahin. Tu araam kar puttre. (Yes yes. No problem. You go ahead and rest.) We can always talk later", said Jaspreet.
Meher drew her legs up and leaned back on her seat. She was exhausted, and it wasn't long before the back and forth rocking of the train had lulled her to sleep.
The next day...
Meher opened her eyes, as she felt someone shaking her.
"Utthe puttre" (Wake up child), said Jaspreet. "We've reached Mumbai".
Meher sat up and rubbed her eyes. She watched as Jaspreet and her husband collected their belongings. Jaspreet was about to leave when she turned and smiled at Meher. "Look my dear", she said, "I don't know what kind of trouble you're in, but a friend of mine runs a shelter for girls. Here's her card. It may come in handy". She placed the card in Meher's hands, patted her cheek warmly and left.
Meher slowly rose from her seat and walked towards the train's exit. As she peered outside, she was met by the hustle and bustle of the crowded platform. She stepped into the sea of unknown faces, and allowed the flow of the crowd to guide her to the street outside.
Once outside the station, Meher saw a tea stall. She purchased some tea for herself, and had just sat down on a bench to drink it, when some one raced by bumping into her. The tea fell from her hands, but worse than that, she realized that whoever had bumped into her, had also snatched her purse.
"Chor! Chor! (Thief! Thief!)" she cried, as she ran after the man. But it was no use. No one paid any attention to her cries for help. Her heavy clothes and jewelry slowed her pace, and the thief was soon out of her sight. Meher sat down on a bench at a bus stand and began to cry. She was lost and hungry. She had put the card Jaspreet had given in her purse, along with her money and phone, so now she had nowhere to go and no one to contact for help.
Come on Meher think think! She scolded herself. There must be something you can do. My jewelry! Of course! I can sell this and buy some clothes, and maybe even find some place to stay for the night.
Meher asked some passer-by where she could find a jewelry shop, and then began to walk in the direction he had indicated to her. Unbeknownst to her, 2 men had begun to follow her. After what seemed like ages, Meher finally arrived at a street lined with jewelery shops. She went inside one, but the owner had stepped out for lunch. She walked to another shop, but the shopkeeper tried to cheat her by offering her too little money. She was deciding on which shop to try next, when she was accosted by the 2 men who had been quietly following her.
"Let go of me!" she cried, as she struggled to break free from the men who were dragging her to the ally behind the row of buildings. One of them attempted to cover her mouth with his hand to keep her from screaming, but Meher bent forward and bit down hard on it instead. He let her go and yelped in pain. His partner slapped her hard across her face, and she fell faint in his arms. The two men then carried her towards a beat up car, shoved her in and drove off.
Later that evening...
Meher woke up to find herself alone in an ordinary looking room, with the curtains drawn shut. She had been stripped of her jewelry. She slowly got up and walked over to the door as noiselessly as she could. There were men's voices coming from the other side. She opened the door slightly, and immediately recognized the 2 goons who had brought her here. They were carefully inspecting every inch of her jewelry.
"It's solid gold I tell you Ricky...solid gold!" one crook cried happily.
"Yup!" agreed Ricky. "I told you we'd hit the jackpot by picking up this girl. Speaking of which, maybe I'll go and see if sleeping beauty is awake yet".
"Shut up you guys!" a third goon called out. "The boss said no one does anything til he gets here and talks to her. She must be from a rich family if she was walking around with so much stuff on her. Just imagine what they'll pay to get her back. We'll need her to cooperate when the boss makes a call to her family. So for the time being leave her alone. You can always have your fun later".
Oh No! thought Meher. How am I going to get out of this one?
Meanwhile...
Preet was pacing in the lobby of the hotel where the Cadbury and McCaan Ericson party was being held. He was met there by Gaurav and his wife Sam.
"Hi Preet", smiled Sam.
"Hi Gaurav...Sam", smiled Preet.
"What's the matter Preet? You look a little tense. Gaurav, have you been making him work too hard?" teased Sam. "So...where is she?"
"Where is who?" asked Preet.
"Your wife", said Sam. "Gaurav told me you got married along with Veera. I didn't believe it at first...I mean...I thought you were allergic to the word marriage...but then he showed me the pictures. She seems like a very nice girl. Is she coming to the party tonight?"
"Heh heh...Sam honey why don't you go inside and get yourself a drink and Preet and I will join you shortly, and then you can ask him all the questions you want", said Gaurav. Sam shrugged her shoulders and walked off to the banquet hall.
"You told Sam!" cried Preet. "I can't believe you lied to your own wife!"
"I had to", said Gaurav. "I figured she would hear about it from someone or the other at the party anyway...so better to make sure she was in sync with our version of events".
"This is getting worse by the minute", sighed Preet.
