Part 8: Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr and Mrs Raizada
"Congratulations, sister. You have turned our lives into a Star Plus soap. And to think I was the one who had talent for drama in this house," Khushi said, as the sisters settled down in the plush deluxe suite of Sheesh Mahal after what had understandably been a real long day.
When Khushi, Payal and Aaaksh had walked into the Sheesh Mahal lobby, there was enough drama befitting a top-ranked desi soap. First everyone stood up and had an identical W*F expression on their faces. And the funny expressions were not confined to the usual suspects of Anjali Di and Daadi, but also included the normally very quiet Arnav Raizada and the ever smiling NK. It was Daadi who broke the uncomfortable silence, when she channeled her best Nirupa Roy act, walked up to Payal and Aakash, placed her palms on their face and almost choked with emotion as she rhetorically commented, "Beta! Tum Aa Gaye?!"
Once Daadi had given the green signal, everyone else followed suit and what followed was lots of hugging and tears. Even Arnav came and patted his brother's arms and said rather gruffly but with utmost affection, "Idiot!"
However, a wrong had been done and blame had to be assigned after all. As it often happened, the blame of it all fell fairly and squarely on Khushi.
"You knew, you knew," Daadi said, grabbing her ears and giving it the same twist that she did when Khushi would come home from school without having eaten her tiffin.
"Khushi, if you had at least told us that they were okay, we would have all been upset, but less worried," Anjali Di said taking on a motherly disappointed tone.
"Yeah K-star, why didn't you tell us you were bringing them along. We could have been better prepared," Nandu said, even he, her truest fanboy had ganged up against her.
Her Dad whacked Khushi's head, not really putting much force behind it, more relieved than anything at that point.
"No, no. Khushi didn't know anything.." Payal began but nobody was listening.
Khushi listened to everyone's reprimands. It didn't bother her too much. She loved her sister too much to let any of this bother her. But she still wanted to know what Arnav made of it. He stood a little further away from the group, a pensive and unreadable expression on his face. Khushi caught his eye and offered him a smile, a silent apology of sorts, he offered an eye roll in response. Khushi wondered if he was rolling his eyes at her on behalf of her. She tried to pull away from the iron-like grip of Daadi and walk towards Arnav when Lavanya arrived and linked her arms with Arnav's and whispered something into his ears. Evidently this seemed to amuse the man and he had this genuinely affectionate smile on his face.
Whatever, thought Khushi, he looks creepy when he smiles anyway.
Except that he looks the opposite of creepy.
In fact, he looks crazy hot.
When he smiles, the whole world stops and stares for a while.
Good lord, all these voices inside her head, writing cheesy, plagiarised poetry for Arnav Raizada's smile. This had to stop. Right now.
"Shut up, everyone!" she finally said. Evidently she had said this out loud because her whole family immediately quietened. Finally there was silence.
"I am sorry everyone. Payal and I are sorry. What Payal and I did was not right. Khushi did nothing wrong. She was the one who convinced us to come home. Let her be. In fact, it is not even Payal's fault. Can we all move on. We are hungry. And we need to change out of our wedding clothes." Aakash said, without raising his voice, with utmost firmness.
"There! There! Mr Raizada has the last word. Let us all break bread together. We have a wedding to plan after all!" said Lavanya winking at Aakash and hugging him.
"Good to see you here, Lizoo. Meet Payal," he said making the introductions.
"Hey Payal! You are marrying my favourite Raizada man. Take good care of him. I know you will." Lavanya said warmly and hugged Payal.
Wow! She seems nice. But I still hate her.
"Hey Khushi! We couldn't meet before, you just disappeared. I am Lizoo. I had to tell you that you are really so pretty. Isn't she, Arnav?" she turned towards him and asked.
Hmpfh! Nice try, Lizoo. But no thank you.
"Hi Lavanya, nice to meet you," Khushi said in what she hoped was a cool and worldly woman kind of tone.
