EkPaheli thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 7
Posted: 10 hours ago

Originally posted by: VeritasVincit

I've been in a daze the past couple of days.. it's not left me despite having watched it a week ago. Part 1 stayed with me for a month, such a visceral experience. I've not felt this way since probably Maine Pyar Kiye, which was my 1st foray into the craze of BW.

Say what you will about his intentions but filmmakers will no longer be able to shove down the same drivel and expect the audience to lap it up.

Idk why people have their knickers in a twist, it says inspired by fictional events. Same vein as Inglorious Basterds this is, fantasy version of what you'd like to see happen to Nazis, and terrorists.

As a Veer supporter (though I haven't always been steadfast), boy must he and his fans feel vindicated! 3 years of constant barrage of unwarranted negativity.

You can't help but take notice of every aspect of him, physically and the vibe he brings.

His shuddering reaction to his sister in the pump and the last scene reacting to his family surpassed any expectations which were already sky high, as an actor.

Such a win for Veer, Dhar, Rakesh Bedi, Gaurav Gera, all for different reasons. They must feel exonerated after so many years, though it's been longer for Rakesh Bedi to get a role like this.

I am partial to part 1 which isn't all that fair to 2, as you'd expect it to have that slight edge being the building blocks to the world created and character development. And those who read into the Lyari gang knew Football gate was due as well as the fate of mostly everyone.

Yet time passed more quickly and it gained momentum in the 2nd half.

Jaskirat's back story was lacklustre though, such a disconnect from the rest of the film. I felt like I was watching Agneepath or those 80's/90's revenge flicks.

In part 1, my guess was it was politically motivated, something like 1984 or something deeply personal to connect Jaskirat to India.

Otherwise how does he swiftly go from resenting India to being a patriot, hence it would have been more fitting to link his backstory to history.

And I'm not sure if I buy the Jameel Jamali reveal - you need twists to hit you and be able to go, "ah now that makes sense". Other than Yalina narrating her Dad is constantly with bad company, nothing really makes sense. Why wouldn't he try to save the 4 Baloch boys or bring it to Hamza's attention...

But managed to bring a smile nevertheless.

Rakesh is such a vibe, looks like an angry bird but cute, his scenes are probably the relief we all needed.

Probably the 1st time I've seen and really appreciated Arjun act. Him and Rehman really bring out the terror.

So I was disappointed when he decided to go the James Bond villain/Hooded Claw route that he needed to torture Hamza instead of finishing him when he had the chance.

I didn't feel the shudder as I did in Part 1 when he announces he's caught an Indian spy while holding Hamza.

His backstory did form the better parts of the movie, what makes Major Iqbal, him!

During 1+2, on more than 1 occasion, I got confused with him and Ranveer!

So many charismatic men, including the hottie Danish Pandor!

You feel guilty for appreciating the bonhomie between Uzair, Hamza and Donga..

Also quite smart of Dhar to use well known bangers like Tamma Tamma during high adrenaline scenes, you literally feel the buzz and like signing along to a gratuitous scene where SP meets his maker.

And Omar!! From someone you'd expect to garland and say adieu to, to him breaking out and being the destruction of Hamza as we know him.

@bold - those two bits are the finest pieces of acting by Ranveer across the two movies IMO. These bits especially make me want to watch the movie again especially the shed scene because we know Ranveer irl is so happy go lucky, sorta crazy fun dude and here in these two scenes he’s completely silent; not a single word but his eyes, his reactions and acting do all the talking.

I can’t remember a hero crying where I noticed his lips were trembling, like it happens irl when we want to weep but the sob just doesn’t make it out of us, we can’t make that noise in the shed scene and I was like what has this man done! Then the way he’s hesitant when he’s entering absolutely scared of the state he might find his sister in and she hears someone coming, she’s petrified. In any other movie the sister on seeing her brother coming to rescue her would’ve called his name or addressed him as Bhai or Veer if an elder brother or whatever the regional term is.. but here she screams… and the screams are so gut wrenching and painful. Her trauma is so very evident without a single word. The way he’s slowly coming towards her as he breaks down into tears himself is par excellence. Especially when you contradict it with the previous sequence which is next best per me - the whole Aari Aari sequence. He goes from absolute unhinged beast mode to this. In that sequence my favourite part happens in that small dingy room with the two guys he’s fighting when he’s using that sword to kill both of them simultaneously. You see his eyes are so feral, like he’s frothing at the mouth but the veins on his head are what got to me - it was like he was genuinely so into that scene that it made his veins pop. You can’t look away if you tried because there’s something so raw and real about him there.

@red - that’s actually explained. He says his dad and grandfather have served in the army and he was about to do the same. Yet when the tragedy befell his family, no one helped them. The cops caved under political pressure and he had to take matters into his own hands. It makes sense in that regard. He had lost 2 family members, his sisters had been gang raped . Not like cops had no basis to file charges or investigate, they had everything but they didn’t act. Even now when his case is in the court, he’s being charged with murder and maybe hanged when he was essentially forced to take matters into his own hands as his family was being denied justice. Patriotism ran in his veins but he felt disillusioned. Sanyal and Bansal never got through to him by telling him that his life will be easy - they give him the grim picture as it is - their truth is what gets through to him I believe. He sees he could die now or at most get a life term and serve 14 years or so in jail - but what good will that do to anyone.

