Article: Aastha Chaudhary Strikees Big

Anashah1980 thumbnail
Anniversary 18 Thumbnail Group Promotion 4 Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 15 years ago
AASTHA CHAUDHARY STRIKES BIG
[10 Sep 2008]
ALL THE AUNTIES LIKE MY SHOW

She's the quintessential demure and pretty Indian bahu every mother wishes for her son. She's the dutiful daughter that we all aim to be. Simple, charming and constantly striving to achieve that balance in her personal and professional life, Babul Ka Aangan Chootey Na's lead protagonist Aastha is eerily similar to the soft-spoken and docile Aastha Chaudhary. Her show is currently leading the TRP bandwagon on Sony, and the young actress has much to smile about.

ST: How did you take acting as a profession after being a qualified software engineer?

AC: I gave myself six months for acting in Mumbai. Otherwise, I am a qualified software engineer, and could take up a job here in that field.  But a cameo in Saat Phere was followed by a four-month role in Rakhi, where I played the parallel lead. The big break, of course, came in the form of Sony's Babul…. I gave an audition, and got a call from them after that. I was short-listed among the final few, after which I had to clear about 5-6 look tests.

ST: Wasn't Chhavi Mittal originally considered for the lead role?

AC: That's what I'd heard. I'm guessing that's why they made me go through so many look tests. They must have been confused, whether to sign on a seasoned actress like Chhavi or a newcomer like me.

ST: It's also been heard that her parents were not too happy about her decision to join the acting field.