"All this introductions-shintodructions can happen later, but are we still having a wedding," Daadi wanted to know, as always getting to the heart of the matter.
All eyes were on Aakash and Payal now. Will they? Won't they? Will they? Won't they? One could see that Dad was already ready to play his, I want what is best for my daughter..but... card. Daadi was ready with some kind of emotional blackmailing, you two marry, or else... Anjali Di's eyes had already filled up, clearly she was ready to fill up the very barren and dry Gomti river. Payal and Aakash had one of those telepathic eye-to-eye conversations and finally Aaaksh said, "Yes. we will marry!"
Rejoice! Hallelujah! Much hugging followed.
"Let us all freshen up and meet here in half an hour and figure out plans. I am calling Panditji also," Anjali Di said, already on the phone and activating manic wedding planner mode.
"Relax Di. Just a few phone calls and everything will be done," Nandu, the ever affable one said.
"Yeah Di. All we need is a new... ummm... caterer," Arnav said, a mischievous smile on his face as he looked at Khushi.
Kameena, Khushi cursed him silently wanting to wipe off his smug smile.
The next few hours were spent on preparing Sheesh Mahal for shaadi. The wedding was fixed for the next evening, with everyone wanting it to happen at the earliest.
Khushi had to climb up and down the Sheesh Mahal stairs, leading up the ballroom to supervise decorations and flower arrangements. After what was the tenth trip up the stairs, though it seemed like the 1000th she sat on the staircase, even as busy workers went up and down. Exhausted she watched on.
"Some nimbu paani for, Madam. Sorry it is not Lemon Rosemary Margerita," a familiar voice said, holding a glass to her face.
"Oh my god! Thank you. I love you," she said, accepting the glass from his hands.
He sat down next to her and considered her thoughtfully. He looked amused.
"You do?" he asked.
"No.. I mean. I don't love you love you. I just love nimbu paani. Not the same way I would love a person, of course. But.. oh well.. whatever. I don't love you. Obviously. Not that you are not worth someone's love..," she rambled on.
Shut up, Khushi! Shut up, Khushi! The many voices in her head demanded.
"Well, I love nimbu paani too." he said slowly and carefully. He then got up and clinked an imaginary glass and walked away.
She was still trying to wrap her head around what happened when her Ninja Daadi appeared and poked her on her shoulders.
"Oww," she moaned in pain.
"Shhh. Listen to me carefully," her Daadi whispered, looking around conspirationally.
God! What now, she wondered. Whenever her Daadi whispered as opposed to bellowed you could be sure that something was gravely off with the world.
"I want you to keep an eye on Payal until the pheras are done," she said continuing to whisper.
"What now," Khushi said rolling her eyes.
"Stop rolling your eyes at me. And I want you to make sure that Payal does not run away again. In fact, you should sleep in her room tonight and maybe tie her to the bed," Daadi went on, clearly she had it all planned.
"What the hell?! Tie Payal. Daadi, you are really crazy." Khushi said getting up, willing to do the trek up and down the stairs rather than listen to her Daadi's wacky ideas.
"You will do as I say. It is all your fault anyway. Keep an eye on her. Monitor the amount of time she spends in the restroom. Monitor her phone calls. And tie her up. Not with jute ropes, with soft cotton gauze. I have seen them do that in Hindi serials," saying this she walked away.
Khushi watched the retreating back of her Daadi and realised right at the moment why people said that insanity skipped one generation.
"Daadi asked you to do what," Payal said as they settled down to sleep.
"She wants me to tie you up. Like some kind of perverted Hindi TV show," Khushi giggled.
"Our life is really a bad TV soap isn't it. Without any vamps with long bindis," Payal sighed.
Well there was Lizoo, Khushi thought. Vamp, vamp, vamp. Except that she was dressed like a normal human. And was sweet. And a hugger. But a lot of vamps seem nice in the beginning.
"Khushi, you are dreaming again. What is wrong with you these days. You seem so... different," Payal said thoughtfully.
