7. Love & War

6 months ago

m4manju Thumbnail

manjiri

@m4manju

Font:
Text Size:
Theme:

This is on demand from Bubbles_16ss to write something on the track where ASR taunted khushi for not earning. This is also the last part of this series.

About this episode: Arnav brings Aarav a bicycle to coax him and Khushi doesn't like the way he did it. So, later, she tries to make Arnav understand that buying costly things for a kid to persuade him is not good as he would always think this is how he can get whatever he wants. Arnav says he doesn't see any problem with it as he will be able to provide everything needed. Khushi feels hurt and asks him if he is saying so as she isn't earning. Then he laughingly taunts her that frying jalebis is different than running a business. She challenges him that she can earn more than him and thus starts a war! (S11 episode 2 on Hulu/Hotstar, Epi 356 otherwise, timestamp 5.03 onwards)

Note: Aarav is adopted by Anjali, not Arnav-Khushi here. I'm sidestepping the awkward narrative of ArShi being pushed with an 8-year-old kid so early in their marriage, which wasn't continued in later arcs anyway (IPK Season 2 / Ek Jashn). [All my books assume Aarav was adopted by a suitable family instead/his real parents come for him.]

Watch the scene

--~--

They were a mismatch. She always knew that.
He was well-educated, she had barely finished college.
He spoke fluent English, she struggled to understand half the words.
He wore branded clothes, she wore hand-stitched ones.

But none of that had ever made Khushi feel small. Not really. Not like the money angle did.

Yes, Arnav had brought it up often in their early courtship (?) days when she was a mere employee for him. Taunted her for being poor. But deep down, she had always known, it wasn't really about money. It was just him trying to fight the pull he felt towards her. A defense. Nothing more.

During her jiji's wedding rituals when he had changed his attitude towards her, had softened a lot, then also she knew they had some differences. He came from an affluent family, ran a multi-million-dollar business. And she? She was from a middle-class home. Had even pawned her jewelry once just to manage a few expenses. Never mind that it was to buy gift for him (on Lavanya ji's behalf but still).

But that had all faded into the background when he had confessed his love. In the most dramatic, filmy, Arnav Singh Raizada way possible. And after that, none of it had mattered.

Until today.

Today, he'd hurt her again.

First by implying she didn't understand anything about spending money.

Then by laughing and saying she couldn't earn anything with her jalebis.

They were a mismatch. He always knew that.

She was a soft-spoken girl; he was a rude, sharp-tongued man.
She was kind and gentle; he was clever and harsh.
She had a beautiful heart and a beautiful body, he wouldn't lie while he was scarred, inside and out. A beast to her beauty.

If this had been one of those arranged marriages with different points and background checks, they would've probably scored a zero match!

And yet, none of it mattered. Not in front of the love they had for each other.

Then why was she bringing money between them now?

Yes, he had been a total jerk in the past. He'd insulted her status, called her names. But all of that, every word, had only been said because he was trying to fight what he felt for her. Trying to convince her, convince the world, and mostly himself that she wasn't his type.

But the truth was... he was never her type.

Anyway.

Today, she had crossed a line.

Questioning him for pampering his own nephew? What was wrong in that?

The bicycle barely cost a few hundred bucks. And if it made Aarav smile, helped him forget his sadness even for a little while, wasn't that worth it?

What was the point of earning, working so hard every day, if not spending it on your family?

And if she was reacting like this over someone else's kid, what would she do when it was their child someday? Would she stop him from buying gifts for his own baby?

How ridiculous was that? It was preposterous!

No. He wouldn't let that happen.

She had challenged him; had said she could earn just like him. Fine. Let's see.

Maybe then she'll understand how good it feels to spend your hard-earned money on someone you love.

And how it feels when someone tries to stop you from doing that.

--~--

As the night started and firecrackers lit up the Diwali sky, a few were going off in Khushi's mind too!

How dare Arnavji suggest she didn't know how to earn money?

Did he think she had been running her babuji's shop as some no-profit charity? Oh, how she missed her babuji right now! If he had fully recovered, he would have told Arnavji all about her skills, how she turned things around and brought profits to their little store.

So what if she didn't have a fancy degree like him? That didn't mean she had no skills!

And now... she was going to show him!

Lost in her thoughts, she didn't even realize when Arnav had entered their bedroom. These days it had become his habit to hug her from behind, kiss her shoulder, and just hold her close.

She was startled for a second as his hands snaked around her midriff.

Had he forgotten what had happened just a few hours ago? Or did he just not care how his words had hurt her?

