hats off 2 u dear
it ios d best ff i hv read till date
wowww
i just want 2 read it again n agian
plz pm meee
panchaali thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Can't find any words to say how much I loved this part...
Still remember the day when you showed me your first story...
We were in 8th standard, sitting at the 2nd last bench(just beside the corridor with the large window,our memorable sit 😊)...
And i was reading your story 😍 not listening to the lectures...
The story named "Parichay"...Heroine's name was "Sneha"-she was a beautiful stylish girl with a long black hair...Hero's name was "Abhi"-He was damn handsome guy with witty attitude (Okay not saying now whom you have imagined as "Abhi" and "Sneha" 😉)...
But the point of saying all these mainly is-that day I first came to know that you, my friend is a writer and you really are a writer...keep writing if the world ends at 2012 also 😃
You can write sitting at a pirate ship also 😎 Yes, now I have got that much confidence on you...👍🏼
And hey The way you wrote Maanendra...I was on the edge of loosing my control ☺️
Don't worry my dream lovers I did not loose myself...😉
loving_girl thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Waiting 4 Your Update Dear...
582445 thumbnail

hei friends ... here is the 6th part of MRITYUNJAI...it took 3days for this update... Now I don't have any energy left to edit it.. so pls excuse my mistakes ... I hope u like it and its a looong update so I wanna real long long comments.😊

Part 6: Pride, Prejudice and A Truth

It was a two way process between Maanendra and Geetasri. Unknowingly they were helping each other to grow up in many ways. It was her childlike gesture; a simple or rather silly fight smashed his pride that he can make anyone beautiful. His prejudiced thought about perfection came to an end and his eyes for reality got sharpen. It was same in case of her. All her vanity was shedding like dry petals and her prejudiced puritan mind was melting. The shield which was distinguishing her from the outer world was breaking down but slowly. Now she doesn't close her eyes to uglies but that doesn't mean she look at them straight in broad day light but she would still a glance of those loving couples and seductive women n feel they are not that ugly. She would spend a long time in front of mirror but not only for admiring her own beauty but discovering herself, thinking and questioning herself. She is twenty two now, enough grown up. Common women of those days used to have two three children at her age. Still maanendra thinks she is a little girl not enough matured, 'why? Is he right?' She thought. She twisted and turned in front of mirror. No she had a full developed body, she has all womanly features still he feels she is a girl! Actually she can't deny it. even some day's ago she didn't know how women get pregnant huh. But now that she knows it she is not a child any more!

That reminds her of Rajlaxmi. Even she used to laugh on her some time and say, " geet didi you are still a kid." Rajlaxmi was getting prepared for her 15day trip. It was the day she will start her journey. Geetasri observed her from a distance, she was looking so pretty, so beautiful. Geetasri never realized it before. A small ceremony was going on. Geetasri wanted to join but remembering how she has behaved with this girl for some days she stayed back. Moreover she was going through the period of month when she can't join any rituals or work of temple.

[*Scrawl down for Rajlaxmi]

After five long days geetasri was going to meet Maanendra. In this five days she had thought a lot about him. Everyday it started with 'what would I say when I will meet him after five days and would end with what he is doing now? Have he taken his meal? Why he cook for himself?.. Why he doesn't take the meal the Temple provide for all.' She didn't even know when her thinking was turning into caring for her Maan.

It was the time of sunset. Sky was all orange and golden. Geetasri couldn't believe her eyes. Maan was doing a sword fight. Not a fight actually he was moving a sword in air. She was shocked and stunned. Her jaw dropped. Maan's sweaty bare body was giving her strange sensation. She couldn't move her eyes. It was the shore of Bramhani river near Maan's hut. Rocks of different size were scattered here and there. Geet tried to hide herself but in a moment she felt a sharp sword is lingering over her throat. Maan playfully kept the sword on her throat and moved at her back keeping Geet between his sword and himself. Geet could felt his warm breathe on her neck.

"you are spying on me?"

"What are you doing with sword?" Geet answerd with an attitude.

"Don,t forget I have the sword in my hand so I will ask question and you will answer only. Now tell me why didn't you come in these five days."

"I will not answer. Not until I get my answer"

Maan turned her with a jerk and made her face him, " So this little girl is brave too."

"I am not a little girl you understand." She snapped. "Now answer me."

Maan moved away from her. " Ok I will tell you. Come with me."

"I am not coming with you... may be you are an enemy of our country" she told keeping her hands on her waist. Her cute gesture made Maan smile. She continued, " kahi tum gupt khuni to nahi?... came here to kill our Maharaja... then I will tell every..."

Maan put his finger on her lips. "Chup bilkul chup... And sit here like a good girl."