"Nothing is wrong with me. So tell me, why did you run away. I still don't understand," she said, neatly deflecting the scrutiny on her.
"Well.. it is complicated," Payal finally said.
"I am not Facebook. I am your sister. I need more than that," Khushi said.
"Well.. Arnav and Aakash's mom had written me a letter. in which she asked me to take special care of Arnav. Aaakash and I realised that with Asya gone, Arnav was alone again. We would like for him to have someone in his life and we were confused then, so we ran away. But now that Lizoo is there..." Payal went on.
"None of it makes sense. Why does Arnav need special care? He seems capable of looking out for himself. And he is rich, handsome and so nice, any woman will want him," she said.
"When did you become an Arnav Raizada fangirl," Payal asked pointedly.
"After I read a newspaper report that said that he is in contention for a $50000 prize for his newest book," she said grinning.
"Stay away from my brother-in-law, you evil mercenary woman," Payal said in a mock reprimanding tone.
"Make me," she said, sticking her tongue out.
"You have a bit of a crush on him, don't you," Payal asked.
"Yes. A bit," she said, half-truthfully.
"Hmm. Aakash seems to think that Lizoo is perfect for him. So be careful, lil one. I don't want you with a broken heart, okay," Payal said, in a concerned tone.
"I know. She is the better girl, the right girl for him. I will probably never meet him after your wedding," she said, now feeling melancholic.
"Wait. What? You won't visit me and Aakash after I marry," Payal asked pouting.
"No. You are paraya dhan once you marry, all connections between us severed forever. Na aana is des laado," she continued in dramatic fashion.
"I am going to ask Dad to cut off our cable connection at home. Good night," Payal said turning off the lamp.
Khushi sat on her side of the bed watching her sister turn and twist trying to find the best sleeping position. Finally she found one and slept, her breathing now rhythmic. She picked up her phone lying on the side-table. There was a message from Arnav.
Sleep well, Khushi. I have spoken to Aakash. Nobody is going to run away.
Thank you.
You are awake!
Is that a question?
An observation.
You are so clever.
Are you being sarcastic?
Sorry.
I forgive you.
So once the wedding is over, we will never meet or talk again.
Why? Are you going to die?
Women have higher life-expectancy than men. I will outlive you.
Does that mean I am going to die.
Don't be ridiculous.
Look who is talking.
Hmm.
So why do you not want to meet me?
Do you want to meet me?
Not if you don't want to meet me.
I want to keep meeting you if you want to keep meeting me.
And I want to meet you only if you want to meet me.
We seem to have reached some kind of stalemate.
Or we could just agree to be honest with each other.
Arnav Raizada, do you want us to keep meeting once this wedding is over?
Yes, Khushi Gupta, I would like to do that. In fact, very much.
We have a deal then.
So we do.
Good night, Arnav.
Sweet dreams, Khushi.And that is when Khushi was absolutely certain that her ovaries exploded.
"Arnie, I have never got the purpose of this seven pheres. Why not five? Or three? Or eight? What is so special about seven," Lizoo asked him as they watched the wedding that was underway.
The beautiful decorations, the grandness of it all and the packed presence of guests all did not betray that this was a hastily put together wedding. Everything was perfect. Aakash, his younger brother made a dashing groom. Payal, his almost sister now, made a lovely bride. Anjali Di seemed satisfied. Even Payal's Daadi had an expression of approval on her face. All was well.
He turned towards his best friend, he was so happy to have her around. They hadn't met in the longest time and only after meeting her again did he realize how much he missed her.
"Well every phera has a meaning. They are vows, promises. If you think about it, is actually very beautiful," he explained smiling.
"Arnie, you are a closet romantic, aren't you," Lizoo said playfully.
"Nobody has ever accused me of that one until now," he said wryly.
"There is always a first time," Lizoo said.