"I know", said Gaurav. "Any luck in getting in touch with Meher?"
"No", sighed Preet. "She wouldn't give me the time of day, when I went up to meet her. And I've been calling her every day since I returned, but she's not taking my calls. Even her roommate Maya refuses to tell me anything. And that's strange because I thought she really liked me".
"Well then we had better think of a good excuse to give Mr. Bakshi", said Gaurav.
"I know", sighed Preet.
Just then someone walked up behind Preet, placed a hand on his shoulder, and squeezed it affectionately. He turned around to see Ashlesha. She was dressed in a black evening gown, with spaghetti straps and a low cut neckline that showed just a little too much cleavage.
"Hi Preet", smiled Ashlesha.
"Oh...Hi Ashlesha", said Preet, as he looked over her appreciatively. "Wow! You look incredible in that dress".
"Tell me something I don't know. My walk, my talk, my dress, my hair, my attitude...everything is incredible", remarked Ashlesha, as she did a mini cat walk. "After all I won the Ms. Ludhiana title 3 times in a row, you know".
Preet controlled his smile as he watched Gaurav roll his eyes.
"But Preet, I'm very upset with you", Ashlesha said with a pout. "I heard you got married. You little heart breaker you. Main bhi soochoon...Preet ke andar ek glow si kaise a rahi hai (I was wondering why Preet was glowing of late)".
"Preet's been glowing?" asked Gaurav.
That's not a glow, thought Preet. That's a shine...from all the sweating I've been doing ever since Mr. Bakshi asked to meet Meher.
"I hope this doesn't mean we can't still be close friends. So...where is she?" asked Ashlesha. "Main bhi to dekhoon...kis ladki ne mujhse mera Preet chura liya (I want to see which girl stole my Preet away from me)".
"Tumhara Preet?" remarked Gaurav. (Your Preet?)
"Oh nevermind", said Ashlesha. "It's not like I was going to take her shopping or anything. I don't have too many gal pals, you know. Girls just don't feel secure with me around".
"I wonder why?" scoffed Gaurav as he watched Ashlesha walk away. "What a fake!"
"Yes, but a very pretty fake", smiled Preet.
"Don't you find it odd that up until yesterday she didn't care 2 cents about you", said Gaurav. "And now that she knows you're married she's all over you".
"Who cares", chuckled Preet, "because I'm not really married".
"Did I hear you mention the word married?" asked Rishap, as he joined Preet and Gaurav.
"And a good evening to you too Rishap", Preet said sarcastically.
"So where is she? The new Mrs. Preet Juneja", asked Rsihap, as he looked around.
"And since when does that become your concern?" asked Preet.
"It becomes my concern, when she becomes the cause of me losing my promotion", Rishap said gritting his teeth.
"Give it a rest man", said Gaurav. "You know very well the entire campaign research and ideas were Preet's. He only got what he deserved".
"Maybe", said Rishap, shrugging his shoulders, "but it wasn't enough for Mr. Bakshi was it? So he invented a wife for himself".
"I didn't invent her", protested Preet. Gaurav did, he grumbled in his head.
"Well if she is for real then where is she?" asked Rishap.
"She should be here any minute now", lied Preet. "That's why I'm hanging around in the lobby".
"Oh really", scoffed Rishap. "I thought it was because you were trying to avoid Mr. Bakshi. Speaking of whom, why don't I go and check on him and make sure he hasn't forgotten about welcoming the latest addition to the McCann Ericson family".
"Rishap wait...", said Preet.
"I hope you're not standing here alone by the time we get back Preet", said Rishap. "I mean it's a matter of wife or death".
"What a jerk!" cried Preet, as he watched Rishap walk away.
"Forget him Preet", sighed Gaurav. "He's just jealous. People like him don't mind seeing you do well, as long as it's not better than them. Besides, we have to figure out what we're going to tell Mr. Bakshi".
"Gaurav, I think I should find Mr. Bakshi before Rishap does and just tell him the truth", said Preet.
"But we'll lose our jobs", said Gaurav.
"Not we, just me", said Preet. "I'll tell him it was all my idea. And that you didn't know the truth and only told him what I told you to say".
Preet didn't have to go looking for his boss, because true to his word, Rishap was soon back with Mr. Bakshi.
"There you are Preet. I was wondering why you weren't inside, mingling with the Cadbury executives. Then Rishap here told me you were waiting in the hotel lobby to receive your wife", smiled Mr. Bakshi. "So...Where is she?"
"She uh...um...actually sir...she's not exactly here", stammered Preet.
"Not here? Then where is she?" asked Mr. Bakshi.
"Well...uh...sir...there is something I have to tell you about my wife", said Preet. "...she's...she's..."
"She's on the news!" cried Gaurav, as he pointed to the TV in the hotel lobby.
