MR.KooL thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 3
  1. Boxofficedetail ?@boxofficedetail4m

#CEAdvance update.. Real picture of advance will come once single screens start it.. Waiting.. Keep connected

Expand
    • Retweet
    • Favorite
    • More
  2. Boxofficedetail ?@boxofficedetail5m

#CEAdvance update.. Advance to start at few single screens tomorrow and complete advance at single screens will commence from Wednesday!!

ablazedmelody thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Rajdeep Sardesai ?@sardesairajdeep2h

At 10 pm will be joined by @iamsrk and deepika padukone. A welcome break from the netas!

870349 thumbnail

Originally posted by: you2

Bollywood Special Features

CATEGORIES : Special Features-August 05, 2013
  • B.O. records SRK intends to break with Chennai Express
  • By Bollywood Hungama News Network
Over the years, Bollywood has evolved from just another form of entertainment, to one of the biggest industries churning out crores of rupees in profits, with film collections crossing the formerly untouchable Rs. 100 crore mark. In this field of cut throat competition, with alliances formed and broken depending on the success of a film, being on top comes with the tag of being not just the best there is, but also the most successful and sought after. Of course all the top stars are constantly vying for the privilege of being the leader of this business.

Shah Rukh Khan, a name that has always been at the top of most of these lists today may find himself in a bit of a fix. Albeit the rapid influx of younger and equally talented and popular actors, this megastar has been finding it difficult to hold on to his top position. Currently gearing up for his upcoming release Chennai Express, SRK has been going all guns blazing in promoting the film.

We at Bollywood Hungama decided to take a look at some of the records King Khan may just be desperately looking at breaking with Chennai Express:

• The first and by far one of the biggest records is that held by professional rival and frenemy Salman Khan's Ek Tha Tiger, for being the fastest film to reach the Rs. 100 crore mark, in just 5 days.
  • Back in December 2009, Aamir Khan's 3 Idiots created history with a lifetime domestic collection of Rs. 202.47 crores, as compared to SRK's current highest Jab Tak Hai Jaan that stands at Rs 120.85 crores. SRK will certainly be gunning for the record of Aamir's that has endured for 3 and half years now.
  • While on one hand SRK battles the domestic collections of 3 Idiots, on the other, he has the US collections of 3 Idiots's to beat that stands at 6,533,849 USD gross followed by SRK's My Name Is Khan 4,018,695 USD.
  • If not Aamir's in the US, SRK will surely be gunning to break his own record of My Name Is Khanin UK which collected 2,626,608 pounds gross.
  • The recently released Ranbir Kapoor starrer Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani has fast claimed the number one slot in the UAE, a territory that has been relatively predominantly the Khan bastion. To reclaim top slot in UAE, SRK's Chennai Express will have to surpass YJHD's collections that stand at 6,500,000 AED.
  • Another record that SRK will be gunning for is yet again held by Aamir, that of 3 Idiot's collections in Australia. In this case, much like the US collections, Aamir leads with collections of 1,077,333 A$ gross followed by SRK's My Name Is Khan at 876,794 A$.
  • The last, much like the first, held by Salman Khan is that of the highest Opening Day grosser with his film Ek Tha Tiger. The film which collected a surprising Rs 32.93 crores as compared to SRK's Ra.One that managed Rs. 18.5 crores.

From the above mentioned records, a major portion is held by rivals Aamir and Salman, while rising star Ranbir is the only contender from the new lot of actors. Though we at Bollywood Hungama have tried to encompass most of the records available, if you know any that we might have missed, post it in the comments section below. Also, we would want to know from you if SRK will be able to break each of these records mentioned above.

