Chapter 16 - Character Dheela Hai
Another week passed by quickly, and Meher was waiting anxiously for the weekend. Mrs. Saxena, her neighbor and art teacher, was going to take her to the National Museum of India in Delhi and then on their way back, Gallery Artmosphere in Ludhiana to see a showcase of up and coming young artists, but Meher was secretly hoping to see Viren again.
In Delhi, Meher tried to reach Viren on his mobile, to see if he could meet her at either of the art galleries in Delhi or Ludhiana, but had no luck in contacting him. How would she convince Mrs. Saxena to let her stay a little longer in Delhi? She wondered. She was about to give up when she coincidentally ran into Ashlesha at one of the exhibits in the National Museum.
"Hi Ashlesha!" said Meher, as sweetly as she could. "What a pleasant surprise! Where's Maya?"
Ashlesha was surprised to see Meher too. "Oh hi Meher", she replied coldly. Maya's in Mumbai. She had a case---some up and coming item girl wanted to ditch her truck driver hubby---or something like that. She'll be back later today. We're going to hang out at the 'Elevate'. Of course you wouldn't know what that is. I mean you're a little out of your woods aren't you...in the big city and all?"
The sound of the name 'Elevate' had Meher thinking fast. She decided if she wanted to see Viren again, she's have to suck up to this rich brat. "I know what the 'Elevate' is", lied Meher. "I...uh...was going to meet a friend there for dinner, but Mrs. Saxena wants to go back to Ludhiana tonight".
Since when did a nightclub start serving dinner, thought Ashlesha. She's obviously lying. Maybe I should teach this gawar girl a lesson. "Why don't you come with me?" offered Ashlesha. "We can go to the 'Elevate' together. You have 'dinner' with your friend and I'll hang out with Maya. We can drop you off at wherever you're staying in Ludhiana afterwards".
"Would you really?!" squealed Meher, her eyes widening with delight. Wouldn't Viren be surprised? She thought secretly. Mrs. Saxena was a little reluctant to let Meher out of her guardianship, but once she learned who Ashlesha was, and got sworn commitments from both girls to be responsible, she agreed.
Later in the evening Ashlesha and Maya picked up Meher from her hotel. Mrs. Saxena explained the address in Ludhiana to Ashlesha and also wrote it down for Meher, who promised not to be too late.
"I can't believe we're going to hang out with her." Maya whispered to Ashlesha. "I mean look at her. She's dressed for cutting the harvest, not the trendiest nightclub".
"Hmmm'", chuckled Ashlesha. She looked towards Meher, who was dressed in a neat white shalwar kameez and dupatta. "We're going to hang her out to dry, not hang out with her".
At the nightclub, Ashlesha dropped Meher and Maya off, and went to park the car. Meanwhile, inside the 'Elevate', Viren was smoking, dancing and drinking it up with his buddies and their lady companions for the evening. He was at the bar ordering another drink when he spotted Meher.
"Oh shit! What is she doing here?!" he cried. He quickly rushed back to his friends and said, "Gurinder! Come on let's go!"
"What?!" said Gurinder, "but we just got here!"
"I know", said Viren, "but a little bird named Meher Maan just made an entry. And unless you want her to report back to her sister, I think we better get going". Gurinder straightened up right away and put out his cigarette. "Come on sweetheart", said Viren winking at his lady companion, "time to find us a little more privacy". He, Gurinder and their companions made a quick exit from the opposite side of the club from where Meher was entering.
Once inside, Maya told Meher to grab a seat at the bar, while she freshened up in the ladies room. In reality Maya was using this as an excuse to ditch Meher and join Ashlesha, who was waiting for her in the car.
Meher couldn't believe where she had come. Loud music was blaring, and every inch of the place was crawling with young people in western attire, drinking and dancing. Well more like rubbing their bodies against each other, she thought.
Little did she know, that although Maya and Ashlesha had stranded her, someone else she knew had just made an entry. Preet had walked in just as the Remix version of the song 'Chatacter Dheela Hai' started playing. He walked over to the bar and ordered a Coke, and quickly struck up a conversation with the pretty girl sitting next to him.