Arnav looked at Khushi, she was sitting right next to Payal through the ceremony, she looked sombre. Perhaps the reality of it all hitting her now. That she will be losing her older sister, friend, confidante, mother figure. Not lost, but someone whose time and affections she will need to share with another family. He felt this intense longing to go and give the girl a hug. He was really a lovesick puppy. And he really still had no idea about how she felt about him or her equation with Shyam.
"She is really pretty, isn't she," Lizoo whispered into his ears.
"Huh! Payal? Yes, she is very pretty," he said, a little embarrassed.
"No. I mean Payal is pretty, but I meant the girl you were staring at. Khushi. She is very attractive," Lizoo continued, enjoying seeing him squirm.
He shrugged.
"Oh come now, Arnie. Don't give me that. You can't take your eyes off her even for a second. Admit that she makes your heart sing sappy songs," Lizoo was on a roll now.
"Fine. There is something about her," he admitted.
"There is something about Khushi. How sweet. I think she is sweet on you too. The two of you look so cute together. Ooh there will be such cute babies," Lizoo's imagination now running away.
"Hold on. What babies?! One thing at a time," he said.
"Pish posh, Arnie. Please don't tell me yours is some kind of pure, celibate love. Would be a pity given the amount of chemistry and sparks that the two of you have is enough to light up the entire Sheesh Mahal," Lizoo went on.
"Hmm. How do you know she likes me too? How can you be sure?" he asked her.
"For one, I am not blind. Secondly, Khushi hates me," Lizoo said in a completely sure voice.
"She hates you? Eh?" he asked. Sometimes Lizoo can be so fanciful and cryptic.
"How can you be a writer and not be aware of what is happening around you? Khushi hates me because she thinks I am competition," Lizoo explained.
"Ah?" now it all beginning to make sense.
"Ah! Indeed! I want to put the poor girl off her misery, but I am enjoying this too much," Lizoo went on, clapping her hands.
"I see. In that case, how open are you to the idea of giving her a fake-real reason to be jealous," he said, raising an eyebrow.
"Though that is really evil, but me likey," Lizoo said.
And so he took hold of Lavanya's hand and walked closer to the mandap as the last of the solemnizing of the wedding was happening.
"Vivah sampann hua," the rotund Panditji finally proclaimed.
Mad scampering followed soon after, with every member of the extended family trying to squeeze in a hug and offering their congratulations to this newly minted couple. The bouncers who had been hired tried to keep the crowd in line, but were doing pitiful little. Finally Daadi and Anjali Di took over and formed a human shield around Aakash and Payal.
These two ladies should run the country, Arnav thought, every problem would be fixed.
He and Lizoo walked towards where Khushi was.
"Congratulations, Khushi. New jeeju mubarak," Lizoo offered her hand to Khushi.
She hesitated for a bit and took it and smiled at her. She then turned towards him and was about to say something when her eyes fell on his hand which was firmly clasped by Lizoo's hands. He watched with part amusement and part sadness that she changed her mind and walked away in a huff.
"It is working," Lizoo whispered into his ears and he nodded.
The rest of the evening was spent with Lizoo firmly entwined around his arms and the two of them playing the more-than-friends-less-than-lovers act to the hilt. So preoccupied they were putting on this little show for Khushi that they did not notice that the one person keenly observing them through all this was Anjali Di.
The reception happened at the grand ballroom of Sheesh Mahal. It was truly beautiful, straight out of some kind of beautiful period drama; the beautiful chandeliers, the exquisite craftsmanship on the walls and the doors, the drapes, the upholstery, everything was perfect.
When Aaaksh and Payal walked in, Arnav took over the mic and announced, "Ladies and Gentleman, Mr and Mrs Raizada."
As the guests broke into an applause, Anjali Di said over the din in a sure voice "Lizoo, looks like we might soon see another Mr and Mrs Raizada, yes?"
Lizoo and he watched on with a bemused expression, just realizing what happened. He looked across and noticed that Khushi was looking at him. She raised her glass at him and walked away to mingle.
