aadyakali thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
So exiciting ... plz pm me and updt soon
music1 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Loving the dimensions of the ASR-kHUSHI love track.U have given it a new face though.Waiting for the next update.Please do PM me when u do.😊.
littlemoi thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
awesome update!!
plzz plzz pm me the next part!!
..Anita.. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Awesome FF
Please pm me when you update
akhilash thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4

Chapter IV

"Saale decent time pe phone nahi kar sakta'''.Abu Dhabi time ke hisaab se bhi midnight hai yaar," wailed Digi.

ASR,"Abhi to email dekha and jhat se tujhe phone kar diya. Kaissa hai tu, bhaabhi aur bacche."

Digi: "Junta saari ok hai, badi khushi se Diwali manayee Abu Dhabi style mein. Anyway kya olloo ki tarah jag raha hai tu. Sun''...Tujse yeh kehna tha ki kal subah, Nimmi aur bacchon ke sath Delhi aa raha hoon. Teri shaadi pe to nahi aa saka. Let us get together with our families for a grand Post Diwali celebration at my place during my visit. We got to catch up''. We have not been true to our labels ''.Inseparables."

ASR: "Sure, why not, milte hain, kal ghar jaate hi main sabko bata doonga.

Digi: "Kya matlab, Delhi main nahi hai kya"

ASR:" Nahi Sadhrana aya hoon"

Digi: "Tu nahi badlega saale, teri biwi pata nahi kaisse tolerate karti hai tujhe, chalo I will catch up with you later. Got to get my quota of beauty sleep buddy"

ASR:"Take care'.goodnight".

Involuntarily, he dialed Khushi's cell phone number, instead of going to her voice messaging system, the message said that the number was not available. The simple message put ASR in a panic mode. He had heard the same message over 2 and years ago when Payal was trying to locate Khushi. He had dispatched Khushi to work from the guest house. At that time, he had some idea where to look for her. This time, he did not know where to find her. It had been 2 weeks and no one had seen her. He seemed to know very little about her life. It was time to bring in professional help and the best help was going to land in Delhi in a few hours. His friend, Digvijay Singh seemed to be the answer to his worries.

Ten kms miles away not far away from the outhouse, Khushi lay on the single bed at Daya Vihar, the Battered Women's Shelter, which was located just four kms from the intersection of NH8 and the Sadhrana Dhamipur Highway. She had been here for the last 15 days. Since her discharge from the hospital, she was expecting a phone call from her husband threatening to chop her head off. But the call never came through. It had hurt, when the call had not come through. But then she realized, by walking out of the hospital, she had made a choice to walk away from everything and make a new beginning. Rather than mope about relations that she could not fix, she decided to grab on to the new lease of life that had been extended to her. A new beginning for everything. Her gynaecologsit had told her to focus all her energies on healing, staying healthy and cheerful. She felt that she owed it to herself and to her child. She knew that Daya Vihar temporarily would provide her shelter and support till she found something permanent.

Today she had switched from Airtel to Vodophone. She had opted for a high end plan with tight security features. The deal was too sweet to let go. No one knew her new number and the very first thing she learned to do was block her number for outgoing calls. Her last check up with the resident doctor at Daya Vihar had given her a clean bill of health. The wound had healed well and her pregnancy was progressing well. The abused women's shelter had their own specialists, may not have been the high-flyers like the ones in Medanta, but they did know their subject matter.

Dr. Nalini Singh, her gynaecologist 's parting words had been a booster shot that resurrected Khushi into her old mode back again. She was told that during next monthly check up she would be able to hear the baby's heartbeat. For Khushi, her entire being that had been arid for a long time, had bloomed into life suddenly with its vibrant colors and beauty. Thank you Devi Maiyya''is uphaar ke liye bahut shukriya aur ASRji aapko bhi bahot dhanyawaad.

Edited by akhilash - 12 years ago
Haniibee thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2
Great update!!!
Could you PLEASE PM me next time you update? I really don't want to miss a single update!
I hope ArShi get back together soon!
LyssaPie thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
WOW dude you gotta write more. And may i ask how the heck does Khushi gets pregnant when ASR didn't even live with her for 2 years :S
FebruaryFlower thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
Just caught up with all the chapters!
This is absolutely brilliant.
A very gripping and compelling read!
Do PM me when you update.
I look forward to reading how the story will unfold!
😊
603840 thumbnail
yooohooo where are you khushi?!
xxx
akhilash thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4

Chapter V

ASR glanced at Namrata, Nimmi Bhabi's facebook page. It gave him a small peek into his friend's life. Before he retired, he was happy to know that his friend had a great life, but at the same time he felt a tinge of envy ' the family picture of Digi enveloping all his three ladies in a bear hug was his undoing. Is this how life could have been? Mentally slapping himself, ASR chided himself, "Since when did you want children? Please get a hold of yourself, without a wife in the picture... Don't even think about it, a child outside of a marriage. Live-in was great when it lasted, but you know now, what you don't want. So do yourself a favor and stay far from personal relations. "

12.30 pm, IGI Airport, New Delhi

The Air India Flight # 801 from Abu Dhabi had just landed. Amidst the throng of people located at the entrance, ASR waited for his old time buddy Digi to make an appearance. The six feet four inch giant, pushed a cart that had three large suitcases. And on top of the suitcases, perched were two pretty girls, enjoying themselves thoroughly the cart ride. Following him, was Nimmi bhabi with a cart that held all their hand-luggage. ASR was glad that he brought his SUV to accommodate the luggage. The friends spotted each other and soon the party was aboard ASR's SUV driving towards Digi's flat in Vasant Vihar. On route, Digi informed him that he was thinking about returning home to Delhi for good. He had been offered the position of a Supreme Court Judge and he had been seriously considering it. Being a corporate lawyer was getting to him and he had been seriously considering to immigrate back to India after a living in Europe and Middle East for the last 15 years. The party reached their destination and ASR promised to catch up with his friend over the phone but found himself badgered by Digi to meet the same evening. So at Digi's insistence, the boys night out plan was outlined and ASR promised to collect Digi from his residence and drive him to Sadhrana.

