'Janhit Mein Jaari' director Jai: want to make social films, jaise 'Raju ji haste hue badi baat bol dete hai'

Recently we had a conversation with Jai Basantu Singh, the director of the film Janhit Mein Jaari. He shared his thoughts about the filmmaking process and his future endevours in the industry.

Team India Forums

View Profile
Jai Singh

Filmmaker and writer Jai Basantu Singh is making headlines as his film Janhit Mein Jaari starring Nushrratt Bharuccha has received rave reviews from audiences as well as critics. 

Recently, India Forums had a chat with him and the director shared his insights regarding the filmmaking process and his future endeavours.

When asked, what drove him to take up such a sensitive topic as a debut director for making a film and the challenges he faced while doing so, he remarked,

"Firstly I am very happy and overwhelmed that as a director, I am getting to direct a film on such a subject."

He further stated that,

"In the pandemic, my friend Raaj approached me with just one line concept and I said, I want to write on it. While writing the film, I was not opted as the director, but after scripting it, when I started pitching the story and explain it to the producers actors and other people, Raaj came to me and said, why don't you only direct this film. You have the vision, you created this world so why not."

He further talked about the challenges and said,

"Challenges began from there. Condom is a very delicate subject and it can go wrong and can be taken in a wrong manner, so I made it clear that how I want to portray my vision and put it in front of the audience. The coordination of a director and a writer becomes very helpful in such a situation. And now the response it's getting, where entire family is going to watch it makes me feel relived that I could achieve what I had imagined."

We further asked him that now as we have seen the response of the critic and audience for Janhit Mein Jaari, would he want to work on more such films in the future that would spread out some kind of a social message but in a lighter way?

To this Jai replied, 

"Yes yes, I am actually working on one such project currently. It was supposed to be out before this film but due to circumstances this got released first. That film will also be on the same lines. It also contains a very strong message".

He further expressed that,

"As a filmmaker and writer this will always be my approach that I can say something substantial or show something through my films, give something to my audience like Rajkumar Hirani does. Wo haste haste boht badi baatein bol jaate hai, and I am very much inspired by him and would want to walk on the same path."

Talking about the film Janhit Mein Jaari, it hit the big screens on 10th June  and stars Nushrratt Bharuccha, Anud Singh and, Vijay Raaz in key roles. 

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Janhit Mein Jaari poster

Janhit Mein Jaari

Comments (0)

Latest Stories