Yesterday Baaji's song broke many hearts in the forum....i on the other hand found it lacking...
You'll ask me why? i have always loved the jai-veeru friendship of our beloved duji...but i like them talking to each other sharing thoughts,ideas, problems.The scenes where there is a poignancy of brotherhood.
Some of the most remarkable moments fotr me were:
The post-chopper crash hug...the pre-SR hug..
The scene where baaji teases dutta for sups..where baaji teases dutta for seema.
The scene where baaji takes dutta to his first assassination assignment and later joins him with his tamancha in his killing spree...
The old adda scene..the watch scene...oh there are many...they are innumerable to count....
The rapport these two men share on screen is more like elder brother- younger brother than friends....
A song is not enough to depict its depth....neither are expressions no matter how beautifully executed...the fact that both VR and MR are awesome with their eyes and facial expressions is true..they are trully gifted actors...but I need the words too..
The scene today....right from the moment baaji held dutta's hand...right till he sarcastically asked suds with his eyes, if he would like to go first with the gun....that was duji....dutta his cool composed self, unmoving, outwardly unfeeling, but he eyes speaking a million words...baaji laying his heart out, his eyes pleading his only anchor in world to trust him once more....that was duji...
And i loved the cutting comebacks baaji had, in face of the jaw showing, bandar,sudarshan bhau...
"Ye dhande ki baat hum gandhe loggo pe chod do!" wah....Anil sir aapke hath choom lo. kya baat hai!
Aisi ghatiya tarah ki..mawali baat hi to duji karenge jab dhande ki baat ho...mumbai ki street talk yahi hai....rhyming taunts..."sumri mein leja ke thumri dekhau kya?" type ki bhasha...the original touch of those characters...i felt that it was lost somewhere...today when i saw a glimpse of it....i was so overjoyed...
Of course....Dutta pe ungli uthne waali hongi aaj forum pe..afterall the pompous jackass(gadha) asked for a test again...but guyz..that's Dutta...i believe..its not a test for baaji..it was a test for suds...he wanted to show suds that why baaji ke haazar khoon maaf? when suds was saying"ke bhau gaddar, dhokebaaz, darpok loggo se dosti nahi manata." the expression on dutta's face was like "my dear BIL, let me show you how your bhau makes out who is gaddar,dhokebaaz aur darpok. then you'll understand how bhau selects his friends."
when he said,"Bakwaas kar rahe ho tum dono" his voice was so calm..he didn't sound drunk or out of sorts at all...just the calm, coldblooded man who can kill with bare hands and yet embrass his friend and love with the same. he sounded like the voice of reason.
His way of testing kind of reminded me of jatak tale where king asks the two fighting women to have a tug of war, with the baby they were fighting for , being pulled in place of the rope..A test of love that only the true mother could pass. The king knew who was the real mother but he just wanted to show to the world what real mother could in her love, even go to the lenght of giving up her baby for its wellbeing.
Similarly, Dutta knows baaji's worth. His bravery, loyalty was never in question for him, it was the fact that his friend failed to trust him at a crucial point of his life. That rankles dutta. This test is to prove to all, what Baaji can do for him in a heartbeat. This test is not to prove baaji's loyalty to Dutta...its to show the likes of Suds that one Baajirao Patil is worth a thousand Sudarshan like him...Brother-in-law or not...he will never be able to replace dutta's brother-in-deeds.
So tell me how can a song say all this? Its not enough...No...Its not enough..
Words and action....And that's Dutta-baaji!!!
Yours Sincerely,
A hopeless Duji addict.