Meher was straining her neck looking here and there for any sign of Viren without any luck. I guess he's not here after all. And what's taking Maya so long? She wondered. She decided to go to the ladies room to check on Maya, and to her horror discovered that she wasn't there. Wait a minute, thought Meher, her mind was racing. Maya and Ashlesha couldn't have left me here, or could they? No, she thought, I'm sure I just missed them in the crowd. I'll go back and check.
Preet had just taken a sip of his Coke, when he spotted Meher trying to cross the dance floor. He spat his drink right onto a girl who was passing by. "Hey watch it!" Cried the girl. But Preet wasn't listening. What is this Munni doing here? He thought looking at Meher.
Preet made his way over to Meher and tapped her on her shoulder. Meher turned around and was surprised to come face to face with Preet. "Tum!" exclaimed Meher. "Tum yahan kya kar rahay ho?!" (You? What are you doing here?)
"I should be asking you that", said Preet.
"Kyun (Why)?!" cried Meher defiantly. "Am I not worthy enough for this hell hole!"
"No, it's not that", said Preet smiling and raising his hands in defense. "It's just that you're not exactly dressed for the place". Meher rolled her eyes. There he goes putting me down again. What else can I expect from him, she thought.
"Anyway", continued Preet, "where's your sister? Don't tell me your parents let you come here alone?"
"Not that it's any of your concern", said Meher, "but I came here with Ashlesha and Maya".
"Oh my God! Is Ash here?" asked Preet looking here and there.
"She was, but now I'm not so sure", said Meher worriedly.
"Oh", said Preet laughing, "so you mean to say your lively country manners drove her away...I wonder how that happened?"
"Look don't you start'", said Meher.
"Hey relax", said Preet. "I was just joking. Come on...why don't you sit down and I'll buy you a drink".
"No thanks", said Meher dryly, "I don't drink". She was remembering what Viren had said about Preet. He'll probably slip something in my drink and try to take advantage of me, she thought.
"Well neither do I", said Preet. "I was talking more in the line of a Coke. I'm sure they have Pepsi too if you prefer".
Why is he lying about him not drinking? wondered Meher. "No", she said, "I mean if Ashlesha has ditched me, I have to figure out a way to get to Ludhiana".
"Look Meher, I'm going home to Ludhiana tonight", said Preet. "I'll drop you off wherever you want me to".
"No", said Meher, "I've told you before I don't need your help". Meher started backing away from Preet, only to bump into a burly guy passing by. "Oh! I'm so sorry!" said Meher.
"Its okay sweetheart", said the guy, "I know you were just looking for an excuse to dance with me weren't you?"
"Oh no no no!" protested Meher, as the guy grabbed her hand and pulled her to the dance floor.
"Come on Sheila! Apni kamar ko hila! (shake that bootei)" said the burly guy as he placed his hands around Meher's waist.
Oh God! Thought Preet as he slapped his forehead. This is turning into a B-grade Bollywood movie. "OK!" he said rolling up his sleeves, "never fear, it's Preet to the rescue!" Preet walked over to where Meher was struggling with the burly guy and was about to tap him on the shoulder, when all of a sudden there was a loud 'FATAK'!
"When I say no I mean NO!" Meher shouted at the burly man, who was now lying on the floor holding onto his cheek.
Preet squatted down next to him and remarked, "Breaking News! Country girl beats up Gajini!" Meher rolled her eyes and walked out of the club, with Preet following closely behind.
"That was quite a slap", said Preet laughing.
"I have plenty more in stock", warned Meher as she looked here and there for a taxi.
"No thanks, my angry young Punjaban", grinned Preet. "Look Meher, let me take you home, my bike's right here".
"You expect me to sit with you on your bike?" asked Meher. Oh sure, she thought. He'd love for me to cling to him while he speeds off to God knows where.
"I promise I'll bring the car next time", said Preet. "Anyways, it's not safe for you to be out alone this late. Let me drop you off, I'm going to Ludhiana too".
