Ritu Shivpuri blows a lid on her casting couch experience

TheBoss thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Ritu Shivpuri is ending her 10-year break from acting with Anil Kapoor's thriller series 24 Season 2. The Laal Dupatte Wali girl, who plays a doctor in the TV show, says she is here to stay. SpotboyE.com caught up with the actress for an exclusive chat. Ritu was at her candid best, as she opened up about family, staying away from the limelight and most interestingly, who she would like to romance on-screen if Aankhen was ever remade. Read on:

You are coming back after 10 years. How does it feel?
My heart never really left, it belongs here work-wise. My family is my first love and acting, my second love. I am excited to be back.

Were there any inhibitions while facing the camera?
No, it felt like home, acting is in my blood. My mom and dad (Sudha and Om Shivpuri) have done this all their lives. Everything is so organised, work is simpler now. Earlier we used to have only secretaries; now, there is a PR team. It is a great phase to be around, as lots of women-oriented films are being made.

How did 24 Season 2 happen?

When the production unit got to know that I am ready to return to work, they called me up. Mine is just a cameo appearance.

Any other projects in the pipeline?
I am doing a film with Puneet Issar, titled He Man. The script is the hero of the film, which is a complete entertainer with comedy and action. I have a meaty role in it. I have been getting a lot of offers, but am weighing my options.

Being Sudha and Om Shivpuri's daughter, did you ever feel the pressure to be famous?
No, I was groomed to be married. Aankhen (1993) happened by chance -- Pahlaj (Nihalani) uncle offered me a role and I accepted. However, when I started acting, I realised that I loved it. But back then, it was very difficult being a part of the film industry. I don't want to get into details. Now, everything is very professional. I don't like it when people approach me on a personal level. I don't like them calling me and saying, So, when are we gonna meet?' I meet for work and that's it.

Did you face the casting couch?
Every time I was approached personally for a film, I withdrew myself. I like to keep my personal life guarded. This was one of the reasons I quit films.

What kept you busy away from the limelight?
I am married to a wonderful man (Hari Venkat) and we have twins (Rohil and Samara). It is important for a mother to be around the kids during their foundation years. My children are 9 now -- they are busy with their own activities and I have time for myself.

How did your family react when you said you want to make a comeback?

Hari supports me in everything. When I told him that I want to pursue acting again, he was more than happy.

You married someone from a non-filmy family...
My heart has always ruled my head. I don't know why, but I just wanted him to be a part of life. I wanted him to be mine.

How do you guys keep your romance alive?
Over the years, companionship starts mattering more and you live through your children. Small gestures make a lot of difference. When I get back from work tired and my husband orders my favourite food, that becomes romance for us.

Bollywood actresses are doing well in Hollywood...
Earlier, actresses were only used as eye candies, we were not even given dialogues. Now, Priyanka (Chopra) and Deepika (Padukone) are doing well in the international circuit. I feel proud being an Indian. I must also mention Ranveer Singh. He is God -- he is the most talented actor Indian cinema has ever seen. You can't be mediocre now, I love the competitiveness.

How important is it to maintain a sexy image?
I used to shy away from the sexy' tag. Back then, the title damaged you more than it helped you. But today, you want to look hot and sexy. It's seen as a compliment.

Are you still addressed as the Laal Dupatte Wali?
Oh yes! I am stuck with that for life! Until and unless something else happens which will surpass that song's popularity, I'll be called Laal Dupatte Wali.

If Aankhein was to be remade or a sequel happens, who would you like to see in the cast?
Ranveer and Arjun (Kapoor) for sure. They make a good, funny on-screen pair. The female leads can be played by Parineeti (Chopra) and Alia (Bhatt).

And if you were approached for the remake, who would you romance?
(After much hesitation) Salman (Khan)!

Angel-likeDevil thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
Oh.. so she is that doctor in 24!
@underline - ..it's nice that she didn't give in and things have improved now..
Edited by Angel-likeDevil - 9 years ago
TheBoss thumbnail

Originally posted by: Angel-likeDevil

Oh.. so she is that doctor in 24! nice.

Yeah. I remember her from Aankhen. Quite surprised that she had to face casting couch despite being from film fraternity family with so many big names around her. 😕

She hasnt changed much.

zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7
She is quite pretty.. I remember watching her in a small role in Elaan too
MercurialMedusa thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
She's "baa's" daughter isn't she?
931547 thumbnail
She was ugly 'HOT'. Yeah that's a thing. Not the prettiest face but something was so Hot about her.
Angel-likeDevil thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: TheBoss

Yeah. I remember her from Aankhen. Quite surprised that she had to face casting couch despite being from film fraternity family with so many big names around her. 😕

She hasnt changed much.

yeah, her face looks cute.

Don't know, I think these politics run way too deeper than we can imagine.. My dad tells me about lots of things, he knows about, through his colleagues and friends... it's much worse than what manages to surface occasionally - but that is regional film industry.
blue-ice. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
No, I was groomed to be married.
What is this supposed to mean?...ki beti roti gol gol banao nahi toh sasuraal mein daant padegi..🤔
zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: blue-ice

What is this supposed to mean?...ki beti roti gol gol banao nahi toh sasuraal mein daant padegi..🤔

I can make gol roti😆 Isn't that what most of the girls are taught? Kuch bhi karlo zindagi ka ultimate matlab tou shadi hai?
TheBoss thumbnail

Originally posted by: blue-ice

Matlab like zabaan nahi ladana, sas sasur ka adarsh karna, male bacchey paida karna, ek gori ladki bhi paida karna, baking and cooking mein expert hona, pati ki peet dabana, khoob saara dahej lana. 😆