Anu179 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Hi NB..After reading Parinay,( commented there too ) moved on to Boomerang...Very very very intriguing...cliff hangers pe cliff hangers...was reading all the updates with nail biting intensity...now no more updates to catch up...the suspense is killing me...what's happening with the trio...Arnav/Khushi/ Shyam...waiting for mystery to unravel...

Hats off for your mind blowing research...it's sooo detailed...and pictures are just awesome..👏
Impatiently waiting for next update...meanwhile will catchup on CD...

A big THANK -YOU ...for taking out time from your busy schedule to entertain us...
nazca thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Why I feel syham's is no more. May be for some good reason she would have got married and in hiking something would have happened. Back in time both arnav and Shyam would have had the same feeling, kushi must have been forced or willingly leaned towards Shyam.

Arnav was not aware of Shyam's present condition so bickering kushi. The truth you are planning to burst in Everest peak right. As you mostly think about the societal problems, I think you are going to bring it as widow remarriage or something like that. It is just my prediction. After reading os I am sticking to my prediction more.
aashi12 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
NB di.. Aaj mausam hai suhana..
kya update karne ka hai bahana..?
Waiting..
Sultan_Of_Swing thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7
Ill update Boomerang today.

Meanwhile here is an OS I wrote-
http://www.india-forums.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=3677831
nishu_shorna thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
WOW...today... waiting...
Edited by nishu_shorna - 12 years ago
yoga123 thumbnail
Awesome update...The sunrise and sunset are always a treat to watch...thanks for giving this update...Thanks for the PM
Sultan_Of_Swing thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7
Chapter 3A-

This one goes to Gifttag.

*Line from the past are in italics

-----------------------------------------------------

'There will be eight of us hiking to Matterhorn.' Arnav announced.

'Eight? Arnie are you sure about this? Its a difficult mountain to climb. Should we be taking so many up there?' Shyam said, he wasn't convinced by Arnav's idea.

'Don't worry Shyam, I have everything covered'

'Arnie are you sure? Not everyone is as good at climbing as you, me and Khushi. Heck even NK would struggle. I think we should hike as a smaller group.'

'I agree with you Shyam.' Khushi spoke to Shyam ignoring Arnav completely.

'Khushi you can say that to me you know. ' Arnav said as he ran his hands through his hair.

Khushi didn't respond to his question and looked at the book in her hand. Her indifference after every time they had a fight, infuriated him.

Over the course of the last few months, they had been going out as a couple. They liked each other a lot. Arnav liked Khushi's non interfering attitude and her zest for climbing. She was a go-getter, a lot like him. Khushi on the other hand liked Arnav's charming personality. She also liked how he always challenged her, thereby motivating her to do better in all walks of life, whether it was climbing or even her course work. After the trip to Matterhorn they had planned on introducing each other to their respective families. For the commitment phobic Arnav that was a big step, something he had never done before.

However their relationship was never smooth sailing. Khushi and he argued endlessly, which often ended with Arnav losing his temper and saying something with the intention of hurting Khushi. Then Khushi reacted the best way she knew, she would ignore him for days, his constant and sincere apologies would fall on deaf ears, until one fine day wen she would finally relent.

'Khushi speak to me, how long are you going to ignore me?'

'I have nothing to say to you Arnav.'

Arnav looked at Khushi for a moment. He tried to reign in his control. He then collected his material and walked away.

Khushi let out a loud sigh once he was out of the room.

'What's up with you two?' Shyam had been watching the exchange with rapt attention asked.

'Same old story. We had an argument yesterday and Arnav said something that really upset me.'

Khushi put her hands on her forehead and closed her eyes. 'Sometimes I don't know what to do with him Shyam. He can be so very difficult.'

Shyam held Khushi's hands. 'Do you want me to speak to him Khushi?'

'No, please don't. It will only complicate things further.'

Khushi bend her head backwards. 'I really like him Shyam. But I'm scared that his over bearing personality and his anger will drive us apart. I also know he is really fond of me, what we have is something special. But feelings don't necessarily have to translate into a healthy relationship.'