He made her sit on a rock and sit beside her. "look at this Geet." Maan indicated a symbol curved on the gold made handle of the sword. "it is our family symbol. I belonged to a royal family of Bengal. My father used to be a king of a certain place of Bengal. I was twelve or thirteen then when Sultan Husen Shah invaded our kingdom and dethroned my father. I was taken away by one of our loyal guard. I was brought up by him. I was never interested in politics and power play. For me books were my world. I learned Sanskrit at a very young age. I read every possible books in my Gurukul.. I read Ramayana, Mahabharata, Puran, Arthasastra and all dramas and poetries by Kalidas. I learned Maithili language and read Vidyapati's verses. I learned history and the 'arbi' 'Farsi'...the language the pathan rullers used. I was good at making sculptures on rocks and loved doing it. There was only one thing which could prove me as a Kshatriya was my sword. I loved it, I loved sword fighting. After some time some of our so called relatives and well wishers wanted to rebel against Sultan keeping me in front. I didn't agree with them. Things were getting dirty so I left my place."

"But why? You could become a king?"

"I didn't want to. And If I were a king I would have become a worthless one like my ancestors. Geet, Hussen Shah is a great king a great ruler. I don't have greed of power. Hussen Shah will get his share of history for his work; I just want my share as a good artist, a memorable sculptor."

"Then?" asked Geet.

" I left Bengal... started roaming here and there. I wanted to go alone but the loyal guard never left me. he followed me like shadow. Wherever I went he came with me. I was aimless, didn't know what to do and then one fine morning I found my heaven...It was a abandoned temple called Khajuraho. In one moment I knew what I wand to do. After that I went to south. There I met my Guruji... well I used to call him that. He was an old sculptor.. very old. He didn't have the power to curve a stone then but he had the eyes, eyes of art. He taught me what is art and everything about sculpture. I worked there for a long time and then came here. And haan Geet, your Maharaja knows everything."

Maan took a deep breath. " Now you tell me why you didn't come in these five days?"

"wo I was busy with the preparation of Rajlaxmi's trip." She lied for obvious reason.

"Trip? what trip?"

"It's a custom. The foremost Devdasi of Madanmohan temple has to perform it. In these fifteen days she went to Jagannath Mandir of Puri, then after traveling and worshiping in some more temples then she went to Gobardhan Temple. There she has to serve God and the great seven priests of that temple for seven days and nights. Only after that she returned to Madanmohan temple." She paused.

"Ok... so that's it?"

"No there is more. Then she has to stay in her room alone for one month. In this time nobody can meet her or she can't take part in any ritual. After one month she would take bath in river and worship the Madanmohan deity." She paused for a moment, then started in a low voice."You know, even some days ago I really wanted to go in this trip. Everybody used to think I am going to be the Main Devdasi of this temple... but Devduttji choose Raj. I was upset. But now I am fine now. You know Raj was looking so beautiful today..."

" Hmm, my Guruji also told me something about a trip like this. Once he has worked in a temple here in Odissa. You know he fell in love with one Devdasi that time."

"really?" Geet was really curious. "What happened then?"

"I don't know. I didn't ask. Whatever tell me something more about the trip." Maan had a strange feeling regarding this trip.

Geet made a face. Grrr, how much she wanted to hear a love story. " This custom is an old one. It is going on from ages. But Devduttaji was always against it. He tried to end it. Even Maharaja supported him but they couldn't. The priests of Gobardhan Temple insisted for this ritual."

"Devdutt ji is against this ritual? Why?" He frowned.

"That I don't know But five years ago there was an exception. That year Mandodari ji the foremost Devdasi then was confined in her room for many days. She came out almost after nine long months and took birth in river. Devduttji said it was a special year..."

Geet was cut by something. A little boy of four or five year was crying sitting on a rock. It was already dark and they were so indulged into their talk thay they failed to notice when he came there.

Geet walked to the boy. " Jeebak what are you doing here? And why are you crying?" She picked Jeebak up on her hand."

"She scolded me." Jeebak replied and continued to sob.

"she always scold you then why you go to her?" Geet turned to Maan. " I can't get Mandodari di sometime. She would ask every detail about Jeebak everyday, she would care for him from a distance but get furious whenever he will went to her. She behaves so strange in front of this kid."

'Jeebak strange name' he thought. "who gave this name?"

"huh"?

"Who named him?"

"Oh Jeebak... Devduttji."

They were going towards Maan's hut. Meanwhile Geet succeeded to cajole Jeebak. She put him down and ran towards the temple. Geetasri entered the hut and lit up a lamp. " you know Jeebak was two or three days old when Devduttji brought him in the temple. We don't know who his parents are."

