'TV is the safest medium for women' - Rati Pandey

Rati Pandey is back to television with Star One's youth-based show Mile Jab Hum Tum where she will play the love interest of Arjun Bijlani...

The vivacious actress, Rati Pandey who was last seen in Zee's Har Ghar Kuch Kehta Hai is back from her break and will soon be seen in the upcoming endeavor of Star One's Mile Jab Hum Tum where she will essay one of the most important and bubbly characters of the show.

We at Telly Buzz present an exclusive interview with Rati on her new venture, Bollywood and about her personal life too.

What was the reason for taking up Mile Jab Hum Tum?
After Har Ghar…, I wanted to play a character of my age and this show has given me the opportunity to do so. This will be my third show. Not many people know that I debuted on television from Deepti Bhatnagar's Shaadi Street which is supposed to come on Star Plus. I don't know why the show is held back for such a long time.

Can you elaborate little about your character in Mile Jab…?
I play the role of Nupur who hails from a small town. She comes down to Mumbai with her sister Gunjan (Sanaya Irani) for further studies. Both of us take admission in the same college where my cousin Dia (Navina Bole) is studying. Nupur is an extrovert and fun loving person that's what I can say for now. Slowly the character will develop and will be romantically involved with Mayank (Arjun Bijlani) in the show.

What were you doing during your break from television?
I was on a complete vacation in Delhi with my parents. I took almost two months rest after Har Ghar went off air. Besides that I was also recovering from a ligament tear in my ankle that I suffered during the performance of Zee Rishtey Awards last year. I did not get time to treat it earlier as I had already started with my Zee show. Even this time doctors suggested me to go for a small operation, but I could not due to date problems. I also did two south films during my break, so overall quite happy and satisfied.

Are you satisfied with the roles that you have played till now?
Well when it comes to satisfaction I'm still seeking for a big break where I can get good recognition as an actor. Its not that I'm not happy with the roles I have played in the past as it has reformed me, but still I want people to notice me as an actor with sense.

What kind of roles you are looking out for? Is it negative?
I'm keen on doing some powerful roles like that of a woman entrepreneur, or something related to corporate world. I don't think doing negative roles will be good for me initially. I may take one later but not those saas bahu stuff.

You have been seen in Indian looks only and not glam ones? Any specific reason for that!
There is no reason for it. It’s just that I have got such roles till now, but still am satisfied as even in Indian wear, I got an opportunity to experiment with my looks. In Har Ghar… it was a typical bahu's look whereas in Shaadi Street, it was a simple and sweet look with a naughty touch to the character. Again in Mile Jab… I look different. I told my director that I want a diverse look and they gave me this hair style which makes me look unlike my other characters.

Are you also planning to take some reality shows?
For now it's just this one show, but I would like to take a singing or a dancing reality show. Not many people know that I can sing with zeal and confidence though I have not taken any professional training. I had been learning Salsa for three months now and enjoy dancing.

It's been heard that you were supposed to take out your own album? What happened there?
Ya, before debuting as an actor I debuted as a singer. I was planning to cut my own album with one of my friends from this industry and we even composed the song and shot a video. The work was not completed as I started with my acting career.

Is Bollywood on your mind?
Yes of course, Bollywood will be my next step as an actor. Who doesn't want to go into that? But for now I still feel I need to brush-up more as an actor. TV is an equally powerful medium and I feel it's safer for women too. But later on if I get good offers I'll definitely take it.

Reporter and Author: Rachana Trivedi

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Arjun Bijlani Thumbnail

Arjun Bijlani

Rati Pandey Thumbnail

Rati Pandey

Navina Bole Thumbnail

Navina Bole

Sanaya Irani Thumbnail

Sanaya Irani

Deepti Bhatnagar Thumbnail

Deepti Bhatnagar

Comments (33)

Sanaya Irani may you get anew show soon
and may this show rocking

5 years ago

Sanaya Irani love you
may you get anew show soon
and may this show rocking

7 years ago

Sanaya Irani missing you sweety hope to see u soon in ashow like mjht

7 years ago

Sanaya Irani love u and i am here only for u and no one else

7 years ago

Sanaya Irani love u aload and missing u on TV hope u back soon

7 years ago

Sanaya Irani missing you my angel missing you alot

8 years ago

Sanaya Irani is the best i watched mjht only for sajan

8 years ago

Sanaya Irani love you as gunjan you rocked in mjht is my best show

8 years ago

RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U
RATI LOVE U

12 years ago

wish i could have her songs! she's got an amazing voice.

12 years ago

Latest Stories