"How do I know I can trust you?" asked Meher.
"What is that supposed to mean?" asked Preet getting a little angry. He was trying to be helpful and this girl was showing him attitude.
"I've heard so many things about you Preet Juneja, that I don't know what to think", said Meher.
"Well maybe you shouldn't believe everything you hear", said Preet as he took a step closer to Meher and looked her straight in her eyes. Meher hesitated for a moment and then started to walk off on the road. Preet got on his bike and slowly followed her. "Don't tell me you're going to walk all the way to Ludhiana", he said.
"Stop following me!" cried Meher.
"Look", said Preet, "I don't know what your problem is with me, but I can't let you walk the streets alone like this".
Just then a car stopped by, driven by an older gentleman. He rolled his window down and asked, "Is everything alright?"
"Yes uncle ji", said Meher. She looked at Preet and bit her lip. "Uncle ji, I have to get to Ludhiana, could you please take me to a taxi stand or a bus station or something?"
"Beta", said the uncle, "I'm going to Ludhiana. What's your address?" Meher quickly took out the paper Mrs. Saxena had given her with the hotel address written on it and handed it to the uncle. "Hmmm'", said the uncle, "actually, this is not too far from where I live. I could drop you off. Jaldi karo aur bait jao, ghar per Mrs. intezar karahi hai (Hurry up and sit down, the Mrs is waiting for me at home)".
Meher gratefully accepted and was about to sit in the car, when Preet grabbed her arm and pulled her to one side. "What do you think you're doing?!" he cried. "This isn't Ambala! And this is not your neighbor! This is Delhi! You don't just get into a car with a complete stranger!"
"I'm a big girl Mr. Preet Juneja!" exclaimed Meher, pulling her arm free from Preet's grip. "And I can take care of myself!
Preet watched in disbelief as Meher got in the car and drove off. If she doesn't care why should I? he thought. And why am I getting so hot and bothered? He kicked his bike's tire in frustration and looked back at the direction Meher had driven off in.
In the car, Meher sat thinking quietly to herself. "Mind if I turn on some music?" asked the uncle. Meher just shrugged her shoulders. "Mind if I smoke?" asked the uncle.
Do I have a choice? thought Meher looking out the window. Just then she saw a highway sign with Ludhiana written on it but it was pointing to the other direction. "Um uncle ji...I think we're going in the wrong direction", said Meher.
"Mind if I drink?" said the uncle, as he pulled out a beer from the back.
"Drink?!" cried Meher, becoming alarmed. "Why would you want to drink while driving?! And I think we're going in the wrong direction!"
"Don't play coy with me sweetheart", said the uncle smiling at Meher, as he reached over and placed his hand on Meher's thigh. "I know it didn't work out with that young buyer, but don't worry I have more experience and more money".
"Kya bakwas kar rahay ho! (What the hell are you talking about!)" cried Meher pushing his hand away. "Stop the car or I'll scream!"
"Go ahead", said the uncle giving Meher a crooked smile. Meher looked out the window, there was nothing but woods and dirt roads. The uncle pulled the car off the road and into the woods. As soon as the car stopped Meher tried to make a run for it, but the uncle grabbed her by the hair and pulled her back into the car. He pulled out a knife and placed it on Meher's throat. "Now sweetheart", he said, "I'm looking for a good time, not a hard time". He leaned over and tried to kiss Meher. Caught in a do or die situation, Meher pushed back with all her might, and opened the door and tried to run again. The uncle grabbed her by her dupatta, but Meher took it off, left it behind and ran for her life, with the man running after her.

Meher ran as fast as she could. She fell several times, but got up again and continued to run. Finally she made it back to the main road, and began running in the direction towards Ludhiana. She was looking back to see if the uncle was still chasing her when she ran into a figure hunched over his motorcycle.
"Ugh!" cried Preet as he fell. He looked up in surprise and found Meher on top of him. "Tum!" he cried. "Tumhay koi girnay ki bimari hai kya?!" (You! What do have, some disease that makes you fall all the time?)