Maan was going to close the door when she shouted, " Don't .. don't close the door."

"why?"

"Its already dark... If you close the door I can get pregnant... then?"

"What?" Maanendra got his shock of life.

"Haan I heard Devdutt ji was telling someone that day... in Kumarsambhavam at 7th canto Kalidasa has said that Lord Siva and mata Parvati entered the room and closed the door in night... It was a clear significance that she is going to be pregnant ... what is the need of 8th"

She couldn't end Maan burst into laughter. "What... you overhear Devdutt's conversation and come to this conclusion."

"But he said so.. and he never lies."

"He didn't lie ... you didn't understand. Geet you read Kumarsambhavam na? You read the eighth canto right? A couple has to perform all this and then only a woman get pregnant. Samjhi... Geet find out if there is 'Kamasutra' written by Rishi Batsayan there in your temple library.. then read it you will understand it."

Geet was all red then. She blushed like a red rose. " Ohh haan ... how's that possible. In Gobardhan Temple Foremost Devdasis has to close the door of her room while serving the priests. They never got pregnant."

"Matlab"... Maan couldn't believe his ear. Has he got it right... has he understand it right.

"haan... In that seven nights she has to serve and satisfy those seven priests...One priest in one night ... If they all are satisfied then they will bless her and God also will be happy."

Maanendra went silent. He had nothing to say. He closed his eyes in frustration. Geetasri is too nave to understand what she is saying. She didn't understand what 'serve' and 'satisfy' mean here. But Maanendra could understand.

Geet couldn't understand why suddenly Maan went silent. She was going away when Maan called, "Geet...where is Rajlaxmi?"

"She has left for her trip today... I told you na."

Maanendra was sitting in front of the lamp. His long shadow was covering the wall and floor of his small room as if his dark thought is eating him. The unknown strange beggar whom Geetasri noticed before was guarding his small hut. A tear came down from Maanendra's eyes. Geet's words were haunting him. Now he can sew all of them and put a conclusion. Now he knows why Devdutt and Maharaja was against this custom, now he understood why the priests of Gobardhan temple insisted on it... now he knows who Jeebak is. He knew in his Hinduism A woman is considered as pure and virgin if she is raped or forced for sexual union, just after her monthly period she will get back the purity and virgin status in the society. And that's the reason of one month confinement after the trip. God how a great thought of a religion can be used as coverage of ugly corruption. Maanendra has read a lot... has a great knowledge of religions. The one thing he understood is every religion is pious and beautiful but today he discovered that how religious conviction falls helpless in the hand of inhumanity.

Next morning.. it was the time of morning arti. Devdasis were busy in preparation. Devdutt was standing there, Maanendra came in.

"Devduttji I need your permission."

" You have all the permission from our Maharaj. You don't have to ask me."

" I want to curve the sculpture of Amropali in Radha-Madhav temple... I want Jeebak's mother for that." Maanendra uttered keeping his eyes straight at Devdutt.

Devdutt looked at him carefully. He sighed and nodded in yes.

Precap: Amropali

Amropali is a historical character of the age of Bhagwan Buddha... will give the detail story of her in next update... and another request pls leave a long comment... u can criticize it if u want...tell me what u like and dislike in this ff... n if u have any quarry pls ask.. I will try to answer

please hit the LIKE button

and

leave a comment

ur comment is valuable for me

Sayanee😊

Edited by sayaneegupta - 12 years ago
sukklover thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

...this 4 u...😛

just ur update...
really ...dear..😃.
lov,❤️
Tama
NOTE: Me Not Well...That's This shortset comment ever..plzz bother wid me..sorry...
P.S.: plz donn't copy paste my comments...me only make it 4 my frndz...if anyone do it again as me saw many of my comments r copied me'll report it...u guys plz make comment urself...u can use my componets indevisual...but don't coppied it whole as my post...😡
zaara2212 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
beautiful update, can understand why geet is so naive

hmmm hope maan will save geet from all this
panchaali thumbnail
Hey S...ki ar bolbo alada kore toke...awesome update yaar...you did a lot of research...bolllam na tor ei story ta update dile ami na pore thakte pari na...
6n6s6k6i6r6a6n6 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

fantastic update...

Maanvendra is right...all religions are beautiful but people who use it for their benefit are dirty...

thanx for pm
seemamary thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
Wonderful update and thanks for giving so much knowledge and information about Hindu Religion and their custom.Waiting to see maanendra and geetanjai's love blossoming . Continue soon.
maaneetsangel thumbnail
part 6 ...

awesome ... superb ...

thnx 4 d pm ...

continue soon ...