Catwoman thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
Posted: 17 years ago

HAPPY VAISAKHI

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh

History

Vaisakhi is a long established harvest festival in the Punjab. It had been celebrated long before it gained an added dimension for Sikhs.

In 1699 the tenth guru, Guru Gobind Singh, chose Vaisakhi as the occasion to transform the Sikhs into a family of soldier saints, known as the Khalsa Panth.

Guru Gobind Singh founded the Khalsa in front of thousands at Anandpur Sahib.

During the Vaisakhi festival Guru Gobind Singh came out of a tent carrying a sword. He challenged any Sikh who was prepared to give his life to come into the tent. The Guru returned alone with his sword covered in blood. He then requested another volunteer and repeated the same action four times until five men disappeared into the tent. The crowd was very concerned until they saw five men return wearing turbans with the Guru.

These five men became known as the Panj Piare, or 'Beloved Five'.

The men were then baptised into the Khalsa by the Guru. He sprinkled them with Amrit ('immortalising nectar': the Sikh term for holy water) and said prayers. This is the basis of the Sikh baptism ceremony.

Celebrations

Vaisakhi is celebrated in much the same way as Gurpurbs. Gudwaras are decorated and visited. Parades, dancing and singing happen throughout the day. Many Sikhs choose to be baptised into the Khalsa brotherhood on this day.

Nagar Kirtans

The festival is marked with nagar kirtan processions: processions through the streets (nagar means "town") which form an important part of Sikh culture and religious celebrations.

Kirtan is a term meaning the singing of hymns from the Guru Grath Sahib, the Sikh holy book. Celebrations always include music, singing and chanting scriptures and hymns.

The processions are led by traditionally dressed Panj Piaras.

The Guru Granth Sahib will be carried in the procession in a place of honour.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It's Time to Dance😳

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAml0NaM_eQ[/YOUTUBE]

Love Kat😳

Edited by Catwoman - 17 years ago

DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
u Benagalis also celebrate Vaishaki>> its da 1st day of da Benagali New yr>>>
Catwoman thumbnail
^^ lol im punjabi... and we celebrating all over the weekend... 😳
Jasmine... thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
thanx and same to all the punjabis 😳 😳
baisaakhi diyaan lakh lakh vadhaaiyan 😃 😃 😃
happy baisakhi evryone 😳 😳
Ladoo645 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Happy VAISAKHI !!

Have a crazy funfilled day! 😳

-Natasha
spln thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
hey kat...baisakhi's on the 13th isnt it????but thanx for the wishes....wow feels nic to be wished for baiskhi here outa home!!!!same to u!!!
sim.07 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Happy Vaisakhi to all DMGians😃
Edited by lrl_01 - 17 years ago
Catwoman thumbnail

Originally posted by: spln

hey kat...baisakhi's on the 13th isnt it????but thanx for the wishes....wow feels nic to be wished for baiskhi here outa home!!!!same to u!!!

yeah...it's on the 13th... but the guru granth been read all week here in bham and im going to be busy with the nagar kirtan tomorrow...lol 😆... plus H Mann is performing in my maakya so im going to be watching him this evening..😉

aweeee honey i wish u 🤗🤗🤗

artizia thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Happy Vaisakhi to all DMGians
and special one to my Kat di 😊
jia.. thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Happy Vaisakhi to every one on this forum........... 😳

And specially to u Kat............. 😳