After putting in a half a day's work at the office, ASR reached Vasant Vihar at 5.00 pm as agreed, collected Digi and started to drive back towards Sadhrana.

Digi: I guess you did not get done with what has been bothering you since this morning.

ASR did not realize that he was that transparent to his friend after a gap of 10 years.

Digi,"Forget the la la talk and tell me what is happening. You have been tight as a wound spring since I met you this afternoon. I may not have seen you for a decade, but we were not referred to as Inseparables just like that you know."

The otherwise forty five minute drive due to peek traffic time took over two hours. ASR had very little choice but to talk about his current state of affairs as the traffic moved sluggishly. He started the day he met Khushi during the Lucknow fashion show. Like a ripe mango, she had fallen into his arms. He smiled as he reminisced. The subsequent meetings and finally her arrival in Delhi, working at the AR Group and then at his house in Shantivan. His constant attempt to put her down and her rising from the ashes as the proverbial Phoenix. The Nainital trip, soon followed by her father's stroke and the sequence of events that led to his engagement to Lavanya Kashyap. The smile dimmed when he narrated the day he caught her with Jijaji at the Harinagar temple. And then in a monotone, he narrated his marriage, Khushi residing at Sadhrana, their marriage consummation, her suicide attempt, possibility of a baby gone even before the idea took root and finally her disappearance.

It was well past 7.30 in the evening when they reached the factory outhouse. Both sat enjoying the last rays of sunlight as the cloak of darkness took over.

Digi: What happened to the farmhouse?

ASR: It is there, but only Damukaka and his wife live there as property caretakers.

Digi: But you said that Khushi lived in that house.

ASR: No, only the last four weeks, and that too because I lived with her there. Just found out yesterday, that for the last two years she has been working there (pointing at the factory) and living here in the outhouse.

ASR proceeded to unlock the door. As the main door was pulled open.

Digi: Well what the ...

ASR: My sentiments exactly. My watchman says because increase in the number of break-ins, the need for all this equipment.

Digi: Arnav this is ASG, I mean they are Alliance Group's products - usually used in bank vaults. What are you housing here Arnav?...MMm...the windows are also heavy duty. What was she protecting or should I say who? ...Aha... what do you have here...my favorite ...lassi."

Digi helped himself to a glassful of lassi as he sat cross legged on the chaarpai in the living room. He leaned against the wall and savored the cool drink.

Digi: BTW before we proceed, go get yourself one of those liver damaging drinks that helps you relax and talk.

ASR:"Do saal se peena chod diya hai"

Digi:"Really'...she must be some woman. Someone who has yoked the ASR into matrimony and made him give up drinking. So what now?"

ASR: Honestly I don't know what to think. I know you are in the field. Know any good investigators? I want someone to find her. She has a 10 inch vertical slash form her diaphragm to her lower stomach. You have no idea in what state Jijaji was when he handed over everything to me that day in Medanta.

Digi: Jijaji was there when Khushi attempted to take her life.

ASR: Yeah, he said that she had called him and was trying to come on to him.

Digi: And you believe this of your wife?

ASR had no answer

Digi: Sorry, got to decide quickly ASR...in your heart of hearts only one thing resides ' - you either trust or you don't trust. You cannot have it both ways. Yeh to yehi baat hui na...have the cake and eat it too...sorry, let me amend that, eat the entire bakery too. Look you either trust your wife or your jijaji. From what you have told me, you have trusted your jijaji.

ASR: I just did not blindly trust jijaji, you know. He has been a rock to this family. And he has provided me with ample evidence, a log of calls from Khushi during these last two years and finally tricking him to come to the farmhouse 2 weeks ago. And guess what, even her family does not want to keep in touch with her.

Digi: Interesting.

ASR: Dammit this is my life we are talking about and not some book plot that you call interesting.

Digi: Well did you get your wife investigated. You think the series of events from Lucknow Fashion Show till working for the AR group has been her pursuit of his highness, ASR.

ASR: What...don't you listen. I asked you if you knew any investigators. And by the way, I know she followed me from Lucknow to Delhi.

Digi: Okaaay as you say so, your honor. Anyway, Laad saheb ...well why that smirk, what did I say?

ASR: Well she calls me Laad Governor.

Digi: Well does she...then I love her already.

ASR: Digi... I will ignore that comment, knowing fully well how much you love Bhaabi.

Digi: Jealous, it gets even more interesting...Chanakya Maheshwari''

ASR: What ...

Digi: You need Chanakya Maheshwari, investigator numero uno.
Digi: You need Chanakya Maheshwari, investigator numero uno. Here is his cell phone. Hang on''.I will call him right now and let's see if we can catch him. Hang on a sec''.. oh shit voicemail. Well you should listen to this
VOICEMAIL: You have reached Chanakya Maheshwari...please leave all the formalities aside and get to the point. If a name and number is left I will call you at my convenience. Please note this is a disclaimer, this may be a wasted call. If this call is not returned in three days, please don't leave repeated messages. I am either out of town or I simply did like the tone of your voice and did not want to return your message. Bye bye. '''.(Please leave a message after the beep)
Edited by akhilash - 13 years ago