Shyam held her hands again and said, 'I can understand your predicament Khushi, but you will need to talk this out with him. I think he does genuinely likes you. You won't achieve anything by shutting him out. Speak to him, explain your concerns to him.'

'I will Shyam, thanks for being there for me.' She entwined her fingers with his.

--------------------------

'Arnav I made some mushroom soup for you.' She had paid Arnav a surprise visit at the flat he shared with NK and Shyam.

'I though you said you didn't want to talk to me?' Arnav saw her via the small gap between the door and the frame, as the door had been latched with a chain.

'Arnav people don't mean everything they say when they are angry. Now let me in.'

Arnav opened the door to let Khushi in.

'I felt we could spend some time together. Shyam said that he and NK are out for the evening, so here I am.'

She took a few steps towards him and hugged him and kissed him chastely on his lips. To Arnav's irritation the kiss ended rather quickly.

'Can we just forget the argument. I made some soup, lets have some of that and then have a chat?'

'I have a better plan.' He winked at her.

---------------------------------------

They were lying on his bed. Khushi had placed her head on Arnav's chest and was drawing lazy patterns on Arnav's naked torso.

'Khushi don't shut me out. It really upsets me.'

Khushi stopped. 'Arnav don't give me a chance to shut you out.'

She then moved her face to look at him. 'You will have to learn to reign your anger better. I like you Arnav, but that doesn't mean I will put up with your anger issues. You can be nasty sometimes.'

'Khushi I understand where you are coming from. But it takes two to tango. Don't push me to the point where I feel the need to lose my temper.'

'I'm sorry are you saying that I make you scream at me? What kind of a pathetic excuse is that?'

Khushi tried to stand up while holding onto a blanket that she had wrapped around her body.

Arnav held her hand. 'Don't Khushi. That's not what I meant. I wish we had a better way of communicating. I don't understand why we always end up arguing.'

'So what do you want to do?'

'I promise to try and not let our arguments go over board, but you must also promise not to shut me out. Speak to me and tell me when you are upset'

Khushi folded her arms over one another. 'Fine I'll try.'

-----------------------------------------------------

Day 7-

After her altercation with Arnav, Khushi had walked back into her room, she then lay on her bed, wrapped herself with blankets and let out the tears she had been holding back.

'How could you leave me alone and go away Shyam?'

'I hate you for doing this to me.'

Caroline had woken her up at around nine when the group was ready for the hike for the day to Tengboche at 3870 meters in altitude. Khushi had decided to walk ahead of the group with the sherpas thereby putting enough distance between her and Arnav. She didn't want to see him anymore, nor hear anything he had to say. Time hadn't changed him much, he was still the same old hot headed young man she had met and fallen in and fallen out of love, while at Harvard. She had refused to put up with his anger issues back then, and it would be no different now.

Arnav felt like kicking himself when he realised the true extent of the damage his words must have created. Over the years he had learned to manage his anger especially after the events at Matterhorn, but little did realise that even after these many years Khushi had that kind of affect on him. She was right; people like him would never change.

'Why are you really doing this Khushi? You know what we have is something special.'

'Arnav I'm tired of fighting for our relationship. It's time to let go.'

'What if I don't want to?'

'Sorry Arnav I have made my decision, I have made my choice.'

Arnav closed his eyes to throw away the memories that threatened to spill and promised to take him down. But he couldn't, not now, not in this trip. But how was he going to learn to let go when he was this close to her, when the mere sight of her reminded him of how he had been let down by the two people who mattered to him.

----------------------

Once the group set for the expedition, they headed towards their next stopping point, Tengboche. The route ascended to nearly the height of the town at 3870m, and then descended to cross the river a few times, then ascended again about 500 meters over the last hour of the trek including several sets of stone steps. It was definitely the most challenging hiking day of the trip so far. The group then spent some time at the old but active Tibetan monastery in Tengboche.

Tengboche is situated on a high saddle between mountains that gave the group their first tremendous view of Sagarmatha i.e, Mt Everest.

After spending the evening at the monastery the group retired to their tents. It was an extremely cold evening, so they had called it an early night.