Notice how he identifies Sanyal immediately and he’s a smart guy - he understands what he’s being offered. He knew he could die by being hanged in a couple of months and that’s it, he could live in prison while his mom and sister keep running from pillar to post to get his sentence reduced or pardoned by paying lawyers and appealing in High/Supreme courts and then to the president. But what will that accomplish if all of it fails? Even if his sentence is reduced or he’s pardoned it may take years - his mom and sister may go broke just trying to free him. Neither deserves that after everything they’ve suffered. Here he gets a chance to live his dream of serving the nation as he says he would do in his next life to his friend prior to the rampage and his mom as well as sister don’t go through the grind. He knows they’re gonna be compensated if he agrees and this way he can look after them even if he’s considered dead.

His decision is not purely patriotic but a mix of practicality mixed with patriotism and his love for his family.

I think Dhar avoided the 1984 riots intentionally in these two. It would have been too much and besides we don’t know for sure what’s Jaskirat’s DOB to even know if he was even alive at the time of these riots or not. If he was, was he a newborn, a toddler, a bit older like Iqbal to hear news on radio and TV, we absolutely have no clue. When Jamali meets him in the scene where Yalina and his marriage is fixed, Jamali speculates he is at least 30/32 but Hamza neither confirms nor denies the claims. Yalina is 19; this meeting happens in 2009 as Rehman is killed a few days after the wedding. So Yalina was born in 1990 to be 19 at the time. But was he born in the late 70’s or mid to early 80s? The impact of those riots on him depends largely on his age at the time of the same too. If he’s a mere toddler he wouldn’t even grasp the gravity of the events around him. He may have lost family members and his parents may have traumatic memories of the same but Jaskirat himself would only know of the horrors as their lived realities not his own.

Krinya thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 8
Posted: 2 hours ago

Just came back watching dhurandhar ..and what an experience ! I mean it cant be classified as just a movie ..

The good bad & ugly ..well..they could do away with some gore ...I was prepared after dhurandhar 1 but they took it several notches high ..gore , not the violence ....but I let it pass bec I had to focus on the good parts..

The best part of the movie was its ending ..the dhurandhar part chapter 7 ..that rasputin song is where u feel 1k rs worth it 🤣 and the extend to which we infiltrated in their country ..salute to the silent soldiers who worked , gave up their lives for bharat & are still working for bharat..

This is what Aditya dhar did..pakis will doubt everyone 🤣 literally everyone ..the impact of this movie will last long ..

Acting , damn perfect , each & every character is worth dying for just to catch a glimpse ..part 1 id say belonged to akshaye , Sanjay & arjun & rakesh ji..part 2 totally belongs to ranveer Singh..

I'd still pick dhurandhar 1 as the better one bec of the plotting planning & strategeing made it so damn interesting ..part 2 was more thoko thoko and more thoko ..

Now for the most interesting part ..the propaganda..before watching this one, I couldn't understand the meltdowns on social media like kya hi dikha dega koi ek movie mei ..but after watching it im sure they need rehab..cmon this movie is about our intelligence units , our spies , terrorism , jihad & terrorists in Pakistan, not even Pakistan, their supporters in bharat..no political party was mentioned, except that gangster ..cleaning up the UP gangs by yogi ji, a movie can be made on that too..

N this isnt what indian govt worked on, they still need a lot of work to control the drugs smuggling into punjab, smuggling through Nepal & porous borders of the east..

Whatever is being shown in the movie , I've been reading it in news all along & follow all those stories...we are a part of "that" history & it was all factually correct (except the extent of our infiltration which is unknown to anyone ) ..ofc cinematic liberties are taken but if the hero is not heroic enuf , where will entertainment come from ? This is what every one of us knew but we could never talk about it openly & Aditya dhar did it ..brought this discussion on the forefront ..

Lastly , our good family friends served in army , now retired , they were soooo happy watching dhurandhar 2 , they were like everyone must watch it ..they also told me how armies were mobilized after parliament attacks but it took them 8 months to do so & then they were ordered not to attack..everyone knows the truth ..we have lived it ....every patriotic bharat desh vasi will love dhurandhar 2 ...

Edited by Krinya - 2 hours ago
EkPaheli thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 7
Posted: 26 minutes ago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtLkl65bpBM

We know Kaul was the research consultant for Dhurandhar. The interviewer mentioned how it’s being joked he’s in the Middle East right now to research for the same and he’s seriously replied that he’s not ruling out the possibility of D3 in the future in this podcast.

Will be quite something if it’s actually true.

Everyone is speculating Vancouver, we might as well get Dubai or Tehran or Tel Aviv as the next location for the future if this is true.

Would be crazy if they make this bigger and we see something where RAW and Mossad are collaborating.