Her face burned with anger as she harshly pulled his hands off her waist, breaking free from his hold.

Arnav stumbled back a little, surprised by the sudden push. "Khushi?" he asked, stunned.

"I'm not Khushi. Because I'm not khush (happy) right now!" she snapped. "Did you forget, hamare beech sharth lagi hai (we have a bet going on)?"

Arnav's face stiffened in frustration as he stepped to touch her. Man, after all, and their 'priorities'. "Please, Khushi. Not now. We'll talk about this in the morning, okay? Come here." He reached out to hold his (very pretty and very angry) wife's hand.

But Khushi wasn't in the mood for sweet gestures.!

"No, Mr. Raizada. Until I prove to you that I can earn, more than you, I won't let anything distract me." She said, pointing a finger towards him.

"Kya bachpana hai (What childishness is this), Khushi?"

"It might sound childish to you, but it isn't to me! And I'm going to work on my plan now for which I need peace. So, I'll be in the study. You go and sleep."

It felt like a taunt to Arnav. Yes, he had been annoyed at her earlier. But like most men, his irritation had vanished fast, especially when his beautiful wife was standing right there in his bedroom.

"Fine then! Suit yourself!" he snapped, grabbing a towel and heading toward the washroom.

Khushi frowned. Why was he taking a shower at this hour? She didn't realize...it wasn't going to be a warm one for her poor husband tonight.

--~--

It had been two days. Two days since the bet.

And both of them were struggling in their own way. Together, yet alone.

While Khushi had almost finalized her idea to restart her old dabba business, but on a much bigger scale this time, maybe something close to a sweets venture, Arnav was just... missing her. Wanting her near.

Khushi sat in the study, staring at her old notebook. The one she used for record-keeping when she helped run Satvik Mishtan Bhandar back in Lucknow. Her babuji had taught her how to track profits, manage savings, and handle day-to-day expenses.

That notebook had helped once. It would help again. But the scale she was aiming for now... it was different. Bigger. And she knew she might need a little polish. Some help. Perhaps she could just hire someone outside, her pride told her.

Or perhaps ask help from someone who already knew how to run a business like a pro. Someone who also happened to be her husband.

Should she ask him? Would he even help, considering the bet?

Outside, on the bedroom's poolside, Arnav stepped out and noticed the light still on in the study. Through the glass windows, he saw her pacing. Focused, stressed, determined. The same way he had seen in the last 2 days.

And something tugged at his heart.

Part of him was proud of her strength. Part of him was irritated by the space between them. But all of him, every single part, was hopelessly in love with this stubborn, amazing woman.

He had already realized his mistake. He knew now he shouldn't have doubted her ability to stand on her own. He'd seen it firsthand with his own eyes, how she'd once taken care of her whole family, single-handedly. Her never say die attitude.

But would his giant ego let him accept that loudly in front of her and take the defeat?
Maybe he should just wait and watch. And suffer in silence, his brain taunted him, not just from the physical distance from Khushi, but also her cold, quiet treatment.

--~--

The next day went by in a whirlwind.

Khushi had managed to get hold of some good business consultants. They asked her a ton of questions, about her business idea, the kind of scale she was aiming for, where she planned to set up production, and if she had any funding in mind. She knew answers to a few, not to a few.

Meanwhile, Arnav had quite an unproductive eventful day. Yeah, that oxymoron was because not having a productive day was an event, a catastrophic one in ASR-the business tycoon's world!

An event that had started repeating way too often ever since his marriage to Khushi!

"Screw it!" he muttered, slamming his laptop shut.

And just like that, Arnav Singh Raizada left the office an hour before even the earliest-leaving employees.

Yes, that early.

Parking his car at Shantivan, he tossed his keys and laptop bag toward a very startled HP and stormed inside, taking the stairs two at a time. He threw open their bedroom door, half afraid she wouldn't be there.

But she was in there.

Standing by the poolside doors, lost in her thoughts.

She turned at the sound of the door.

"Arnavji?" she said, surprised.

"Khushi let's stop this." he said not knowing what else to call whatever this war was between them other than "this", "I accept defeat. You win. Okay?"

"But-" she started, holding up the notebook.

Arnav noticed it and misunderstood. "You want it in writing?" Typical ASR logic. "Fine. I'll do it."

Khushi's face softened a little. She walked up to him, gently took his hand, and led him to the bed, making him sit down.

"First, tell me." she said, looking at him seriously, "do you even understand why we were fighting?"

Arnav frowned. "Because I brought the cycle?"