"Preet!" cried Meher. She had never been so relieved to see anyone before. "Preet mujhe bacha lo!" (Preet you have to save me!)
"Aik second" said Preet getting up, "tumhara woh uncle kahan hai?" (One second. Where's that uncle of yours?)
"Woh uncle nahin, badmash gunda hai!" sobbed Meher out of breath. "Badi mushkil say apni izzat bacha ke aiyee hoon". (That was no uncle. He was a scoundrel. You don't know how hard it was to save myself from him and run).
"Hold on... hold on!" chuckled Preet. "You weren't willing to go home with me on my bike, aur ab apni izzat bachanay ke liye meray pas aiyee ho (and now you want me to save your dignity)...How ironic!"
"Preet please!" cried Meher. Her eyes widened with fear as she saw the uncle appear behind Preet. He still had the knife in his hand.
Preet turned around to face the approaching man, while Meher hid behind him, her nails digging into his shoulders. "Uh...Meher", said Preet pointing to Meher's finger nails, "I'm not the bad guy right now".
"Oh sorry...sorry", said Meher, "but why are we just standing here? Why don't we get on your bike and go?"
"I'm afraid we can't do that", said Preet. "My bike broke down. I was fiddling around with it when you landed on me".
"Uff! Can't you for once stop it with the snide remarks!" cried Meher.
"Hey, do you want to be saved or not?!" asked Preet. "Toh phir chup!" (Then be quiet!)
Meher was having second thoughts, but decided to keep quiet. Preet turned his attention towards the approaching man and took a deep breath. "Okay uncle!" he said. "Let's not get carried away".
"Shut up and hand the girl over to me!" said the uncle flashing the knife at Preet.
"Well", said Preet, "there's just one problem...she's not interested".
"Ziyada hero banay ki koshish mat kar!" cried the uncle. (Don't try to be the hero!)
"Ab tumne villan ka role apna liya hai, to main is story ka hero to lagoon ga hi", said Preet. (Well, since you've decided to play the role of the villain, I'm afraid I'll have to be the hero of this story).
"I said hand her over", said the uncle, "Or I'll..."
"Or you'll what?" said Preet in a serious tone. "As long as I'm here, you won't be able to get near her. Yeh Preet marne se nahin darta! (Preet is not afraid of dying!)" Preet reached into his jacket's pocket and pulled out a gun. "I suggest you, on the other hand, should just get lost!"
Upon seeing the gun, the uncle backed up and ran off. Meher was watching the whole scene in surprise. Preet turned and began to walk towards Meher waving the gun at her. "And now you", he said pointing the gun straight at Meher's face, "you've been a real bad girl!"
"No Preet! Don't shoot!" yelled Meher as she closed her eyes. But instead of gunfire, her face suddenly felt wet.
"Ha Ha Ha!", laughed Preet. You actually thought this was real!"
"What?!" cried Meher.
"Playing cops and robbers with Kuldi's kids really paid off tonight", said Preet as he squirted Meher with the water gun again.
"Uff!" said Meher, snatching the water gun from Preet's hand. "Tum kabhi nahin sudro ge!" (You'll never change!)
"Mujhe sudharnay ki fikr chodo (Stop worrying about trying to change me)", said Preet, "and let's find some shelter or else the animals in these woods will enjoy a good Punjabi meal with a Canadian tarka (taste of Canada)".
"Right", said Meher, "How far to the nearest hotel?"
"Hello madam!" said Preet knocking on Meher's head, "there's no hotel only jungle. I called my driver, when my bike broke down. He's off duty right now, but he'll pick me up in the morning. I passed a barn a short distance back. We'll have to spend the night there".
"What?!" cried Meher. "You expect me to spend the night alone with you in a barn?!"
"Kyun?" asked Preet, taking a step closer to Meher, "uncle ko wapas bula lain?" (Why? Would you rather I call the uncle back?)