Preet, Gaurav, Mr. Bakshi and Rishap crowded around the TV screen astonished at what they were watching. Sure enough it was Meher, perched outside a window ledge of a building.
A local news reporter was giving his live commentary from the scene. "The young woman was spotted outside on the 10th floor of the building by a house keeping staff member, who alerted police. Although nothing has been confirmed, the police suspect it is an apparent suicide attempt. Given the way she is dressed she may be a jilted bride. The police have contacted the department's psychologist and are trying to keep the young woman calm until he gets here".
"I don't believe this", said Preet.
"So you weren't lying?" said Rishap in surprise.
"Preet! What the hell is going on here?" roared Mr. Bakshi. "Did you have a fight with the poor girl?"
"No I swear...I...uh...", stammered Preet.
"That look likes the building down the street", interrupted Gaurav. "I think we should get down there fast".
A short while later...
Preet, Gaurav, Rishap and Mr. Bakshi arrived at the building where Meher was. Preet was still deciding what to do, when his boss approached one of the officers at the scene.
"Excuse me, who is the officer in charge here?" asked Mr. Bakshi.
"I am", said an officer.
Mr. Bakshi read the name tag on the officer's uniform. "Inspector Khan, we're here to help".
"Sir I need you stay back", said Inspector Khan. "She's not listening to anything we say. She's apparently frozen with fright. We don't want to jeopardize the situation any further. But I assure you we have everything under control".
"But you don't understand", said Mr. Bakshi, as he pushed Preet in front of the officer, "That young lady up there is his wife!"
"She is?" asked the inspector.
"Um...uh...yes...kind of...you see...I", stammered Preet.
"Well what took you so long to get here?" asked Inspector Khan. "What did you 2 do have a fight or something?"
"No...I..." began Preet.
"Whatever", the policeman interrupted. He turned to another officer and explained the new turn of events to him. It was agreed that Preet would be taken upstairs in an effort to bring Meher back inside the building. Once upstairs, a belt and rope were secured around Preet's waist, then he was ushered to the window.
"Good luck son", said Mr. Bakshi. "And whatever you do, don't let her jump".
"Right", said Preet with a weak smile. "Wish me luck", he whispered to Gaurav.
Preet walked to the window, opened it and carefully peeked outside. Meher was standing plastered to the wall about 10 feet away. Her eyes were wide orbs fixed on the street below, and her face was ghostly white. Preet took a deep breath, carefully stepped outside and steadied himself on the narrow ledge. He was about to say something to Meher, when he made the mistake of looking down. Facing the actual distance below had a dizzying effect on him, and for a minute he felt his entire life flash before his eyes. Preet pressed himself against the wall breathing in short spurts in order to calm himself.
"Don't worry Preet", an officer called after him. "We've got a cable around you remember? And backup just arrived. They're tyring to set up an inflatable on the street in case she falls. You have nothing to worry about...just go and get your wife".
Preet nodded and said a little prayer, before slowly inching his way towards Meher. When he had covered more than half the distance between them, he decided to speak to her.
"Hi Meher", he said calmly. "You remember me? Preet...Veera's brother. Meher...please stop looking down and look at me".
At the sound of the familiar voice Meher looked in his direction. "Preet", she whispered, almost as if in relief.
"That's right...Preet", he said calmly. "I don't know exactly what you were thinking when you decided to climb out here, but if it was to check out the city view, trust me there are lots of better ways to do so. Ways that won't risk getting yourself killed".
"Preet...woh...woh", stammered Meher.
"It's okay...just keep looking at me", said Preet, as he continued to inch closer to Meher. "Everything will be okay...you're not alone anymore...main hoon na (I'm here for you)". As soon as he felt he was close enough, Preet extended his hand and offered it to Meher.
Meher stared at Preet's hand for a while, then finally nodded and placed her hand in his. Preet exhaled a sigh of relief. He continued to calmly offer reassuring words to Meher, as together they inched back towards the open window. Once there, the officers waiting inside helped to pull both of them in. Cheers rang out in the room, as Gaurav and the others commended Preet on his bravery.
Just then Preet heard someone sobbing. He turned around to see Meher with her hand over her mouth as tears poured uncontrollably from her eyes. He slowly turned and walked towards her, almost afraid of what her reaction would be. And afraid what he'd tell Mr. Bakshi when she denied being his wife.
"Hey Meher...you okay?" he asked quietly. "You're out of danger now. Everything will be alright. Trust me".
To his surprise, Meher suddenly embraced him tightly. And as she continued to cry into his chest, Preet slowly brought his arms around her and comforted her. Meher wasn't sure what she was doing, but not since her entire ordeal had begun, had she felt so safe and protected as she did right then and there in Preet's arms.