No one will let me do 'Dabangg' or '3 Idiots': RK

ViccoTurmeric thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Born in a family of cinestars, Bollywood's star actor Ranbir Kapoor says he never entered filmdom with the intention of becoming a star. He also said the current crops of actors are no comparisons to the likes of Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan, who have an "aura" about them.

Ranbir, who has proved his mettle film after film since debuting with unimpressive Saawariya in 2007, credits the media with giving him the "pedestal" of a star.

"I am not here to be a star, I am here to be an actor. We have grown up watching Mr. Shah Rukh Khan, Mr. Salman Khan, Mr. Akshay Kumar or Mr. Ajay Devgn on the screen. They have an image, aura and stardom," Ranbir said.

"That (in their) time, they didn't have (so much) media, but media has helped us a lot. It has put us on a pedestal. We are created stars," he added.

The 30-year-old, son of veteran actors Neetu and Rishi Kapoor, and grandson of the legendary Raj Kapoor, believes his generation of actors need more time to prove themselves.

Talking about himself, he said: "It's been only 10 films. I don't take these tags (of a star) seriously. If someone compares me to them (stars like Shah Rukh, Salman, Akshay and Ajay), they must be embarrassed as these actors have been working for 25 years. I have just completed five years."

Nevertheless, he finds it "encouraging" and he truly hopes, "I can live up to this."

Even within five years of his Bollywood journey, Ranbir has shown an impressive variety with films like Raajneeti, Rockstar and Barfi!. He feels taking a "different path" helps people "recognise your work".

Moreover, he feels it is vital for an actor to create his own "niche".

The only ideology Kapoor goes by before selecting a film is whether people will like to watch it or not. He feels that it is important to make your own niche.

"When I heard Barfi! and Rockstar, I thought of them as commercial films. I thought that these are films which I will want to see. So, (as an actor) you must have your own point of view.

"If you feel that people will like the film, then do it. If I see a (script of) Dabangg or 3 Idiots, no one will let me do it. They will say we have Salman Khan and Aamir Khan (respectively) to do it. You have to make your own niche," he said.

Never one to take the audience for granted, Ranbir said: "You want to reciprocate their support by giving them a good film. I just have to give them good movies and be good at my work."

642126 thumbnail
How fake!

First his PR forever keeps putting him in same league as Khans. Then he himself tries to act "humble" saying he is not in their league. 😆

He's right media puts today's kids on a pedestal. Who can know better than him?

Why does he defend himself so much and call himself "young" in industry? It is more than 5 years now mister! And 10 films? Sorry baby, likes of Salman Khan, Ajay Devgan, Aamir Khan made a splash in their first films themselves! And SRK - first film in supporting role - hit. The very next year he gave superhits both as solo hero and second lead (where he ate up his more popular and established co star Sunny Deol, while you don't even have balls to act opposite seniors!).

No one will let you do Dabangg or 3 Idiots? Darling you do not have it in you to do a Dabangg. And you were offered a role in 3 Idiots but you refused (Kapoor prince ke nakhre!). You were recently offered PK but you refused that too, kyonki yuvraaj ko second lead nahi banna!

Only Barfi was a huge success. Rockstar is nothing to be proud of commercially. Only your performance and ARR's music are worth talking of in its case.

And what's this 25 years defense? Baby even your first 6 years are NOT comparable to those of your seniors. 25 saal door ki baat hai.

Your PR compares you to them. And maybe fans online. In real life people like you for your potential but no one thinks you're comparable to Khans, Kumar or Devgan!
MR.KooL thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 3
only 4 days left...ab toh bas kar 😆
642126 thumbnail
@Rambo_rajkumar

Every hero played second lead or supporting actor. But only blue blooded Kapoor prince refused biggies because he didn't want to do such roles.

Raajneeti is the only multistarrer he did. I doubt if he would have done it had it starred bigger stars or had likes of Ajay Devgan in substantial role. He knew Ajay had miniscule role in it so he took it up.

He seems to have too much of a chip on his shoulder to play second lead in a film that also stars a senior star.

Or he is scared of being reduced to eternal second hero/supporting actor as his dad was despite a super successful debut in Bobby!
DobbyDeol thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 8
this guy is sooo fake...!!...ranbir fakepoor...
826912 thumbnail
i am tired of his silly interviews and stupid comments...how much more can this idiot torture us?? :/
.Sad.But.True. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
W*F!
I am actually a fan of this guy called RK but these days reading his i/ws just makes me want to slap him 😡 He is irritating me!
Edited by ..SaNjEeDa.. - 12 years ago
pakeezah thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
he was hilarious in Ajab Prem Ki Gajab Kahaani...

im sure he can rock a Dabanngg or any role
BIackSwan thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
He sounds sarcastic more than humble. He's trying hard to pretend to respect the likes of Salman, SRK, Akshay etc but it sounds BS. No wonder I like this guy only on big screen
"I am not here to be a star, I am here to be an actor.

so ranbir bit him or hi bit ranbir 🤪? most probably yjhd bit both of them. 😆