642126 thumbnail

Yash Chopra had better heroines and more mature characters until he did Chandni. Since Chandni his heroines are all about jumping and prancing around, fiddling with dupatta or plucking flowers and playing with lambs and puppies like a kid who was let out of home for first time by parents. I did not like Sridevi's prancing around in Chandni either or that nonsensical dance in rain at her boss' house or asking her boss also to come and join them outside in rain. Totally unrealistic. Perhaps another attempt to show childlike innocence in heroine.

When I watch Yash ji's older films like Trishul, Deewar, Shakti, Daag, Vijay etc I cannot believe it is same man who made candy floss stuff in 90s with caricaturish heroines and heroes.

1194442 thumbnail

Originally posted by: atominis

I am referring to fictional characters in films not real life image.

Preity is shown as cutesy girl in most of her early films. Teddy bears, jumping and prancing around or dancing with Mickey Mouse ears cap with Rani in Piya piya song.

Rani was shown as naive, boisterous in her early films like Badal, Har Dil jo Pyar Karega, Bichoo, Kahi pyar na ho jaye.

Juhi was shown childlike innocent, cute, naive in almost all her early films before 1994-1995. She is in school uniform in one of early scenes of Darr.

Karishma was shown like an overgrown kid in films like Dhanwaan, Andaz and a spoilt bratty girl in Raja Babu.

There are plenty of films that show girls as too playful, boisterous, clumsy or extra cheerful, always prancing, laughing, smiling for no reason or getting into trouble and then hero saves them or gets attracted to their so called childlike innocence.

Manisha Koirala is also shown childlike in Saudagar. Even in scenes when she is not with her grandfather. Speaking in extra sweet voice which almost sounds artificial or prancing around for no reason.

It's possible that I haven't watched enough bollywood movies, esp. from the 80's and 90s, if I missed this obvious depiction of women cuz I haven't watched half the movies you mentioned. But it's putting that song, Chocolate, lime juice, teddy bear and whatnot, from Hum Aapke Hai Kaun into perspective. 😆 I never had a teddy bear growing up and just didn't get what the fascination was all about.

I found Preity impressive in Sangharsh, Kya Kehna and Dil Chahta Hai cuz she had substantial roles in all of them without the child-like fluff. In fact, Aamir was a child like character with a coming-of-age story there.

Har Dil Jo was a copy of While You Were Sleeping and Preity was mature as a character there too, except the Piya Piya song they just burst into randomly. In Chori Chori Chupke Chupke, she was a prostitute--a jaded one.

Rani was mostly seen in constricted, prim and proper sanskaari bahu roles during her initial days but started experimenting later on, which worked for her.

I have to agree with Karishma's characters though .... they were mostly damsels in distress. She was at her best in Dil Toh Pagal Hai.

I'm guessing this issue was a raging one back in the days but not so much now.

642126 thumbnail

I agree on Sangharsh, CCCC, but disagree on Kya Kehna. There was attempt to show Preity as childlike and ghar ki laadli beti/behen in first part of Kya Kehna as well and her pregnancy is intially passed off as nadaani, naivete. The character matures only when she decides to keep the baby. Otherwise even Preity's chair has teddy bear on it in beginning of the film.

Rani was rarely sanskari bahu in her initial films. She has done Badal, Bichhoo, Hello Brother, Pyar Diwana Hota Hai type stuff, her own share of girl in mini skirts or holding teddy bears and Mickey mouse toys. Ghulam, Mehendi, Raja ki aayegi baraat, KKHH are definitely more mature characters.

She was shown childlike in Nayak also, jumping around, playing with lambs or having less idea of responsibility of CM and calling Anil anytime in public when he became CM or being hyper excited when she saw her video recorded by Anil.

Maroonporsche thumbnail

Originally posted by: atominis

How many times you saw hero entering jumping and prancing around or playing with his scarf or having teddy bears, flowers and chocolates, ice creams?

Ive seen plenty of heroes prancing 😆 They all prance