After what seemed like hours, Arnav managed to find Khushi. She had made her way out of the ballroom and was on the terrace of Sheesh Mahal, hitched up her beautiful sari, her hair tied into an alarmingly high messy bun and with a tray full of drinks.
"Drinking alone? Very bad, Khushi, very bad," he said standing at the entrance.
She scowled at him and said, in what he suspected was a mild slur, "Go Away, Raizada."
"How drunk are you?" he asked, now standing next to the spot where she was sitting with the glasses.
"I am not drunk at all. You can ask me any maths problem, I will answer it correctly," she said, looking adorable with that pout of hers.
"Hmm," he said as he sat down next to her, there face now just a breath away from each other.
"Where is that girl?" Khushi asked, pushing him back.
"Which girl?" he asked, amused.
"That girl with perfect hair and perfect teeth. That girl," she said.
"Which girl, Khushi," he asked as he untied her hair and let it frame her face and fall around her shoulders gently.
"That girl. Lizoo or whatever her name is," she finally said.
"Ah! Lizoo is trying to clear the air with Anjali Di. I didn't know you had a crush on her. You should tell her, she will be thrilled," he finally said.
"Fine. Then you will have to fight me for her," she said, in a more cheerful tone.
"I look forward to it. I think you will make a worthy adversary," he said as he now removed the tray from between them and pulled her close to him. He placed her head on his chest and stroked her hair. He could find that her body relaxed and she almost purred with satisfaction. He now took her chin in his hands and looked at her. He was amused to see a hundred different emotions that ran through her eyes. It must be really busy inside Khushi's head.
"Raizada, don't you try and have your wicked way with me. I am drunk," she finally said as she put her arms around his neck.
"I thought you were not drunk. Didn't you say that you could solve any maths problem? Make up your mind, Khushi," he said.
"Not drunk enough for maths. But drunk enough for everything else," she said, now resting her head on his shoulders.
"Khushi I think you may have solved a parenting problem. How to get kids score high in maths, get them a little tipsy. You should write a parenting book," he told her.
"Yes. It is on my bucket list," she said, as if she remembered something suddenly.
"You have a bucket list," the memory of a file in his study now coming to him.
"I used to. Do you have one," she finally asked.
He was about to answer when his phone rang. It was Lizoo.
"Hey, Lizoo."
"Arnie, where are you? I can't believe you threw me under the bus and disappeared."
"Sorry. I am with Khushi."
"Is she okay?"
"Yes. She is a little tipsy. We are just coming down."
"Aww. Okay. By the way, I think your cousin NK is a cutie."
"Cutie?"
"What is wrong with your voice?"
"Well there is no accounting for taste."
"I will still get to be a Raizada this way."
"Of course, Mrs Raizada."
He turned towards Khushi and realised how this conversation would have sounded to her given that she just heard one side of it. He walked towards her and realised that she was crying and now blowing her nose rather vehemently into her very expensive designer sari.
"Khushi, are you upset because of Lizoo. Let me explain."
"What? I am sad because my sister is married."
"You are sad that she is married?"
"No. That she is married and going to live in another house."
"You are sad that she is going to live in another house."
"No. I am sad that I will never meet her again."
"You will never meet her again? Why not?"
"I don't know."
"You can visit her when you come to Bombay. And she will visit you when she comes to London. She is married. She is not dead."
"But ladki is paraya dhan."
"She is what?"
"Wealth that belongs to other."
"Khushi, are we friends?"
"No. Maybe. Yes."
"Good. In that case may I make a suggestion that you immediately get your head examined."
"I hate you."
"No, you don't."
And Arnav Raizada lifted a passed out Khushi and carried her out.
He was glad that the wedding was over. He was glad about heading back to London tomorrow. There had been enough drama in the last few days to last him a few years. He looked down at this beautiful person in his arms; one who could solve maths problems after downing a few vodkas. She was going to be his spot of sunshine back in wet London. Sometimes the universe is on your team.
Part 9: https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/87905414 Edited by TabassumR - 12 years ago