Arnav took his ipad out to fill in his daily journal. As he started writing about the happenings of the day including the beautiful sunrise at Khunde, inadvertently his thoughts went to Khushi. He decided he had enough, he had to apologise to her. He left his tent deciding to walk to Khushi's tent and apologise to her for his behaviour earlier in the day. But as he walked towards her tent he changed his mind once again. What was said couldn't be changed and they'd better off this way, away from each other. After everything that had happened between them it would be impossible for him to not feel aggravated around her. So it was best if he left things as-is.

He walked back to his tent and sat on his sleeping bag and pondered how things had gone this bad between them. At one point Khushi and he were inseparable. Irrespective of their constant arguments they had shared a deep connection. She was the only woman who understood his passion for climbing and she motivated him to pursue his dreams. Yet today they were at a point where even the mere sight of each other drove them nuts.

'Arnav I love you!'

'I know this comes as a surprise to you. But I really do!'

'Won't you say anything Arnav?'

'I really like you Khushi, but I don't believe in the concept of love.'

--------------------------------------

Day 8-

The group set to hike to Dingboche at 4,350 m. It was the first time they would be crossing the big 4,000m threshold. From here-on every small mistake could be life threatening and the altitude would being to mess with the climbers. Khusi was already starting to lose her appetite; something she experienced in higher altitudes.

There was a slight shuffle in the climbing arrangement and climbers were encouraged to choose a climbing partner whom they hadn't

interacted with so far. Mark felt that changing climbing partners would help build a rapport among the group members. In his opinion, climbing was a team work, the rapport would be very important as they got closer to the summit, when climbers were dependent on each other for the smallest of things.

Khushi decided to team with the Canadian climber George Ball aged 52, who was an experienced climber. He had climbed some of the renowned mountains in Europe and North America.

As the group hiked through a thin layer of snow in the morning, Khushi got chatting with him and soon developed an easy friendship with him. George had recently lost his partner to cancer. He was undertaking this treacherous hike to collect money for 'Cancer research,' back home. He had managed to collect $12,000 so far and hoped to collect close to $20,000 by the time he reached the summit.

'How are you able to do this George? Don't you find it difficult?' She had placed her hand on one of his shoulders while they had stopped for a short break.

'Khushi, Katie, my wife made me promise that I would think of her with a smile once she was gone. She told me that she would be watching me and if she saw me upset it would upset her too. There are days when the grief gets the better of me. But for most days I try and stay cheerful. For her.' He smiled at her.

Khushi removed her bag from her shoulders and gave George a hug, George's words pierced through her soul giving her a glimmer of hope in her dark life.

Arnav who had been drinking some tea out of his flask saw Khushi hug the Canadian climber and he felt something akin to jealousy and anger.

'What the f**k are you guys doing?'

'Arnie let me explain.'

'f**k you Shyam. How dare you kiss my girl friend.'

But then he realised that Khushi and he shared nothing anymore except for a past that was filled with disappointment and pain. And his anger dissipated immediately. What Khushi did or rather who she did, was none of his business.

----------------------------------------

A little later they hiked through dry, hot rocks, through which they gained 600 meters of elevation between Tengboche and Dingboche. The route of the climb was the most scenic one so far. They got to see some of the stunning views during this trail. Following a trail of yaks, they crossed a famous bridge that so many paintings and pictures portray, with the beautiful Mt Amadablam towering above them.

After moderate amount of climbing up and then descending down, there was a steep climb of less than an hour after which the group reached Dingboche.

They were booked into a relatively comfortable lodge, something everyone appreciated after the cold night they had spent in their tents at Tengboche.

Khushi managed to take a short power nap, after which she took a shower and decided to give Payal a call. Once she had spoken to Payal she walked back to join the rest of the group at a tea house near by. Khushi sat on a table occupied by George deciding to spend some more time with him, as she waited for her tea to be served.

'So why are you climbing the Everest Khushi?'

'I have always been a climber, this is something 'we' wanted to do for a while.'

'We?' George asked with interest.

'Here you go Mark, the cigarettes you asked for.' Arnav had appeared out of nowhere.

Arnav offered George a pack of cigarettes he had managed to find in one of the small stores in the village.