Meher rolled her eyes and started walking pushing past Preet. "My night couldn't get any worse!" she cried. Just then lightening and thunder cracked, and it started to rain. "Well", sighed Meher, looking at the night sky, "then again maybe it can!" Preet smiled at Meher's retreating figure and followed.
Both Preet and Meher were drenched, by the time they reached the barn. Preet hung his jacket on the door, and started to look around for a place to sleep. He quickly gathered together some hay for bedding, and started a fire with some wood and a box of matches he found in a corner. Meher gulped as she saw Preet take off his shirt and wring as much of the rain water out of it as he could. Preet put his shirt back on but had not buttoned it yet. "It's not much, but it'll have to do", he said patting the hay next to him. "Come on let's go to sleep".
"What?!" cried Meher. "No! Actually, I'm not that sleepy! Let's talk instead!"
"What?" asked Preet. When he saw the fear and uncertainty in Meher's face, he realized what she must be thinking. "Wait a minute", he said, getting up and walking towards Meher. "You don't think I'm one of 'those' guys do you?"
Meher was feeling extremely self-conscious. Her wet clothes were clinging to her. Why did I have to wear white today, she thought. White + Wet=See Through. She covered herself quickly by bringing her wet hair in front and crossing her arms, and began to back up as Preet walked towards her.
Preet continued to walk closer to Meher, and she continued to back up until her back was against the door, and he was just inches from her. Preet reached out and Meher closed her eyes tightly. She was breathing hard from fear. Preet paused and looked Meher over, she looked beautiful when she was scared too, he thought.
When nothing happened Meher opened her eyes to find that Preet had only reached for his jacket hanging on the door behind her. "Yeh pehan lo (You can wear this)", he said quietly as he gently put his jacket around Meher's shoulders. "There is a hay loft up there", he said pointing to the right. "You can rest there. I'll see you in the morning".
Meher looked at Preet in surprise, then quietly made her way up to the loft and lay down holding Preet's jacket tightly around her. She was confused. This certainly wasn't the Preet Juneja Viren had described, she thought. Maybe Heer Di was right, maybe I have been too quick to judge. Tired from the eventful night, Meher quickly fell into deep sleep.
When he was sure Meher was fast asleep, Preet climbed the ladder leading up to the loft and stopped as he got to the top. He rested his head on his arms and just stayed in that position watching Meher as she slept. A lock of Meher's hair had fallen on her face. Preet leaned in close and gently blew it away. He stared at Meher's face and then her lips. He knew she would never let him get this close if she was awake. This little spitfire , looks beautiful when she sleeps too, he thought smiling to himself.
(The song Zindagi Do Pal Ki, from Kites plays in the background as Preet continues to stare at Meher)
Zindagi, Do pal ki
Intezaar kab tak hum karenge bhala
Tumhe pyar kab tak na karenge bhala
Zindagi, Do pal ki
Dil main tumhare chupa di hai maine to apni ye jaan
Ab tumhi isko sambhalo hume apna hosh kahan.
Bekhudi do pal ki
Zindagi, Do pal ki
Ek chota sa vaada is umar se ziyada sucha hai sanam
Har morh par saath is liye rehte hain ab dono
Dosti do pal ki
Zindagi, Do pal ki
Preet took a deep breath and climbed down from the loft. Aaj phir neend nahin ayay gi, he thought. (Looks like I won't get any sleep tonight either).
The next morning, one of the Juneja's drivers picked up Preet and Meher, and they were soon at Meher's hotel in Ludhiana. "Preet...", Meher began.
"Don't worry Meher", interrupted Preet. I won't tell anyone anything about last night".
"I'll never figure you out Preet Juneja", said Meher quietly as she exited the car, "but thanks...for everything". Preet smiled back at her warmly in response.
Meher watched Preet's car drive away as a very angry Mrs. Saxena scolded her all the way into the hotel.

Hope you liked it 😛. Please leave your feedback, or at least hit the like button
Giving credit where it's due, the uncle scene was inspired from 'Janam Samjha Karo'

Chapter 17 Preview : Ambala's Mela
Edited by ummesulaiman - 10 years ago