Khushi shook her head. "No, Arnavji. It wasn't about the cycle."

He sighed. "Yeah... about me saying you can't earn money." He paused, struggling with the words. "I didn't mean it like that - I just -I..."

Truth was, he wasn't even sure he completely understood what upset her so much. He earned money for her. For their future kids. For their family. Why shouldn't he be allowed to spend it as he pleased?

"It wasn't about the cycle, Arnavji. Or just about the money. It was about you undermining my capabilities. About dismissing my opinion, on how we should or shouldn't spend, especially when it comes to kids." She paused. "You didn't even ask what I thought. You just did it." and as she saw realization in his eyes, she went for the bull's eyes, "And it was also about how you made me feel... lesser. Yes, I know running a business is hard. But that doesn't mean I can't ever do it. Or that I shouldn't even try."

Arnav gently held her delicate face in his hands. "I'm sorry, Khushi. I didn't realize. But please know... I've never thought of you as lesser. Not even for a second, sweetheart. If anything... I'm not worthy of you." He said, his throat was tight with emotions.

And like always, his Khushi was right there, ready to wrap him in her love.

She placed her hand gently over his mouth. "Never say that again." she whispered. "You're perfect. So brilliant, so successful, and so handsome, even more than Salman Khan ji! And you're all mine!"

He rolled his eyes at the Salman Khan jibe but couldn't help the smile tugging at his lips. Because his heart was finally soothed by her words of love and her touch...

Two months later, Khushi Singh Raizada stood at the podium in AR's office, holding a press conference to announce her new venture, Gupta Foods. The business aimed to cater to the middle class, with a variety of Lucknow sweets and Indian snacks.

Yes, in the past 2 months, with her hard work and her husband's expert advice, she was able to launch her business. And today was the day, she was making a public announcement for official start of 'Gupta Foods'.

Arnav sat beside her, proudly observing the nervous yet glowing Khushi as the press conference began. Reporters were told that all questions would be directed to Khushi and a couple of board members from the newly formed Gupta Foods, and that no questions would be taken for Arnav Singh Raizada.

As the conference started, Khushi answered all the questions with confidence, albeit a little nervous, given it was her first time in the spotlight like this. The reporters were impressed, as her answers showed her clear vision and hard work.

However, after a few questions, one reporter eventually directed a question to Arnav!

"Mr. Raizada, what do you think of this new venture? What do you think of its future from a businessman point of view?"

Arnav's first instinct was irritation as despite instructions they still went after him, but then he looked at Khushi. She was looking at him, unsure, in anticipation perhaps. And in that moment, he knew what exactly he had to do, to say!

So, he took the mic and responded, "Well, today is for Mrs. Khushi Singh Raizada. I'm just here as her husband. But let me tell you this, I have absolute faith in her abilities. And I'm certain that very soon, you'll all be attending her success party."

The room buzzed with claps as the press took note of his words. And then the headlines the next day read:
"A new profit-making business on the horizon. Gupta Foods, launched in style by Mrs. Khushi Singh Raizada. Proud husband ASR confident of grand success."

"So, I won the bet!" Khushi said, cheekily, later that night.

Arnav smiled and kissed her nose, "Shayad jeet gayi (Maybe you won). But I have won something much more precious."

Her eyebrows furrowed in question.

"You." he whispered, looking straight into her eyes, full of love.

--~--

A/N - This is how I would have liked this track to go instead of that Mrs. India weirdness we got. I know, i know the makers had valid reasons of less time etc. to wrap it up but still... Also, no CSD snippet this time as this itself has ended with happy ending. When I imagined this book, it was supposed to be pure angst, like its predecessor which I had written for my other fav couple Ross and Rachel back in 2015. But something about arshi doesn't let me dwell into total angst for them. So we had sweet endings in almost all chapters, kind of showing a journey of 'it should have been you' to 'it is you'. Hope you liked it in this way.

And with that we conclude this series. I know there could have been many more moments to write on 'It should have been you', especially I had 'Heer-ranjha' episode and 'biggest mistake' episode in mind. But had to stop here for priorities reason. Sometimes, it's good to savor something 'short and sweet'. Until next time, people.😊

Your reaction

Nice Nice
Awesome Awesome
Loved Loved
Lol LOL
Omg OMG
cry Cry

Post Your Comment

Stay Connected with IndiaForums!

Be the first to know about the latest news, updates, and exclusive content.

Add to Home Screen!

Install this web app on your iPhone for the best experience. It's easy, just tap and then "Add to Home Screen".