He looked at George and completely blanked out Khushi.

'Thanks Son. Care to join us for a cup of tea?' George asked Arnav, not realising the air of tension between Khushi and Arnav.

'Nahh... I should leave you both to it.'

'Come on Son, Khushi was just about to tell me why she is on this trip.'

He then turned to Khushi who was busy looking at her palms.

'Carry on Khushi, who is this 'we' you are talking of?

'George I should go. I'll see you later.' Arnav excused himself out.

Arnav took a few steps when Scot stopped him. Scot spoke to him about some problems he was having with his gear. Arnav stood there without paying any attention to what Scot was saying. His ears were trained on George and Khushi's conversation, he knew who Khushi referred to when she said 'we.'

'So Khushi who is this we?' George probed.

Khushi took a deep breath in. She felt that of all the people, George would understand her best. She knew it was time she stopped running away from the truth, it was time she opened up. And somehow in the company of a total stranger Khushi felt a sense of security that helped her open up and share details of the tragedy that had struck her life.

'My husband and I were planning to climb the Everest for a while.' Khushi said with difficulty, as she fought to keep the tears at bay.

'Where is he? Did he not get time off from his work?' George understood that Khushi had gone through a difficult time based on how upset she had sounded. But there was no other way for him to find the truth.

'No George. He is no more.'

And drops of tears fell from her eyes, ran down her cheeks and collected at the stole wrapped around her neck. And some of the tears had managed to seep through the gaps in the stole to land on the platinum ring held as pendant by a silver chain around her neck.

-------------------------xxx--------------------------

A/N- Low motivation alert.

Credit for the pictures goes to the original uploader.

To receive update notifications of my work, you can either follow my twitter handle @Naach_Basanti

Or drop me a PM with your email id. I send out emails every time I update.

Edited by Naach_Basanti - 12 years ago
vgedin thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
lala

~Edit~

Oh dear, I don't have the heart to blame any of them. !

He was stifling Khushi, and made it clear he is incapable of love, in short he threw her feelings back at her. And it makes perfect sense that she walks out.

But kostin - did Shyam and Khushi kiss after she broke up with Arnav or before that? Even if it was after... well, I cannot blame Arnav for feeling betrayed. For a man as passionate and territorial as him, it would have a come as a blow to his feelings and his ego. To top that this was with his best friend.. so the betrayal would hurt twice as much. Its the worst kind of wound, how could he not resent Khushi and Shyam after this? Did the two ever apologise to Arnav ?

Arnav's temper and his sharp tongue.. they have been his worst enemies and it is so sad that he still hasn't been able to overcome them. Perhaps Khushi brings out the worst in him, its happens when you feel very passionately about someone. But by any chance did he overhear the conversation between Khushi and George ?

I love how you are slowly revealing the past and in that, the nature of the characters. Me likey! And whats is this low motivation alert ? Kya hum kaafi nahi hain ? 😔
Edited by vgedin - 12 years ago
IronButterfly thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Arnav really needs to keep a check on his temper. He behaves like a jerk and there's no excuse for it.

Good to see Khushi telling him off for this. No one should be subjected to this and i'm glad she took a stand.

In a relationship, every petty issue has to be taken care of. Relationships can't survive on attraction only.

I understand when Arnav says he doesn't believe in love but for a girl that is the most important thing in a relationship.

Maybe Shaym kissed Khushi in a weak moment. Maybe he was comforting Khushi and it just happened. These things do happen but i don't think that's a good enough excuse. Arnav has a right to be upset on this.

Khushi's presence effects Arnav which brings out his temper. I think it usually happens that if we like someone we tend to get over emotional around them.
Edited by IronButterfly - 12 years ago
nishu_shorna thumbnail
Now everything is getting clearer...Arnav-Khushi relationship was really troublesome...seems like fight-make up-fight...Shyam was the frnd Khushi needed in her bad time...then they got married...now Shyam is no more...and Arnav heard that too...wanna see how he reacts to the news...And as always ur description of their adventure is too awesome...loved the update NB...continue soon...
Edited by nishu_shorna - 12 years ago