Interesting such lofty expectations we will see wear the film will reach 😆😆😆
Edited by VictorLordJr - 12 years ago
Che.Guevara thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Now, many screens will be increased in Bangalore, AP and tamil nadu. SCREEN COUNT might touch 3800 now. #ChennaiExpress
DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: KARAN888

Now, many screens will be increased in Bangalore, AP and tamil nadu. SCREEN COUNT might touch 3800 now. #ChennaiExpress

they should have a big release on south!!! the title and srk rajni name cn draw crowds!!
ablazedmelody thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
SRK's Chennai Express overtakes Jab Tak Hai Jaan
Mehul S Thakkar, TNN | Aug 5, 2013, 11.56 AM IST

Cashing in on Shah Rukh Khan's popularity, producers of Chennai Express are all set to show the film in 700 screens outside the subcontinent, making it one of the biggest overseas releases till date.

This surpasses SRK's Jab Tak Hai Jaan, which released in approximately 600 screens.

A source close to UTV told Mirror: "The following week is the busiest for international releases with Eid and mid-term holidays coinciding. Yet, the production house has managed to get such a large number of screens for the film to ensure a wider reach. It is releasing in over 50 countries including some non-traditional international markets like Peru, Morocco, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France and Israel."

A trade source said: "There are some territories like Germany where Indian movies never worked. However, SRK's popularity in overseas market has encouraged the production house to foray into uncharted territories."

Amrita Pandey, from the international distribution team UTV confirmed the story.
Che.Guevara thumbnail

South PowerStar Pawan Kalyan postpones AtharintikiDaredi to avoid Clash with SRK's Chennai Express..

Expand
  • Retweet
  • Favorite
  • More
Che.Guevara thumbnail
#ChennaiExpress is ruling iTunes 4 songs in Top 10..
Che.Guevara thumbnail
SRK and Deepika live right now

live stream link

MoodyFoodie thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Not spoofing South India in 'Chennai Express': Deepika Padukone

Last Updated: Monday, August 05, 2013, 20:41

Not spoofing South India in 'Chennai Express': Deepika Padukone

New Delhi: Deepika Padukone's Tamil tinted Hindi dialogues in 'Chennai Express' may not have gone down well with some critics but the actress denies that the film caricatures South India in any way.

Deepika says she is a South Indian herself and would never spoof her own culture. In fact, it took her a while to master the Tamil-Hindi tone in the Shah Rukh Khan starrer movie.

Directed by Rohit Shetty, the film releases this Friday.

"I don't understand why people are jumping to conclusion without even seeing the film. We all are South Indians, Rohit is a South Indian and I think except for SRK most of the crew was from South.

"Why would we spoof our own culture? For years, our films have been based in Punjab but now few films have started setting their stories in South India. I think people are not yet used to it. It is a comedy and larger-than-life film so dialogues are meant to be funny," Deepika said during a promotional event of 'Chennai Express'.

The film will see Deepika play a Tamil girl who falls in love with a North Indian despite the language barrier.

The 27-year-old star said she could identify with her character of a headstrong but traditional girl.

"I could identify with my character. I think Indian girls are like that. They have a mind of their own but are close to their families. Even when we are travelling outside, we don't lose that quality and stand out in the crowd. We have a way of carrying ourselves with lot of dignity and respect."

Fresh from the success of 'Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani', the actress is looking forward to another hit in 'Chennai Express' which will see her reunite with Shah Rukh Khan after 'Om Shanti Om'.

She is also working with directors Imtiaz Ali and Homi Adjania again and though she will not confirm, Deepika has reportedly signed Farah Khan's 'Happy New Year' opposite SRK.

Amid all the work there is little time for the actress to enjoy a break. She recently cut short her holiday to sign a big project but Deepika says she is not complaining.

"Every film has its own journey and sometimes you make right and sometimes wrong decisions. It is all part of the learning curve. It has been a wonderful journey for me and I want to enjoy the experience. I am doing well and I have worked really hard to be where I am today," Deepika said.

Her reported link-up with 'Ram Leela' Ranveer Singh has been a part of media gossip for sometime but Deepika says she has learnt to tackle the pitfalls of fame.

"I don't Google my name. I get too much information about myself anyway. I would want to keep my private life private but I understand where it comes from. People are curious to know such things."

PTI

First Published: Monday, August 05, 2013, 17:19

Edited by Paani.Puri - 12 years ago